DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-11, claims 1-5, 11-15, 18 and 19, in the reply filed on June 05, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-10, 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 05, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 (line 1) “wherein, ” should recite –wherein: --.
In claim 3 (line 1) “wherein, ” should recite –wherein: --.
In claim 14 (line 1) “wherein, ” should recite –wherein: --.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11, 13-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le Clercq (EP 0 048 236).
As to claim 1, Le Clercq discloses a plate connection assembly, comprising:
a connector comprising a first connecting part 1,6 and a second connecting part 1,5 extending along a length direction of the connector; and
a first plate 4 and a second plate 3, wherein the first plate has a third connecting part A adjacent to an end of the first plate and extending in a width direction of the first plate (Figure 3 reprinted below with annotations), and the second plate has a fourth connecting part B adjacent to an end of the second plate and extending in a width direction of the second plate, and the third connecting part is engaged with the first connecting part, and the fourth connecting part is engaged with the second connecting part (Figure 3).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 2, Le Clercq discloses a plate connection assembly wherein:
one of the first connecting part 1,6 and the third connecting part A comprises a first engaging groove, and the other of the first connecting part and the third connecting part comprises a first engaging protrusion A engaged in the first engaging groove; and
one of the second connecting part 1,5 and the fourth connecting part B comprises a second engaging groove, and the other of the second connecting part and the fourth connecting part comprises a second engaging protrusion B engaged in the second engaging groove (Figure 3).
As to claim 3, Le Clercq discloses a plate connection assembly wherein:
the connector comprises a body portion 7,8, a first connecting section 1, a second connecting section 6, a third connecting section 1 and a fourth connecting section 5;
the body portion comprises a first body section 8, a second body section 7 and a third body section 7, wherein a first inner end of the first body section, a second inner end of the second body section and a third inner end of the third body section are connected with each other;
a first connection end of the first connecting section and a third connection end of the third connecting section are respectively connected with a first outer end of the first body section and located on both sides of the first body section, a second connection end of the second connecting section is connected with a second outer end of the second body section, and a fourth connection end of the fourth connecting section is connected with a third outer end of the third body section;
the first connecting section, the first body section, the second body section and the second connecting section constitute the first connecting part and define the first engaging groove with a first engaging notch; and
the third connecting section, the first body section, the third body section and the fourth connecting section constitute the second connecting part and define the second engaging groove with a second engaging notch (Figure 3).
As to claim 4, Le Clercq discloses a plate connection assembly wherein an included angle between the first body section 8 and the second body section 7 is between 120 degrees and 150 degrees, an included angle between the first connecting section 1 and the first body section is between 15 degrees and 85 degrees, and an included angle between the second connecting section 6 and the second body section is between 15 degrees and 85 degrees (Figure 3).
As to claim 5, Le Clercq discloses a plate connection assembly wherein the third connecting part A comprises a first fitting groove, a second fitting groove and a first engaging protrusion A located between the first fitting groove and the second fitting groove, wherein the first connecting section 1 is engaged in the first fitting groove and the second connecting section 6 is engaged in the second fitting groove; and
the fourth connecting part B comprises a third fitting groove, a fourth fitting groove and a second engaging protrusion B located between the third fitting groove and the fourth fitting groove, wherein the third connecting section 1 is engaged in the third fitting groove and the fourth connecting section 5 is engaged in the fourth fitting groove (Figure 3).
As to claim 11, Le Clercq discloses a plate connection assembly wherein the first connecting part 1,6 and the second connecting part 1,5 are symmetrically arranged (Figure 3).
As to claim 13, Le Clercq discloses a connector for connecting plates, comprising a first connecting part 1,6 and a second connecting part 1,5, wherein the first connecting part extends along a length direction of the connector and is configured to be engaged with a first plate 4, the second connecting part extends along the length direction of the connector and is configured to be engaged with a second plate 3, the first connecting part comprises a first engaging groove or a first engaging protrusion, and the second connecting part comprises a second engaging groove or a second engaging protrusion (Figure 3).
As to claim 14, Le Clercq discloses a connector wherein:
the connector comprises a body portion 8,7, a first connecting section 1, a second connecting section 6, a third connecting section 1 and a fourth connecting section 5;
the body portion comprises a first body section 8, a second body section 7 and a third body section 7, wherein a first inner end of the first body section, a second inner end of the second body section and a third inner end of the third body section are connected with each other;
a first connection end of the first connecting section and a third connection end of the third connecting section are respectively connected with a first outer end of the first body section and located on both sides of the first body section, a second connection end of the second connecting section is connected with a second outer end of the second body section, and a fourth connection end of the fourth connecting section is connected with a third outer end of the third body section;
the first connecting section, the first body section, the second body section and the second connecting section constitute the first connecting part and define the first engaging groove with a first engaging notch; and
the third connecting section, the first body section, the third body section and the fourth connecting section constitute the second connecting part and define the second engaging groove with a second engaging notch (Figure 3).
As to claim 15, Le Clercq discloses a connector wherein an included angle between the first body section 8 and the second body section 7 is between 120 degrees and 150 degrees, an included angle between the first connecting section 1 and the first body section is between 15 degrees and 85 degrees, and an included angle between the second connecting section 6 and the second body section is between 15 degrees and 85 degrees (Figure 3).
As to claim 19, Le Clercq discloses a box, comprising a bottom plate, a plurality of side plates 4,3 and a plurality of connectors, wherein the plurality of side plates are connected with the bottom plate, adjacent side plates comprise a first plate 4 and a second plate 3, and adjacent ends of the first plate and the second plate are connected with each other through the connector,
wherein the connector comprises a first connecting part 1,6 and a second connecting part 1,5 extending along a length direction of the connector;
the first plate has a third connecting part A adjacent to an end of the first plate and extending in a width direction of the first plate, and the second plate has a fourth connecting part B adjacent to an end of the second plate and extending in a width direction of the second plate; and
the third connecting part is engaged with the first connecting part, and the fourth connecting part is engaged with the second connecting part (Figures 3,7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Clercq in view of Gratol Pascal (FR 2 735 542).
As to claim 12, Le Clercq fails to disclose a plate connection assembly wherein at least one of the first connecting part and the third connecting part is provided with a first convex tooth on an engaging surface thereof, and at least one of the second connecting part and the fourth connecting part is provided with a second convex tooth on an engaging surface thereof.
Gratol Pascal teaches a plate connection assembly wherein a first connecting part 2 and a second connecting part 2 of a connector are each provided with a respective first or second convex tooth 1 on an engaging surface thereof; the teeth biting into corresponding surfaces of third and fourth connecting parts of first and second plates 5,6, providing for more secure engagement between the connector and the plates (Figures 1-2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plate connection assembly disclosed by Le Clercq wherein the first and second connecting parts comprise teeth, as taught by Gratol Pascal, in in order to provide for more secure engagement between the connector and the plates.
As to claim 18, Le Clercq fails to disclose discloses a connector wherein the first connecting part is provided with a first convex tooth on an engaging surface thereof, and the second connecting part is provided with a second convex tooth on an engaging surface thereof.
Gratol Pascal teaches a connector wherein a first connecting part 2 and a second connecting part 2 of a connector are each provided with a respective first or second convex tooth 1 on an engaging surface thereof; the teeth biting into corresponding surfaces of third and fourth connecting parts of first and second plates 5,6, providing for more secure engagement between the connector and the plates (Figures 1-2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Le Clercq wherein the first and second connecting parts comprise teeth, as taught by Gratol Pascal, in in order to provide for more secure engagement between the connector and the plates.
Conclusion
06/20/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619