DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 12005171 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed 01/09/2026 has been entered. 1-11 and 13-21 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument with respect 35 USC 103 rejections have been considered and are at least partially persuasive, but are moot in light of new rejection/interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 13, 16, 17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedstrom et al (US 20170157374 A1) in view of Lang (US 5609572 A) and Jones et al (US 7712360 B2)
Regarding Claim 1, Hedstrom teaches a filter use with a cerebrospinal fluid system (figure 4, [0027] and [0047], treatment unit 226 for system 102).
Hedstrom does not teach the filter provided in cassette form comprising:
a filter housing formed from a plurality of discrete layers coupled together and defining a fluid pathway therein;
wherein the plurality of discrete layers includes a first layer having a first groove formed therein and a second layer having a second groove formed therein;
wherein the first groove and the second groove are aligned to define a portion of the fluid pathway;
a membrane disposed between two adjacent layers of the filter housing;
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a cassette infusion system, Lang teaches a modular cassette (figure 3, infusion pump Cassette A1) comprising:
a filter housing (figure 3, col 3 lines 35-65col 4 lines 1-25, housing of pump cassette A1 formed of base plate 14 and cover plate 13 coupled together) formed from a plurality of discrete layers (figure 3, base plate 14 and cover plate 13) coupled together and defining a fluid pathway therein (figures 1 and 3, fluid pathway between openings 16 and 54);
wherein the plurality of discrete layers includes a first layer (figure 3, base plate 14) having a first groove (figure 3, the base plate comprising a groove that at least forms a pump chamber 47) formed therein and a second layer (figure 3, cover plate 13) having a second groove (figure 3, the cover plate 13 at least comprising a groove that at least forms the pump chamber 47) formed therein;
wherein the first groove and the second groove are aligned to define a portion of the fluid pathway (figure 3, the groove of base plate aligns with the groove cover plate forms pump chamber 47 that defines a portion of the fluid pathway between openings 16 and 54)
a membrane (figure 3, elastic vale plate 18 positioned on pressure measuring plunge 27 disposed between plates 14 and 13) disposed between two adjacent layers of the filter housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom to incorporate the teachings of lang and provide the filtering cassette as claimed above for the purpose of providing a disposable CSF filter cassette that provide desirable flow pressure and flow rate while providing sterilized fluid pathway as taught by Lang (col 1 lines 10-35 and col 2 lines 5-10)
The combination does not teach a filtering section defined by a widened region of the fluid pathway that is configured to slow the passage of fluid therethrough in order to allow gravity filtration of fluid passing therethrough;
In the same field of endeavor, namely an ophthalmic surgical system, Jones teaches a flow measurement device (figure 1, 100) comprising a fluid pathway (figure 1, 110) comprising a filtering section (figure 1 and figure 1, figure 1, downstream portion 112) defined by a widened region of the fluid pathway that (col 2 lines 35-45, cross section of the downstream portion 114 is greater than that of upstream cross sectional area 124 that slow down the fluid flow) is configured to slow the passage of fluid therethrough in order to allow gravity filtration of fluid passing therethrough (the downstream portion allows gravity filtration by slowing down the fluid flow );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom ,as modified Lang, to incorporate the teachings of Jones and provides the filtering section as claimed for the purpose of reducing flow velocity therein, as taught by Jones (col 2 lines 34-34), which allows heavier particulate to settle at the bottom and thereby be filtered out from the CSF.
The combination does not teach a waste outlet defined at the bottom of the widened region;
However, Jones teaches a waste outlet (figure 1, 108) is connected to bottom of the widened region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, such that the cassette comprises a waste outlet defined at the bottom of the widened region as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a rearrangement of parts. A reengagement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of effectively drain out waste settled on the bottom of the filtering section.
Regarding Claim 4, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
The combination does not teach the filtering cassette comprising one or more sensors coupled to the filter housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a cassette infusion system, Lang teaches the modular cassette comprising one or more sensors coupled to the filter housing (figure 3, pressure sensor 28 coupled to cassette A1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate the teachings of Lang and provides the one or more sensors as claimed for the purpose of measuring flow pressure and flow rate thereby enabling adjustment of the flow to achieve a desired flow rate as taught by Lang (col 2 lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 5, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
The combination further teaches comprising a sampling port (Hedstrom; figure 1, port 122 to access the fluid within the treatment system 102)
Regarding Claim 6, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein the filter housing includes three or more layers.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, such that the filter housing as claimed, as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 VI). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of providing sufficient thickness to match the size of corresponding cassette slot, while enhancing protection for the filter and membrane situated therebetween.
Regarding Claim 7, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein the filter housing includes four or more layers.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, such that the filter housing as claimed as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 VI). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of providing sufficient thickness to match the size of corresponding cassette slot, while enhancing protection for the membrane and filter situated therebetween.
Regarding Claim 8, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein the filter housing includes five or more layers
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, such that the filter housing includes five or more layers as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 VI). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of providing sufficient thickness to match the size of corresponding cassette slot, while also enhancing protection for the membrane situated therebetween.
Regarding Claim 11, Hedstrom teaches a filter use with a cerebrospinal fluid system (figure 4, [0027] and [0047], treatment unit 226).
Hedstrom does not teach the filter provided in cassette form comprising:
a plurality of plates coupled together to define a filter housing having a fluid pathway formed therein;
wherein the plurality of discrete layers includes a first plate having a first groove formed therein and a second plate having a second groove formed therein;
wherein the first groove and the second groove are aligned to define a portion of the fluid pathway;
a membrane disposed between two adjacent plates of the plurality of plates;
In the same field of endeavor, namely a cassette infusion system, Lang teaches a modular cassette (figure 3, infusion pump cassette A1) comprising:
a plurality of plates (figure 3, col 3 lines 35-65 and col 4 lines 1-25, the base plates 14 and cover plate 13 coupled together defining a filter housing having a fluid pathway between openings 16 and 54
wherein the plurality of discrete layers includes a first plate (figure 3, base plate 14) having a first groove (figure 3, the base plate comprising a groove that at least forms a pump chamber 47) formed therein and a second plate (figure 3, cover plate 13) having a second groove (figure 3, the cover plate 13 at least comprising a groove that at least forms a pump chamber 47) formed therein;
wherein the first groove and the second groove are aligned to define a portion of the fluid pathway (figure 3, the grooves of base plate and cover plate aligned to define a pump chamber 47 within the fluid pathway between openings 16 and 54)
a membrane (figure 3, valve plate 18 positioned on pressure measuring plunge 27 disposed between plates 13 and 14) disposed between two adjacent layers of the filter housing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom to incorporate the teachings of lang and provide the filtering cassette as claimed above for the purpose of providing a disposable CSF filter cassette that provide desirable flow pressure and flow rate while providing sterilized fluid pathway as taught by Lang (col 1 lines 10-35 and col 2 lines 5-10).
The combination does not teach a filtering section defined by a widened region of the fluid pathway that is configured to slow the passage of fluid therethrough in order to allow gravity filtration of fluid passing therethrough.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely an ophthalmic surgical system, Jones teaches a flow measurement device (figure 1, 100) comprising a fluid pathway (figure 1, 110) comprising a filtering section (figure 1 and figure 1, figure 1, downstream portion 112) defined by a widened region of the fluid pathway that (col 2 lines 35-45, cross section of the downstream portion 114 is greater than that of upstream cross sectional area 124 that slow down the fluid flow) is configured to slow the passage of fluid therethrough in order to allow gravity filtration of fluid passing therethrough (the downstream portion allows gravity filtration by slowing down the fluid flow);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom , as modified Lang, to incorporate the teachings of Jones and provides the filtering section as claimed for the purpose of reducing flow velocity therein, as taught by Jones (col 2 lines 34-34), which allows heavier particulate to settle at the bottom and thereby be filtered out from the CSF.
The combination is still silent as to a waste outlet defined at the bottom of the widened region.
However, Jones teaches a waste outlet (figure 1, 108) is connected to bottom of the widened region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, such that the cassette comprises a waste outlet defined at the bottom of the widened region as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a rearrangement of parts. A reengagement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of effectively drain out waste settled on the bottom of the filtering section.
Regarding Claim 13, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 11.
The combination does not teach further comprising a float coupled to one of the plates that contacts the membrane
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a cassette infusion system, Lang teaches a float (figure 3, measuring plunger 27) coupled to one of plates that contacts the membrane (see figures 3 and 4, plunger 27 being coupled to plate 14 through elastic valve plates 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate the teachings of Lang and provides the float as claimed for the purpose of measuring flow pressure and flow rate thereby enabling adjustment of the flow to achieve a desired flow rate as taught by Lang (col 2 lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 16, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 11.
The combination does not teach the filtering cassette comprising one or more sensors coupled to the filter housing.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a cassette infusion system, Lang teaches the modular cassette comprising one or more sensors coupled to the filter housing (figure 3, pressure sensor 28 coupled to cassette A1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate the teachings of Lang and provides the one or more sensors as claimed for the purpose of measuring flow pressure and flow rate thereby enabling adjustment of the flow to achieve a desired flow rate as taught by Lang (col 2 lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 17, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 11.
The combination further teaches comprising a sampling port (Hedstrom; figure 1, port 122 to access the fluid within the treatment system 102).
Regarding Claim 20, Hedstrom teaches a cerebrospinal fluid filtering system (figure 1 and [0027], system 100), the system comprising:
a controller assembly (figure 4, processing unit 228);
a filter (figure 4 and [0047], treatment unit 226);
Hedstrom does not teach the filter provided in cassette form removably coupled to the controller assembly
wherein the filtering cassette comprises:
a filter housing formed from a plurality of plates coupled together and defining a fluid pathway therein,
wherein the plurality of plates includes a first plate having a first groove formed along a front surface thereof and a second plate having a second groove formed along a rear surface thereof;
wherein the first groove and the second groove are aligned to define a portion of the fluid pathway
a membrane disposed between two adjacent layers of the filter housing,
In the same field of endeavor, namely a cassette infusion system, Lang teaches a modular cassette (figure 3, infusion pump Cassette A1) removably coupled to the controller assembly (figure 3, abstract, col 3 lines 35-65 and col 4 lines 1-25, disposable cassette a1 is configured to be removably coupled to infusion actuating device B1)
wherein the filtering cassette comprises:
a filter housing formed from a plurality of plates coupled together and defining a fluid pathway therein (figure 3 and col 4 liens 1-25, housing of pump cassette A1 formed of base plate 14 and cover plate 13 coupled together, and the housing forms fluid pathway between opening 16 and 54).
wherein the plurality of plates includes a first plate (figure 3 base plate 14) having a first groove (figure 3, the base plate comprising a groove that at least forms a pump chamber 47 facing away mounting plate 24) formed along a front surface thereof and a second plate having a second groove formed along a rear surface thereof (figure 3, cover plate comprising a groove that at least forms a pump chamber 47 facing the mounting plate 24);
wherein the first groove and the second groove are aligned to define a portion of the fluid pathway (figure 3, the groove of base plate aligns with the groove cover plate forms pump chamber 47 that defines a portion of the fluid pathway between openings 16 and 54).
a membrane (figure 3, elastic valve plate 18 between plates 13 and 14) disposed between two adjacent layers of the filter housing,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom to incorporate the teachings of lang and provide the filtering cassette as claimed above for the purpose of providing a disposable CSF filter cassette that provide desirable flow pressure and flow rate while providing sterilized fluid pathway as taught by Lang (col 1 lines 10-35 and col 2 lines 5-10)
The combination does not teach the filtering cassette comprising a filtering section defined by a widened region of the fluid pathway that is configured to slow the passage of fluid therethrough in order to allow gravity filtration of fluid passing therethrough;
In the same field of endeavor, namely an ophthalmic surgical system, Jones teaches a flow measurement device (figure 1, 100) comprising a fluid pathway (figure 1, 110) comprising a filtering section (figure 1 and figure 1, figure 1, downstream portion 112) defined by a widened region of the fluid pathway that (col 2 lines 35-45, cross section of the downstream portion 114 is greater than that of upstream cross sectional area 124 that slow down the fluid flow) is configured to slow the passage of fluid therethrough in order to allow gravity filtration of fluid passing therethrough (downstream portion allows gravity filtration by slowing down the fluid flow);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom , as modified Lang, to incorporate the teachings of Jones and provides the filtering section as claimed for the purpose of reducing flow velocity therein, as taught by Jones (col 2 lines 34-34), which allows heavier particulate to settle at the bottom and thereby be filtered out from the CSF.
The combination does not teach a waste outlet defined at the bottom of the widened region;
However, Jones teaches a waste outlet (figure 1, 108) is connected to bottom of the widened region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, such that the cassette comprises a waste outlet defined at the bottom of the widened region as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a rearrangement of parts. A reengagement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of effectively drain out waste settled on the bottom of the filtering section.
Regarding Claim 21, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang, Jones, teaches the filtering device of claim 20.
Hedstrom does not expressly teach the widened region is configured to slow the passage of the fluid therethrough by 100-1000%.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang, Jones such that the widened region is configured to slow the passage of the fluid therethrough by 100-1000% as such a modification would have been an obvious matter of design choice involving a changes in size/proportion. A change in size/proportion generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV). One of skill in the art motivated to do so for the purpose of providing desired reduced flow velocity flow therein which allows heavier particulate to settle at the bottom and thereby be filtered out from the CSF. Furthermore, claimed invention is not patentably distinct from the prior art because applicant has now shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0088])
Claims 2, 3, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedstrom al (US 20170157374 A1) in view of Lang (US 5609572 A) and Jones et al (US 7712360 B2) in further view of Nelson (US 6013051 A).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
Hedstrom does not teach comprising a filter disk member disposed between the two adjacent layers of the filter housing and wherein the filter disk member includes a dead-end filter disk.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely cerebrospinal fluid access device, Nelson teaches a filter disk member (figure 2, filter 30, col 3 lines 52-53 “Filter 30 is disk shaped and entirely spans filter chamber 24”) disposed between the two adjacent layers of the filter housing and wherein the filter disk member includes a dead-end filter disk (see figure 2 and col 2 lines 47-55, the filter 24 is positioned perpendicular to the fluid flow between chamber 26 and 28, making it a dead-end filter disk)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate the teachings of Nelson and provide wherein the filtering section includes a filter disk member and wherein the filter disk member include a dead-end filter disk, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of filtering entire fluid flow through the filtering section as taught by Nelson (col 3 lines 32-43).
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 11.
Hedstrom does not teach comprising a filter disk member disposed between the two adjacent layers of the filter housing and wherein the filter disk member includes a dead-end filter disk.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely cerebrospinal fluid access device, Nelson teaches a filter disk member (figure 2, filter 30, col 3 lines 52-53 “Filter 30 is disk shaped and entirely spans filter chamber 24”) disposed between the two adjacent layers of the filter housing and wherein the filter disk member includes a dead-end filter disk (see figure 2 and col 2 lines 47-55, the filter 24 is positioned perpendicular to the fluid flow between chamber 26 and 28, making it a dead-end filter disk)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate the teachings of Nelson and provide wherein the filtering section includes a filter disk member and wherein the filter disk member include a dead-end filter disk, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of filtering entire fluid flow through the filtering section as taught by Nelson (col 3 lines 32-43).
Claims 9, 10, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedstrom et al (US 20170157374 A1) in view of Lang (US 5609572 A) and Jones et al (US 7712360 B2), and in further view of van der Merwe et al (US 20160030658 A1, hereinafter ‘Merwe’). Regarding Claim 9, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 1.
Hedstrom does not teach further comprising a handle coupled to the filter housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a dialysis system, Merwe teaches a drain cassette (figure 32 and [0188], 815) further comprising a handle (figure 32 and [0192], handle 821) coupled to the filter housing (figure 32 and [0193], housing including escutcheon 825, front wall 826).
Merwe provides motivation by teaching that the handle coupled to the housing in order to engage and lock the drain cassette 815 onto front panel 811 (illustrated in figure 36) ([0196]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate teachings of Merwe and provide the handle coupled to the filter housing, and one of skill in the art mediated to do so, for the purpose of providing releasable engaging and locking means onto the fluid reservoir.
Regarding Claim 10, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang, Jones and Merwe, teaches the filtering device of claim 9.
Hedstrom does not teach further comprising the handle includes one or more latching projections, wherein the handle is configured to shift between a first position and a second position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a dialysis system, Merwe teaches the handle (Merwe figure 35, handle 821 [0192] line 4) includes one or more latching projections (figure 35, latch member 837 of handle 821 [0196] lines 21-22), wherein the handle is configured to shift between a first position and a second position ([0197] “handle 821 may be turned ¼ or ½ turn to lock drain cassette 815 into recess 838, resulting in an arrangement of the front panel as shown in FIG. 21B.” position of handle between original position as illustrated in figure 21A and ¼ or ½ turned position illustrated in figure 21B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones and Merwe, to incorporate the teachings of Merwe and provide the handle includes one or more latching projections, wherein the handle is configured to shift between a first position and a second position according to Merwe, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of engage and lock the filtering device into a controller assembly ([0195] lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 18, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, teaches the filtering cassette of claim 11.
Hedstrom does not teach further comprising a handle coupled to the filter housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a dialysis system, Merwe teaches a drain cassette (figure 32 and [0188], 815) further comprising a handle (figure 32 and [0192], handle 821) coupled to the filter housing (figure 32 and [0193], housing including escutcheon 825, front wall 826).
Merwe provides motivation by teaching that the handle coupled to the housing in order to engage and lock the drain cassette 815 onto front panel 811 (illustrated in figure 36) ([0196]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones, to incorporate teachings of Merwe and provide the handle coupled to the filter housing, and one of skill in the art mediated to do so, for the purpose of providing releasable engaging and locking means onto the fluid reservoir.
Regarding Claim 19, Hedstrom, as modified by Lang, Jones and Merwe, teaches the filtering device of claim 11.
Hedstrom does not teach further comprising the handle includes one or more latching projections, wherein the handle is configured to shift between a first position and a second position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a dialysis system, Merwe teaches the handle (Merwe figure 35, handle 821 [0192] line 4) includes one or more latching projections (figure 35, latch member 837 of handle 821 [0196] lines 21-22), wherein the handle is configured to shift between a first position and a second position ([0197] “handle 821 may be turned ¼ or ½ turn to lock drain cassette 815 into recess 838, resulting in an arrangement of the front panel as shown in FIG. 21B.” position of handle between original position as illustrated in figure 21A and ¼ or ½ turned position illustrated in figure 21B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hedstrom, as modified by Lang and Jones and Merwe, to incorporate the teachings of Merwe and provide the handle includes one or more latching projections, wherein the handle is configured to shift between a first position and a second position according to Merwe, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of engage and lock the filtering device into a controller assembly ([0195] lines 11-13).
Conclusion
/SETH HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781