Claims 1-20 filed on 06/11/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 05/08/2024 has been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/08/2024 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 05/08/2024 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 the claim recites, “wherein all input flowpaths, all fluid storages, and all output flowpaths of the portion of the pipeline network belong to the plurality of fluid sensors” is indefinite, particularly the definition of all fluid storages and the relationship between portion of the pipeline network belong(ing) to the plurality of fluid sensors.
In regards to the relationship between portion of the pipeline network belong(ing) to the plurality of fluid sensors. The specifications mention the fluid sensor locations in FIG.1A as well as [0017] (sensors are pre-installed at the fluid sensor locations (110) during construction of the facility (100)) but does not provide the definition for particular relationship of “belonging to” and therefore rendered indefinite. For the purpose of examination, “belong to” will be interpreted as “installed at”.
Claims 2-7 depend either directly or indirectly form the rejection of Claim 1, and therefore also rejected.
Claims 8, 15 are similarly rejected due to parallel claim language.
Claims 9-14 depend either directly or indirectly from the rejection of Claim 8, and therefore are also rejected
Claims 16-20 depend either directly or indirectly from the rejection of Claim 15, and therefore are also rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Claim 1:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
Identifying a portion of the pipeline network as a leakage detection segment; (Mental process – identifying is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
analyzing, based on a mass balance criterion, the plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Mental process – analyzing is an judgement that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
to generate a mass balance analysis result; (Mental process – generating is an evaluation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
performing, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the maintenance operation appears to be done by humans dispatched to a site; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
installing a plurality of sensors at a plurality of fluid sensor locations in a pipeline network of the industrial facility; (Mere recitation of a generic computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I))
generating, using the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
installing a plurality of sensors at a plurality of fluid sensor locations in a pipeline network of the industrial facility; (The additional features including the mere installation of sensors as recited are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited n the claim, but recited so generically that it does not transform (or improve) a machine or apparatus in a non-trivial way – see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I))
generating, using the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 1 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 2:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
input fluid quantity through each input flowpath; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
output fluid quantity through each output flowpath; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
input fluid quantity through each input flowpath; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
output fluid quantity through each output flowpath; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 2 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 3:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
determining, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) = ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 3 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 4:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) > ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 4 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 5:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
performing, in response to the alarm, a root cause analysis to facilitate the maintenance operation; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the root cause analysis appears to be done by human beings based on Applicant’s specification; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
generating an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
generating an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection; (The additional features including generating an alarm and control signals as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
Therefore, Claim 5 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 6:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) < ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 6 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 7:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
performing a root cause analysis to facilitate the maintenance operation; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the maintenance operation appears to be done by humans dispatched to a site; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
Therefore, Claim 7 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 8:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
Identifying a portion of the pipeline network as a leakage detection segment; (Mental process – identifying is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
analyzing, based on a mass balance criterion, the plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Mental process – analyzing is an judgement that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
to generate a mass balance analysis result; (Mental process – generating is an evaluation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
facilitating, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the maintenance operation appears to be done by humans dispatched to a site; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
generating, using the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
generating, using the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 8 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 9:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
input fluid quantity through each input flowpath; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
output fluid quantity through each output flowpath; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
input fluid quantity through each input flowpath; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
output fluid quantity through each output flowpath; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 9 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 10:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
determining, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) = ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 10 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 11:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) > ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 11 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 12:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
performing, in response to the alarm, a root cause analysis to facilitate the maintenance operation; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the root cause analysis appears to be done by human beings based on Applicant’s specification; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
generating an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
generating an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection; (The additional features including generating an alarm and control signals as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
Therefore, Claim 12 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 13:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) < ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 13 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 14:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
performing a root cause analysis to facilitate the maintenance operation; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the root cause analysis appears to be done by human beings based on Applicant’s specification; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
Therefore, Claim 14 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 15:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
Identifying a portion of the pipeline network as a leakage detection segment; (Mental process – identifying is an observation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
analyzing, based on a mass balance criterion, the plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Mental process – analyzing is an judgement that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
to generate a mass balance analysis result; (Mental process – generating is an evaluation that can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
Facilitating, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the maintenance operation appears to be done by humans dispatched to a site; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
a plurality of fluid sensor locations where a plurality of sensors are installed; (Mere recitation of a generic computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I))
receiving, from a plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
input fluid quantity through each input flowpath; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
output fluid quantity through each output flowpath; (Insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
installing a plurality of sensors at a plurality of fluid sensor locations in a pipeline network of the industrial facility; (The additional features including the mere installation of sensors as recited are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited n the claim, but recited so generically that it does not transform (or improve) a machine or apparatus in a non-trivial way – see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I))
generating, using the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements; (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
input fluid quantity through each input flowpath; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
output fluid quantity through each output flowpath; (Electronic recordkeeping has been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
Therefore, Claim 15 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 16:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
determining, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) = ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 16 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 17:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) > ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 17 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 18:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
performing, in response to the alarm, a root cause analysis to facilitate the maintenance operation; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the root cause analysis appears to be done by human beings based on Applicant’s specification; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
generating an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP § 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
generating an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection; (The additional features including generating an alarm and control signals as recited in the claim are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more)
Therefore, Claim 18 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 19:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass - ∑flowingoutmass) < ∑Storagemassafter; (Mathematical concept – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I))
Therefore, Claim 19 is ineligible.
With respect to Claim 20:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
performing a root cause analysis to facilitate the maintenance operation; (per paragraph [0040] in the applicant’s specification, the root cause analysis appears to be done by human beings based on Applicant’s specification; Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – maintenance operation is considered managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II))
Therefore, Claim 20 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heng et al. (US 20170308796 A1, herein Heng) in view of Arnold E. Liu (Overview: Pipeline Accounting and Leak Detection by Mass Balance, Theory and Hardware Implementation, herein Liu).
Regarding Claim 1, Heng teaches A method of detecting fluid leakage in an industrial facility, comprising (see FIG.1):
installing a plurality of sensors at a plurality of fluid sensor locations in a pipeline network of the industrial facility (see FIG.1, 10; [0020] station 12 may be equipped to sensors to acquire the measurements);
identifying a portion of the pipeline network as a leakage detection segment in the industrial facility (see FIG.3; S100 [0040] Identifying a subsystem in the pipeline network),
wherein all input flowpaths, all fluid storages, and all output flowpaths of the portion of the pipeline network belong to the plurality of fluid sensor locations (see FIG: 1; the pipeline itself under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation is interpreted as a fluid storage [0018] The pipeline network 10 comprises multiple stations 12, each station 12 connected with at least one other station 12 via a pipeline that carries fluid between the stations.
input flowpaths is interpreted as “fluid received at the station” and output flowpaths are “fluid being transported from the station” see FIG. 1; [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12)
generating, using the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements of the leakage detection segment (transmitting implicitly includes generating [0020] the sensors may be equipped for the transmission of the measurements 15.);
analyzing, (See FIG.3 [0044] determines a threshold deviation of the first control variable that indicates a leak event);
Heng teaches an analysis to find a leak detection within the system; however, does not explicitly teach and based on a mass balance criterion and performing, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility.
Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
)
and performing, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility ([page 14 paragraph 17] Early detection of small leaks and their (temporary) repairs frequently permit the scheduling of major repairs during more convenient / lower demand periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the server of Heng to incorporate the teachings of Liu so as to include analysis using the mass balance equation. Doing so would allow a more accurate leak detection system (see Liu page 7 [paragraph 3] The only truly rigorous method of on-line pipeline leak detection system is “mass balance”.).
Regarding claim 2, Heng in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
Heung further teaches wherein the plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise: an input fluid quantity through each input flowpath into the leakage detection segment (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12);
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage (the pipeline itself under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation is interpreted as a fluid storage and therefore the fluid present in the pipes during the measurements will be considered stored fluid quantity [0018] The pipeline network 10 comprises multiple stations 12, each station 12 connected with at least one other station 12 via a pipeline that carries fluid between the stations.) in the leakage detection segment and an output fluid quantity through each output flowpath from the leakage detection segment (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12).
Regarding claim 3 Heng in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
further comprising:
determining, based on the mass balance analysis result of ∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass)=∑Storagemassafter, that no fluid leakage is detected (Liu page 8, table 3; [paragraph 5] The integrated pipeline measurement, achieved the following results in a typical 10 hour custody transfer run – Table 3 is a analysis result of the mass balance equation, with the deviation row having minimal deviation (in percentage), it is interpreted that there is no fluid leakage detected based on the analysis).
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
)
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 4, Heng in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
Liu further teaches further comprising:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass>∑Storagemassafter, the fluid leakage within the leakage detection segment or a faulty sensor measurements in the plurality of fluid sensor measurements (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more/less fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous (see also table 3 depicting deviation); Liu page 7 [last paragraph] Should an anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
).
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 5, Heng in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 4.
Liu further teaches further comprising:
generating, in response to said detecting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements, an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection segment from a remaining portion of the pipeline network (page 7 [last paragraph] anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.
Resolving alarm issues is interpreted as when the system detects a leakage, an alarm will be sounded; page 12 [paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms);
and performing, in response to the alarm, a root cause analysis (root cause analysis is interpreted as supervising the system output, resolving alarm issues [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms) to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements (maintenance operation is interpreted as repairs [page 14 paragraph 17] Early detection of small leaks and their (temporary) repairs frequently permit the scheduling of major repairs during more convenient / lower demand periods).
Examiners Note: as detailed in the applicant’s specification [0040] root cause analysis is performed, in response to the alarm, to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements.
Regarding claim 6, Heng in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
Liu further teaches further comprising:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass<∑Storagemassafter, a faulty measurements in the plurality of fluid sensor measurements (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more/less fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous (see also table 3 depicting deviation); Liu page 7 [last paragraph] Should an anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
).
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 7, Heng in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 6.
Liu further teaches further comprising:
performing, in response to said detecting the faulty sensor measurements (unlikely/random “events” is interpreted as faulty sensor measurement (instance of Claim 6 mass balance analysis result) and “tuned” is when the mass balance equation is set with parameters [page 8 NOTE] consideration of the monotonicity of d(Dm) /dt, d2(Dm) /dt2,and advanced adaptive filtering techniques (e.g. consideration the autonomous/dynamic systems associated with the above equations) can be used to flag unlikely/random "events"), a root cause analysis (root cause analysis is interpreted as supervising the system output, resolving alarm issues [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms) to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting a faulty sensor in the leakage detection segment ([page 8 NOTE] if warranted, advise operators that that instruments at specific locations may require checking, or that parameters for specific pipeline sections may require reconsideration.).
Regarding claim 8, Heng teaches a leakage detection engine for detecting fluid leakage in an industrial facility, comprising:
a computer processor (see claim interpretation; FIG 2 [0023] the server 20 includes, among other components, a processor 105); and
memory storing instructions (see claim interpretation; FIG. 2 [0023] the server 20 includes, among other components, a processor 105, memory 110),
when executed by the computer processor, comprising functionality for: identifying a portion of a pipeline network as a leakage detection segment in the industrial facility (see FIG.3; S100 [0040] Identifying a subsystem in the pipeline network),
wherein all input flowpaths, all fluid storages (the pipeline itself under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation is interpreted as a fluid storage and therefore the fluid present in the pipes during the measurements will be considered stored fluid quantity See FIG.1; [0018] The pipeline network 10 comprises multiple stations 12, each station 12 connected with at least one other station 12 via a pipeline that carries fluid between the stations.), and all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment belong to a plurality of fluid sensor locations where a plurality of sensors are installed in the pipeline network (input flowpaths is interpreted as “fluid received at the station” and output flowpaths are “fluid being transported from the station” see FIG. 1; [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12);
receiving, from the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements of the leakage detection segment ([0020] the server 20 may receive the measurements 15 from each station 12);
analyzing, (See FIG.3 [0044] determines a threshold deviation of the first control variable that indicates a leak event);
Heng teaches an analysis to find a leak detection within the system; however, does not explicitly teach based on a mass balance criterion and performing, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility.
Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
)
and performing, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility (maintenance operation is interpreted as repairs [page 14 paragraph 17] Early detection of small leaks and their (temporary) repairs frequently permit the scheduling of major repairs during more convenient / lower demand periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the server of Heng to incorporate the teachings of Liu so as to include analysis using the mass balance equation. Doing so would allow a more accurate leak detection system (see Liu page 7 [paragraph 3] The only truly rigorous method of on-line pipeline leak detection system is “mass balance”.).
Regarding claim 9, Heng in view of Liu teaches the leakage detection engine of claim 8,
Heng further teaches wherein the plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise: an input fluid quantity through each input flowpath into the leakage detection segment (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12);
And an output fluid quantity through each output flowpath from the leakage detection segment (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12).
Regarding claim 10, Heng in view of Liu teaches the leakage detection engine of claim 8, the instructions, when executed by the computer processor,
Liu further teaches further comprising
functionality for: determining, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass)=∑Storagemassafter, that no fluid leakage is detected (Liu page 8, table 3; [paragraph 5] The integrated pipeline measurement, achieved the following results in a typical 10 hour custody transfer run – Table 3 is a analysis result of the mass balance equation, with the deviation row having minimal deviation (in percentage), it is interpreted that there is no fluid leakage detected based on the analysis),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
).
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 11, Heng in view of Peters in view of Liu teaches the leakage detection engine of claim 8, the instructions, when executed by the computer processor,
Liu further teaches further comprising
functionality for: detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass>∑Storagemassafter, the fluid leakage within the leakage detection segment or a faulty sensor measurements in the plurality of fluid sensor measurements (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more/less fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous (see also table 3 depicting deviation); Liu page 7 [last paragraph] Should an anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]).
Regarding claim 12, Heng in view of Liu teaches the leakage detection engine of claim 11, the instructions, when executed by the computer processor,
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
generating, in response to said detecting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements, an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection segment from a remaining portion of the pipeline network (page 7 [last paragraph] anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.
Resolving alarm issues is interpreted as when the system detects a leakage, an alarm will be sounded; [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms);
And performing, in response to the alarm, a root cause analysis (root cause analysis is interpreted as supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms) to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements (maintenance operation is interpreted as repairs [page 14 paragraph 17] Early detection of small leaks and their (temporary) repairs frequently permit the scheduling of major repairs during more convenient / lower demand periods).
Examiners Note: as detailed the applicant’s specification [0040] root cause analysis is performed, in response to the alarm, to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements.
Regarding claim 13, Heng in view of Liu teaches the leakage detection engine of claim 8, the instructions, when executed by the computer processor,
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass<∑Storagemassafter, a faulty measurements in the plurality of fluid sensor measurements (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more/less fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous (see also table 3 depicting deviation); Liu page 7 [last paragraph] Should an anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
)
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 14, Heng in view of Liu teaches the leakage detection engine of claim 13, the instructions, when executed by the computer processor,
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
performing, in response to said detecting the faulty sensor measurements(unlikely/random “events” is interpreted as faulty sensor measurement (instance of Claim 6 mass balance analysis result) and “tuned” is when the mass balance equation is set with parameters [page 8 NOTE] consideration of the monotonicity of d(Dm) /dt, d2(Dm) /dt2,and advanced adaptive filtering techniques (e.g. consideration the autonomous/dynamic systems associated with the above equations) can be used to flag unlikely/random "events"), a root cause analysis (root cause analysis is interpreted as supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms) to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting a faulty sensor in the leakage detection segment ([page 8 NOTE] if warranted, advise operators that that instruments at specific locations may require checking, or that parameters for specific pipeline sections may require reconsideration.).
Regarding claim 15, Heng teaches an industrial facility, comprising:
a pipeline network comprising a plurality of fluid sensor locations where a plurality of sensors are installed (see FIG. 1);
and a leakage detection engine comprising functionality for:
identifying a portion of the pipeline network as a leakage detection segment in the industrial facility (Identifying a portion is interpreted as "measurement from each station 12" [0021] The server 20 may receive measurements 15 and store measurement from each station 12 in the data repository 30.),
wherein all input flowpaths, all fluid storages (the pipeline itself under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation is interpreted as a fluid storage and therefore the fluid present in the pipes during the measurements will be considered stored fluid quantity See FIG.1; [0018] The pipeline network 10 comprises multiple stations 12, each station 12 connected with at least one other station 12 via a pipeline that carries fluid between the stations.), and all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment belong to the plurality of fluid sensor locations in the pipeline network (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12);
receiving, from the plurality of sensors, a plurality of fluid sensor measurements of the leakage detection segment ([0021] the server 20 may receive the measurements 15 from each station 12);
analyzing, based on (see FIG.3 S104-S110; generates an analysis result based on the variables [0044] determines a threshold deviation of the first control variable that indicates a leak event);
wherein the plurality of fluid sensor measurements comprise:
an input fluid quantity through each input flowpath into the leakage detection segment (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12);
a stored fluid quantity in each fluid storage in the leakage detection segment(see FIG.1; the pipeline itself under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation is interpreted as a fluid storage and therefore the fluid present in the pipes during the measurements will be considered stored fluid quantity [0018] The pipeline network 10 comprises multiple stations 12, each station 12 connected with at least one other station 12 via a pipeline that carries fluid between the stations.);
and an output fluid quantity through each output flowpath from the leakage detection segment (Input flowpaths is interpreted as fluid received at the station and output flowpaths is interpreted as fluid being transported from the station [0020] station 12 may be equipped with sensors to acquire the measurements 15, such as a volume, a flow-rate, a pressure, or any other attribute of the fluid received at the station 12 and/or the fluid being transported from the station 12).
Heng teaches performing analysis for a leak detection in a set station but does not explicitly teach analyzing, based on a mass balance criterion and facilitating, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility.
Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
)
and performing, based on the analysis result, a maintenance operation of the industrial facility (maintenance operation is interpreted as repairs [page 14 paragraph 17] Early detection of small leaks and their (temporary) repairs frequently permit the scheduling of major repairs during more convenient / lower demand periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the server of Heng to incorporate the teachings of Liu so as to include analysis using the mass balance equation. Doing so would allow a more accurate leak detection system (see Liu page 7 [paragraph 3] The only truly rigorous method of on-line pipeline leak detection system is “mass balance”.).
Regarding claim 16, Heng in view of Liu teaches the industrial facility of claim 15, the leakage detection engine
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
determining, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+(∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass)=∑Storagemassafter, that no fluid leakage is detected (Liu page 8, table 3; [paragraph 5] The integrated pipeline measurement, achieved the following results in a typical 10 hour custody transfer run – Table 3 is a analysis result of the mass balance equation, with the deviation row having minimal deviation (in percentage), it is interpreted that there is no fluid leakage detected based on the analysis).,
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
).
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 17, Heng in view of Liu teaches the industrial facility of claim 15, the leakage detection engine
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass>∑Storagemassafter, the fluid leakage within the leakage detection segment or a faulty sensor measurements in the plurality of fluid sensor measurements (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more/less fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous (see also table 3 depicting deviation); Liu page 7 [last paragraph] Should an anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
).
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 18, Heng in view of Liu teaches the industrial facility of claim 17, the leakage detection engine
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
generating, in response to said detecting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements, an alarm and control signals to isolate the leakage detection segment from a remaining portion of the pipeline network (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous; [page 7 last paragraph] anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.
Resolving alarm issues is interpreted as when the system detects a leakage, an alarm will be sounded; page 12 [paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms);
and performing, in response to the alarm, a root cause analysis (root cause analysis is interpreted as supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms) to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements (maintenance operation is interpreted as repairs [page 14 paragraph 17] Early detection of small leaks and their (temporary) repairs frequently permit the scheduling of major repairs during more convenient / lower demand periods).
Examiners Note: as detailed in the applicant’s specification [0040] root cause analysis is performed, in response to the alarm, to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting the fluid leakage or the faulty sensor measurements.
Regarding claim 19, Heng in view of Liu teaches the industrial facility of claim 15, the leakage detection engine
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
detecting, based on the mass balance analysis result of (∑Storagemass+∑flowinginmass-∑flowingoutmass<∑Storagemassafter, a faulty measurements in the plurality of fluid sensor measurements (the said mass balance analysis result (e.g. more/less fluid leaving a system than entering) is considered and interpreted anomalous (see also table 3 depicting deviation); Liu page 7 [last paragraph] Should an anomalous
∆
m
be determined that exceeds the combined instrument and pipeline model uncertainties then the pipeline leak detection system will iterate the pressure drop along the pipeline forward and backward from known points/pressures upstream and downstream of the leak to determine the approximate location of the leakage/loss.),
wherein ∑Storagemass denotes an initial sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at beginning of a testing period, ∑Storagemassafter denotes a final sum of all stored fluid quantity in said all fluid storages in the leakage detection segment at end of the testing period, ∑flowinginmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through said all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and ∑flowingoutmass denotes a total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through said all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period (Liu teaches mass balance criterion (page 7, paragraph 4 equation:
).
[Examiners Note: The equation presented by Liu is a differential quantity, particular to a point within a pipeline. When applied to a single pipeline, the relationship is more appropriate expressed as an integral evaluated from point A to point B over time, reflecting the continuous accumulation of the quantity along the pipeline. Likewise, as noted in the application ([0026] flowing in mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing in through all input flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period, and flowing out mass denotes the total sum of fluid quantity flowing out through all output flowpaths of the leakage detection segment during the testing period.), when the quantity is being aggregated across multiple discrete pipelines, the given equation by Liu would be modified to a summation formulation to account for the aggregate contribution of each individual parts.]
Regarding claim 20, Heng in view of Liu teaches the industrial facility of claim 19, the leakage detection engine
Liu further teaches further comprising functionality for:
performing, in response to said detecting the faulty sensor measurements(unlikely/random “events” is interpreted as faulty sensor measurement (instance of Claim 6 mass balance analysis result) and “tuned” is when the mass balance equation is set with parameters [page 8 NOTE] consideration of the monotonicity of d(Dm) /dt, d2(Dm) /dt2,and advanced adaptive filtering techniques (e.g. consideration the autonomous/dynamic systems associated with the above equations) can be used to flag unlikely/random "events"), a root cause analysis(root cause analysis is interpreted as supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues [page 12 paragraph 2] These skilled engineers and scientists will be responsible for supervising the system out, resolving alarm issues, and making fine adjustments to the model input parameters to minimize false alarms) to facilitate the maintenance operation for correcting a faulty sensor in the leakage detection segment([page 8 NOTE] if warranted, advise operators that that instruments at specific locations may require checking, or that parameters for specific pipeline sections may require reconsideration.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20070261477 A1 – Apparatus for Detecting Leakage of Liquid Tank (apparatus for a tank comprising of multiple sensors measuring any leakage within the tank)
US 20170308796 A1 – System and Method for Forecasting Leaks in a Fluid-Delivery Pipeline Network (a pipeline network comprising multiple stations, the server detects leakage for an individual station)
US 6969589 B1 – Gas/Oil Well Monitoring System (monitoring a gas/oil well using a plurality of sensor and a relay unit)
/J.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117