DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued the combined art fail to disclose “the interlayer base material comprising a hot-melt base material and reinforcing fiber yarn embedded in the hot-melt base material, the hot-melt base material disposed in contact with the magnetic part along the inner side wall of the through-hole to fix the magnetic part in the through-hole”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s argument directed to process of making i.e. heated to a molten state to realize bonding or filling functions, however this process of making is not in the claim, and Applicant is referred to MPEP 2113 “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”; further “hot-melt base material” may be that the base material is previously hot-melt material, which is well known i.e. a thermoplastic or thermoset resin as disclosed by Zeng and SEYBOTH.
Further Applicant’s arguments “the magnetic part 33 is fixed within the through-hole 32 by lateral retaining force provided by contact with the hot-melt base material” and “polycarbonate, as used in SEYBOTH, is not a hot-melt resin in the functional sense, because it is not melted to flow and adhere to other components” are directed to process of making which is not recited in the claim, Applicant is referred to MPEP 2113 “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. Zeng discloses the magnetic part is clamped and fixed in the hollow part through the surface plate and the bottom plate and the entire back plate is one-piece, it seems the magnetic part is tightly forced into the hollow part and in contact with the inner wall (at least some if not all) of the hollow part.
Finally, SEYBOTH mentioned in [0010] and [0011], many advantages of using a fiber-reinforced composite material. Thus incorporating SEYBOTH is obvious for the benefits or for user preference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20220140852 A1) in view of SEYBOTH (US 20140308869 A1).
For claim 1. Zeng discloses (Abstract, figures 4-5, [0019]-[0023]) A protective case for electronic device, comprising: an inner shell (figure 5 layer 12); an outer shell (layer 13); and a magnetic interlayer (base plate 11) disposed between and in contact with the inner shell and the outer shell, wherein: the magnetic interlayer includes an interlayer base material (base plate 11) and a magnetic part (figure 5, magnet 3), the interlayer base material including an inner side wall defining a through-hole ([0021] hollow part 110), and the magnetic part fixed in the through-hole ([0021]), the interlayer base material having a base material thickness defining a depth of the through-hole ([0021]), the interlayer base material comprising a hot-melt base material ([0023] the base plate 11 is a polycarbonate), the hot-melt base material disposed in contact with the magnetic part along the inner side wall of the through-hole to fix the magnetic part in the through-hole ([0021]).
Zeng fails to mention reinforcing fiber yarn embedded in the hot-melt base material.
This teaching is disclosed by SEYBOTH ([0002], [0011], [0015], [0018], [0020], [0028], [0032], woven fiber sheet (reinforcing fiber yarn) is imbedded in a thermoplastic or thermoset resin (hot-melt base material)…suitable thermoplastic resins include polycarbonate, the woven fiber sheet, such as a woven glass fiber sheet, is utilized to provide mechanical strength and rigidity in a composite material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by SEYBOTH into the art of Zeng as to add woven fiber sheet to improve strength of the polycarbonate plate 11.
For claim 2. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the inner shell and the outer shell have substantially the same ductility level as the reinforcing fiber yarn (figure 5, [0023]-[0025]).
For claim 3. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 2, Zeng discloses wherein the inner shell, the outer shell and the reinforcing fiber yarn have substantially the same degree of compatibility with resin (figure 5, [0023]-[0025]).
For claim 4. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, SEYBOTH discloses the reinforcing fiber yarn is a glass fiber yarn, and the hot-melt base material is made of resin ([0015], [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by SEYBOTH into the art of Zeng as modified by SEYBOTH as to add glass fiber sheet to improve strength of the polycarbonate plate 11.
But fails to mention wherein the inner shell and the outer shell are made of aramid fiber.
Official notice is taken that an electronic device shell made with aramid fiber is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques into the art of Zeng as modified by SEYBOTH as to improve strength of the shells with aramid fiber.
For claim 5. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the magnetic interlayer is produced according to the following steps: S100: opening the through-hole in the interlayer base material; S200: laying a first release film on an upper surface of a lower shaping mold; S300: laying the interlayer base material obtained in step S100 on the first release film; S400: embedding the magnetic part in the through-hole in the interlayer base material to obtain a magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly; S500: laying a second release film on an upper surface of the magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly obtained in step S400; S600: putting an upper shaping mold on an upper surface of the second release film to obtain a molding subassembly including the interlayer base material, the magnetic part, the first release film, the lower shaping mold, the second release film, and the upper shaping mold; S700: putting the molding subassembly obtained in step S600 into a first flexible container; S800: performing air extraction processing on the first flexible container, and sealing the first flexible container after the air extraction processing is completed; S900: putting the first flexible container and the molding subassembly inside of the first flexible container into an autoclave, sealing the autoclave, inflating and pressurizing the autoclave, and heating the first flexible container and the molding subassembly inside of the first flexible container obtained in step S800 for a predetermined duration; S1000: stopping the heating after performing the heating for the predetermined duration, waiting for the first flexible container and the molding subassembly inside of the first flexible container to cool to a preset temperature to obtain a semi-finished magnetic interlayer product between the first release film and the second release film, taking out the semi-finished magnetic interlayer product; S1100: cutting the semi-finished magnetic interlayer obtained in step S1000 to a preset shape and size to obtain the magnetic interlayer (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claim 1 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 6. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 5, Zeng discloses wherein the reinforcing fiber yarn is a glass fiber yarn, and the hot-melt base material is made of resin; wherein, in the step S900, the heating of the first flexible container and the molding subassembly inside of the first flexible container for a preset duration includes: heating the first flexible container and the molding subassembly inside of the first flexible container from an initial temperature to 125 degrees Celsius and maintaining the temperature at 125 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes, then heating to 135 degrees Celsius and maintaining the temperature at 135 degrees Celsius for 40 minutes (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 7. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 5, Zeng discloses wherein the reinforcing fiber yarn is a glass fiber yarn, and the hot-melt base material is made of resin; wherein, in the step S900, the heating of the first flexible container and the molding subassembly inside of the first flexible container for a preset duration includes: heating the assembly obtained in step S800 from the initial temperature to between 100-130 degrees Celsius and maintaining the temperature of between 100-130 degrees Celsius for between 10-20 minutes, then heating to between 130-160 degrees Celsius and maintaining the temperature of between 130-160 degrees Celsius for between 30-50 minutes (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 8. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 5, Zeng discloses wherein, in the step S900, inflating and pressurizing the autoclave includes: inflating and pressurizing the autoclave so that a pressure in the autoclave is within a range of 0.4 MPa to 0.8 MPa (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 9. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 8, Zeng discloses wherein the lower shaping mold and the upper shaping mold are both plate-shaped (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 10. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 9, Zeng discloses wherein the first flexible container is a metal foil bag, and when the first flexible container is in an empty exhaust state, the first flexible container is sheet-shaped (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 11. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 10, Zeng discloses wherein the first flexible container is a tin foil bag (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 12. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 5, Zeng discloses wherein the interlayer base material comprises a plurality of stacked sheets (polycarbonate sheet and woven fiber sheet), the sheets include the hot-melt base material and the reinforcing fiber yarn contained in the hot-melt base material; the through-hole is an annular hole, and the step S100 further includes: Step S110: stacking the plurality of sheets to form the interlayer base material having a preset thickness; Step S120: punching through each sheet of the plurality of sheets to form the annular hole (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 13. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 12, Zeng discloses wherein the magnetic part comprises a main adsorption part, the main adsorption part includes a plurality of main magnetic attracting parts and an annular film connecting the plurality of main magnetic attracting parts into a ring shape (figures 4-5, [0019]-[0023]); and the step S400 includes: embedding the main adsorption part in the annular hole of the interlayer base material; and removing the annular film (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 14. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the magnetic interlayer is produced according to the following steps: S100: opening the through-hole in the interlayer base material; S200: laying the interlayer base material obtained in step S100 on a lower shaping mold; S300: embedding the magnetic part in the through-hole of the interlayer base material to obtain a magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly; S400: putting an upper shaping mold on an upper surface of the magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly obtained in step S300; S500: putting the magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly and upper shaping mold into a first flexible container; S600: performing air extraction processing on the first flexible container, and sealing the first flexible container after the air extraction processing is completed; S700: putting the first flexible container including the magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly and upper shaping mold inside the first flexible container into an autoclave, sealing the autoclave, inflating and pressurizing the autoclave, and heating the first flexible container including the magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly and upper shaping mold inside the first flexible container for a predetermined duration; S800: stopping the heating after performing the heating for the predetermined duration, waiting for the first flexible container including the magnetic part and interlayer base material subassembly and upper shaping mold inside the first flexible container to cool to a preset temperature to obtain a semi-finished magnetic interlayer product; S900: cutting the semi-finished magnetic interlayer obtained in step S800 to a preset shape and size to obtain the magnetic interlayer (This limitation stating how the product is made. The applicant is referred to MPEP 2113, “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The prior art product meets this limitation because, for reasons detailed with respect to claim 1 above, the prior art product has the same structure and material properties as applicant’s claimed product.).
For claim 15. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses the hot-melt base material is made of resin (polycarbonate).
But fails to mention wherein the inner shell, the outer shell and the reinforcing fiber yarn are made of aramid fiber.
Official notice is taken that an electronic device shell made with aramid fiber is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques into the art of Zeng as modified by SEYBOTH as to improve strength of the shells with aramid fiber.
For claim 16. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein a thickness of the inner shell is 0.25 mm-0.5 mm, a thickness of the outer shell is 0.25 mm-0.5 mm, and a thickness of the magnetic interlayer is 0.1 mm-0.5 mm (figures 4-5, [0019]-[0023], [0028]: “Those skilled in the art can obtain various other corresponding changes and transformations according to the structure and principle disclosed in the present disclosure, and all these changes and transformations fall within the protection scope of the present disclosure”. It is a design choice to one ordinary skilled in the art).
For claim 17. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the magnetic part has a magnetic part thickness that is equal to the base material thickness and the depth of the through-hole (figures 4-5, [0019]-[0023]).
For claim 18. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the magnetic part is fixed in the through-hole and the magnetic interlayer is flattened by applying heat and pressure to the magnetic interlayer to melt the hot-melt base material (figures 4-5, [0019]-[0023], the base plate polycarbonate (PC) sheet 11, also see MPEP 2113).
For claim 19. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the inner shell, the outer shell, and the magnetic interlayer are fully bonded together to form an integrated structure ([0011], [0021]).
For claim 20. Zeng in combination with SEYBOTH substantially teaches the protective case for electronic device according to claim 1, Zeng discloses wherein the hot-melt base material of the interlayer base material is fully bonded to the inner shell and the outer shell respectively ([0011], [0021]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
August 4, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643