DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a compound, and compound having the structure of:
(referred to therein as “Compound-58”) as the elected species of compound in the reply filed on July 7, 2026 is acknowledged.
Please note the Examiner has reasonably construed that the elected compound-58 has a chemical name of “(R)-6-chloro-3-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl) ethyl) amino) picolinic acid” in view of the instant specification (see e.g., page 138, Ex. 58).
Claims 33, 49, 66-67, 69, 71-72, 76 and 78 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 7, 2026.
Expansion of Election of Species Requirement
A reasonable and comprehensive search of the elected species conducted by the Examiner discover a prior art by Wrona et al. that anticipates the claimed invention, wherein the prior art teaches compound 4 and compound 24 (see rejection below). Said prior art also renders obvious the compound, 2-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl) ethyl) amino) benzoic acid, and (R)-2-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl) ethyl) amino) benzoic acid instantly claimed. In light of this discovery, the search is expanded to the subject matter of the adenosine receptor antagonist to include compound 4 and compound 60 of Wrona et al. and the following compounds:
2-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl)ethyl)amino)benzoic acid; and
(R)-2-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl)ethyl)amino)benzoic acid
in addition to the elected compound species, such that it does not encompass the full scope of the claims.
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on May 8, 2024, wherein claims 1, 39, 42 and 64-67 are unchanged; claims 3-7, 9, 11-12, 15-16, 19-20, 22-28, 30-32, 35, 37-38, 40-41, 43-44, 47-48, 50, 52-56, 59-63, 70, 73-75, 77 and 79-80 are canceled; and claims 2, 8, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 33, 34, 36, 45-46, 49, 51, 57-58, 68-69, 71-72, 76, and 78 are amended. Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 33-34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 49, 51, 57-58, 64-69, 71-72, 76 and 78 are pending.
Claims 33, 49, 66-67, 69, 71-72, 76 and 78 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57-58, 64-65, and 68 are pending in accordance with the elected species along with the expanded species set forth in the Expansion of Election of Species Requirement section above.
Priority
The instant application 18/658,666 filed on May 8, 2024 claims priority to, and the benefits of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/501,970 filed on May 12, 2023; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/522,325 filed on June 21, 2023; and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/578,523 filed on August 24, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/9/2024 and 11/15/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 46 and 51 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 46 and 51, the recitation of “according to claim 42 wherein” is missing a comma between the claim number and the preposition that follows, and should read --according to claim 42, wherein--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57-58 and 64-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57, and 64-65, the recitation of “a” in the phrase of “[a] compound according to claim” renders the claim indefinite, because the claim uses the indefinite article “a” before the noun to introduce a subject matter that is not previously introduced. In other words, said recitation is ambiguous because it is not clear where applicant intends to (i) refer back to the compound set forth in the claim it depends upon or (ii) introduce another new compound of formula (I). To the extent that scenario (ii) applies, then it is not clear if applicant is claiming (i) more than one compound of formula (I) together such that it forms a mixture, or (ii) a singular compound of formula (I) that replaces the previously mentioned compound of formula (I). Therefore, one cannot reasonably determine the metes and bounds of the compound of formula (I), and cannot reasonably determine which interpretation applies.
Regarding claim 58, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “compound of Formula (IV):
…wherein R5 is C1-C2alkyl, cyclopropyl, bromo, chloro, fluoro, cyano, or trifluoromethyl”, and the claim also recites “compound of Formula (IV-A):
“, “compound of Formula (IV-C):
”, “compound of Formula (IV-D):
”, “a compound of Formula (IV-E):
”, respectively, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of “R2 is…5-7 membered heteroaryl” fails to further limit the R2 of formula (I) set forth in claim 1. Specifically, claim 1 recites “5-6 membered heteroaryl”; and that is a narrower limitation when compared to the limitation set forth in the dependent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wrona et al. (WO 2024/026419 A1; cited in the IDS filed on October 9, 2024).
Wrona et al. teaches Compound 4, 2-{[(1R)-1-[7-methyl-3-(morpbolin-4-yl)quinoxalin-5-yl]ethyl] amino}benzoic acid, having the structure of:
is an exemplary compound of Formula (I) (see e.g., Table 2, Compound No. 4); and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier (see e.g., [0064]).
Please note the Compound 4 of Wrona et al. is a compound of instant formula (I):
, wherein R5 is hydrogen; R5A is
; R6A is hydrogen; R6 is hydrogen; R4 is methyl; R3 is methyl; R1 is hydrogen; R2 is
.
Therefore, the claimed invention is being anticipated by Wrona et al.
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57, 58 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wrona et al. (WO 2024/026419 A1; cited in the IDS filed on October 9, 2024).
Wrona et al. teaches Compound 25, 2-{[(1R)-1-[2,7-dimethyl-3-(morpholin-4-yl)quinoxalin-5-yl] ethyl]amino}benzoic acid, having the structure of:
is an exemplary compound of Formula (I) (see e.g., Table 2, Compound No. 25); and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier (see e.g., [0064]).
Please note the Compound 25 of Wrona et al. is a compound of instant formula (I):
, wherein R5 is methyl; R5A is
; R6A is hydrogen; R6 is hydrogen; R4 is methyl; R3 is methyl; R1 is hydrogen; R2 is
.
Therefore, the claimed invention is being anticipated by Wrona et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57-58, 64-65, and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrona et al. (WO 2024/026419 A1; cited in the IDS filed on October 9, 2024).
Wrona et al. teaches Compound 4, 2-{[(1R)-1-[7-methyl-3-(morpbolin-4-yl)quinoxalin-5-yl]ethyl] amino}benzoic acid, having the structure of:
is an exemplary compound of Formula (I) useful for modulating PI3K[Symbol font/0x61] activity (see e.g., Table 2, Compound No. 4; Table B); and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier (see e.g., [0064]). Wrona et al. further teaches the compounds may possess one or more asymmetric centers; such compounds can therefore be produced as individual (R)- or (S)-stereoisomers or as mixtures thereof (see e.g., [0292]). Wrona et al. further teaches a compound of formula (I):
; an isomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein R2 is, inter alia, H, cyano or C1-C6 alkyl(see e.g., [0096]).
In the present case, the difference between the Compound 4 of Wrona et al. and the claimed invention is that the prior art compound contains methyl (-CH3) at R2 rather than cyano (CN) shown below (see shaded):
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to select the compound 4 of Wrona et al. and then modify said compound by replacing methyl with cyano at R2. One would have been motivated to do so, because Wrona et al. teaches a list of alternated R2, including hydrogen and cyano, that is contemplate for use to arrive at compound of formula (I) useful for modulating PI3K[Symbol font/0x61] activity. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by modifying the compound 4 of Wrona et al. in accordance with the formula (I) as noted above would have successfully arrive at a compound of formula (I) useful for modulating PI3K[Symbol font/0x61] activity; and therefore, said compound can reasonably be combine with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier to arrive at a pharmaceutical composition. The fact that Wrona et al. also teaches the compound 4 can be in the form of racemic mixture, it renders obvious the “2-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-
yl)ethyl)amino)benzoic acid” in claim 64 for the same logic.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57-58, 64-65, and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrona et al. (WO 2024/026419 A1; cited in the IDS filed on October 9, 2024).
To the extent that the claims are drawn to the elected compound species, i.e., Compound-58, then the following rejection applies.
Wrona et al. teaches Compound 25, 2-{[(1R)-1-[2,7-dimethyl-3-(morpholin-4-yl)quinoxalin-5-yl] ethyl]amino}benzoic acid, having the structure of:
is an exemplary compound of Formula (I) useful for modulating PI3K[Symbol font/0x61] activity (see e.g., Example 18 and Example 19; Table 2, Compound No. 25; Table B); and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier (see e.g., [0064]). Wrona et al. further teaches the racemic mixture of 2-[1-(2,7-dimethyl-3-morpholino-quinoxalin-5-yl)ethylamino]benzoic acid having the structure of:
(see e.g., p. 112, Example 18 and Example 19). Wrona et al. further teaches a compound of formula (I):
; an isomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein R2 is, inter alia, cyano or C1-C6 alkyl; A is C6-C10 aryl or 5-to 10-membered heteroaryl, wherein the C6-C10aryl, or 5- to 10-membered heteroaryl is optionally substituted with one or more RA; each RA independently is, inter alia, halogen or -(C=O)OH (see e.g., [0096]). Wrona et al. further teaches the term “halogen” refers to fluoro, chloro, bromo and iodo (see e.g., [0046]); and examples of heteroaryl groups include, inter alia, pyridine (see e.g., [0039]).
In the present case, the difference between the Compound 25 of Wrona et al. and the claimed invention is that the prior art compound contains methyl (-CH3) at R2 rather than cyano (CN); contains phenyl as A rather pyridinyl; contains one RA that is -(C=O)OH rather than a total of 2 RA (-(C=O)OH and chloro) shown below (see shaded):
.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to select the compound 25 of Wrona et al. and then modify said compound by replacing methyl with cyano at R2, replacing phenyl with pyridine as A, and substituting said A with additional RA that is a chloro. One would have been motivated to do so, because Wrona et al. teaches a list of alternated R2, including cyano and C1-C6 alkyl; a list of alternated A, including C6-C10aryl, or 5- to 10-membered heteroaryl such as pyridine; and a list of one or more RA that can optionally substituted on A, including -(C=O)OH or halogen such as chloro, that are contemplate for use to arrive at compound of formula (I) useful for modulating PI3K[Symbol font/0x61] activity. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by modifying the compound 25 of Wrona et al. in accordance with the formula (I) as noted above would have successfully arrive at a compound of formula (I) useful for modulating PI3K[Symbol font/0x61] activity; and therefore, said compound can reasonably be combine with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier to arrive at a pharmaceutical composition. The fact that Wrona et al. also teaches the compound 25 can be in the form of racemic mixture, it renders obvious the “6-chloro-3-(( 1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl)ethyl)amino) picolinic acid” in claim 64 for the same logic.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 13-14, 17-18, 21, 29, 34, 36, 39, 42, 45-46, 51, 57-58, 64-65, and 68 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 19/047,751 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of reference application is drawn to a crystalline form of (R)-6-chloro-3-((1-(2-cyano-7-methyl-3-morpholinoquinoxalin-5-yl)ethyl)amino)picolinic acid having a powder X-ray diffraction (PXRD) pattern; and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the crystalline form and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHIHYI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628