DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15, 17-18 and 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second digital filter" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-15, 17-18 and 23 are rejected on the basis of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-15 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppert (20220381806) in view of Farkas et al. (20240288319).
With respect to claim 1, figs 1-4 of Ruppert (20220381806) discloses a system comprising: a power switch (power switches S1-S6) configured to carry an electrical current (one of currents Iu-Iw); a gate-driver circuit (8 see [0045] “the driver circuit 8 serves for applying a control voltage or a gate-source voltage U.sub.G1-U.sub.G6 to the switching elements S.sub.1-S.sub.6. “) configured to control the power switch (S1-S6) and measure the electrical current through the power switch the gate driver circuit comprising (see [0046] “the switching elements S.sub.1-S.sub.6 each include a switchable portion, across which a current flows when the switching element is turned on. The switchable portions of the switching elements S.sub.1-S.sub.6 are respectively the drain-source sections through which a load current flows when the corresponding switching element has been made conductive by the driver circuit 8, especially to generate the phase currents I.sub.U, I.sub.V and/or I.sub.W in a clocked operation.”, here thus by operation of the switching the driver is able to measure the phase current):
a temperature sensor (9) configured to measure (See [0047], “This switchable portion is associated with the temperature sensor 9, by which the temperature of the switchable portion or a junction temperature of the switching element can be measured.”) a temperature signal indicative of a temperature of the power switch (per [0047] “the switching element S.sub.1 is associated with a temperature sensor 9” per [0051] “S.sub.2-S.sub.6 there are present and correspondingly arranged a temperature sensor 9”); a voltage sensor (10, per [0053] “voltage sensor 10 which are associated with the other switching elements S.sub.2 to S.sub.5”) configured to measure a voltage signal indicative of a voltage across the power switch that is proportional to the electrical current; and a second digital filter (additional non-disclosed filter used within the circuit see [0027] “[0027] The temperature sensor and the voltage sensor may also each include at least one preamplifier connected in front of the analog-digital converter, at least one filter and/or at least one integrator, or be connected to such components. In particular, a preamplifier, a filter and an integrator are placed at the analog side of the analog-digital converter, so that the correspondingly processed measurement signals of the temperature sensor and the voltage sensor can be relayed to the computing device” as there are multiple a/d components there are multiple filters ) configured to estimate a second temperature change of the power switch for a second set of time constants based on the voltage signal (See [0027]“a filter and an integrator are placed at the analog side of the analog-digital converter, so that the correspondingly processed measurement signals of the temperature sensor and the voltage sensor can be relayed to the computing device.”), wherein the time constants of the second set of time constants are less than or equal to 10 milliseconds (ms) (Here, time constants as such are inherent in the calculation of the temperature changes and the value can be controlled to be within the range of greater than 10ms.); and a micro-controller (7 with filter ) connected to the gate driver (8) via a communication bus (buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) and configured to control operation of the gate driver circuit (8), the micro-controller (7 with filter) comprising: a first digital filter (Filter connected to 7 see [0029] “The analog-digital converters, as well as the other components present, the preamplifiers, filters, integrators and/or transmitter units, can be arranged on a driver board, which is connected to the computing device,”) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device). configured to estimate a first temperature change of the power switch for a first set of time constants based on the voltage signal, wherein the first set of time constants include time constants having values that are greater than or equal to 10 milliseconds (ms), but fails to explicitly show that the time constants are explicitly 10ms or greater.
Farkas et al. (US 20240288319) teaches dedicated time slots (e.g. constants) to measure values/voltages and determine temperature according to the time slots see paragraph 0047-0054. para 0054 says one time slot may be in the "several millisecond range". It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the constants to be in the ms range or greater for the purpose of for the purpose of extending the time slot duration to decrease the effects of noise and transient effects that decrease the quality of measurement.
With respect to claim 4, Ruppert produces the device of claim 1 wherein the power switch (S1-S6) comprises at least one of a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor, an insulated-gate bipolar transistor, a gallium nitride transistor, or a bipolar junction transistor (See. [0033], “the switching element which are used are metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistors (MOSFETs), especially those based on silicon carbide. In the case of a switching element designed as a mosfet, the switchable portion is accordingly the drain-source section of the transistor”)
With respect to claim 7, Ruppert produces the system of claim 1, wherein the first digital filter operates independently from the second digital filter, wherein the second filter comprises a digital filter (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device).
With respect to claim 8, Ruppert produces the device system of claim 1, wherein the second set of time constants of the second digital filter are configured to compensate for short-term load changes carried by the power switch. (Here, the set time constants are within the scope of the invention and the manipulation of such would be obvious expedient to one of ordinary skill in the art.)
With respect to claim 9, Ruppert produces the device system of claim 1, wherein the first digital filter is configured to output the first estimated temperature change to the electrical gate- driver (8) circuit via the communication bus (buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) , and wherein the electrical gate-driver circuit (8) is configured to add the first estimated temperature change to the second estimated temperature change from the second digital filter (filter associated with the controller and See figure 4 or 2, showing summation of the temperature changes to the motor 4). .
With respect to claim 10, Ruppert produces the device system of claim 1, wherein the first digital filter (filter) is configured to dynamically modify filter coefficients for the second digital filter (filter) via the communication bus (buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device).
With respect to claim 11, Ruppert produces the device system of claim 1, wherein the first digital filter is implemented in software, and wherein the second digital filter is implemented in hardware. (Here, the choice of filter type used as first or second filter is obvious expedient to one of ordinary skill in the art.) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device).
With respect to claim 12, the circuit above produces a system comprising: a micro-controller (7) circuit connected to a gate-driver circuit (8) via a communication bus (buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) and configured to control operation of the gate-driver circuit, the micro-controller circuit comprising a first digital filter (Filter connected to 7 see [0029] “The analog-digital converters, as well as the other components present, the preamplifiers, filters, integrators and/or transmitter units, can be arranged on a driver board, which is connected to the computing device,”) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device).; and the gate-driver circuit comprising a second filter (Filter connected to 8 see [0027] “The temperature sensor and the voltage sensor may also each include at least one preamplifier connected in front of the analog-digital converter, at least one filter and/or at least one integrator, or be connected to such components. In particular, a preamplifier, a filter and an integrator are placed at the analog side of the analog-digital converter, so that the correspondingly processed measurement signals of the temperature sensor and the voltage sensor can be relayed to the computing device.”) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device).,wherein the gate-driver circuit is configured to control operation of a power switch (S1-S6), wherein the first digital filter is configured to model temperature compensation of the power switch for a first set of time constants having values that are greater than or equal to 10 milliseconds (ms), and wherein the second digital filter is configured to model temperature compensation of the switch for a second set of time constants having values that are less than or equal to 10 milliseconds (ms), and wherein each time constant in the second set of time constants is less than or equal to time constants in the first set of time constants (Here, manipulation of the time constants to achieve a desired resist is deemed obvious expedient to one skilled in in the art and thus within the scope of the invention).
With respect to claim 13, Ruppert produces the system of claim 12, further comprising a power supply (i.e. HV+ or HV-) configured to apply power to a load (4) via the power switch (S1--S6).
With respect to claim 14, Ruppert produces the system of claim 12, wherein the second set of time constants of the second digital filter (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device) are configured to compensate for short-term load changes(load 4) carried by the power switch (S1-S6). (The filters would meet this criteria of compensation)
With respect to claim 15, the circuit above produces the system of claim 12, further comprising a temperature sensing circuit (temperature sensors 9), wherein the gate-driver circuit (8) is configured to receive a first signal output (i.e. at 11) from the temperature sensing circuit (9) indicating a temperature of the system, wherein the gate-driver circuit is further configured to receive a second signal output (at 12) from the power switch (S1-S6) indicating a drain-source voltage (VDS) of the power switch, and wherein the gate-driver circuitry comprises a temperature compensation loop (loop associated with power switch) that operates based on the first signal output and the second signal output.
With respect to claim 17, the circuit above produces the system of 15 wherein the first digital filter (Filter connected to 7 see [0029] “The analog-digital converters, as well as the other components present, the preamplifiers, filters, integrators and/or transmitter units, can be arranged on a driver board, which is connected to the computing device,”) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device).; is configured to output updates to the gate-driver circuit (8) via the communication bus(buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) , and wherein the gate-driver circuit (8) adds the updates from the first digital filter to the temperature compensation loop (via controller 7).
With respect to claim 18, the circuit above produces the system of claim 12, wherein the first digital filter is configured to dynamically modify filter coefficients for the second digital filter via the communication bus (buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) .
With respect to claim 19, the circuit above produces a method comprising :controlling operation of a gate-driver circuit (8), by a micro-controller circuit (7) connected to the gate driver circuit via a communication bus (buses shown in fig. 3 connecting fig. 7 and 8 and buses would also connect the gate driver to the gates of the power switches as control) , wherein the micro-controller circuit comprises a first digital filter (Filter connected to 7 see [0029] “The analog-digital converters, as well as the other components present, the preamplifiers, filters, integrators and/or transmitter units, can be arranged on a driver board, which is connected to the computing device,”) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device). wherein the first digital filter is configured to model a first temperature compensation of a power switch (S1-S6) for a first set of time constants having values that are greater than or equal to 10 milliseconds (ms);measure, by the gate-driver circuit(8), a voltage across the power switch (HV+ and HV- across S1-S6), wherein the gate- driver circuit comprises a second digital filter (Filter connected to 8 see [0027] “The temperature sensor and the voltage sensor may also each include at least one preamplifier connected in front of the analog-digital converter, at least one filter and/or at least one integrator, or be connected to such components. In particular, a preamplifier, a filter and an integrator are placed at the analog side of the analog-digital converter, so that the correspondingly processed measurement signals of the temperature sensor and the voltage sensor can be relayed to the computing device.”) (Here, although the filters are analog it is obvious for the filters to be digital and placed on the digital side to convey information to the computing device). configured to model a second temperature compensation of the power switch for a second set of time constants having values that are less than or equal to 10 milliseconds (ms); and modeling, by the micro-controller (7) executing the first digital filter, the first temperature compensation of the power switch for the first set of time constants, wherein each time constant in the second set of time constants is less than or equal to time constants in the first set of time constants. (Here, manipulation of the time constants to achieve a desired resist is deemed obvious expedient to one skilled in in the art and thus within the scope of the invention).
With respect to claim 20, the circuit above produces the method of claim 19,wherein the second digital filter is implemented in software, and wherein the first digital filter is implemented in hardware. (Here, the choice of implementing components in software or hardware is deemed obvious expedient to one skilled in in the art and thus within the scope of the invention).
With respect to claim 21, Ruppert produces the system of claim 1, wherein the power switch is part of a shunt (see [0011], “The electrical resistance of the switchable portion can be viewed here as a shunt…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 and 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 22 fails to disclose a register configured to hold the first estimated temperature change received from the micro-controller to synchronize timing of adding the first estimated temperature change to a most recent second estimated temperature change estimated by the second digital controller.
Claim 24 fails to disclose wherein the gate driver circuit further comprises an analog to digital converter configured to convert the voltage signal into a digitized voltage signal, and wherein the second digital filter is configured to estimate the second temperature change based on the digitized voltage signal.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 9/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4, 7-15 and 17-24 under 103(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ruppert (20220381806) in view of Farkas et al. (20240288319).
With respect to greater than or equal to 10ms, Farkas teaches the advantages of expanding the time to operate in the ms range and thus seen as reading on the prior art.
With respect to no teaching of digital filters that estimate temperature changes, the addition of Farkas teaches the time constants affect the filters and the filters operate with respect to the received voltages. Thus the filters are based on the voltages.
With respect to changing the intended purpose Ruppert is the adjust the current flow based on temperature. Manipulating the time as such would only enhance this determination of temperature.
With respect to the summation of the temperature changes, all three values effect the operation of the motor.
With respect to 10 and 18, the addition of Farkas teaches the co-efficients are manipulated to produce less noise and reduce transients and as such read on the claim language.
With respect to 22-24, these claims are rejected for their dependence on rejected claims.
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836