CTNF 18/658,483 CTNF 82191 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4 of claim 18, “the response message” should change to “ a response message” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, and 8-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2023/0345332 A1, hereinafter “Wang”) . Regarding claim 1: Wang discloses a method for connection control, comprising: sending, by a terminal device (e.g., Fig. 2, 120), a first message (Fig. 2, 220) to a network device (Fig. 2, 110), wherein the first message is used to request a release or suspension of a connection with at least one first cell, and the at least one first cell comprises at least one Dual Connectivity (DC) cell and/or at least one Carrier Aggregation (CA) cell (e.g., [0055], a request may include a suggestion of the release or deactivation of at least part of serving cells while remaining a connected state in the first communication network). Regarding claim 2: Wang further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises at least one of: first indication information for indicating to the network device that a connection with all of the at least one first cell is to be released; second indication information for indicating to the network device that a connection with all of the at least one first cell is to be suspended; third indication information for indicating to the network device that a connection with a part of the at least one first cell is to be released and/or a connection with a part of the at least one first cell is to be suspended; first list information comprising at least one cell identifier of at least one first cell with which the terminal device requests a release of a connection; or second list information comprising at least one cell identifier of at least one first cell with which the terminal device requests a suspension of a connection (e.g., [0055], indicate releasing or deactivating all the serving cells configured). Regarding claim 3: Wang further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises first request configuration information, and a value range of the first request configuration information comprises at least one of: a first value for indicating to the network device that a connection with all of the at least one first cell is to be released; a second value for indicating to the network device that a connection with all of the at least one first cell is to be suspended; or a third value for indicating to the network device that a connection with a part of the at least one first cell is to be released and/or a connection with a part of the at least one first cell is to be suspended (e.g., [0055], indicate releasing or deactivating all the serving cells or specific serving cell or serving cells). Regarding claim 4: Wang further discloses wherein when the first request configuration information is the third value, the first message further comprises first list information and/or second list information; wherein the first list information comprises at least one cell identifier of at least one first cell with which the terminal device requests a release of a connection; and the second list information comprises at least one cell identifier of at least one first cell with which the terminal device requests a suspension of a connection (e.g., [0055], indicate releasing or deactivating all the serving cells or specific serving cell or serving cells). Regarding claim 5: Wang further discloses wherein the first message comprises reason information, and the reason information is used to indicate a reason triggering the terminal device to send the first message (e.g., [0046], [0047], [0080], cause of the request). Regarding claim 6: Wang further discloses wherein the reason triggering the terminal device to send the first message comprises at least one of the following: other Subscriber Identification Module (SIM) cards in the terminal device supporting multiple SIM cards need to occupy resources; interference occurs in the terminal device supporting multiple SIM cards; or the terminal device is overheated (e.g., [0072], a switch from the first network to the second network). Regarding independent claim 8: Wang discloses a terminal device (e.g., Fig. 11, 1100), comprising: a processor (Fig. 11, 1110), and a memory for storing a computer program (Fig. 11, 1120 and 1130), wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: send a first message to a network device, wherein the first message is used to request a release or suspension of a connection with at least one first cell, and the at least one first cell comprises at least one Dual Connectivity (DC) cell and/or at least one Carrier Aggregation (CA) cell. (See rejection set forth for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.) Regarding claim 14: Wang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the network device to: receive a response message of the first message from the network device (e.g., [0056]-[0059]). Regarding independent claim 15: Wang discloses a network device (e.g., Fig. 11, 1100), comprising: a processor (Fig. 11, 1110) and a memory for storing a computer program (Fig. 11,1120 and 1130) wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the network device to: receive a first message from a terminal device, wherein the first message is used to request a release or suspension of a connection with at least one first cell, and the at least one first cell comprises at least one Dual Connectivity (DC) cell and/or at least one Carrier Aggregation (CA) cell. (See rejection set forth for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.) Regarding claims 9-13, 16: See rejection set forth for similar limitations with respect to claims 2-6. Regarding claim 17 : Wang further discloses wherein each of the at least one cell identifier comprises at least one of: a serving cell index corresponding to a respective first cell, a Cell Global Identifier (CGI) corresponding to a respective first cell, or a frequency point and a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) corresponding to a respective first cell ([0055], indicate releasing or deactivating specific serving cell or serving cells). Regarding claim 18: Wang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the network device to: send configuration information of a preset duration to the terminal device, wherein the preset duration is a maximum duration for the terminal device to monitor the response message of the first message after sending the first message (e.g., [0056]-[0059], timer); wherein the configuration information of the preset duration is sent through being carried in a cell system broadcast message or a dedicated signaling (e.g., [0056], [0081]). Regarding claim 19: Wang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the network device to: send downlink configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the downlink configuration information comprises first capability configuration information, and the first capability configuration information is used to indicate whether the terminal device is allowed to request a release or suspension of the connection with the at least one first cell (e.g., [0060]-[0061]). Regarding claim 20: Wang further discloses wherein the downlink configuration information further comprises configuration information of a third timer, and during an operation of the third timer, the terminal device is prohibited from sending the first message to the network device (e.g., [0060]-[0061]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Koo et al. (US 2013/0242919 A1, hereinafter “Koo”) . Regarding claim 7: Wang is silent regarding wherein the first message comprises configuration information of a first timer; during an operation of the first timer, the network device is prohibited from configuring and adding a new DC cell and/or a new CA cell for the terminal device; or during the operation of the first timer, the network device is prohibited from restoring a connection with a first cell that has been suspended for the terminal device. Koo teaches the first message comprises configuration information of a first timer; during an operation of the first timer, the network device is prohibited from configuring and adding a new DC cell and/or a new CA cell for the terminal device; or during the operation of the first timer, the network device is prohibited from restoring a connection with a first cell that has been suspended for the terminal device (e.g., [0053]-[0054], handover request message requesting handover from a source eNB/cell to a second eNB/cell specifies a time interval “Keeping Time” to prevent the network from performing a handover back to the source eNB/cell during the interval of the Keeping Time). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Wang based on the teaching from Koo to include the feature that the first message comprises configuration information of a first timer; during an operation of the first timer, the network device is prohibited from configuring and adding a new DC cell and/or a new CA cell for the terminal device; or during the operation of the first timer, the network device is prohibited from restoring a connection with a first cell that has been suspended for the terminal device, because it would reduce signaling overhead by preventing unnecessary frequent cell handovers. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alvin ZHU whose telephone number is (571)270-1086. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 6am-9am and 2pm-7pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gary Mui can be reached at 571-270-1420. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/658,483 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465