DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023-086246, filed on May 25, 2023.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/646,244 in view of Yang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0050957). The primary reference application, 18/646,244, teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 of the instant application with the exception of at least one of the upper folded portion and the lower folded portion is provided with a discharge hole for discharging gas (Claim 1).
To solve the same problem of gas accumulation in an electrode assembly, Yang teaches a fan folded separator 100 including a vent 110 on the folded sections of the separator ([0069] and Figure 11). Therefore, absent of a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the power storage cell of Application No. 18/646,244 to include vents in the folded portion of the separator, as in Yang, because Yang teaches gas may discharge out of the vent ([0069]).
Modifying the power storage cell of Application No. 18/646,244 to include vents for gas discharge on the folded portion of the separator, as in Yang, teaches the limitations of instant Claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0050957).
Yang teaches a power storage cell comprising: an electrode assembly; and a cell case containing the electrode assembly ([0020] teaches an electrode assembly and a battery case), wherein the electrode assembly includes: a plurality of electrodes arranged in one direction ([0041] teaches a plurality of cathode plates 200 and anode plates 300); and a separator formed in a fanfold shape and electrically insulating the plurality of electrodes from each other, the separator includes: a plurality of intervening portions each intervening between a pair of electrodes adjacent to each other in the one direction ([0067]-[0070] teaches the separator arrangement shown in Figure 11 in a fanfold shape); an upper folded portion connecting an upper end of one intervening portion of the plurality of intervening portions, and an upper end of an intervening portion of the plurality of intervening portions that is located on one side in the one direction and adjacent to the one intervening portion; and a lower folded portion connecting a lower end of the one intervening portion of the plurality of intervening portions, and a lower end of an intervening portion of the plurality of intervening portions that is located on the other side in the one direction and adjacent to the one intervening portion ([0067]-[0071] and Figure 11 teach the intervening portions between folded portions at each end of the electrode assembly), and at least one of the upper folded portion and the lower folded portion is provided with a discharge hole for discharging gas ([0069] and Figure 11 teach the use of the vent 110 at the folded portion where gas may discharge).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding Claim 2, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above in the embodiment of Figure 11.
In the embodiment of figure 11, Yang does not teach the separator further includes an outermost covering portion covering the upper folded portion and the lower folded portion collectively, and the outermost covering portion is provided with the discharge hole.
In another embodiment, however, Yang teaches the separator further includes an outermost covering portion covering the upper folded portion and the lower folded portion collectively (Figures 9 and 10 teach the separator including an outer covering section, wrapping the entire electrode assembly), and the outermost covering portion is provided with the discharge hole (Figures 9 and 10 teach the presence of a vent 110 on the outermost portion of the separator 100).
To solve the same problem of allowing gas to discharge through a separator to escape an electrode assembly, Yang teaches that wrapping the separator around the entire electrode assembly and providing vent holes on this outermost layer is suitable structure to allow gas to discharge ([0064] and Figures 9 and 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included an outermost covering portion that includes discharge holes.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as described above.
Modified Yang does not teach the discharge hole provided in the outermost covering portion overlaps, in a top-bottom direction, with the discharge hole provided in at least one of the upper folded portion and the lower folded portion.
In the same embodiment that is taught in Figures 9 and 10 Yang teaches the discharge hole provided in the outermost covering portion overlaps, in a top-bottom direction, with the discharge hole provided in at least one of the upper folded portion and the lower folded portion ([0051]-[0054] and Figure 5 teach that the vents 110 of the outermost and more inner layers of the separator 100 overlap to form a predetermined passage, allowing for easier flow of gas).
To solve the same problem of allowing gas to discharge though a separator to escape an electrode assembly, Yang teaches aligning the vents disposed on multiple layers of separators in order to provide a clear passage for gas to flow ([0051]-[0054] and Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have aligned the discharge hole on the folded portion with the discharge hole on the outermost layer such that the holes overlap in order to provide an unimpeded path for gas to flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Heon (KR 100861705 B1) teaches a separator wrapped around a plurality of cells with holes in the separator to facilitate electrolyte access.
Choi (US 2025/0007002) teaches a plurality of stacked electrodes with a separator in a fanfold assembly where an extended end of the separator is wrapped around the entire assembly.
/B.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744