Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13-17, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0359696 A1) in view of LYNCH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0212695 A1).
1, Bell teaches a method for user equipment (UE) assisting in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between a vehicle and a first non-cellular wireless network [par 0105, For example, the user may enable the cellular phone's hotspot feature, and then utilize a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on an output device on the vehicle (connected to the vehicle's on-board computer) to pair to the cellular phone utilizing Wi-Fi signals],
the method comprising: the UE establishing a first non-cellular wireless connection between the UE and the first non-cellular wireless network[par 0098, 0105, For example, the user may enable the cellular phone's hotspot feature, and then utilize a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on an output device on the vehicle (connected to the vehicle's on-board computer) to pair to the cellular phone utilizing Wi-Fi signals. The SSID of the cellular phone's hotspot Wi-Fi signal may be identified to the on-board computer (using the GUI) and the password to the hotspot Wi-Fi signal may be entered];
the UE establishing a second non-cellular connection between the UE and the vehicle, wherein the second non-cellular connection is independent of the first non-cellular wireless network [par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing. The user may enable Bluetooth on the user's cellular phone. The vehicle's on-board computer may be requested to identify any Bluetooth beacons that it may detect, and the user may then select the name of the cellular phone's Bluetooth beacon. The on-board computer may then complete a handshake with the cellular phone using Bluetooth communication, and a code may be displayed on the vehicle's output device],
Bell fail to show the UE using (i) the first non-cellular wireless connection with the non-cellular wireless network and (ii) the second non-cellular connection with the vehicle to assist in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network.
In an analogous art LYNCH show the UE using (i) the first non-cellular wireless connection with the non-cellular wireless network and (ii) the second non-cellular connection with the vehicle to assist in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network [par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
2, Bell and LYNCH discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first and direct non-cellular wireless connections are WiFi connections with a WiFi network [Bell, par 0072, A network interface 230 enables the computer system 200 to communicate with any computer communications network, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, the internet, etc];
and the second non-cellular connection between the UE and the vehicle is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection [par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing];
4, Bell and LYNCH illustrates the method of claim 1, Bell fail to show wherein, to assist in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network, the UE transmits, to the vehicle, information about the first non-cellular wireless network, wherein the information comprises (i) an identifier of the first non-cellular wireless network and (ii) either a password or a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network
In an analogous art LYNCH show wherein, to assist in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network, the UE transmits, to the vehicle [par 0148, The vehicle-based hotspot may use a minimum RSSI and/or one or more other conditions from devices to help ensure that WTRUs/devices 102 (e.g., only WTRUs/devices) within the vehicle may use the network. The vehicle-based hotspot may establish a condition that a device be present for a certain amount of time prior to providing visibility to the network to avoid passing WTRUs/devices 102 from the outside],
information about the first non-cellular wireless network, wherein the information comprises (i) an identifier of the first non-cellular wireless network and (ii) either a password or a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network[par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
6, Bell and LYNCH creates the method of claim 1, Bell fail to show wherein, to assist in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network: the UE acquires a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network; and the UE uses the certificate to establish the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network without providing the certificate to the vehicle.
In an analogous art LYNCH show wherein, to assist in establishing the non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the non-cellular wireless network: the UE acquires a certificate for the vehicle to connect to the non-cellular wireless network, and the UE uses the certificate to establish the non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the non-cellular wireless network without providing the certificate to the vehicle[par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
9, Bell discloses a UE comprising: a memory; and at least one processor [par 0020, an example apparatus is provided comprising: one or more processors; a non-transitory memory coupled to one or more processors, the non-transitory memory including a set of instructions of computer-executable program code],
coupled to the memory and operative to cause the UE to: establish a first non-cellular wireless connection between the UE and a first non-cellular wireless network [par 0098, 0105, For example, the user may enable the cellular phone's hotspot feature, and then utilize a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on an output device on the vehicle (connected to the vehicle's on-board computer) to pair to the cellular phone utilizing Wi-Fi signals. The SSID of the cellular phone's hotspot Wi-Fi signal may be identified to the on-board computer (using the GUI) and the password to the hotspot Wi-Fi signal may be entered];
establish a second non-connection between the UE and a vehicle, wherein the second non-cellular connection is independent of the first non-cellular wireless network [par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing. The user may enable Bluetooth on the user's cellular phone. The vehicle's on-board computer may be requested to identify any Bluetooth beacons that it may detect, and the user may then select the name of the cellular phone's Bluetooth beacon. The on-board computer may then complete a handshake with the cellular phone using Bluetooth communication, and a code may be displayed on the vehicle's output device],
Bell fail to show use (i) the first non-cellular wireless connection with the first non-cellular wireless network and (ii) the second non-cellular connection with the vehicle to assist in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network,
In an analogous art LYNCH show use (i) the first non-cellular wireless connection with the first non-cellular wireless network and (ii) the second non-cellular connection with the vehicle to assist in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network[par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
10, Bell and LYNCH discloses a method for establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between a vehicle and a first non-cellular wireless network, the method comprising: the vehicle establishing a first non-cellular connection between the vehicle and a UE, wherein the first non-cellular connection is independent of the non-cellular wireless network[Bell, par 0072, 0098,A network interface 230 enables the computer system 200 to communicate with any computer communications network, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, the internet, etc. A home Wi-Fi router, in accordance with one or more embodiments set forth and described herein. As illustrated in FIG. 13, a communication environment with a home Wi-Fi router is shown. A computer system 100 (of the kind illustrated in FIG. 2) is attached to a vehicle such as a motorcycle (although it may be any other type of vehicle such as an automobile];
and the vehicle using the first non-cellular connection with the UE to receive assistance from the UE in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network [par 0105, For example, the user may enable the cellular phone's hotspot feature, and then utilize a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on an output device on the vehicle (connected to the vehicle's on-board computer) to pair to the cellular phone utilizing Wi-Fi signals],
11, Bell and LYNCH conveys the method of claim 10, wherein at least one of: the direct non-cellular wireless connection is a WiFi connection with a WiFi network [Bell, par 0072, A network interface 230 enables the computer system 200 to communicate with any computer communications network, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, the internet, etc];
and the first non-cellular connection between the vehicle and the UE is a BLE connection[par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing];
13, Bell and LYNCH convey the method of claim 10, Bell fail to show wherein, to receive assistance from the UE in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network: the vehicle receives, from the UE, information about the first non-cellular wireless network, wherein the information comprises (i) an identifier of the first non-cellular wireless network and (ii) either a password or a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network; and the vehicle uses the information to establish the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network.
In an analogous art LYNCH show wherein, to receive assistance from the UE in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network: the vehicle receives, from the UE, information about the first non-cellular wireless network, wherein the information comprises (i) an identifier of the first non-cellular wireless network and (ii) either a password or a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network[par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
and the vehicle uses the information to establish the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network [par 0148, The vehicle-based hotspot may use a minimum RSSI and/or one or more other conditions from devices to help ensure that WTRUs/devices 102 (e.g., only WTRUs/devices) within the vehicle may use the network. The vehicle-based hotspot may establish a condition that a device be present for a certain amount of time prior to providing visibility to the network to avoid passing WTRUs/devices 102 from the outside].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
14, Bell and LYNCH disclose the method of claim 13, wherein, prior to receiving the information about the first non-cellular wireless network: the vehicle receives, from the UE, a request for information about the vehicle; and the vehicle transmits, to the UE, the information about the vehicle [Bell par 0106, The vehicle's on-board computer may be requested to identify any Bluetooth beacons that it may detect, and the user may then select the name of the cellular phone's Bluetooth beacon. The on-board computer may then complete a handshake with the cellular phone using Bluetooth communication, and a code may be displayed on the vehicle's output device]
15, Bell reveal a vehicle comprising: a memory; and at least one processor [par 0066, The computer system may be located anywhere on the vehicle. A control module 201 serves as a host, main, or primary control system of the vehicle. The processors 202 may be implemented with one or more general-purpose and/or one or more special-purpose processors. Examples of suitable processors include graphics processors, microprocessors, microcontrollers, DSP processors, and other circuitry that may execute software (e.g., stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium)],
coupled to the memory and operative to cause the vehicle to: establish a first non-cellular connection between the vehicle and a UE[par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing];
wherein the first non-cellular connection is independent of the first non-cellular wireless network [par 0106, The user may enable Bluetooth on the user's cellular phone. The vehicle's on-board computer may be requested to identify any Bluetooth beacons that it may detect, and the user may then select the name of the cellular phone's Bluetooth beacon. The on-board computer may then complete a handshake with the cellular phone using Bluetooth communication],
Bell fail to show use first non-cellular the connection with the UE to receive assistance from the UE in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and a first non-cellular wireless network,
In an analogous art LYNCH show use first non-cellular the connection with the UE to receive assistance from the UE in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and a first non-cellular wireless network [par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
16, Bell defines a method for establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between a vehicle and a first non-cellular wireless network[par 0098, Thus, a user may utilize their cellular phone to connect the computer system 100 to the computer communications network while the user is on the road (away from home) but when the user is in close proximity of home, the computer system 100 may automatically “hand off” utilizing the cellular phone to utilizing the home Wi-Fi for connecting to the computer communications network];
the method comprising: the first non-cellular wireless network establishing a first non-cellular wireless connection between the first non-cellular wireless network and a UE[par 0098, Thus, a user may utilize their cellular phone to connect the computer system 100 to the computer communications network while the user is on the road (away from home) but when the user is in close proximity of home, the computer system 100 may automatically “hand off” utilizing the cellular phone to utilizing the home Wi-Fi for connecting to the computer communications network];
Bell fail to show first the non-cellular wireless network using the first non-cellular wireless connection with the UE to assist the UE in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the non-cellular wireless network.
In an analogous art LYNCH show first the non-cellular wireless network using the first non-cellular wireless connection with the UE to assist the UE in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the non-cellular wireless network[par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
17, Bell The method of claim 16, wherein the non-cellular wireless connections are WiFi connections with a WiFi network [par 0072, A network interface 230 enables the computer system 200 to communicate with any computer communications network, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, the internet, etc];
24, Bell reveals a first non-cellular wireless network comprising: a memory; and at least one processor [par 0066, The processors 202 may be implemented with one or more general-purpose and/or one or more special-purpose processors. Examples of suitable processors include graphics processors, microprocessors, microcontrollers, DSP processors, and other circuitry that may execute software (e.g., stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium). Further examples of suitable processors include, but are not limited to, a central processing unit (CPU)],
coupled to the memory and operative to cause the first non-cellular wireless network to: establish a first non-cellular wireless connection between the first non-cellular wireless network and a UE[par 0105, For example, the user may enable the cellular phone's hotspot feature, and then utilize a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on an output device on the vehicle (connected to the vehicle's on-board computer) to pair to the cellular phone utilizing Wi-Fi signals];
Bell fail to show use the first non-cellular wireless connection with the UE to assist the UE in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between a vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network.
In an analogous art LYNCH show use the first non-cellular wireless connection with the UE to assist the UE in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between a vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network[par 0356, 0358, the setup of the network that may involve authentication and generation of session keys in different ways and using single and/or multiple SSIDs in the visited network. The various mechanisms may include any of: (1) mutual authentication using a procedure such as EAP; (2) mutual authentication using WPA(2)-PSK; (3) using public key certificates; (4) password and/or (5) using a pre-existing security association between John and Facebook, A procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. Referring to FIG. 29, the procedure 2900 illustrates a variant of the EAP mutual authentication, which may use single SSID (e.g. ROAM-SSID), and the WPA(2)-PSK authentication with a unique key per user for the key generation process, According to applicant’s specification the UE performs step of to assist in establishing a WiFi connection for the vehicle the UE 202 transmits, via the Bluetooth connection to the vehicle 204, the service set identifier (SSID) and credential (i.e., WPA2/3 password) for the WiFi network].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell and LYNCH because this would provide a procedure for secure authentication and connection setup of the VWTRU 2806 to a visitor network. [LYNCH par 0358]
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0359696 A1) in view of LYNCH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0212695 A1) in further view of Pebbles et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0076279 A1)
3, Bell and LYNCH defines the method of claim 1, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein, prior to assisting in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network, the UE determines that the vehicle does not have a non-cellular wireless connection with any non-cellular wireless network
In an analogous art Pebbles show wherein, prior to assisting in establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network, the UE determines that the vehicle does not have a non-cellular wireless connection with any non-cellular wireless network [par 0038, 0039, After sending the first security token to the merchant 19 and a copy of the first security token to the third party credit issuer at the computer 18, the smart phone 57, using a software application, can determine that the short-range wireless connection between it and the vehicle telematics unit 30 exists and create a data message indicating this status. the data message indicating the connection status can then be communicated to the vehicle telematics unit 30 over the short-range wireless connection. The connection status can be identified by the software application resident on the smart phone 57. An owner of the vehicle 12 or someone authorized to used the vehicle 12 can identify the vehicle 12 when initializing or configuring the settings of the software application].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Pebbles because the connection status can then be communicated to the vehicle telematics unit 30 over the short-range wireless connection.[Pebbles par 0039]
12, Bell and LYNCH discloses the method of claim 10, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein, prior to establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the non-cellular wireless network, the vehicle informs the UE that the vehicle does not have a non-cellular wireless connection with any non-cellular wireless network
In an analogous art Pebbles show wherein, prior to establishing the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the non-cellular wireless network, the vehicle informs the UE that the vehicle does not have a non-cellular wireless connection with any non-cellular wireless network[par 0038, 0039, After sending the first security token to the merchant 19 and a copy of the first security token to the third party credit issuer at the computer 18, the smart phone 57, using a software application, can determine that the short-range wireless connection between it and the vehicle telematics unit 30 exists and create a data message indicating this status. he data message indicating the connection status can then be communicated to the vehicle telematics unit 30 over the short-range wireless connection. The connection status can be identified by the software application resident on the smart phone 57. An owner of the vehicle 12 or someone authorized to used the vehicle 12 can identify the vehicle 12 when initializing or configuring the settings of the software application].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Pebbles because the connection status can then be communicated to the vehicle telematics unit 30 over the short-range wireless connection.[Pebbles par 0039]
Claim(s) 5, 7, 18-22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0359696 A1) LYNCH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0212695 A1) in further view of Nix (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0264300 A1).
5, Bell and LYNCH illustrates the method of claim 4, wherein: the UE transmits, to the vehicle, a request for information about the vehicle [par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing. The user may enable Bluetooth on the user's cellular phone. The vehicle's on-board computer may be requested to identify any Bluetooth beacons that it may detect, and the user may then select the name of the cellular phone's Bluetooth beacon];
the UE receives, from the vehicle, the information about the vehicle [par 0106, The on-board computer may then complete a handshake with the cellular phone using Bluetooth communication, and a code may be displayed on the vehicle's output device. This same code may be communicated to the cellular phone which may be displayed on the cellular phone display];
Bell and LYNCH fail to show the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, the information about the vehicle; the UE receives, from the first non-cellular wireless network, the certificate; and the UE transmits, to the vehicle, the certificate.
In an analogous art Nix show the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, the information about the vehicle [par 0014, 0018, The device can be a computing device for connecting with wireless networks such as a 5G network or a Wi-Fi network and the device can include a radio. The device can include a processor, memory, a user interface, and a bus connecting the components within an enclosure. The device could comprise a radio module within a larger device, such as a radio module within an automobile, industrial equipment, a mobile handset such as a smart phone. The device can generate the subscriber concealed identity (SUCI) using at least the SUPI and the ECIES encryption function. The device can use the MNO parameters to establish a radio resource connection with the MNO. The device can send the SUCI to the MNO, and the MNO can use the plaintext second portion of the realm to select the network and send the SUCI to the network];
the UE receives, from the first non-cellular wireless network, the certificate; and the UE transmits, to the vehicle, the certificate [par 0019, The network can send an EAP-TLS start command to the device through the MNO. The network can receive a “client hello” and the SUCI from the MNO].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012]
7, Bell and LYNCH describes the method of claim 6, wherein, to acquire the certificate: the UE transmits, to the vehicle, a request for information about the vehicle[Bell par 0106, Another method that the vehicle's on-board computer may utilize to connect to the user's cellular phone and utilize the cellular phone's internet connection is by Bluetooth pairing. The user may enable Bluetooth on the user's cellular phone. The vehicle's on-board computer may be requested to identify any Bluetooth beacons that it may detect, and the user may then select the name of the cellular phone's Bluetooth beacon];;
the UE receives, from the vehicle, the information about the vehicle[par 0106, The on-board computer may then complete a handshake with the cellular phone using Bluetooth communication, and a code may be displayed on the vehicle's output device. This same code may be communicated to the cellular phone which may be displayed on the cellular phone display];
Bell and LYNCH fail to show the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, a request for the certificate with the vehicle information; the UE receives, from the first non-cellular wireless network, the certificate; the UE stores the certificate without transmitting the certificate to the vehicle; and the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, a request for the non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network, wherein the request includes information about the certificate.
In an analogous art Nix show the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, a request for the certificate with the vehicle information[par 0139, generating a certificate request 219e according to section 4.3.2 of RFC 8446, etc. The certificate request 219e from a step 219c can comprise a request for device 101 to mutually authenticate with AUSF 103b using at least a device certificate 101c],
the UE receives, from the first non-cellular wireless network, the certificate[par 0019, The network can send an EAP-TLS start command to the device through the MNO. The network can receive a “client hello” and the SUCI from the MNO],
the UE stores the certificate without transmitting the certificate to the vehicle [par 0064, Device 101 can record or store a certificate for device provider 104 comprising Cert.Provider 104c, where the certificate for device provider 104 can be similar to the certificate for device 101 described above],
and the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, a request for the non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network, wherein the request includes information about the certificate [par 0014, 0016, The device can be a computing device for connecting with wireless networks such as a 5G network or a Wi-Fi network and the device can include a radio. The device can conduct an EAP-TLS authentication through the MNO with the network. The network can include an authentication server function (AUSF) and a network database. The network can include an identity comprising the network identity in the second portion of a realm for the device subscriber permanent identifier].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012]
18, Bell and LYNCH describes the method of claim 16, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein: the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, a request for a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network; and the first non-cellular wireless network generates and transmits the certificate to the UE.
In an analogous art Nix to show wherein: the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, a request for a certificate for the vehicle to connect directly to the first non-cellular wireless network[par 0139, generating a certificate request 219e according to section 4.3.2 of RFC 8446, etc. The certificate request 219e from a step 219c can comprise a request for device 101 to mutually authenticate with AUSF 103b using at least a device certificate 101c];
and the first non-cellular wireless network generates and transmits the certificate to the UE[par 0019, The network can send an EAP-TLS start command to the device through the MNO. The network can receive a “client hello” and the SUCI from the MNO],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012]
19, Bell, LYNCH, and Nix reveal the method of claim 18, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein: the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, the request for the certificate without information about the vehicle; the first non-cellular wireless network transmits, to the UE, a request for the information about the vehicle; the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, the information about the vehicle; and the non-cellular wireless network generates and transmits the certificate to the UE.
In an analogous art Nix show wherein: the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, the request for the certificate without information about the vehicle[par 0139, generating a certificate request 219e according to section 4.3.2 of RFC 8446, etc. The certificate request 219e from a step 219c can comprise a request for device 101 to mutually authenticate with AUSF 103b using at least a device certificate 101c];
the non-cellular wireless network transmits, to the UE, a request for the information about the vehicle; the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, the information about the vehicle [par 0025, The network can send the SUPI to the device provider. For some embodiments, the network can send a certificate signing request (CSR) for a network static public key either (i) along with the SUPI (if the network determines a valid network certificate is not current or present for a provider domain in a SUCI or SUPI), or (ii) after the network and device provider establish a secure session];
and the first non-cellular wireless network generates and transmits the certificate to the UE [par 0019, The network can send an EAP-TLS start command to the device through the MNO. The network can receive a “client hello” and the SUCI from the MNO],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012
20, Bell, LYNCH and Nix disclose the method of claim 18, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein: the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, the request for the certificate with information about the vehicle; and the first non-cellular wireless network generates and transmits the certificate to the UE.
In an analogous art Nix show wherein: the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, the request for the certificate with information about the vehicle [par 0139, generating a certificate request 219e according to section 4.3.2 of RFC 8446, etc. The certificate request 219e from a step 219c can comprise a request for device 101 to mutually authenticate with AUSF 103b using at least a device certificate 101c];
and the first non-cellular wireless network generates and transmits the certificate to the UE [par 0019, The network can send an EAP-TLS start command to the device through the MNO. The network can receive a “client hello” and the SUCI from the MNO],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012]
21, Bell, LYNCH, and Nix demonstrate the method of claim 18, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the vehicle, a request for the direct non-cellular wireless connection with the vehicle using the certificate.
In an analogous art Nix show wherein the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the vehicle, a request for the direct non-cellular wireless connection with the vehicle using the certificate [par 0030, The network can receive the network certificate and process a “server hello” using at least the received network certificate and the corresponding selected network private key. Data processed by the AUSF for a “server hello” can include standard fields such as the server ephemeral public key, selected extensions, a certificate request, and the received network certificate. The data processed in the previous sentence can be included in a “Certificate Verify” step. The AUSF can use the network private key (which can correspond to the network public key in the network certificate) to create a digital signature for a “Certificate]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012]
22, Bell, LYNCH, and Nix provide the method of claim 18, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, a request for the direct non-cellular wireless connection with the vehicle using the certificate.
In an analogous art Nix show wherein the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, a request for the direct non-cellular wireless connection with the vehicle using the certificate [par 0063, 0072, A certificate for device 101 can comprise cert.device 101c and can include the device identity comprising the SUPI 101a. For some embodiments, the device identity within a device certificate cert.device 101c can be a number, string, or value that is different than the SUPI 101a. As one example, a SUPI 101a could be for connecting with a wireless network 102, while a device identity in a cert.device 101c can be for communicating with a device provider]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Nix because this provides devices to securely and efficiently conduct EAP-TLS authentication with wireless networks, where the device uses a subscriber concealed identity. [Nix par 0012]
6. Claim(s) 8, 23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0359696 A1) in view of LYNCH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0212695 A1) in further view of Gross et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0360382 A1)
8, Bell and LYNCH disclose the method of claim 1, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, a series of keep-alive messages to maintain the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network.
In an analogous art Gross show wherein the UE transmits, to the first non-cellular wireless network, a series of keep-alive messages to maintain the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network [par 1226, For example, a network connection between push notification server 31_906 and mobile device 31_100 can be established when another (high or low priority) push notification is delivered to mobile device 31_100 or when mobile device 31_100 sends other transmissions 31_924 (e.g., status message, heartbeat message, keep alive message, etc.) to push notification server]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Gross because mobile device can send a message indicating that the mobile device will be active for a period of time [Gross par 1226]
23, Bell and LYNCH illustrate the method of claim 16, Bell and LYNCH fail to show wherein the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, a series of keep-alive messages to maintain the direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network.
In an analogous art Gross show wherein the first non-cellular wireless network receives, from the UE, a series of keep-alive messages to maintain the first non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and the first non-cellular wireless network[par 1226, For example, a network connection between push notification server 31_906 and mobile device 31_100 can be established when another (high or low priority) push notification is delivered to mobile device 31_100 or when mobile device 31_100 sends other transmissions 31_924 (e.g., status message, heartbeat message, keep alive message, etc.) to push notification server]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bell, LYNCH, and Gross because mobile device can send a message indicating that the mobile device will be active for a period of time [Gross par 1226]
Response to Arguments
The cited references do not teach or even suggest the combination of features recited in currently amended claim 1. In rejecting original claim 1, the Examiner argued that Bell teaches the features of claim 1. Bell teaches techniques in which a cellular phone (i.e., a UE) functions as an intermediary (e.g., as a WiFi hotspot (see paragraph [0105])) between a vehicle and a WiFi network. There is no teaching or even suggestion in Bell that Bell's cellular phone uses, for example, (i) a WiFi connection with a WiFi network and (ii) a BLE connection with a vehicle to assist in establishing a direct WiFi connection between the vehicle and the WiFi network. Nor do the other cited references teach or even suggest the features of currently amended claim 1 that are missing from Bell.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Neither Bell nor any of the other cited references teaches or even suggests a UE determining that a vehicle does not have a non-cellular wireless connection with any non-cellular wireless network prior to assisting in establishing a direct non-cellular wireless connection between the vehicle and a first non- cellular wireless network. In view of the foregoing, the Applicant submits that this provides additional reasons for the allowability of claim 3 and also claim 12 over the cited references.
The applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
In fact, Nix does not teach or even suggest a UE acquiring and using a certificate to enable a vehicle to connect directly to a first non-cellular wireless network, where the UE does not provide that certificate to the vehicle. In view of the foregoing, the Applicant submits that this provides additional reasons for the allowability of claim 6 and also claims 7-8 and 20 over the cited references.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
In rejecting previously pending claim 8, the Examiner cited Gross as teaching the features of claim 8 that are missing from Bell and Nix, citing paragraph [1126]. In paragraph [1126], Gross teaches a first device (i.e., mobile device 31_100) sending a keep alive message 31_924 to a network (i.e., push notification server 31_906) presumably in order to maintain the connection between the first device and the network. See FIG. 31_9, which shows the mobile device 31_100 having a wireless connection with the push notification server 31_906. Gross does not teach or even suggest a first device transmitting keep-alive messages to a network to maintain a connection between a different, second device and the network.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the Gross disclose the mobile device show transferring a keep alive or heartbeat message. It is known in the art that keep alive messages is used to maintain a connection The applicant’s specification and claim fail to show how the UE sending the keep alive message maintain the connection to a vehicle and the network. The examiner point of view since a connection is established between the terminal use the non cellular connection to assist with connection with the vehicle it is understood that the keep alive message is used to maintain the connection between a vehicle and the network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468