Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 05/08/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, and 15, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective independent claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 10904827 and 12063592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely broader versions of the ‘827 and ‘592 claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8-12, 14, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 20210274366 A1) in view of Dao (US 20180262924 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses a first user plane system [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066], comprising:
one or more processors [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066 (inherent)];
a memory [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066 (inherent)]; and
one or more components stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066 (inherent)] to perform operations comprising:
determining a first latency based at least in part on … (E2E latency is determined [Abstract]); and
transmitting, to a signaling system, latency information based at least partly on the first latency (Reported to the service producer [par. 0076, 90]).
Although Yao discloses latency, as discussed above, Yao does not explicitly disclose transmitting a first measurement request toward a radio access network (RAN); receiving, from the RAN, a first measurement response in response to the first measurement request; the first measurement request and the first measurement response. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Dao.
In the same field of endeavor, Dao discloses:
transmitting a first measurement request toward a radio access network (RAN) (The NWDA sends the RAN/UE a measurement request [par. 0060, 62, fig. 2, 12-C]);
receiving, from the RAN, a first measurement response in response to the first measurement request (The UE/RAN sends the NWDA a measurement response [par. 0060, 62, fig. 2, 12-C]);
the first measurement request and the first measurement response [par. 0060, 62, fig. 2, 12-C]; and
transmitting, to a signaling system [fig. 2, 12-C].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yao with Dao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of network policy optimization [Dao par. 0002].
Regarding claim 8, it is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Yao further discloses a computing device [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066], comprising: one or more processors [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066 (inherent)]; a memory [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066 (inherent)]; and one or more components stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors [fig. 1 no. 134, 2 no. 201, par. 0066 (inherent)].
Regarding claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in method claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Yao and Dao disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Yao and Dao further disclose the operations further comprising:
periodically transmitting a second measurement request toward the RAN [Dao par. 0049, 52, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize any specific requests/responses are performed periodically];
determining a second latency [Yao, as discussed above] between the second measurement request and a second measurement response received from the RAN [Dao par. 0049, 52, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize any specific requests/responses are performed periodically]; and
transmitting, to the signaling system, updated latency information [Yao, as discussed above] based at least partly on the second latency [Yao, as discussed above, Dao par. 0049, 52, 79, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize any specific requests/responses are performed periodically]
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Yao and Dao disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Yao and Dao further disclose the operations further comprising:
providing services from a data network to a user device in response to receiving a request from the signaling system (Dynamic policies based on information received (i.e., ultimately providing services from network to user) [par. 0003-04]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Yao and Dao disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Yao and Dao further disclose:
wherein the latency information identifies the first user plane system and the first latency, the first latency being lower than a second latency associated with a second user plane system configured to provide services to the user device [Dao par. 0073, 80, where Yao discloses the latency info as discussed above].
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Yao and Dao disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Yao and Dao further disclose:
wherein determining that the first user plane system is associated with the lower latency than the second user plane system includes comparing first latency information and second latency information [Dao par. 0073, 80, where Yao discloses the latency info as discussed above].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Yao and Dao disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Yao and Dao further disclose:
wherein the latency information indicates at least one of a measurement of a time period between transmitting the first measurement request and receiving the first measurement response [Abstract, par. 0076, 90], an indication of whether the time period is greater than a predetermined delay, or an indication of whether the time period is greater than a level that can change over time.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao and Dao as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively, and further in view of Stammers (US 20190254083 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Yao and Dao disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Yao discloses wherein the latency information identifies the first user plane system and the first latency, as discussed above, Yao and Dao do not explicitly disclose the first user plane system being further in physical proximity to a user device than a second user plane system. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Stammers.
In the same field of endeavor, Stammers discloses:
the first user plane system being further in physical proximity to a user device than a second user plane system [par. 0087].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yao and Dao with Stammers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of selecting session management and UP functions for use in a UE session [Stammers par. 0002].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465