Prosecution Reopened
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-19, considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
Examiner determined that prior art submitted in the IDS date 12/08/2025 anticipated the independent claims.
Applicant is advised that the Notice of Allowance mailed 12/09/2025 is vacated. If the issue fee has already been paid, applicant may request a refund or request that the fee be credited to a deposit account. However, applicant may wait until the application is either found allowable or held abandoned. If allowed, upon receipt of a new Notice of Allowance, applicant may request that the previously submitted issue fee be applied. If abandoned, applicant may request refund or credit to a specified Deposit Account.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-11, 14, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu, US 2019/0342551 A1.
Regarding claim 1, a method comprising:
receiving, from an imaging component of a vehicle and by a plurality of fixed bit rate image encoding devices of the vehicle (See [0019], “the transmitting terminal 100 may be integrated in a mobile body, such as an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), a driverless car, a mobile robot, a driverless boat, a submarine, a spacecraft, a satellite, or the like.”), image data comprising a plurality of frames, each of the plurality of fixed bit rate image encoding devices configured to encode the image data at a respective different fixed bit rate (See description in [0056] of a multi-rate encoding apparatus 130, in which a plurality of encoded data streams having a corresponding plurality of bitrate values can be generated by the multi-rate encoder.);
simultaneously encoding, by each of the plurality of fixed bit rate image encoding devices at their respective different fixed bit rates, a first portion of the image data (See [0068], disclosing with respect to figure 2, the multi-rate encoding apparatus 130 “can include a plurality of separate single-rate encoders, each single-rate encoder can be used to encode the first input frame using one of the first plurality of coding parameter values to generate a corresponding one of the first plurality of encoded data streams.”);
transmitting, by one or more communication components of the vehicle, the first portion of the image data encoded at a first bit rate by a first one of the fixed rate image encoding devices (As shown in FIG. 1, the transmitting terminal 100 includes an image capturing device 110, a multi-rate encoding apparatus 130 coupled to the image capturing device 110, and a transceiver 150 coupled to the multi-rate encoding apparatus 130.);
simultaneously encoding, by each of the plurality of fixed bit rate image encoding devices at their respective different fixed bit rates, a second portion of the image data (See [0068], which discloses “In some embodiments, the encoding processes of the first input frame using the first plurality of coding parameter values can be separate processes and implemented in parallel.”);
receiving, by the one or more communication components of the vehicle, a feedback message comprising an indication of a quality metric for the first portion of the image data encoded at the first bit rate (See [0045], “In some embodiments, the rate selector 1305 can be also configured to obtain feedback information including, for example, the current channel capacity, the current channel bandwidth, the transmission latency, and/or the like, from the transceiver 150.”); and
based on the indication of the quality metric for the first portion of the image data encoded at the first bit rate, transmitting by the one or more communication components of the vehicle, either (i) the second portion of the image data encoded at the first bit rate by the first one of the fixed rate image encoding devices or (ii) the second portion of the image data encoded at a second bit rate by a second one of the fixed rate image encoding devices (See figure 6, showing a rate control model curve formed using a plurality of encoded streams simultaneously encoded by the plurality of processing modules 330-1,…, 330N. One among these streams is selected as an output data stream in the final step in figure 8, in the event that the quality metric (the difference between the second actual bitrate value and the expected bitrate value for the second input frame) is within a preset range.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the first portion is a first frame of image data and the second portion is a second frame of image data (See steps 703 and 709 in figure 7, respectively disclosing, “Encode a first input frame using the first plurality of coding parameter values” and “Encode a second input frame based on the updated rate control model.”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the second frame portion is successive to the first portion (See [0087], “In some embodiments, a reconstructed frame obtained from the output data stream for the first input frame can be used as the context of a second input frame. That is, a reconstructed frame obtained from the output data stream for the first input frame can be used as a reference for the prediction of the second input frame.”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the first frame portion encoded at the first bit rate is transmitted via a satellite communication link ([0020] discloses, “If the transmitting terminal 100 is a hosted payload carried by a commercial satellite, one or more of the multiple channels of encoded data streams can be over space and air.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of fixed bit rate image encoding devices are configured to continuously encode the image data at their respective different fixed bit rates (See [0068], “In some embodiments, the encoding processes of the first input frame using the first plurality of coding parameter values can be separate processes and implemented in parallel.”)
System claims 9-11, 14, and 15 recite a system that corresponds to method claims 1-3, 6, and 7, respectively. Therefore, system claims 9-11, 14, and 15, are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation, respectively, provided above for claims 1-3, 6, and 7.
Apparatus claims 17 and 19 are directed to an apparatus having one or more processors and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform steps corresponding to the steps of method claims 1 and 2, respectively. Therefore, apparatus claims 17 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as given above for claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 18, Zhu discloses: the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors further cause the apparatus to:
receive, by the one or more communication components, a feedback message comprising an indication of a quality metric for the first frame encoded at the first bit rate (See “feedback information”, disclosed in [0045]: In some embodiments, the rate selector 1305 can be also configured to obtain feedback information including, for example, the current channel capacity, the current channel bandwidth.”);
encode, by the second image encoding device of the plurality of image encoding devices, a second frame of the plurality of frames at the second bit rate ([0046] discloses rate selector transmits at a second bitrate selected by choosing another stream from one among the single-rate encoders, based on feedback about current channel capacity, bandwidth, latency, or the like.); and
transmit, by the one or more communication components and based at least in part on the
indication of the quality metric, the second frame encoded at the second bit rate (As disclosed in [0045], “The rate selector 1305 is configured to select one of the plurality of encoded data streams as the output data stream based on, for example, a current channel capacity, a current channel bandwidth, a transmission latency, and/or the like,”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Kaye
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the quality metric comprises a packet error rate.
However, Kaye discloses in an analogous art directed to a system for transmission of video from a mobile device to a network, that a packet delivery failure rate is used as the basis for bit rate adjustments. See abstract, and column 9, lines 24-30; “packet delivery failure is the rate at which packets are lost.” “An increasing packet delivery failure rate is an indicator of an unstable/unreliable RF interface and the associated bit rate must be decreased.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of Applicant’s effective filing date to add the feature disclosed in Kaye of using a packet delivery failure rate as the quality metric, in place of or in addition to the bitrate measurement made in Zhu. Using a packet delivery failure rate as a quality metric allows the system to account for dropped packets as a measure of bitrate overshoot. Adding this metric would have merely entailed combining the features respectively disclosed in Zhu and in Kaye, with no changes to their respective functioning, and the results would have been predictable for one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143.I.A.
Regarding claim 8, Zhu discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first frame portion encoded at the first bit rate further comprises:
transmitting the first frame portion to a ground-based communication component
However, Kaye discloses this feature in an analogous art directed to a system for transmission of video from a mobile device to a network. See abstract. See system 10 Buffer Management and Transport Controller 34 which, as disclosed in column 5, lines 61 to column 6, receives feedback messages from RF modules about coverage, congestion, and transmission failures from base station 40 (a “ground-based communication component”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of Applicant’s effective filing date to transmit to a ground-based communication component, such as a base station, as disclosed in Kaye. Zhu discloses that an image capturing device according to the invention may be a smartphone (See [0049].) In the context of this disclosure, transmitting to a base station would have been obvious and would have merely entailed combining the respective features disclosed in Zhu and in Kim with predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.A.
System claims 13 and 16 recite a system that corresponds to method claims 5 and 8, respectively. Therefore, system claims 13 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness, respectively, provided above for claims 5 and 8.
Conclusion
/KYLE M LOTFI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2425