DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
A preliminary amendment to the claims has not been filed. Thus claims 1-15 filed on 05/08/2024 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “effective amounts” in claims 1 and 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “effective amounts” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The amounts of HCFC-133b and HFC-143 in the azeotrope or azeotrope-like composition are rendered indefinite by the use of the term “effective amounts”.
Claims 2-6 and 8-15 are also rendered indefinite for their dependency on claims 1 and 7.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 simply recites the physical property, boiling point, of the azeotrope or azeotrope-like composition but does not appear to be further limiting the composition of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (Takahashi, K. Patent application publication number US20210403779A1; cited in IDS 10/06/2025).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 6, Takahashi teaches an azeotrope or azeotrope-like composition comprising HFC-143 and HFC-133b, wherein the azeotropic composition when the mass ratio of HFC-143 to HCFC-133b is HFC-143:HCFC-133b=48:52 ([0024]).
The reference is silent about the boiling point of the azeotrope or azeotrope-like composition as instantly claimed, however, the boiling point is an inherent feature since Takahashi teaches the same compound as instantly claimed. MPEP § 2112.01 states:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Claims were directed to a titanium alloy containing 0.2-0.4% Mo and 0.6-0.9% Ni having corrosion resistance. A Russian article disclosed a titanium alloy containing 0.25% Mo and 0.75% Ni but was silent as to corrosion resistance. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated because the percentages of Mo and Ni were squarely within the claimed ranges. The court went on to say that it was immaterial what properties the alloys had or who discovered the properties because the composition is the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the properties.).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.").
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patent number CN105753634A (CN’634).
CN’’634 teaches a method for producing HFC-143 comprising hydrogenating 1,1,2-trichloro-1,2,2-trifluoroethane (CFC-113) with hydrogen (H2) to form a product mixture, the product mixture comprising an azeotrope or azeotrope-like composition consisting essentially of effective amounts of 1-chloro-1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HCFC-133b) and 1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HFC-143); and separating the 1-chloro-1,1-difluoroethane (HCFC-133b) and the 1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HFC-143) to provide a product composition comprising the 1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HFC-143) ([0010] and [0023] of the machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (Takahashi, K. Patent application publication number US20210403779A1; cited in IDS 10/06/2025).
The teachings of Takahashi have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 3-5, Takahashi fails to explicitly teach the weight percent of HFC-143 and HCFC-133b as instantly claimed. However, the reference further teaches that the azeotrope-like composition comprises a mass ratio of HFC-143:HCFC-133b=23:77 to 99.9:0.1 ([0024]). As such, any wt.% of each compounds within the aforementioned mass ratio range of Takahashi which also encompasses the claimed wt.%, a skilled artisan would still have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at an azeotrope-like composition.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effecting filing date of the instant invention to obtain an azeotrope or azeotrope-like composition consisting essentially of effective amounts of 1-chloro-1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HCFC-133b) and 1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HFC-143) wherein the composition consists essentially of weight percent of each as set forth in claims 3-5 in view of the teachings of Takahashi.
Allowable Subject Matter
The subject matter of claims 8-15 is free of prior art. The closest prior art reference, Patent number CN105753634A (CN’634), and its teachings have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, CN’634 teaches a separation process of HFC-143 and HCFC-133b via distillation ([0071]) but fails to teach recycling HCFC-133b to the hydrogenation step. Furthermore, there is no teaching in the reference that suggests HCFC-133b can be used in the hydrogenation process to obtain a product mixture comprising the azeotrope and azeotrope-like composition as instantly claimed. Thus, a skilled artisan would not have been motivated in recycling HCFC-133b to the hydrogenation step after the separation step.
Regarding claims 9-15, CN’634 teaches a separation process in which HFC-143 is separated from fluorine-containing compound (A), such as HCFC-133b, by a distillation column, the process comprising removing the distillate containing an azeotropic composition from the top of the column and removing the bottom effluent containing a fluorine compound (A) from the bottom of the column, in which the pressure inside the distillation column is preferably 0–1 MPa ([0071] of the translation). The distillation apparatus is capable of obtaining, simultaneously with the distillate, a bottom effluent containing a high-purity fluorine compound (A) after the substantial separation of HFC-143 from the distillation composition, as a bottom effluent ([0074]). However, the reference fails to teach the separation process as recited in claims 9-15. Moreover, there is no suggestion in CN’634 that would motivate a skilled artisan to modify the distillation process of the reference to reasonably arrive at the instantly claimed separating step of claims 9-15.
In view of the foregoing, the process steps of claims 8-15 are deemed novel and unobvious.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692