DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 27 February 2026 containing amendments to the claims and remarks.
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are pending. Claims 13-15 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention. Consequently, only claims 1-5 and 7-12 are pending for examination.
The previous objection and rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained. The rejections follow.
Election/Restrictions
Amended claims 10-12 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claims specify feeding a first cracker feed downstream of a convection section inlet whereas the previously examined claims specify feed of a combined stream prior to the convection section.
Since Applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 10-12 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthy (US 2019/0177626) in view of Sadrameli (S. M. Sadrameli, Thermal/Catalytic Cracking of Hydrocarbons for the Production of Olefins: A State-of-the-Art Review I: Thermal Cracking Review, 140 Fuel 102-115 (2015)).
With respect to claims 1-5 and 7, Ramamurthy discloses a method comprising: (a) combining a C1 to C4 hydrocarbon cracker stream with a stream comprising a recycle content pyrolysis oil composition to form a combined cracker stream (see Ramamurthy, paragraphs [0005], [0010], [0041], and [0042]); and (b) cracking the combined cracker stream in a cracker furnace to provide an olefin-containing effluent (see Ramamurthy, paragraph [0081]). The recycle content pyrolysis oil is one obtained from the pyrolysis of waste plastic (see Ramamurthy, paragraphs [0004] and [0005]). Ramamurthy discloses wherein the combined cracker stream may be vapor, i.e. 100% vapor (see Ramamurthy, paragraphs [0005] and [0010]); and wherein the amount of r-pyoil is not separately regulated (see Ramamurthy, entire disclosure). Thus, any amount of r-pyoil may be used in the combined stream so long as the other objectives of Ramamurthy are satisfied. Ramamurthy discloses wherein the r-pyoil may be hyprocessed prior to cracking, wherein the hydroprocessing may constitute hydrocracking OR hydrotreating (see Ramamurthy, paragraph [0059]). Thus, Ramamurthy discloses wherein the r-pyoil is not hydrotreated and only hydrocracked prior to cracking.
Ramamurthy does not explicitly disclose wherein the combined cracker stream is introduced through a tube in the radiant section of the cracker furnace.
However, Ramamurthy discloses wherein cracking occurs in a “cracking furnace” (see Ramamurthy, paragraph [0010]). In this regard, Sadrameli discloses wherein cracking feedstock is introduced through tubular coils of a cracking furnace (see Sadrameli, Fig. 2). In such furnace, a combined stream of hydrocarbon and steam may be combined, e.g., upstream of a convection section of the furnace (see Sadrameli, Fig. 2), the feeds being preheated prior to combining (see Sadrameli, page 104, right column, first paragraph).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthy (US 2019/0177626) in view of Sadrameli (S. M. Sadrameli, Thermal/Catalytic Cracking of Hydrocarbons for the Production of Olefins: A State-of-the-Art Review I: Thermal Cracking Review, 140 Fuel 102-115 (2015)) and Iaccino (US 2013/0296619).
With respect to claim 8, see discussion supra at paragraph 10. Ramamurthy does not explicitly disclose a cracking residence time. However, in a related method, Iaccino discloses wherein the residence time in a steam cracker pyrolysis furnace is generally less than 1 second (see Iaccino, paragraph [0036]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthy (US 2019/0177626) in view of Sadrameli (S. M. Sadrameli, Thermal/Catalytic Cracking of Hydrocarbons for the Production of Olefins: A State-of-the-Art Review I: Thermal Cracking Review, 140 Fuel 102-115 (2015)) and Taylor (US 5,446,229).
With respect to claim 9, see discussion supra at paragraph 10. Ramamurthy does not explicitly disclose a steam-to-hydrocarbon ratio in the combined cracker stream. However, in a related method, Taylor discloses wherein a steam-to-hydrocarbon ratio is generally in the range of 0.2:1 to 1.5:1 (see Taylor, column 1, lines 43-52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner understands Applicant’s arguments to be:
Ramamurthy does not teach or suggest “wherein the r-pyoil is not hydrotreated prior to cracking” as recited in independent claim 1.
Neither Sadrameli nor Iaccino nor Taylor remedy the deficiency of Ramamurthy.
With respect to Applicant’s first and second arguments, Examiner does not agree. Ramamurthy clearly discloses wherein the r-pyoil may be hyprocessed prior to cracking, wherein the hydroprocessing may constitute hydrocracking OR hydrotreating (see Ramamurthy, paragraph [0059]) (“The hydroprocessing unit 40 can be any suitable hydroprocessing reactor, such as a hydrocracker, a fluid catalytic cracker, a fluid catalytic cracker operated in a hydropyrolyis mode, a thermal cracking reactor, a thermal cracking reactor operated in hydropyrolyis mode, a hydrotreater, a hydrodealkylation unit, and the like, or combinations thereof.”). Thus, Ramamurthy accounts for an embodiment wherein the r-pyoil is not hydrotreated and only hydrocracked prior to cracking.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771