Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayasaka et al. (US 20100128152 A1, hereinafter “Hayasaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Hayasaka teaches an image obtaining apparatus (Figs. 1&5, an image pickup apparatus 1) comprising:
an image sensor (Figs. 1&5, an image pickup device 13) comprising a micro lens (Figs. 1-5, [0030]: a microlens array 12) and a plurality of neighboring pixels sharing the micro lens (Figs. 1-5, [0032]-[0034]: two-dimensional arrangement of microlenses in the microlens array 12 corresponds to a pixel arrangement in the image pickup device 13.);
and a processor (Figs. 1-5, [0036] image processing section 14) configured to:
generate, based on an input image received from the image sensor, a plurality of parallax images having a same parallax (Figs. 3-6, [0052]-[0053]&[0056]: parallax image producing section 143 produces a plurality of parallax images from different viewpoints based on the image pickup data D1. Pixel data corresponding to pixels located at the same position in the unit image formation regions 12D are extracted from the image pickup data D1 (as illustrated in (A) in Fig. 6);
group, from among the plurality of parallax images, first parallax images having similar image characteristics (Figs. 3-6, [0052]-[0053]&[0056]-[0057]: extracted pixel data (pixel data corresponding to pixels indicated by the same reference numeral in FIG. 3) are synthesized. Thereby, image data D2 as parallax images are obtained. interpolation processing for each of R, G and B is performed on the parallax image data D21, thereby as illustrated in (B) to (D) in FIG. 6, red parallax image data D31R, green parallax image data D31G and blue parallax image data D31B are obtained. The obtained parallax image data D31R, D31G and D31B are outputted to the noise reduction section 146 as image data D3.);
perform at least one image processing operation on the first parallax images (Figs. 1-5, [0052]-[0053]: The obtained image data D2 are outputted to image processing sections 146-149);
and generate an output image by combining the first parallax images ([0067]: the parallax images obtained are used for such stereo system three-dimensional display, two parallax images for a right and left eyes are produced (claimed “combining”), and the produced parallax images are projected on a screen) on which the at least one image processing operation is performed ([0030], [0036] &[0050]: performs predetermined image processing on the image before outputting image data Dout).
Regarding claim 5, Hayasaka teaches the image obtaining apparatus of claim 2, in addition Hayasaka discloses wherein the image sensor comprises: a quad Bayer pattern array in which pixels arranged in a 2×2 matrix comprise a color filter of a same color ([0035]: A color filter (not illustrated in FIG. 1) including regularly arranged filter elements of a plurality of colors corresponding to the arrangement of the pixels is arranged on a light-receiving surface of the image pickup device 13. As such a color filter, for example, a color filter in which filter elements of three primary colors, that is, red (R), green (G) and blue (B) are arranged at a predetermined ratio is used (as illustrated in Fig. 3)), or a quad square Bayer pattern array in which pixels arranged in a 4×4 matrix comprise a color filter of a same color ([0087]: number of pixels allocated to one microlens is increased to, for example, 3x3, 4x4).
Regarding claim 6, Hayasaka teaches the image obtaining apparatus of claim 5, in addition Hayasaka discloses wherein the processor is further configured to generate, based on the input image received from the image sensor, an A parallax image, a B parallax image, a C parallax image, and a D parallax image (Figs. 3&6, [0056]: as illustrated in (A) in FIG. 6, parallax image data D21 produced by synthesizing pixel data extracted from pixels (for example, pixels indicated by the reference numeral 1) located at the same position in the unit image formation region U1 has the same color arrangement as that of the color filter 130 (claimed “A parallax image”). The same holds true in the case where pixel data extracted from pixels located at another position (for example, pixels indicated by the reference numeral 2 or 3) are synthesized. (claimed “B parallax image, a C parallax image, and a D parallax image”)), wherein the plurality of neighboring pixels sharing the one micro lens comprise four pixels (Figs. 3&6, [0056]: 2x2=4 pixels are allocated to one microlens in the microlens array 12, so in the image pickup device 13, as illustrated in FIG. 3),
and wherein the A parallax image corresponds to a combination of data values of pixels arranged in a second quadrant, the B parallax image corresponds to a combination of data values of pixels arranged in a first quadrant, the C parallax image corresponds to a combination of data values of pixels arranged in a third quadrant, and the D parallax image corresponds to a combination of data values of pixels arranged in a fourth quadrant (Figs. 3&6, [0056]: as illustrated in (A) in FIG. 6, parallax image data D21 produced by synthesizing pixel data extracted from pixels (for example, pixels indicated by the reference numeral 1) located at the same position in the unit image formation region U1 has the same color arrangement as that of the color filter 130 (claimed “A parallax image”). The same holds true in the case where pixel data extracted from pixels located at another position (for example, pixels indicated by the reference numeral 2 or 3) are synthesized. (claimed “B parallax image, a C parallax image, and a D parallax image”)).
Regarding claim 15, Hayasaka teaches the image obtaining apparatus of claim 6, in addition Hayasaka discloses wherein the processor is further configured to generate the output image by combining the A parallax image, the B parallax image, the C parallax image, and the D parallax image, and wherein the A parallax image, the B parallax image, the C parallax image, and the D parallax image are image-processed by group (Figs. 3&6, [0056]: as illustrated in (A) in FIG. 6, parallax image data D21 produced by synthesizing pixel data extracted from pixels (for example, pixels indicated by the reference numeral 1) located at the same position in the unit image formation region U1 has the same color arrangement as that of the color filter 130 (claimed “A parallax image”). The same holds true in the case where pixel data extracted from pixels located at another position (for example, pixels indicated by the reference numeral 2 or 3) are synthesized. (claimed “B parallax image, a C parallax image, and a D parallax image”)).
Regarding claim 16, Hayasaka teaches the image obtaining apparatus of claim 1, wherein the similar image characteristics comprise at least one of a noise level, a color shift, and a color shading (Figs. 3-6, [0052]-[0053]&[0056]-[0058]: parallax image producing section 143 produces a plurality of parallax images from different viewpoints based on the image pickup data D1. Pixel data corresponding to pixels located at the same position in the unit image formation regions 12D are extracted from the image pickup data D1 (as illustrated in (A) in Fig. 6). The obtained image data D3 are outputted to the noise reduction section 146).
Regarding claim 17, Method claim 17 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore, method claim 17, corresponds to apparatus claim 1, is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 20, Method claim 20 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 16. Therefore, method claim 20, corresponds to apparatus claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayasaka et al. (US 20100128152 A1, hereinafter “Hayasaka”), in view of CHIANG; Kuo-Ching (US 20120176480 A1, hereinafter “CHIAN”).
Regarding claim 2, Hayasaka teaches the image obtaining apparatus of claim 1, in addition Hayasaka discloses wherein the first parallax images comprise a first parallax image group and a second parallax image group (Figs. 1-5, [0017]: images with parallax can be generated due to the simultaneously captured images from different viewing angle.), wherein the processor is further configured to perform the at least one image processing operation on the first parallax images by performing image processing on the first parallax image group and the second parallax image group (Figs. 1-5, [0017]: images with parallax can be generated due to the simultaneously captured images from different viewing angle.)
Hayasaka does not teach wherein performing image processing using context switching.
However, CHIANG discloses wherein performing image processing using context switching ([0020]: Referred to FIG. 3, a plurality of input images are transferred to multi-tasking module 500 for processing received images form a plurality of terminals. Before the image data signals transmitted to the display 160, aforementioned images are previously processed by the image segmentation unit 126. The image process unit 510 can be introduced to adjust the processed image before being displayed. The task multitasking 500 refer to a method where multiple tasks (also known as processes) share common processing resources such as a CPU. Multitasking solves the one process one task problem by scheduling which task may be the one running at any given time, and when another waiting task gets a turn. The multi-tasking allow reassign the control unit from one task to another different task to achieve parallelism or context switches. Thus, the different task multi-tasking module may reassign the control unit to switch from one process to another different process to facility context switches.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein performing image processing using context switching as taught by CHIANG into Hayasaka image processing section. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to achieve parallelism or context switches (CHIANG: [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Method claim 18 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 2. Therefore, method claim 18, corresponds to apparatus claim 2, is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayasaka et al. (US 20100128152 A1, hereinafter “Hayasaka”), in view of KIM; Dong Ik (US 20240171871 A1, hereinafter “KIM”), or in view of IZAWA; Katsutosh (US 20140198188 A1, hereinafter “IZAWA”).
Regarding claim 7, Hayasaka teaches the image obtaining apparatus of claim 6, except wherein the quad Bayer pattern array or the quad square Bayer pattern array comprises: a GRBG pattern comprising: red pixels in a first quadrant of a first unit pixel; green pixels in a second quadrant and a fourth quadrant of the first unit pixel; and blue pixels in a third quadrant of the first unit pixel;
However, KIM discloses a GRBG pattern comprising: red pixels in a first quadrant of a first unit pixel; green pixels in a second quadrant and a fourth quadrant of the first unit pixel; and blue pixels in a third quadrant of the first unit pixel (Fig. 3A [0055] plurality of pixels may be arranged according to a quad Bayer pattern. The quad Bayer pattern may represent an arrangement in which pixels of the same color, among the red pixel R, the green pixel G, and the blue pixel B, are arranged in 2×2 in a unit of the pixel region 311b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein performing image processing using context switching as taught by CHIANG into Hayasaka image processing section. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide a design that mimics the human eye's higher sensitivity to green light, allowing for enhanced image quality and brightness using a single, cost-effective sensor. This emphasis on green also enables better capture of luminance (brightness) information.
Or, furthermore, IZAWA discloses an RGGB pattern comprising: green pixels in a first quadrant and a third quadrant of a second unit pixel; red pixels in a second quadrant of the second unit pixel; and blue pixels in a fourth quadrant of the second unit pixel (as illustrated by Fig. 15, [0155]: in an imaging element 16’, four photodiodes A, B, C and D forming a RGGB pattern are bidimensionally arranged, one microlens ML' arranged so as to cover the four photodiodes is assumed as one unit (four pixel in one microlens)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an RGGB pattern comprising: green pixels in a first quadrant and a third quadrant of a second unit pixel; red pixels in a second quadrant of the second unit pixel; and blue pixels in a fourth quadrant of the second unit pixel as taught by IZAWA into Hayasaka image processing section. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide a design that mimics the human eye's higher sensitivity to green light, allowing for enhanced image quality and brightness using a single, cost-effective sensor. This emphasis on green also enables better capture of luminance (brightness) information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 8-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638