DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 05/08/2024, claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the adjusting mechanism controls the grinding disc to move up and down relative to the cup body” recited in claim 5 being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “mechanism” that is coupled with functional language “controls the grinding disc to move up and down relative to the cup body” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier
With regards to the corresponding structure of the claimed “adjusting mechanism”, Applicant' s Specification, pub. para.0061 discloses: “the adjusting mechanism 1140 is in a threaded connection with the grinding disc 1120. The grinding disc 1120 can be controlled to move up and down along a sliding track provided by the connection assembly 1130 by rotating the adjusting mechanism 1140, so as to control the fineness of the grinding powder. The adjusting mechanism 1140 is fixedly connected to the cup body 1110 through the screw” and fig.4, the adjusting mechanism has a ring-shape, and it has threads in its inner surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN103584734A)
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses A bean grinder container (combo 13,14 and 5, see fig.4 and abstract), comprising
a cup body (13, see figs.4-5) and a grinding disc (14, see figs.4-5), wherein the grinding disc (14) is of a hollow structure (see figs.4-5), a grinding rib (37, see fig.13) is disposed on an inner wall of the grinding disc (14, see fig.13), a connection assembly (5, see fig.4-5) is disposed below the cup body (13, see figs.4-5), the connection assembly (5, see fig.4-5) is fixed below the cup body (13, see figs.4-5), and the grinding disc (14, see figs.4-5) is fixedly connected to the connection assembly (5, see fig.4-5).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses the grinding disc (14, see figs.4-5) is detachably connected to the connection assembly (5, see figs.4-5).
Regarding claim 3, Wang further discloses the grinding disc (14, see figs.4-5) is removed from the cup body (13, see figs.4-5) from below (see fig.4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Wang further discloses the connection assembly (5) comprises an adjusting mechanism (5), and the adjusting mechanism (5) controls the grinding disc to move up and down relative to the cup body (See page 5, lines 32-34: “ When the locking adjustment ring 5 rotates clockwise, the upper grinding wheel assembly 4 can move up and down within a certain range”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further discloses A bean grinder (29, see fig.1), comprising a bean grinder main machine (15, see fig.5) and the bean grinder container according to claim 1, wherein a lower portion of the bean grinder container (lower portion of 13, see fig.5) is in butt joint with the bean grinder main machine (5) and is detachably connected to the bean grinder main machine (5, see figs.4-5).
Regarding claim 11, Wang further discloses A coffee machine (automatic coffee machine, (see page 1, lines 14-15 and fig.1), comprising the bean grinder (29, see fig.1) according to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lee (US 20210307558 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the claimed limitations as set forth in claim 3.
However, Wang does not expressly disclose a detachable handle is disposed below the grinding disc.
Lee discloses a coffee extraction apparatus, comprising:
a detachable handle (2125, see fig 6B-6C) is disposed below the grinding disc (231, see fig.6B-6C).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Wang to incorporate the “detachable handle is disposed below the grinding disc” as taught by Lee. Doing so allows “when the handle is held by the user, it can limit the slipping effect and allow the user to transmit appropriate rotational force” to another parts (See para.0111 of Lee).
Claims 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lee (US 20080098901 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the claimed limitations as set forth in claim 1.
However, Wang does not expressly disclose a sealing member is disposed at a lower portion of the cup body.
Lee discloses a coffee mill, comprising:
a sealing member (10, see fig.3) is disposed at a lower portion of the cup body (1, see fig.3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Wang to incorporate the “sealing member is disposed at a lower portion of the cup body” as taught by Lee. Doing so allows the container to be “substantially sealed to ameliorate spoiling and/or staling of the coffee beans” (See para.0028 of Wang).
Regarding claim 8, Wang further discloses a cup cavity (cavity inside 13, see fig.13) is disposed at an upper portion in the cup body (13, see fig.13), a relatively outlet of 13, see fig.17) is disposed at a lower portion of the cup cavity (lower portion of the cavity inside 13, see fig.17), and the grinding channel l (outlet of 13, see fig.17) is in communication with the grinding disc (14, see fig.5).
Wang does not expressly disclose a sealed grinding channel.
Lee discloses a coffee mill, comprising:
a sealed grinding channel (13, see para.0026 and fig.3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Wang to incorporate the sealing member as taught by Lee so as the grinding channel is sealed. Doing so allows the container to be “substantially sealed to ameliorate spoiling and/or staling of the coffee beans” (See para.0028 of Wang).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Lee further discloses a bottom door (10 of Lee, see fig.3) is disposed in the grinding channel (13, see fig.3), a control mechanism (8 of Lee, see fig.3) is disposed in the cup body (3, see fig.2), a switch (6, see fig.1) is disposed on a side wall of the cup body (3), and the switch controls opening and closing of the bottom door by using the control mechanism (see para.0025, 0029).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the claimed limitations as set forth in claim 1, except a maximum outer diameter of the lower portion of the cup body is 40 mm to 200 mm.
However, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see fig.4-5), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa). In this case, Wang teaches a certain maximum outer diameter of the lower portion of the cup body, and having a specific maximum outer diameter is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the maximum outer diameter to be 40 mm to 200 mm is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05). Doing so obtains the desired diameter of the cup body and controls the amount of coffee beans inside the cup body effectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US10405700B2 discloses A grinder comprises: a receiving container, formed with an accommodation space and an installation space, and the bottom end thereof being extended with a connection ring have a feeding port, and a hollow grinding seat and a fasten ring are respectively and detachably disposed in the feeding port and the connection ring; an electric driving device, detachably disposed in the installation space.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761