DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on July 8, 2026, claims 1, 11, 14, and 18 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on July 8, 2026, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated January 8, 2026, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fastening mechanism system” in claims 10, 17, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a ratio of the length to the width is about 1.6 to about 2.0” at line 1. Due to the user of “about” on either end of the claimed range and the absence of a definition for “about” in the specification as originally disclosed, it is unclear how much deviation from the claimed values is allowed and where exactly the claimed range is meant to begin and end while still satisfying the claim limitation. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the use of “about” be removed from the claims and amended based on values supported by Applicant’s originally disclosure. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood when applying prior art wherein “about” is given a broadest reasonable interpretation and interpreted as meaning “approximately; nearly" (Adv. defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com).
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “wherein the crown is devoid of a top button (squatchee)” at line 16. In the context of the claim, it is unclear what meaning or purpose the included parentheses are meant to provide. For example, is the limitation meant to include both “a top button” and a “squatchee” as separate structures? Is the portion of the limitation in the parentheses necessarily required by the claim or optional? Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “a top button” or “a top button squatchee”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 14 and 18 each recite similar limitations as discussed above (i.e., with respect to the limitation of the “top button (squatchee)”) and are similarly rejected.
Claim 14 further recites the limitation “the opening has a length greater than a width” at lines 9-10. As several structures were previously introduced in the claim, it is unclear of which structure the “width” is meant to be measured (e.g., a width of the opening, a width of the headwear, a width of the centerline axis). Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. Based on Applicant’s disclosure, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “the opening has a length and a width, the length being greater than the width”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 2-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,511,249 to Higgins (hereinafter, “Higgins”) in view of US 2025/0185744 to Richards et al. (hereinafter, “Richards”).
Regarding claim 1, Higgins teaches a headwear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap (10); abstract) comprising: a crown configured to cover a portion of a person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body (12) having crown (14) is capable of covering a hypothetical portion of a hypothetical person’s head), the crown includes a front, a rear disposed opposite of the front (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body (12) includes front proximate bill (26) and rear opposite front), a center positioned an equal distance from the front and the rear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; center of crown (14) of cap body (12) occupied by centrally located opening (16); abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29), a centerline axis transversing from the front through the center to the rear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; a centerline axis can be drawn such that it transverses from the front, through the center, to the rear of the cap body (12) having crown (14)), an opening configured to allow an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown, the opening having a non-circular shape (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; opening (16) capable of allowing an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown; opening (16) has a non-circular shape, i.e., an ellipse-like shape deviating from a circle, as seen in Fig. 2; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29), and wherein the crown is devoid of a top button (squatchee) (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; crown (14) does not include a top button or squatchee; opening (16) is centrally located on top of crown; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29).
Higgins further appears to teach wherein the opening has an axis of symmetry superposing a segment of the centerline axis, wherein the opening is positioned such that the center superposes a portion of the opening (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; opening (16) is centrally located on crown (14) of cap body (12) and therefore would have an axis of symmetry superposing a segment of the centerline axis and be positioned such that the center superposes a portion of the opening; said another way, centrally located opening would align the opening on the center of the crown to meet the claim limitations; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29; Examiner notes that the term "segment" is very broad and merely means "one of the parts into which something is divided; a division, portion, or section". (Defn. No. 1 of "Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties or functionality which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention, the basis shifts the burden of proof to Applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02.
However, it would have at least been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to align the opening along the centerline axis of the crown of the cap between the front and rear of the crown for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing vertical and lateral support for a wearer’s hair bundle, maintaining position of the cap even into the wind or when the wearer is engaging in activities (i.e., hair bundle is not inclined toward one particular direction, but instead centered), and/or for aesthetic purposes of providing a symmetrical appearance (See Higgins, Col. 5, lines 32-37 and 40-55).
That said, although Higgins appears to teach a non-circular opening as discussed above, Higgins is silent to the relative dimensions of the length and width of the opening and therefore is silent to wherein the opening has a length and a width, the length being greater than the width and wherein a ratio of the length to the width is about 1.6 to about 2.0.
However, Richards, in a related headwear art, is directed to a cap adapted to be worn by a user with hairstyles comprising a protruding portion of hair (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Higgins teaches wherein the opening has a length and a width, the length being greater than the width and wherein a ratio of the length to the width is about 1.6 to about 2.0 (See Richards, Fig. 1; aperture (16) has a length, i.e., top to bottom, greater than a width, i.e., side to side; ratio of length to width is approximately in the range of 1.6 to 2.0 as best can be understood; See 112(b) rejection above for additional discussion).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the non-circular opening shape of Higgins with the non-circular opening shape disclosed by Richards for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, reducing a distance between the sides of the opening in the width direction of the opening to provide additional lateral support to a user’s hair or ponytail pulled up through the opening which is discussed as being desirable by Higgins (See Higgins, Col. 1, lines 20-37). Furthermore, as a result of the above modification, the opening of the modified headwear of Higgins would remain a non-circular shape.
Regarding claim 2, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to the crown further including a hair protector defining a periphery of the opening, the hair protector is connected to the crown and is configured to allow the accumulation of hair to pass through the crown.
However, Richards further teaches the crown further including a hair protector defining a periphery of the opening, the hair protector is connected to the crown and is configured to allow the accumulation of hair to pass through the crown (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; satin aperture lining (18, 20) connected to crown defines periphery of opening (16) and is capable of allowing an accumulation of hypothetical hair to pass through the crown; [0047]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the aperture lining disclosed by Richards around the periphery of the opening of the modified headwear of Higgins in order to reduce damage to the hair passing through the opening by minimalizing immediate or accumulated frictional wear-and-tear and minimalizing frizz while maintaining moisture with the hair over time (See Richards, [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches the crown further including a plurality of panels connected to form the opening and an enclosure configured to cover the portion of the person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body forming crown includes plurality of panels (20) connected to form opening (16) and an opening for a wearer’s head), each panel in the plurality of panels has a proximal end and a distal end, where the opening is located at the distal end and the enclosure is located at the proximal end of each panel (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; each panel (20) has distal end at opening (16) and a proximal, bottom end (22) at opposite end at a head opening).
Regarding claim 4, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-3 above) further teaches the hair protector envelops the distal end of each panel in the plurality of panels (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; aperture lining (18, 20) of Richards as applied to the modified headwear of Higgins would envelop the distal ends of each panel).
Regarding claim 5, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-4 above) further teaches the hair protector includes a hair-sensitive fabric having a smooth surface for reducing friction against the accumulation of hair (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; aperture lining (18, 20) is formed of satin which Applicant states as being an acceptable material and is capable of reducing friction against the accumulation of hypothetical hair; [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-5 above) further teaches the hair-sensitive fabric includes satin, polyester, nylon, spandex, or a combination thereof (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; aperture lining (18, 20) is formed of satin).
Regarding claim 7, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-4 above) further teaches the hair protector includes a flexible material configured to expand the opening resulting from the accumulation of hair exerting a force on the hair protector (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; aperture lining (18, 20) is a flexible material and is capable of expanding the opening resulting from the accumulation of hypothetical hair exerting a hypothetical force on the aperture lining).
Regarding claim 10, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches the crown further including a closure having a fastening mechanism system configured to secure the headwear to the person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; adjustable fastener (25) is capable of securing the cap to a hypothetical person’s head).
Regarding claim 11, although Higgins teaches an adjustable fastener, Higgins is silent as to a type of adjustable fastener. Therefore, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 10 above) is silent to a fastening mechanism system is selected from the group consisting of a buckle closure, a hook-and-loop fastener, a snapback closure, an elastic band, a strap and buckle, or a stretch fit.
However, Richards further teaches a fastening mechanism system is selected from the group consisting of a buckle closure, a hook-and-loop fastener, a snapback closure, an elastic band, a strap and buckle, or a stretch fit (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; adjustable closure (24) is a strap and buckle).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the adjustable fastener of the modified headwear of Higgins with the strap and buckle adjustable fastener disclosed by Richards, as the modification amounts to no more than a simple substitution of one known adjustable fastener for another with nothing more than the reasonable expectation of one adjustable fastener performing just as well as the other to yield predictable results, i.e., adjustable fastening of the headwear to a wearer’s head.
Regarding claim 12, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches a brim connected to the crown and disposed adjacent to the front of the crown (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; frontal brim (26)).
Regarding claim 13, Higgins (as applied to claim 1 above) further teaches the non-circular shape of the opening is selected from the group consisting of the following an elongated ellipse-like shape, a narrow-elongated ellipse-like shape, or broad-elongated ellipse-like shape (See Richards, Fig. 1; aperture (16) shape as applied to the opening in the modified headwear of Higgins as discussed above is an elongated ellipse-like shape).
Regarding claim 14, Higgins teaches a headwear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap (10); abstract) comprising: a crown (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body (12) having crown (14)) including: a front, a rear disposed opposite of the front (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body (12) includes front proximate bill (26) and rear opposite front), a center positioned an equal distance from the front and the rear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; center of crown (14) of cap body (12) occupied by centrally located opening (16); abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29), a centerline axis transversing from the front though the center to the rear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; a centerline axis can be drawn such that it transverses from the front, through the center, to the rear of the cap body (12) having crown (14)), an opening having a non-circular shape (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; opening (16) capable of allowing an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown; opening (16) has a non-circular shape, i.e., an ellipse-like shape deviating from a circle, as seen in Fig. 2; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29), one or more panels connected to form the opening and an enclosure configured to cover the portion of a person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body forming crown includes plurality of panels (20) connected to form opening (16) and an opening for a wearer’s head), each panel has a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the opening is located at the distal end and the enclosure is located at the proximal end of each panel (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; each panel (20) has distal end at opening (16) and a proximal, bottom end (22) at opposite end at a head opening) and wherein the crown is devoid of a top button (squatchee) (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; crown (14) does not include a top button or squatchee; opening (16) is centrally located on top of crown; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29).
Higgins further appears to teach the opening having an axis of symmetry superposing a segment of the centerline axis and is positioned such that the center superposes a portion of the opening (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; opening (16) is centrally located on crown (14) of cap body (12) and therefore would have an axis of symmetry superposing a segment of the centerline axis and be positioned such that the center superposes a portion of the opening; said another way, centrally located opening would align the opening on the center of the crown to meet the claim limitations; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29; Examiner notes that the term "segment" is very broad and merely means "one of the parts into which something is divided; a division, portion, or section". (Defn. No. 1 of "Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties or functionality which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention, the basis shifts the burden of proof to Applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02.
However, it would have at least been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to align the opening along the centerline axis of the crown of the cap between the front and rear of the crown for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing vertical and lateral support for a wearer’s hair bundle, maintaining position of the cap even into the wind or when the wearer is engaging in activities (i.e., hair bundle is not inclined toward one particular direction, but instead centered), and/or for aesthetic purposes of providing a symmetrical appearance (See Higgins, Col. 5, lines 32-37 and 40-55).
That said, although Higgins appears to teach a non-circular opening as discussed above, Higgins is silent to relative dimensions of the length and width of the opening and therefore is silent to wherein the opening has a length greater than a width.
However, Richards, in a related headwear art, is directed to a cap adapted to be worn by a user with hairstyles comprising a protruding portion of hair (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Higgins teaches wherein the opening has a length greater than a width (See Richards, Fig. 1; aperture (16) has a length, i.e., top to bottom, greater than a width, i.e., side to side).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the non-circular opening shape of Higgins with the non-circular opening shape disclosed by Richards for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, reducing a distance between the sides of the opening in the width direction of the opening to provide additional lateral support to a user’s hair or ponytail pulled up through the opening which is discussed as being desirable by Higgins (See Higgins, Col. 1, lines 20-37). Furthermore, as a result of the above modification, the opening of the modified headwear of Higgins would remain a non-circular shape.
That said, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e.,, Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed above) is silent to a hair protector defines a periphery of the opening, the hair protector is connected to and envelops the distal end of each panel, the hair protector is configured to allow an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown.
However, Richards further teaches a hair protector defines a periphery of the opening, the hair protector is connected to and envelops the distal end of each panel, the hair protector is configured to allow an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; satin aperture lining (18, 20) connected to crown defines and envelops periphery of opening (16) and is capable of allowing an accumulation of hypothetical hair to pass through the crown; [0047]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the aperture lining disclosed by Richards around the periphery of the opening of the modified headwear of Higgins in order to reduce damage to the hair passing through the opening by minimalizing immediate or accumulated frictional wear-and-tear and minimalizing frizz while maintaining moisture with the hair over time (See Richards, [0047]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as applied to claim 14 above) further teaches a brim connected to the crown and disposed adjacent to the front of the crown (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; frontal brim (26)).
Regarding claim 16, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as applied to claim 14 above) further teaches the non-circular shape of the opening is selected from the group consisting of an elongated ellipse-like shape, a narrow-elongated ellipse-like shape, or broad-elongated ellipse-like shape (See Richards, Fig. 1; aperture (16) shape as applied to the opening in the modified headwear of Higgins as discussed above is an elongated ellipse-like shape).
Regarding claim 17, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as applied to claim 14 above) further teaches the crown further includes a closure having a fastening mechanism system configured to secure the headwear to a person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; adjustable fastener (25) is capable of securing the cap to a hypothetical person’s head).
Regarding claim 18, Higgins teaches a headwear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap (10); abstract) comprising: a crown (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body (12) having crown (14)) including: a front, a rear disposed opposite of the front (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body (12) includes front proximate bill (26) and rear opposite front), a center positioned an equal distance from the front and the rear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; center of crown (14) of cap body (12) occupied by centrally located opening (16); abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29), a centerline axis transversing from the front though the center to the rear (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; a centerline axis can be drawn such that it transverses from the front, through the center, to the rear of the cap body (12) having crown (14)), an opening having a non-circular shape (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; opening (16) capable of allowing an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown; opening (16) has a non-circular shape, i.e., an ellipse-like shape deviating from a circle, as seen in Fig. 2; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29), a plurality of panels connected to form the opening and an enclosure configured to cover the portion of a person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; cap body forming crown includes plurality of panels (20) connected to form opening (16) and an opening for a wearer’s head), each panel in the plurality of panels has a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the opening is located at the distal end and the enclosure is located at the proximal end of each panel (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; each panel (20) has distal end at opening (16) and a proximal, bottom end (22) at opposite end at a head opening); wherein the crown is devoid of a top button (squatchee) (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; crown (14) does not include a top button or squatchee; opening (16) is centrally located on top of crown; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29); and a brim connected to the crown and disposed adjacent to the front of the crown (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; frontal brim (26)).
Higgins further appears to teach the opening having an axis of symmetry superposing a segment of the centerline axis and is positioned such that the center superposes a portion of the opening (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; opening (16) is centrally located on crown (14) of cap body (12) and therefore would have an axis of symmetry superposing a segment of the centerline axis and be positioned such that the center superposes a portion of the opening; said another way, centrally located opening would align the opening on the center of the crown to meet the claim limitations; abstract; Col. 1, lines 20-29; Examiner notes that the term "segment" is very broad and merely means "one of the parts into which something is divided; a division, portion, or section". (Defn. No. 1 of "Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties or functionality which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention, the basis shifts the burden of proof to Applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02.
However, it would have at least been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to align the opening along the centerline axis of the crown of the cap between the front and rear of the crown for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing vertical and lateral support for a wearer’s hair bundle, maintaining position of the cap even into the wind or when the wearer is engaging in activities (i.e., hair bundle is not inclined toward one particular direction, but instead centered), and/or for aesthetic purposes of providing a symmetrical appearance (See Higgins, Col. 5, lines 32-37 and 40-55).
That said, although Higgins appears to teach a non-circular opening as discussed above, Higgins is silent to relative dimensions of the length and width of the opening.
However, Richards, in a related headwear art, is directed to a cap adapted to be worn by a user with hairstyles comprising a protruding portion of hair (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Higgins explicitly teaches an opening having a non-circular shape (See Richards, Fig. 1; aperture (16) has a length, i.e., top to bottom, greater than a width, i.e., side to side).
It would have at least been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the non-circular opening shape of Higgins with the non-circular opening shape disclosed by Richards for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, reducing a distance between the sides of the opening in the width direction of the opening to provide additional lateral support to a user’s hair or ponytail pulled up through the opening which is discussed as being desirable by Higgins (See Higgins, Col. 1, lines 20-37). Furthermore, as a result of the above modification, the opening of the modified headwear of Higgins would remain a non-circular shape.
That said, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e.,, Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed above) is silent to a hair protector defines a periphery of the opening, the hair protector is connected to and envelops the distal end of each panel in the plurality of panels, the hair protector is configured to allow an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown.
However, Richards further teaches a hair protector defines a periphery of the opening, the hair protector is connected to and envelops the distal end of each panel in the plurality of panels, the hair protector is configured to allow an accumulation of hair to pass through the crown (See Richards, Figs. 1-2; satin aperture lining (18, 20) connected to crown defines and envelops periphery of opening (16) and is capable of allowing an accumulation of hypothetical hair to pass through the crown; [0047]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the aperture lining disclosed by Richards around the periphery of the opening of the modified headwear of Higgins in order to reduce damage to the hair passing through the opening by minimalizing immediate or accumulated frictional wear-and-tear and minimalizing frizz while maintaining moisture with the hair over time (See Richards, [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as applied to claim 18 above) further teaches the non-circular shape of the opening is selected from the group consisting of an elongated ellipse-like shape, a narrow-elongated ellipse-like shape, or broad-elongated ellipse-like shape (See Higgins, Fig. 2; opening (16) is an elongated ellipse-like shape).
Regarding claim 20, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as applied to claim 18 above) further teaches the crown further includes a closure having a fastening mechanism system configured to secure the headwear to a person’s head (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; adjustable fastener (25) is capable of securing the cap to a hypothetical person’s head).
Claims 8-9, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins in view of Richards, as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of US 2020/0196695 to Ault et al. (hereinafter, “Ault”).
Regarding claim 8, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches each panel having an exterior surface and an interior surface (See Higgins, Figs. 1-2; each panel (20) has an exterior surface and an interior surface).
That said, the modified headwear of Higgins is silent to where the exterior surface includes a fabric material and the interior surface includes the fabric material.
However, Ault, in a related headwear art, is directed to a hat formed of panels and having an opening for a user’s hair (See Ault, Figs. 1-3; abstract). More specifically, Ault teaches where the exterior surface includes a fabric material and the interior surface includes the fabric material (See Ault, Figs. 1-3; panels of hat can be formed of fabric of nylon, polyester, spandex, and/or a blend thereof; [0028]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the panels, including the interior and exterior surfaces, of the modified headwear of Higgins from the fabric material disclosed by Ault for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a comfortable-fitting yet protective material from which the headwear can be formed (See Ault, [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified headwear of Higgins (i.e., Higgins in view of Richards and Ault, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 and 8 above) further teaches the fabric material includes satin, polyester, nylon, spandex, or a combination thereof (See Ault, Figs. 1-3; material of hat can be formed of fabric of nylon, polyester, spandex, and/or a blend thereof; [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s various arguments that Higgins does not teach or suggest the newly recited limitation of wherein the crown is devoid of a top button (squatchee), Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in Figs. 1-2 of Higgins and as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, Higgins includes a crown with a centrally located opening at the top of the crown wherein the crown is devoid of a top button or squatchee. Should Applicant continue to argue that the relied upon embodiment of Higgins shown in Figs. 1-2 does not meet this limitation, Examiner invites Applicant to clearly point to the alleged top button or squatchee in Figs. 1-2 of Higgins as seen below.
Fig. 1 (left) and Fig. 2 (right) of Higgins
Examiner notes that throughout the arguments, Applicant repeatedly refers to a “conventional” crown or cap architecture construction of Higgins and/or Richards while discussing a “redesigned” crown architecture or construction of the present invention. It is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., those features associated with some redesigned crown architecture) are not recited in the rejected claims. Instead, Applicant appears to repeatedly claim that Higgins and/or Richards preserve some conventional cap or crown construction without tying such allegations to structural differences with the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is suggested that Applicant specifically recite these alleged structural differences, if present, between the Applicant-described conventional and redesigned crown constructions in the claims in order to differentiate Applicant’s invention over the prior art. That said, Higgins in view of Richards teaches the claimed headwear having a crown with a centrally positioned opening without a top button or squatchee as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above. Side-by-side comparison of the structures of Applicant’s headwear and that of Higgins is shown below.
Applicant’s Fig. 1 (left) and Fig. 2 of Higgins (right)
In response to Applicant’s apparent argument that the Office has not articulated why one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Higgins or Richards to eliminate the conventional apex construction by removing the top button (squatchee) and redesigning the conventional crown architecture, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, no modification is required to remove a top button or squatchee from Higgins, as Higgins already teaches the lack of a top button or squatchee. Richards is relied upon in the current grounds of rejection for teaching a shape and relative dimensions of a headwear opening in the modified headwear of Higgins discussed above.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Higgins does not teach a non-circular opening, Examiner does not concede that the opening of Higgins is strictly limited to an exact circular shape. As previously discussed in the Response to Arguments in the Final Office Action date January 8, 2026, in light of Higgins’ use of broad language when describing the shaped opening, in combination with the shaped opening explicitly depicted in Fig. 2 of Higgins, Higgins is considered as teaching an opening having a non-circular shape, i.e., a shape deviating from a circle. That said, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the modification of Higgins in view of Richards as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above wherein the shaped opening of Higgins is replaced with the non-circular shaped opening of Richards. Ultimately, the modified headwear of Higgins as discussed in the current grounds of rejection results in an opening with a non-circular shape.
In response to Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Indeed, Higgins already teaches a centrally positioned opening in the top of a crown and the lack of a top button or squatchee. Richards is relied upon for teaching a shape and relative dimensions of a headwear opening in the modified headwear of Higgins discussed above. Furthermore, as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the non-circular opening shape of Higgins with the non-circular opening shape disclosed by Richards for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, reducing a distance between the sides of the opening in the width direction of the opening to provide additional lateral support to a user’s hair or ponytail pulled up through the opening which is discussed as being desirable by Higgins (See Higgins, Col. 1, lines 20-37).
In response to Applicant’s apparent arguments that Ault does not rectify the alleged structural deficiencies of Higgins and Richards, Examiner notes that Ault is only relied upon for teaching a fabric material of the panels of the modified headwear as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0214382 to Dann is directed to an article of headwear having an opening in the crown.
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732