DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/KR2024/005259, being filed on April 18, 2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/658,706, filed on May 8, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed May 8, 2024, August 15, 2024, and May 8, 2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 5, 9, and 11 lack the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the conductive and insulation materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 5, the abstract recites the terms “comprising”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should replace the term “comprising” with the term –having--, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because throughout the abstract it contains run on sentences, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should correct all instances of run on sentences, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takamatsu et al (Pat Num 8,138,421, herein referred to as Takamatsu). Takamatsu discloses a flat flexible cable (Figs 1-5) having good flexibility and bending strength (Col 3, lines 34-40), while also enhancing cost effectiveness by controlling characteristic impedance (Col 3, lines 60-63). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Takamatsu discloses a flexible flat cable (1, Figs 1-2) comprising a base film (13) extending in a first direction and having a first length (Fig 2), a conductive wire portion (11) on a first surface (top surface) of the base film (13) and extending in the first direction (left to right), a cover film (12) on the conductive wire portion (11), extending in the first direction (left to right) and exposing a part (left and right ends, Fig 2) of the conductive wire portion (11), wherein the cover film (12) has a second length which is less than the first length of the base film (13, Fig 2) and a first conductive tape (23) comprising a first tape area (left end portion of 23 horizontally extending on cover film 12) on a surface of the cover film (12) and extending in the first direction (left to right) and a second tape area (left end portion of 23 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 23) folded at a certain angle (i.e. 90 degrees) from the first tape area (left end portion of 23 horizontally extending on cover film 12) and having a third length (Fig 2). With respect to claim 2, Takamatsu discloses that the cable (1) further comprises a connecting member (located at exposed left and right ends of 11) through which the part of the conductive wire portion (11) is exposed between one end of the cover film (12) and one end of the base film (13, Fig 2), wherein the second tape area (left end portion of 23 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 23) is folded at the one end (left end) of the cover film (12) where the connecting member (located at exposed left and right ends of 11) is located (Fig 2). With respect to claim 4, Takamatsu discloses that the first conductive tape (23, as shown in Fig 4) may comprises a conductive material layer (26) extending in the first direction (Fig 4) and a protective layer (25) on a surface (top surface) of the conductive material layer (26, Cols 5-6, lines 60-67 & 1-5). With respect to claim 5, Takamatsu discloses that the conductive material layer (26) may comprises at least one of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, silver, or gold (i.e. silver, Col 5-6, lines 60-67 & 1-5). With respect to claim 6, Takamatsu discloses that a first surface (bottom surface) of the conductive material layer (26) located in the first tape area (left end portion of 23 horizontally extending on cover film 12) faces the cover film (12), and a second surface (top surface) of the conductive material layer (26) in the second tape area left end portion of 23 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 23) is exposed to an outside (i.e. the vertically extending portion of 23 extends away from the cover layer to the outside of the cable, Fig 2). With respect to claim 7, Takamatsu discloses that each of the base film (13) and the cover film 12) may comprises an insulating material (Col 5, lines 5-7). With respect to claim 10, Takamatsu discloses that the cable (1) further comprises a second conductive tape (19) comprising a third tape area (left end portion of 19 horizontally extending on base film 13) on a second surface (bottom surface) of the base film (13) so as to overlap the base film (13) along the first direction (left to right) and a fourth tape area (left end portion of 19 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 19) extending from the third tape area (left end portion of 19 horizontally extending on base film 13) in the first direction (bottom to top) so as not to overlap the base film (13, i.e. the vertically extending portion of 19 extends away from the base layer (13) downward to the outside of the cable, Fig 2). With respect to claim 12, Takamatsu discloses that the second conductive tape (19, as shown in Fig 3) comprises a conductive material layer (20) extending in the first direction (left to right) and a protective layer (21) on a surface (bottom surface) of the conductive material layer (20, Col 5, lines 40-42). With respect to claim 13, Takamatsu discloses that the first surface (top surface) of the conductive material layer (20) in the third tape area (left end portion of 19 horizontally extending on base film (13) faces the base film (13, Fig 2) and wherein a second surface (bottom surface) of the conductive material layer (20) in the fourth tape area (left end portion of 19 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 19) is exposed to an outside (13, i.e. the vertically extending portion of 19 extends away from the base layer (13) downward to the outside of the cable, Fig 2). With respect to claim 14, Takamatsu discloses that the cable (1) further comprises a support tape (15) on a second surface (bottom surface) of the base film (13) and comprising a material having an elastic force (Col 6, lines 23-31). With respect to claim 15, Takamatsu discloses that the conductive wire portion (11) comprises a plurality of conductive wire portions (11s, Fig 1, Col 4, lines 59-60), wherein the plurality of conductive wire portions (11s) comprise a first conductive wire portion (Col 4, lines 66-67) configured to transmit a signal (i.e. metallic material is capable of transmitting signals) and a second conductive wire portion (Col 4, lines 66-67) configured to transmit an operating voltage (i.e. metallic material is capable of transmitting voltage, Col 6, lines 63-67), and wherein the plurality of conductive wire portions (11s) do not comprise a ground conductive wire portion (i.e. not grounding conductors in Fig 1). With respect to claim 16, Takamatsu discloses that the cable (1) further comprises a connecting member (located at exposed left and right ends of 11) through which the part of the conductive wire portion (11) is exposed between one end of the cover film (12) and one end of the base film (13, Fig 2), wherein the second tape area (left end portion of 23 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 23) is folded at the one end (left end) of the cover film (12) where the connecting member (located at exposed left and right ends of 11) is located (Fig 2). With respect to claim 18, Takamatsu discloses that the first conductive tape (23, as shown in Fig 4) may comprises a conductive material layer (26) extending in the first direction (Fig 4) and a protective layer (25) on a surface (top surface) of the conductive material layer (26, Cols 5-6, lines 60-67 & 1-5). With respect to claim 19, Takamatsu discloses that the conductive material layer (26) may comprises at least one of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, silver, or gold (i.e. silver, Col 5-6, lines 60-67 & 1-5). With respect to claim 20, Takamatsu discloses that a first surface (bottom surface) of the conductive material layer (26) located in the first tape area (left end portion of 23 horizontally extending on cover film 12) faces the cover film (12), and a second surface (top surface) of the conductive material layer (26) in the second tape area left end portion of 23 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 23) is exposed to an outside (i.e. the vertically extending portion of 23 extends away from the cover layer to the outside of the cable, Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu (Pat Num 8,138,421). Takamatsu discloses flat flexible cable (Figs 1-5) having good flexibility and bending strength (Col 3, lines 34-40), while also enhancing cost effectiveness by controlling characteristic impedance (Col 3, lines 60-63), as disclosed with respect to claims 1 & 10 above. Specifically, with respect to claims 3 & 17, Takamatsu discloses a flexible flat cable (1, Figs 1-2) comprising a first conductive tape (23) comprising a first tape area (left end portion of 23 horizontally extending on cover film 12) on a surface of the cover film (12) having a length and extending in the first direction (left to right) and a second tape area (left end portion of 23 vertically extending away from horizontally extending portion of 23) folded at a certain angle (i.e. 90 degrees) from the first tape area (left end portion of 23 horizontally extending on cover film 12) and having a length (Fig 2). With respect to claim 11, Takamatsu discloses that the cable (1) comprises a third tape area (left end portion of 19 horizontally extending on base film 13) extending on a second surface (bottom surface) of the base film (13) having a length, so as to overlap the base film (13) along the first direction (left to right)
However, Takamatsu doesn’t necessarily disclose the length of the second tape area being in a range of 3 cm to 10 cm (claims 3 & 17), nor the length of the third tape area being in a range of 3 cm to 10 cm (claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the flexible flat cable of Takamatsu to comprise the length of the second tape area and the length of the third tape area to be in a range of 3 cm to 10 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu (Pat Num 8,138,421) in view of Yeh (Pat Num 7,807,927). Takamatsu discloses flat flexible cable (Figs 1-5) having good flexibility and bending strength (Col 3, lines 34-40), while also enhancing cost effectiveness by controlling characteristic impedance (Col 3, lines 60-63), as disclosed with respect to claims 1 & 10 above, as applied to claim 1 above.
While Takamatsu discloses that the flexible flat cable (1) may be utilized in notebook computers, flat screen televisions, etc., (Col 6, lines 63-67), Takamatsu doesn’t illustrate the connection wherein a tape area contacts a first ground portion provided on a first component and contacts a second ground portion provided on a third component (claim 8), nor the first component comprising a printed circuit board, and wherein the third component comprising at least one of a frame portion, a heat dissipation portion, a metal case, or a surface-mounted device gasket (claim 9).
Yeh teaches a known flexible flat cable (Figs 1-2B) utilized for connecting an LCD interface (i.e. display screen) to a motherboard interface (i.e. circuit board) for the purpose of transmission at a required characteristic impedance (Col 1, lines 11-57). Specifically, with respect to claims 8-9, Yeh discloses a flexible flat cable (9, Figs 1-2) comprising a base film (bottom portion of 91, Fig 2B) extending in a first direction (left to right) and having a first length (Fig 2B), a conductive wire portion (not numbered, Fig 2B) on a first surface (top surface) of the base film (bottom portion of 91) and extending in the first direction (left to right), a cover film (911) on the conductive wire portion (not numbered), extending in the first direction (left to right) and exposing a part (Fig 2A) of the conductive wire portion (not numbered), wherein a first conductive tape (93) comprising an area on a surface of the cover film (911, Fig 2B), wherein the cable (9) further comprises a connecting member (located at exposed left and right ends of 9, Fig 1) through which the part of the conductive wire portion (not shown) is exposed between one end of the cover film (911) and one end of the base film (bottom portion of 91, Figs 1 & 2A), wherein a tape area (located left and right ends) contacts a first ground portion (located in 71) provided on a first component (7) and contacts a second ground portion (located at 8) provided on a third component (6, i.e. it is known that the connectors shown must contain grounding pins in order for the signal to be transmitted across the cable from the motherboard (7) to the LCD (6)), wherein the first component (7) comprising a printed circuit board (i.e. motherboard, Col 1, lines 1-20), and wherein the third component (6) comprising at least one of a frame portion (i.e. frame of an LCD, Col 1, lines 26-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the flexible flat cable of Takamatsu to comprise the connection of a tape area to contacts a first ground portion provided on a first component and a second ground portion provided on a third component , wherein the first component comprising a printed circuit board, and wherein the third component comprising at least one of a frame portion configuration as taught by Yeh because Yeh teaches that such a flexible flat cable configuration is known and commonly utilized for connecting an LCD interface (i.e. display screen) to a motherboard interface (i.e. circuit board) for the purpose of transmission at a required characteristic impedance (Col 1, lines 11-57) and since it appears that Takamatsu would perform equally well with the modification, as Takamatsu discloses that the its flexible flat cable may be utilized in notebook computers, flat televisions, etc., (Col 6, lines 63-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose flexible flat cables.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
January 9, 2026