DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the phrase, (see claim 1) the waveform outputter changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform, according to the torque command value” is not shown in figs.1-14. Related figs.2-9 does not show the second reference waveform in the composite waveform. Figs.2, 9 shows only proportion of the first reference waveform. Which is the second waveform and the composite waveform in figs.2, 9? Therefore, changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 1, the phrase, “the waveform outputter changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform, according to the torque command value” is not clear as Related figs.2-9 does not show the second reference waveform in the composite waveform. Figs.2, 9 shows only proportion of the first reference waveform. Which is the second waveform and the composite waveform in figs.2, 9? Therefore, the phrase, “changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform must be shown and relatively corrected for proper understanding of the invention.
Secondly, the phrase, “composite waveform” and “composite ratio” is not clear.
Specification (page 8, last para.) states “In other words, the composite waveform is generated by multiplying each of the values of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in each phase by a weight coefficient corresponding to the composite ratio, and adding up the results of the multiplication.
(specification, page 10) states “As illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 8, in the present embodiment, 5 the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform are a sinusoidal waveform and a trapezoidal waveform, respectively. When such first reference waveform and second reference waveform are used, waveform outputter 23 outputs the composite waveforms illustrated in FIG. 5, FIG. 6, and FIG. 7 at torque command values VTa, Vtb, and VTc illustrated in FIG. 2, respectively. In the composite waveform illustrated in FIG. 5, the composite ratio of the first reference waveform to the second reference waveform is 75:25 (i.e., 3:1). When the torque command value is VTa, waveform outputter 23 generates the composite waveform illustrated in FIG. 5 by adding up the value of the first reference waveform multiplied by 0.75 as the weight coefficient and the value of the second reference waveform multiplied by 0.25 as the weight coefficient.
However, fig. 2 shows only proportion of first reference waveform and does not show the second reference waveform in the composite waveform to understand the ratio 75:25 between the first waveform and the second waveform in the composite waveform.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the phrase, “the waveform outputter changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform, according to the torque command value” is not clear as Related figs.2-9 does not show the second reference waveform in the composite waveform. Figs.2, 9 shows only proportion of the first reference waveform. Which is the second waveform and the composite waveform in figs.2, 9? Therefore, changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform must be shown and relatively corrected and clarified for proper understanding of the invention.
Secondly, the phrase, “composite waveform” and “composite ratio” is not clear.
Specification (page 8, last para.) states “In other words, the composite waveform is generated by multiplying each of the values of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in each phase by a weight coefficient corresponding to the composite ratio, and adding up the results of the multiplication.
(specification, page 10) states “As illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 8, in the present embodiment, 5 the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform are a sinusoidal waveform and a trapezoidal waveform, respectively. When such first reference waveform and second reference waveform are used, waveform outputter 23 outputs the composite waveforms illustrated in FIG. 5, FIG. 6, and FIG. 7 at torque command values VTa, Vtb, and VTc illustrated in FIG. 2, respectively. In the composite waveform illustrated in FIG. 5, the composite ratio of the first reference waveform to the second reference waveform is 75:25 (i.e., 3:1). When the torque command value is VTa, waveform outputter 23 generates the composite waveform illustrated in FIG. 5 by adding up the value of the first reference waveform multiplied by 0.75 as the weight coefficient and the value of the second reference waveform multiplied by 0.25 as the weight coefficient.
However, fig. 2 shows only proportion of first reference waveform and does not show the second reference waveform in the composite waveform to understand the ratio 75:25 between the first waveform and the second waveform in the composite waveform.
EXAMINER NOTE: Since there is unclear subject-matter in claims 1-12, for the purpose of examination, composite waveform is broadly interpreted as a Combined waveform (combination of first waveform and second waveform) and the composite ratio is interpreted as a ratio of the composite (combined) waveform.
As to claim 8, the phrase, “the waveform outputter changes the composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform, to different values in a stepwise manner according to the torque command value” is not clear as related fig.9 shows only a proportion of the first reference waveform. Fig.9 does not show a second reference waveform in the composite waveform. Which is the second waveform and the composite waveform in fig.9?
Dependent claims 2-12 are rejected as they depend from rejected claim 1.
As to claim 12, The phrase, “wherein the waveform outputter generates the composite waveform by performing weighted average on all phases of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform” is unclear.
Specification (page 8, last para.) states “In other words, the composite waveform is generated by multiplying each of the values of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in each phase by a weight coefficient corresponding to the composite ratio, and adding up the results of the multiplication.
Weighted coefficient [0 to 1] (fig.2) is stated as the composite ratio
(specification, page 10) states “As illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 8, in the present embodiment, 5 the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform are a sinusoidal waveform and a trapezoidal waveform, respectively. When such first reference waveform and second reference waveform are used, waveform outputter 23 outputs the composite waveforms illustrated in FIG. 5, FIG. 6, and FIG. 7 at torque command values VTa, Vtb, and VTc illustrated in FIG. 2, respectively. In the composite waveform illustrated in FIG. 5, the composite ratio of the first reference waveform to the second reference waveform is 75:25 (i.e., 3:1). When the torque command value is VTa, waveform outputter 23 generates the composite waveform illustrated in FIG. 5 by adding up the value of the first reference waveform multiplied by 0.75 as the weight coefficient and the value of the second reference waveform multiplied by 0.25 as the weight coefficient.
However, fig. 2 shows only proportion of first reference waveform and does not show the second reference waveform in the composite waveform to understand the ratio 75:25 between the first waveform and the second waveform in the composite waveform. The weighted average on all phases of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform is unclear as fig.2 does not show the second waveform in the composite waveform.
What is the values and the phases of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform meant by as per fig.2?
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by NEMOTO et al. (US PUB.NO.: US 2021/0242799 A1 and NEMOTO hereinafter.)
As to claim 1, A motor driving device that drives a motor based on a torque command value, the motor driving device comprising:
a rotor position detector that detects a rotor position of the motor;
a first waveform generator that generates a first reference waveform based on the rotor position;
a second waveform generator that generates a second reference waveform based on the rotor position, the second reference waveform being different from the first reference waveform;
a waveform outputter that outputs, as an output waveform, the first reference waveform, the second reference waveform, or a composite waveform of the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform, based on the torque command value; and
a current supplier that supplies, to the motor, a motor current generated based on the output waveform, wherein
the waveform outputter changes a composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform, according to the torque command value.
(As to claim 1, NEMOTO teaches (FIGS.1-12, Abstract, para’s [0006] thru [0018], [0020], [0021], , [0027], [0028]) a motor driving device 1 (fig.1) that drives a motor [MG100] based on a torque command value (via VCM100, see fig.1, para’s [0024], [0025], [0029]), the motor driving device 1 comprising:
a rotor position detector [R140] (see fig.1, para’s [0021], [0026]) that detects a rotor position of the motor [MG100];
a first waveform generator [ superimposition PWM control system 640] (via voltage command signal generation unit 620 of control device INV200, see figs.1. 6, 10 of figs.1-12) that generates a first reference waveform [first voltage command signal] (sinusoidal waveform, see fig. 10, para’s [0028], [0032], [0050], [0051], [0052], [0068]) based on the rotor position [R140] (see fig.1);
a second waveform generator [overmodulation PWM control system 650]/[rectangular wave control system 660] (via voltage command signal generation unit 620 of control device INV200, see figs.1. 6, 10, of figs.1-12) that generates a second reference waveform [second voltage command signal] (trapezoidal waveform, see fig.10 or rectangular wave form, fig.5) based on the rotor position [R140] (see fig.1), the second reference waveform [trapezoidal/rectangular waveform] being different from the first reference waveform [sine waveform] (see fig.10/5);
a waveform outputter 620 (fig.10, see relative fig.6) that outputs, as an output waveform, the first reference waveform [FIRST VOLTAGE COMMAND SIGNAL] (sine waveform, see fig.10), the second reference waveform [SECOND VOLTAGE COMMAND SIGNAL] (trapezoidal OR rectangular waveform, see fig.10), or a composite waveform SUCH AS A COMBINED WAVEFORM [SYNTHESIZED OUTPUT VOLTAGE COMMAND WAVEFORM] (via waveform outputter [synthesis processing unit 670], see fig.10, para’s [0068], [0069], [0070]-[0071]) of the first reference waveform [FIRST VOLTAGE COMMAND SIGNAL] and the second reference waveform[ SECOND VOLTAGE COMMAND SIGNAL], based on the torque command value (via VCM100, SEE FIG.1); and
a current supplier [INV 300, INV400] (see figs.1, 6, 10, para’s [0027], [0029] & [0076]) that supplies, to the motor [MG100], a motor current generated based on the output waveform [[SYNTHESIZED OUTPUT VOLTAGE COMMAND WAVEFORM] (see figs.1, 6, 10), wherein
the waveform outputter [SYNTHESIS PROCESSING UNIT 670] (FIG.10) changes a composite ratio such as a ratio between the first reference waveform [first voltage command signal] (sine waveform, fig.10) and the second reference waveform [second voltage command signal] (trapezoidal or rectangular waveform, see fig.10), in the composite waveform SUCH AS A COMBINED WAVEFORM [SYNTHESIZED OUTPUT VOLTAGE COMMAND WAVEFORM], according to the torque command value (via VCM100, SEE FIG.1, para.[0051]; SEE NEMOTO TEACHING USING FIG.5, para’s [0046], [0047],[0048], wherein fig.5 shows Ratio of voltage command signal is decreased from 100% to 0% relative to the first voltage command signal (sine wave of Superimposition PWM control and ratio of second voltage command signal is increased from 0% to 100% in the rectangular wave control and further para [0049] teaches coefficients of 0 or more or 1 or less are applied to the first voltage command signal and second voltage command signal and see relative fig.8, para’s [0058] thru [0064]/fig.12, para’s [0073], [0077]).
As to claim 2, The motor driving device according to claim 1, wherein the current supplier further includes a current detector that detects the motor current, and the current supplier controls the motor current detected by the current detector to approximate a waveform of the motor current to the output waveform.
(NEMOTO teaches (FIGS.1-12, para’s [0006] thru [0018], [0020], [0021]) the motor driving device 1 (fig.1), wherein the current supplier [INV300, INV400] further includes a current sensor [CT100] (see para’s [0022]-[0023], [0024]) that detects the current of the motor [MG100], and the current supplier [INV300, INV400] controls the motor current detected by the current sensor [CT100] to approximate a waveform of the current of the motor [MG100] to the output waveform [VOLTAGE COMMAND SIGNAL] (see fig.1, and Nemoto teaches voltage command signal are converted based on current values calculated and current values from motor current sensor [CT100], see para’s [0025]-[00026]).
As to claim 6, The motor driving device according to claim 1, wherein the first reference waveform is a sinusoidal waveform.
(NEMOTO teaches (FIGS.1-12, para’s [0006] thru [0018], [0020], [0021]) the motor driving device 1 (fig.1), wherein the first reference waveform is a sinusoidal waveform (see para. [0028] & fig.10).
As to claim 7, The motor driving device according to claim 1, wherein the second reference waveform is a trapezoidal waveform.
(NEMOTO teaches (FIGS.1-12, para’s [0006] thru [0018], [0020], [0021]) the motor driving device 1 (fig.1), wherein the second reference waveform is a trapezoidal waveform (see para. [0028] & fig.10).
As to claim 8, The motor driving device according to claim 1, wherein the waveform outputter changes the composite ratio between the first reference waveform and the second reference waveform in the composite waveform, to different values in a stepwise manner according to the torque command value.
(As to claim 8, NEMOTO teaches (FIGS.1-12, para’s [0006] thru [0018], [0020], [0021]) the motor driving device 1 (fig.1), wherein the waveform outputter [SYNTHESIS PROCESSING UNIT 670] (FIG.10) changes a composite ratio such as a ratio between the first reference waveform [first voltage command signal] (sine waveform, fig.10) and the second reference waveform [second voltage command signal] (trapezoidal or rectangular waveform, see fig.10), in the composite waveform SUCH AS A COMBINED WAVEFORM [SYNTHESIZED OUTPUT VOLTAGE COMMAND WAVEFORM], to different values in a stepwise manner (see fig.5) according to the torque command value (via VCM100, SEE FIG.1, para.[0051]; SEE NEMOTO TEACHING USING FIG.5, para’s [0046], [0047],[0048], wherein fig.5 shows Ratio of voltage command signal is decreased from 100% to 0% relative to the first voltage command signal (sine wave of Superimposition PWM control and ratio of second voltage command signal is increased from 0% to 100% in the rectangular wave control and further para [0049] teaches coefficients of 0 or more or 1 or less are applied to the first voltage command signal and second voltage command signal and see relative fig.8, para’s [0058] thru [0064]/fig.12, para’s [0073], [0077]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 3-5 and 9-11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-5 and 9-11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 3, The prior art of record(s) (closest prior art, NEMOTO) fails to teach outputs the first reference waveform when the torque command value is less than a lower composite limit; outputs the second reference waveform when the torque command value is greater than an upper composite limit; and outputs the composite waveform when the torque command value is greater than or equal to the lower composite limit and less than or equal to the upper composite limit. Allowable claims 4, 5, and 11 depend on allowable claim 3.
As to claim 9, The prior art of record(s) (closest prior art, NEMOTO) fails to teach
a phase controller that receives, as an input, the torque command value, and changes a phase difference between the rotor position and the output waveform, based on the torque command value. Allowable claim 10 depend on allowable claim 9.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846