DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon (2005/0091782).
Regarding Claim 1, Gordon teaches An extraction cleaner (Ref. 60, Fig. 1) comprising:
a base (Ref. 64, Fig. 1, [0032]);
an agitator chamber (Fig. 3 section holding the agitator) defined by the base (Fig. 3);
an agitator (Ref. 112, Fig. 3) disposed in the agitator chamber for agitating the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 3-4, [0034]);
at least one base fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 122, Fig. 3-4) coupled to the base (Fig. 4), the at least one base fluid ([0035] describes a fluid dispenser for a liquid such as clean water) dispensing nozzle being configured for distributing a fluid directly or indirectly onto a surface to be cleaned (Fig. 4, [0035]);
a nozzle suction inlet (Ref. 100, Fig. 4) disposed at a bottom of the base (Fig. 4) and forward of the agitator chamber (Fig. 4);
a recovery tank (Ref. 80, Fig. 1, [0033]); and
a diverter valve (Ref. 128, Fig. 4, [0054]), the diverter valve (128) comprising a nozzle inlet port (Ref. 103, Fig. 4) in fluid communication with the nozzle suction inlet (100) through a nozzle airflow path (Ref. 98, Fig. 4, [0044]),
a chamber inlet port (Ref. 108, Fig. 4, [0033]) in fluid communication with a chamber suction inlet (Ref. 110, Fig. 4) within the agitator chamber (Fig. 4), and an outlet port (Fig. 13A-B upper opening) coupled to a base airflow path (Fig. 13A), the diverter valve (31) having a nozzle suction state (Fig. 13B) wherein the outlet port is fluidly coupled to the nozzle inlet port for receiving recovered fluid from the surface to be cleaned through the nozzle suction inlet and into the recovery tank (Fig. 13B, [0054]) and chamber suction state (Fig. 13A) wherein the output port is fluidly coupled to the chamber inlet port for receiving chamber debris from the agitator chamber through the chamber suction inlet and into the recovery tank (Fig. 13A, [0054])
Regarding Claim 2, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a diverter valve switch (Ref. 132&66R, Fig. 9&13-14) having a nozzle switch state (Fig. 10B, [0057]) when the base is moved in a rearward direction ([0057] describes moving in a rearward direction) and a chamber switch state (Fig. 10A) when the base is moved in a forward direction ([0056] describes a forward direction), the diverter valve being responsive to the diverter valve switch ([0056-0057]), whereby when the diverter valve switch is in the nozzle switch state the diverter valve is in the nozzle suction state and when the diverter valve switch is in the chamber switch state the diverter valve is in the chamber suction state ([0056-0057], Fig. 10A-B).
Regarding Claim 3, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further teaches a first status switch (Ref. 890, Fig. 9-10) having a first status switch nozzle suction state (Fig. 10B) and a first status switch chamber suction state (Fig. 10A); and
a second status switch (Ref. 898, fig. 9-10) having a second status switch nozzle suction state (Fig. 10B) and a second status switch chamber suction state (Fig. 10A),
wherein when the diverter valve switch (132) is in the nozzle switch state (10B) the first status switch (890) is placed in the first status switch nozzle suction state and the second status switch is placed in the second status switch nozzle suction state (Fig. 10B), and
wherein when the diverter valve switch (132) is in the chamber switch state (10A) the first status switch is placed in the first status switch chamber suction state (fig. 10A) and the second status switch is placed in the second status switch chamber suction state (Fig. 10A).
Regarding Claim 4, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further teaches wherein the diverter valve switch comprises: a body (Ref. 132&66R, Fig. 14) rotatably mounted relative to the diverter valve (Fig. 13A-B), whereby movement of the base in the rearward direction causes rotation of the body to place the diverter valve switch in the nozzle switch state ([0057] describes moving in a rearward direction to place in the nozzle switch state, Fig. 10B&13B) and movement of the base in the forward direction causes rotation of the body to place the diverter valve switch in the chamber switch state ([0056] describes a forward direction causes rotation of the body to the chamber switch state, Fig. 10A & 13A)).
Regarding Claim 5, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further teaches wherein the diverter valve switch comprises: a floor contacting member (Ref. 66R, Fig. 4) extending downwardly from the body (Fig .4), the floor contacting member being positioned to contact the surface to be cleaned to cause the rotation of the body to place the diverter valve switch in the nozzle switch state and the rotation of the body to place the diverter valve switch in the chamber switch state ([0056-0057] describes determining direction based upon the floor contacting member)
Regarding Claim 6, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further teaches wherein the diverter valve switch (132) comprises: a valve interface (Ref. 134, Fig. 14) comprising a first link arm (Ref. 134, Fig. 14) having a first end (134 right side) coupled to the body (Fig. 9) and a second link arm (Ref. 138, Fig. 9) having a first end (138 right side) coupled to a second end (134 left side) of the first link arm (Fig. 9), the second link arm having a second end coupled to a door (Ref. 92, Fig. 13-14) of the diverter valve (128).
Regarding Claim 7, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further teaches wherein the body (132) comprises: a hammer (Ref. 887, Fig. 10B) positioned to place the first status switch in the first status switch nozzle suction state (Fig. 10B) or a first status switch chamber suction state (Fig. 10B, [0057]) upon movement of the base in the rearward direction ([0057] describes movement of the base in a rearward direction); and
an extension (Reg. 67, Fig. 10A-B) configured to place the second status switch in the second status switch nozzle suction state or the second status switch chamber suction state upon movement of the base in the forward direction (Fig. 10A, [0056]).
Regarding Claim 8, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further teaches a plunger (Ref. 886, Fig. 9) positioned adjacent the hammer (887); and a carriage (Ref. 894, Fig. 9) positioned adjacent the extension (67, Fig. 10A-B), wherein the hammer (887) is configured to contact the plunger (886) to place the first status switch in the first status switch nozzle suction state or the first status switch chamber suction state upon movement of the base in the rearward direction (Fig. 10B, [0057] describes movement in a rearward direction), and the extension is configured to contact the carriage to place the second status switch in the second status switch nozzle suction state or the second status switch chamber suction state upon movement of the base in the forward direction (fig. 10A, [0056] describes movement in a rearward direction).
Regarding Claim 9, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the diverter valve comprises: a door (Ref. 132, Fig. 13A-B) rotatably disposed in a central cavity (Ref. 130, Fig. 13A-B) for movement between a nozzle suction position (Fig. 13B) and a chamber suction position (Fig. 13A), wherein when the door is in the nozzle suction position the outlet port is fluidly coupled to the nozzle inlet port (Fig. 13B) and when the door is in the chamber suction position the outlet port is fluidly coupled to the chamber inlet port (Fig. 13A)
Regarding Claim 10, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further teaches wherein the diverter valve comprises a first shelf (Ref. 130, inner wall left side, Fig. 13A-B) and a second shelf (Ref. 130, inner wall right side, Fig. 13A-B) in the central cavity (Ref. 130, Fig. 13A-B), wherein a first side of the door (Ref. 132, left half of outer surface, Fig. 13A-B) is positioned against the first shelf when the door is in the nozzle suction position (fig. 13B), and wherein a second side of the door (Ref. 132, right half of outer surface, Fig. 13A-B) is positioned against the second shelf when the door is in the chamber suction position (Fig. 13A).
Regarding Claim 11, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further teaches herein the door has a triangular shape (Fig. 13A-B shows a triangular shape) and is rotatably disposed in the central cavity for rotation (Fig. 13A-B) about an axis (Ref. 134, Fig. 13A-B) adjacent an apex of the triangular shape (Fig. 13A-B).
Regarding Claim 12, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the diverter valve (128) has a front wall (Ref. 92, bottom wall Fig. 14), and wherein the chamber inlet port (108) is provided through the front wall (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Gordon teaches the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further teaches wherein the front wall is removably disposed in an opening in a portion of the rear wall of the agitator chamber (Fig. 4).
Claims 1, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stuive (2024/0130598).
Regarding Claim 1, Stuive teaches An extraction cleaner (Ref. 12, Fig. 1) comprising:
a base (Ref. 15, Fig. 1, [0043]);
an agitator chamber (Ref. 200, fig. 1) defined by the base (Fig. 1);
an agitator (Ref. 290, Fig. 1) disposed in the agitator chamber for agitating the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 1, [0045] describes an agitator mounted in the agitator chamber);
at least one base fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 360, Fig. 1) coupled to the base (Fig. 1), the at least one base fluid ([0048] describes a fluid dispenser for al liquid) dispensing nozzle being configured for distributing a fluid directly or indirectly onto a surface to be cleaned (Fig. 1, [0048]);
a nozzle suction inlet (Ref. 10T, Fig. 1) disposed at a bottom of the base (Fig. 1) and forward of the agitator chamber (Fig. 1);
a recovery tank (Ref. 18, Fig. 1, [0044]); and
a diverter valve (Ref. 41, Fig. 1, [0042]), the diverter valve (31) comprising a nozzle inlet port (Ref. 36, Fig. 1, [0042]) in fluid communication with the nozzle suction inlet through a nozzle airflow path (Fig. 1), a chamber inlet port (Ref. 18, bottom, Fig. 1) in fluid communication with a chamber suction inlet within the agitator chamber ([0044]), and an outlet port (41 lower portion, Fig. 1) coupled to a base airflow path (fig. 1), the diverter valve (31) having a nozzle suction state wherein the outlet port is fluidly coupled to the nozzle inlet port for receiving recovered fluid from the surface to be cleaned through the nozzle suction inlet and into the recovery tank ([0042]) and chamber suction state wherein the output port is fluidly coupled to the chamber inlet port for receiving chamber debris from the agitator chamber through the chamber suction inlet and into the recovery tank ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 14, Stuive teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a flexible hose (Ref. 13, Fig. 1); a cleaning tool (Ref. 15&16, Fig. 1) coupled to the flexible hose (Fig. 1); at least one cleaning tool fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 360, left side, Fig. 1) coupled to the cleaning tool (fig .1), the at least one cleaning tool fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 360, right side, Fig. 1) configured for distributing a second fluid directly or indirectly onto a target surface (Fig .1, [0048]); and a cleaning tool suction inlet (Ref. 20, Fig. 1) disposed at a bottom of the cleaning tool (Fig. 1) and configured for positioning adjacent the target surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Stuive teaches the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further teaches a suction changeover valve (Ref. 31, Fig. 1), the suction changeover valve comprising: a base inlet port (Ref. 200, top side, Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the diverter valve (Fig. 1), a cleaning tool inlet port (Ref. 31, right side, Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the cleaning tool suction inlet (Fig. 1), and a suction valve outlet port (Ref. 31, top side) fluidly coupled to the recovery tank (18, Fig. 1), the suction changeover valve having a base suction state ([0042] describes the valve fluidly connecting to the base suction nozzle (200)) wherein the suction valve outlet port is fluidly coupled to the base inlet port for receiving recovered fluid from the surface to be cleaned or chamber debris through the diverter valve and into the recovery tank ([0042], Fig. 1) and a cleaning tool suction state ([0042] describes the valve fluidly connecting to the cleaning tool suction nozzle (20)) wherein the suction valve outlet port is fluidly coupled to the cleaning tool suction inlet for receiving recovered fluid from the target surface through the cleaning tool inlet port and into the recovery tank ([0042], Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuive as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Gordon (2005/0091782).
Regarding Claim 16, Stuive teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further teaches an upright body (Ref. 122, Fig. 1) pivotally coupled to the base ([0043]), the suction changeover valve (31) being disposed in the upright body (Fig. 1, [0042]). Stuive while teaching that there is some way to actuate the suction changeover valve fails to explicitly teach a valve drive arrangement. Gordon teaches an extraction cleaner with a suction changeover valve and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gordon teaches a valve drive arrangement (Figs. 9&14) coupled between the base (66R, Fig. 4) and the suction changeover valve (132, Fig. 4), the valve drive arrangement comprising: a drive gear (Ref. 138, Fig. 14) coupled to the suction changeover valve (132), a sequential cam (Ref. 888, Fig. 9-10A) fixed to the base (Fig. 9-10), the sequential cam comprising at least two cams (Ref. 890&898, Fig. 10A-B) disposed at different positions across a width of the sequential cam (Fig. 10A-B), and a cam sector gear (Ref. 144&140, Fig. 14) rotationally coupled between the sequential cam and the drive gear (fig. 14, [0055-0057]), the cam sector gear (144&140) comprising at least two cam (Ref. 140&144, Fig. 14) followers disposed at different positions across a width of the cam sector gear (Fig. 14), wherein upon rotation of the upright body relative to the base ([0056-0057]), the at least two cams engage the at least two cam followers to cause rotation of the cam sector gear and the drive gear to move the suction changeover valve to the base suction state or the cleaning tool suction state ([0055-0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the suction changeover valve arrangement, as taught by Stuive, with the suction changeover valve and a valve drive arrangement, as taught by Gordon, as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of diverting the flow of from one element to another and since such a modification is merely an alternate equivalent structure to allow diverting the flow from one element to another.
Regarding Claim 17, Stuive as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and given the teaching of the suction changeover valve arrangement as taught by Gordon, Gordon further teaches wherein the suction changeover valve is moved to the base suction state by the engagement of the at least two cams and the at least two cam followers when the upright body is reclined to a first angle relative to an upright position of the upright body relative to the base and is moved to the cleaning tool suction state when upright body is returned to a second angle relative to the upright position ([0055-0057] describes the valve is actuated based upon the engagement of the cams relative to the body position of the upright body in a forward or backward direction).
Regarding Claim 18, Stuive as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and given the teaching of the suction changeover valve arrangement as taught by Gordon, Gordon further teaches wherein the at least two cams (890&898) are disposed on a bottom of the cam sector gear (140&144, Fig. 4&9) and a plurality of teeth (Fig. 14 shows a plurality of teeth) are provided on the top of the cam sector gear (140), and wherein the teeth are in meshing engagement with teeth on the drive gear (fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 19, Stuive as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and given the teaching of the suction changeover valve arrangement as taught by Gordon, Gordon further teaches wherein the drive gear is coupled to a plug of the suction changeover valve (Ref. 134, Fig. 14), whereby rotation of the drive gear rotates the plug between a base suction position (Fig. 13A) wherein the suction changeover valve is in the base suction state (Fig. 13A, [0056]) and a cleaning tool suction position (Fig. 13B) wherein the suction changeover valve is in the cleaning tool suction state (Fig. 13B, [0056]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuive (2024/0130598) in view of Gordon (2005/0091782)
Regarding Claim 20, Stuive teaches An extraction cleaner (Ref. 12, Fig. 1) comprising:
a base (Ref. 15, Fig. 1, [0043]);
an upright body (Ref. 122, Fig. 1) pivotally coupled to the base ([0043]);
an agitator chamber (Ref. 200, fig. 1) defined by the base (Fig. 1);
an agitator (Ref. 290, Fig. 1) disposed in the agitator chamber for agitating the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 1, [0045] describes an agitator mounted in the agitator chamber);
at least one base fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 360, Fig. 1) coupled to the base (Fig. 1), the at least one base fluid ([0048] describes a fluid dispenser for al liquid) dispensing nozzle being configured for distributing a fluid directly or indirectly onto a surface to be cleaned (Fig. 1, [0048]);
a nozzle suction inlet (Ref. 10T, Fig. 1) disposed at a bottom of the base (Fig. 1) and forward of the agitator chamber (Fig. 1);
a recovery tank (Ref. 18, Fig. 1, [0044]);
a flexible hose (Ref. 13, Fig. 1);
a cleaning tool (Ref. 15&16, Fig. 1) coupled to the flexible hose (Fig. 1);
at least one cleaning tool fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 360, left side, Fig. 1) coupled to the cleaning tool (fig .1),the at least one cleaning tool fluid dispensing nozzle (Ref. 360, right side, Fig. 1) configured for distributing a second fluid directly or indirectly onto a target surface (Fig .1, [0048]);
a cleaning tool suction inlet (Ref. 20, Fig. 1) disposed at a bottom of the cleaning tool (Fig. 1) and configured for positioning adjacent the target surface (Fig. 1);
a suction changeover valve (Ref. 31, Fig. 1), the suction changeover valve comprising: a base inlet port (Ref. 200, top side, Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the diverter valve (Fig. 1), a cleaning tool inlet port (Ref. 31, right side, Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the cleaning tool suction inlet (Fig. 1), and a suction valve outlet port (Ref. 31, top side) fluidly coupled to the recovery tank (18, Fig. 1), the suction changeover valve having a base suction state ([0042] describes the valve fluidly connecting to the base suction nozzle (200)) wherein the suction valve outlet port is fluidly coupled to the base inlet port for receiving recovered fluid from the surface to be cleaned or chamber debris through the diverter valve and into the recovery tank ([0042], Fig. 1).
Stuive while teaching that there is some way to actuate the suction changeover valve fails to explicitly teach a valve drive arrangement. Gordon teaches an extraction cleaner with a suction changeover valve and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gordon teaches a valve drive arrangement (Figs. 9&14) coupled between the base (66R, Fig. 4) and the suction changeover valve (132, Fig. 4), the valve drive arrangement comprising: a drive gear (Ref. 138, Fig. 14) coupled to the suction changeover valve (132), a sequential cam (Ref. 888, Fig. 9-10A) fixed to the base (Fig. 9-10), the sequential cam comprising at least two cams (Ref. 890&898, Fig. 10A-B) disposed at different positions across a width of the sequential cam (Fig. 10A-B), and a cam sector gear (Ref. 144&140, Fig. 14) rotationally coupled between the sequential cam and the drive gear (fig. 14, [0055-0057]), the cam sector gear (144&140) comprising at least two cam (Ref. 140&144, Fig. 14) followers disposed at different positions across a width of the cam sector gear (Fig. 14), wherein upon rotation of the upright body relative to the base ([0056-0057]), the at least two cams engage the at least two cam followers to cause rotation of the cam sector gear and the drive gear to move the suction changeover valve to the base suction state or the cleaning tool suction state ([0055-0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the suction changeover valve arrangement, as taught by Stuive, with the suction changeover valve and a valve drive arrangement, as taught by Gordon, as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of diverting the flow of from one element to another and since such a modification is merely an alternate equivalent structure to allow diverting the flow from one element to another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Macleod (2007/0289087), Lee (2014/0216582), Lee (8,453,294), and Louis (5,983,442) teaches an extraction cleaner with a base, agitator, and a diverter valve and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723