January 12, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NI (U.S. Patent No. 8,939,509 B2).
As for claim 1, Ni teaches a tilt control system comprising:
a base 10;
a backrest 63 pivotally coupled to the base about a first pivot axis 15, wherein the backrest is pivotable relative to the base between an upright position and a reclined position;
a spring adjuster 30,33 coupled to the base and comprising a vertically moveable coupling component 34, wherein the coupling component 34 is reciprocally moveable along a first direction (see the specification at column 4, lines 14-16 where it reads “ The rotation of the screw shaft part 332 makes the adjustment nut 34 move along the screw shaft part 332 inclined and vertically (the arrow B indicates in FIG. 6). “) ; and
a compression spring 50 having a first end coupled to the coupling component and a second end coupled to the backrest, wherein the compression spring extends rearwardly from the first end in a second direction transverse to the first direction (see Fig. 6), wherein the compression spring is compressible between a first condition when the backrest is in the upright position and a second condition when the backrest is in the reclined position, wherein the second condition comprises a greater degree of compression than the first condition.
As for claim 2, Ni further comprises a link having a first end coupled to the coupling component and a second end coupled to the base, wherein the link extends rearwardly from the first end of the link in the second direction (see annotated Fig. 6 above).
As for claim 3, Ni teaches that the spring adjuster comprises a vertically extending shaft 332 rotatably mounted to the base, and wherein the coupling component 34 comprises a nut threadably engaged by the shaft.
As for claim 4, Ni teaches that the first end of the link is pivotally coupled to the nut at pin shaft 342 and the second end of the link is pivotally at connected fourth connecting shaft 17 to the base.
As for claim 5, Ni further comprises a spring holder engaging the compression spring, the spring holder having a first component 341 engaged by the first end of the compression spring and a second component 121 engaged by the second end of the compression spring, wherein the first and second components are moveable relative to each other.
As for claim 7, Ni teaches that the first component 341 pivotally engages the coupling component at pin shaft 342.
As for claim 13, Ni further comprises a seat 61 pivotally coupled to the backrest about a second pivot axis 14.
As for claim 14, Ni teaches that the second pivot axis 14 is positioned rearwardly of the first pivot axis 15.
As for claim 15, Ni teaches that the seat is pivotally coupled to the base about a third pivot axis.
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wickman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,207,479).
As for claim 1, Wickman et al. teach a tilt control system comprising:
a base 38;
a backrest 22 pivotally coupled by way of the seat 12 to the base about a first pivot axis 42, wherein the backrest is pivotable relative to the base between an upright position and a reclined position;
a spring adjuster 36 coupled to the base and comprising a vertically moveable coupling component 74 (see the specification at column 5, lines 52-56 where it reads “End 76 of tension arm 66 rotatably receives dowel 74 so that downward movement of dowel 74 causes an increase in the compression of springs 30 and upward movement of dowel 74 causes a decrease in their compression.”) wherein the coupling component 74 is reciprocally moveable along a first direction; and
a compression spring 30 having a first end coupled to the coupling component and a second end coupled to the backrest, wherein the compression spring extends rearwardly from the first end in a second direction transverse to the first direction, wherein the compression spring is compressible between a first condition when the backrest is in the upright position and a second condition when the backrest is in the reclined position, wherein the second condition comprises a greater degree of compression than the first condition.
As for claim 5, Wickman et al. further comprises a spring holder engaging the compression spring, the spring holder having a first component 56 engaged by the first end of the compression spring and a second component 58 engaged by the second end of the compression spring, wherein the first and second components are moveable relative to each other.
As for claim 6, Wickman et al. further comprises a third component 54 bridging between the first and second components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636