DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 is amended.
The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the previous 112(b) rejections over claims 3, 5, 7, and 9.
Claims 1-11 are pending for examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2028 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 4 of the Remarks that the present claims are characterized by sequentially performing the four reaction stages, and that while Wang does disclose catalysts which read on the first, second, and third stage catalysts in part, Wang does not teach or suggest a process in which cyclic alcohol compounds produced by the hydrodeoxygenation reaction are polymerized with phenolic compounds in a separate polymerization step.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is nothing in the claims that requires the process to be sequential or separate steps, as the process merely requires the presence of the catalysts and states that the reactions are taking place in the presence of the catalysts. Wang in view of Daudin teaches the first stage catalyst which is Ru/C and a second catalyst which comprises both a supported metal which can be nickel and iron on a metal oxide (claimed second stage catalyst) and a solid acid which can be a zeolite (claimed third stage catalyst) (see Wang paragraphs [0011], [0054], and [0070] and Daudin paragraph [0060]). Thus, Wang in view of Daudin teaches the presence of the first, second, and third stage catalysts as claimed. While Wang in view of Daudin does not explicitly teach that the polymerization occurs over the zeolite (third stage) catalyst, as explained in the rejection below, Wang in view of Daudin does teach the same catalysts, the same feed of biooil comprising phenols and where the steps produce cyclic alcohols, and teaches overlapping conditions for the temperature and pressure. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the process of Wang in view of Daudin also comprises some polymerization over the zeolite, as claimed, absent any evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues in the paragraph bridging pages 4-5 of the Remarks that Wang uses a bi-functional catalyst comprising both metallic and acidic functions inside and HDO stage, while the claims require separate HDO over the metallic portion and sequential polymerization over the acidic zeolite.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, the claims do not require sequential steps. As long as same feed is present, the same catalysts are present, and similar conditions are used, which is taught by Wang in view of Daudin for the first three steps, it is expected that the reactions taking place include the claimed reactions, absent any evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues on page 5 of the Remarks that Daudin discloses treating bio-oil but does not teach or suggest intentionally polymerizing phenolic compounds with intermediates to produce high-carbon hydrocarbon compounds.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Daudin is used only to teach that nickel and iron on a metal oxide support is obvious for the first hydrodeoxygenation step, and is not used for the polymerization step. Thus, the argument that Daudin does not teach the intentional polymerization is moot.
Applicant further argues on page 5 of the Remarks that Baird teaches a multistage catalytic system including hydrodeoxygenation and hydrocracking, but that Baird recognizes oligomers and polymers are forms of fouling for the reactor, and as such aims to suppress such issues by hydrocracking and thus does not teach or suggest the intentional polymerization step.
In response, Baird is not used for the polymerization step. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Baird is used to teach the presence of a second hydrodeoxygenation step which takes place after the combined hydrodeoxygenation and polymerization over the combined catalyst of Wang in view of Daudin. Further, as explained above, there is no requirement that the polymerization be separate or “intentional”, merely that polymerization takes place in the presence of the zeolite catalyst. Wang in view of Daudin teaches the same feed, the same catalysts, and the similar overlapping conditions, and thus polymerization is expected to take place, absent any evidence to the contrary.
Applicant additionally argues on page 5 of the Remarks that the Examples and Comparative Examples in the specification show that even when the identical or similar catalysts are employed, the type of reaction products, whether polymerization occurs, and reactor stability vary depending on the arrangement of the catalysts, as such the sequential steps are critical to the process.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the Comparative Examples show that the arrangement is critical. The Comparative Examples use the following arrangements: Comp Ex 1 uses only Pd/C; Comp Ex 2 uses only Pd/C and NiFe/TiO2 in separate layers; Comp Ex 3 uses only Pd/C and HY in separate layers; Comp Ex 4 uses only Pd/C, HY, and Ru/WZr in separate layers; Comp Ex 5 uses only Pd/C, NiFe/TiO2, and Ru/WZr in separate layers; Comp Ex 6 uses only Pd/C, NiFe/TIO2, and HY in separate layers; and Comp Ex 7 uses only NiFe/TiO2, HY, and Ru/WZr in separate layers. Thus, none of the comparative examples use all 4 claimed catalysts, and thus there is no evidence that the arrangement of the catalysts within the reactor matters. Wang in view of Daudin and Baird teaches the presence of all 4 claimed catalysts. Thus, there is no comparison to the closest prior art of Wang in view of Daudin and Baird which has the bifunctional catalyst step, rather than 4 distinct layers, and as such, even if the distinct steps were claimed, there would be no evidence of unexpected results of the distinct steps and the claims would remain obvious.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1, the claim recites in each step “in the presence” of the catalyst. This should be “in presence” for antecedent basis purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2015/0057475) in view of Daudin et al. (US 2015/0065764) and Baird et al. (US 2017/0022425).
With regard to claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9, Wang teaches a process for hydrotreating bio-oils from pyrolysis of biomass (paragraph [0007]) comprising a first hydrogenation step and a second hydrodeoxygenation step (paragraphs [0011]-[0012]). Wang further teaches that the bio-oil comprises phenols (paragraph [0067]) and that the hydrogenation catalyst for the first step can be Ru/C (Example 4, paragraph [0054]). This is equivalent to the claimed hydrogenation reaction in the presence of a first-stage catalyst comprising a transition metal which is ruthenium on a carbon support of instant claims 1 and 2. Wang teaches that the second step catalyst is a bi-functional catalyst which comprises a supported metal and a solid acid, where the solid acid is H-ZSM-5 (Example 7, paragraph [0060]). The H-ZSM-5 is equivalent to the claimed third-stage catalyst which is H-ZSM-5 zeolite of instant claims 1 and 6. Wang additionally teaches that the bi-functional catalyst comprises the metal which can be Ni and the support which can be titania (metal oxide support which is titania instant claims 1 and 4) (paragraph [0011]). Wang further teaches that the reaction over the bifunctional catalyst produces cyclohexanol (claimed cyclic alcohol produced by the second stage hydrodeoxygenation reactor) (paragraph [0060]).
Wang does not specifically teach i) that the bi-functional catalyst for the second hydrodeoxygenation step which comprises nickel on titania can also comprise iron; ii) that the bi-functional catalyst comprising the zeolite catalyzes polymerization of the cyclic alcohol compounds with the phenolic compounds; or iii) a fourth step of hydrodeoxygenation over a fourth-stage catalyst comprising metal on tungstate zirconia.
With regard to i), Wang teaches that the catalyst comprising a metal on a support which can be nickel on titania stabilizes the bio-oil (paragraph [0010]) and that the catalyst metals are not limited to the listed metals (paragraph [0010]).
Daudin teaches a process for hydrotreating bio-oils from pyrolysis of biomass (paragraph [0030]) where the first step stabilizes the bio-oil (paragraph [0042]). Daudin teaches that the first step is a hydroreforming step (paragraph [0040]) using a catalyst comprising Ni in combination with Fe on titania (metal oxide) (paragraph [0060]). This is equivalent to the claimed second stage catalyst comprising nickel and iron on a metal oxide. Daudin further teaches that the process comprising the hydroreforming step includes low rates of deactivation of the hydroreforming catalyst and improved conversion rates (paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the catalyst comprising nickel and iron on titania in the first step of Wang, because each of Wang and Daudin teaches a method for hydrotreating bio-oils form biomass comprising a step which stabilizes the bio-oil, Wang teaches the catalyst comprises at least Ni on titania and that the metals are not limited to the listed metals, and Daudin teaches that the catalyst comprising Ni and Fe on titania is suitable for stabilization of biomass in a hydroreforming step and that the process includes low rates of deactivation of the hydroreforming catalyst (paragraph [0021]).
With regard to ii), Wang teaches the claimed bio-oil comprising phenols and reaction product including cyclic alcohols (paragraphs [0067] and [0060]). Wang further teaches that the conditions for the second stage comprising the zeolite include hydrogen pressure of 3 to 12 MPa and a temperature of 200-400°C (paragraph [0016]). The instant specification recites that the conditions for the polymerization include a hydrogen pressure of 4MPa (Examples 1-2 and 2-3) or 10 MPa (Example 3) and a temperature of 160-220°C (instant claim 7). The pressure of Wang encompasses the instant pressures and the temperature of Wang overlaps the claimed temperature range, rendering the temperature range prima facie obvious. Therefore, while Wang does not specifically recite that the bi-functional catalyst catalyzes polymerization of the cyclic alcohols with the phenols, because Wang teaches the same catalyst comprising H-ZSM-5 at similar temperatures and pressures, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the catalyst also catalyzes polymerization of the cyclic alcohols with the phenols, as claimed, absent any evidence to the contrary.
With regard to iii), Baird teaches a process for deoxygenating a biomass-derived pyrolysis oil (Abstract). Baird teaches the process comprises a first hydrodeoxygenation step comprising nickel on titania (paragraph [0029]) and a second hydrocracking step comprising a noble metal on a tungstated zirconia support (paragraph [0033]). This second step catalyst of Baird is equivalent to the fourth-stage catalyst comprising a transition metal which is nickel supported on tungstate zirconia of instant claims 1 and 8. Baird teaches that the conditions for the tungstated zirconia catalyst reaction include about 200°C to about 400°C and a pressure of about 2 to about 20 MPa (paragraph [0035]). The instant specification recites that the pressure for the second hydrodeoxygenation step is 5 MPa (Examples 1-3 and 2-4) or 10 MPa (Example 3) and the temperature is 200-300°C (instant claim 9). The pressure of Baird encompasses the instant pressures and the temperature of Baird overlaps the claimed temperature range, rendering the temperature range prima facie obvious. Therefore, while Baird recites that the catalyst performs hydrocracking, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the catalyst also performs hydrodeoxygenation, as claimed, because Baird teaches the same catalyst comprising transitional metal on tungstated zirconia at similar temperatures and pressures, absent any evidence to the contrary. Baird additionally teaches that the purpose of the second step is to decrease the fouling of the catalyst compared to just hydrodeoxygenation (paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the step of second hydrodeoxygenation of Baird to the process of Wang, because each of Wang and Baird teaches a process comprising hydrodeoxygenation over a catalyst comprising Ni on titania, and Baird teaches that adding a further step comprising reacting over nickel on tungstated zirconia decreases the fouling of the catalyst compared to just hydrodeoxygenation (paragraph [0021]).
With regard to claim 3, Wang teaches the hydrogenation reaction is performed at a temperature below 200°C (paragraph [0044]), which overlaps the range of 150-220°C of instant claim 3, rendering the range prima facie obvious.
With regard to claim 5, Wang teaches that the second step, which comprises the first hydrodeoxygenation catalyst, is performed at a temperature of about 200 to about 400°C (paragraph [0044]), which encompasses the claimed range of 250-300°C, rendering the range prima facie obvious.
With regard to claim 10, Wang teaches performing the process in a continuous reactor (paragraph [0009]).
With regard to claim 11, Wang in view of Daudin and Baird does not specifically recite that the product of the process includes a polymerized, hydrogenated, and hydrodeoxygenated compound. However, Wang in view of Daudin and Baird teaches the process above comprising similar catalysts, steps, and conditions to the claimed process. Therefore, the product of the process of Wang in view of Daudin and Baird is expected to include a polymerized, hydrogenated, and hydrodeoxygenated compound, as claimed, absent any evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alyssa L Cepluch/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772