DETAILED ACTION
The response dated 10/5/2026 has been entered and is treated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10, 12-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,607,983 to Jarvis in view of US 2,037,999 to Ochsner.
Regarding claim 1 Jarvis discloses a utility vehicle configured to be advanced forwardly during transport, said utility vehicle comprising: a wheeled chassis including a chassis frame extending along a fore-and-aft vehicle axis (132 and figure 1); and a side-dump bed (102) configured to contain and selectively discharge material toward a dump side of the wheeled chassis (see figure 5), said side-dump bed being shiftably attached to the chassis frame for movement between a lowered condition (figure 1), in which the side-dump bed extends laterally from the dump side of the wheeled chassis to an opposite side thereof, and a raised condition, in which the side-dump bed is shifted toward the dump side to discharge material (figure 5).
Jarvis does not disclose said side-dump bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint spaced below the chassis frame, with the pivot joint permitting swinging of the side- dump bed between the lowered condition and the raised condition.
Ochsner teaches a trailer including a bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint spaced below the chassis frame (see 3 in the figures 2-3), with the pivot joint permitting swinging of the dump bed between the lowered condition and the raised condition (see figures 2-3) to ensure proper leverage of the lifting cylinder throughout the dumping motion (page 1 col. 2 lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Jarvis to include said side-dump bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint spaced below the chassis frame, with the pivot joint permitting swinging of the side- dump bed between the lowered condition and the raised condition, as taught by Ochsner to ensure proper leverage of the lifting cylinder throughout the dumping motion.
Regarding claim 2 Jarvis discloses an outrigger (810/814 and col. 7 lines 5-15) attached relative to the chassis frame and configured to removably engage a ground location adjacent the dump side of the wheeled chassis.
Regarding claim 8 Jarvis discloses said side-dump bed including a dump box with side walls and a door (figures 1 and 5, door 104) that cooperatively define a chamber of the dump box, said door being located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis (see figure 5, in dump position gate is outside wheels).
Regarding claim 10 Jarvis discloses said side-dump bed including an outboard margin located above the chassis frame and outboard of the dump side of the wheels chassis frame (figures 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 12 Jarvis discloses a utility vehicle configured to be advanced forwardly during transport, said utility vehicle comprising: a wheeled chassis (figure 1 and 132) including a chassis frame extending along a fore-and-aft vehicle axis; and a forward bed (102) and an aft bed (154) each supported by the wheeled chassis, with the aft bed located rearwardly of the forward bed (figure 1), at least one of the forward bed and the aft bed comprising a side-dump bed configured to contain and selectively discharge material toward a dump side of the wheeled chassis (see figure 5), said side-dump bed being shiftably attached to the chassis frame for movement between a lowered condition, in which the side-dump bed extends laterally from the dump side of the wheeled chassis to an opposite side thereof, and a raised condition, in which the side-dump bed is shifted toward the dump side to discharge material (see figure 5).
Jarvis does not disclose said side-dump bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint spaced below the chassis frame, with the pivot joint permitting swinging of the side- dump bed between the lowered condition and the raised condition.
Ochsner teaches a trailer including a bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint spaced below the chassis frame (see 3 in the figures 2-3), with the pivot joint permitting swinging of the dump bed between the lowered condition and the raised condition (see figures 2-3) to ensure proper leverage of the lifting cylinder throughout the dumping motion (page 1 col. 2 lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Jarvis to include said side-dump bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint spaced below the chassis frame, with the pivot joint permitting swinging of the side- dump bed between the lowered condition and the raised condition, as taught by Ochsner to ensure proper leverage of the lifting cylinder throughout the dumping motion.
Regarding claim 13 Jarvis discloses said forward bed comprising the side-dump bed, with the aft bed being shiftably attached to the chassis frame to provide a rear-dump bed (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 14 Jarvis discloses said rear-dump bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint, with the rear-dump bed being pivotal about a pivot axis defined by the pivot joint (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 15 Jarvis discloses said rear-dump bed at least partly overlapping the side-dump bed in a direction transverse to the vehicle axis (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16 Jarvis discloses an outrigger (810/814) attached relative to the chassis frame and configured to removably engage a ground location adjacent the dump side of the wheeled chassis.
Regarding claim 17 Jarvis discloses said side-dump bed including a dump box with side walls and a door that cooperatively define a chamber of the dump box (figures 1 and 5, door 104), said door being located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis (see figure 5 and discussion above).
Regarding claim 19 Jarvis discloses said side-dump bed including an outboard margin located above the chassis frame and outboard of the dump side of the wheels chassis frame (figures 2 and 5).
Claim(s) 3-6, 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvis and Ochsner in further view of US 4,328,631 to Johnson.
Jarvis and Ochsner disclose all the limitations of the claims except regarding claim 3 said outrigger including a foot shiftable into and out of an extended position in which the foot is located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis, regarding claim 4 said outrigger including a motor operably attached to the foot and operable to shift the foot into and out of the extended position and regarding claim 5 said side-dump bed including an outboard margin located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis, said foot being located inboard of the outboard margin when in the extended position.
Johnson teaches regarding claim 3 said outrigger including a foot (64) shiftable into and out of an extended position in which the foot is located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis (see figure 1), regarding claim 4 said outrigger including a motor (66) operably attached to the foot and operable to shift the foot into and out of the extended position, regarding claim 5 Johnson discloses said side-dump bed including an outboard margin located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis, said foot being located inboard of the outboard margin when in the extended position (see figure 1, 64 is inboard of left most part of 40) in order to support the chassis during side dumping operation (col. 3 lines 64-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Jarvis and Ochsner to include regarding claim 3 said outrigger including a foot shiftable into and out of an extended position in which the foot is located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis, regarding claim 4 said outrigger including a motor operably attached to the foot and operable to shift the foot into and out of the extended position and regarding claim 5 said side-dump bed including an outboard margin located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis, said foot being located inboard of the outboard margin when in the extended position, as taught by Johnson, in order to support the chassis during side dumping operation
Regarding claim 6 Jarvis discloses said side-dump bed being pivotally attached to the chassis frame at a pivot joint, with the side-dump bed being pivotal about a pivot axis defined by the pivot joint between the lowered condition and the raised condition (see figure 5).
Regarding claims 9 and 18 Jarvis and Ochsner teach all the limitations of the claims except said outrigger including a foot shiftable into and out of an extended position in which the foot is located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis and at least partly inboard of the door.
Johnson teaches a system including said outrigger (60/64) including a foot (64) shiftable into and out of an extended position in which the foot is located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis (see figure 1) and at least partly inboard of the door in order to support the vehicle and stabilize it and facilitate emptying into a separate system or container (col. 1 lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Jarvis and Ochsner to include said outrigger including a foot shiftable into and out of an extended position in which the foot is located outboard of the dump side of the wheeled chassis and at least partly inboard of the door, as taught by Johnson, in order to support the vehicle and stabilize it and facilitate emptying into a separate system or container. It is noted that such a combination would also result in the foot being inboard of the door from a review of Jarvis figure 5 and Johnson figure 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11 and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the pivot point being located both below the chassis frame as well as outboard the dumpside of the wheeled chassis or chassis frame differentiates the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 10/5/2026 have been considered and are persuasive, but a new ground of rejection in light of Ochsner is presented above with regard to the newly amended claim language regarding the location of the pivot axis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK C HAGEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652