CTNF 18/658,730 CTNF 100034 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WAGNER et al. (US 20230337185 A1, hereinafter, "WAGNER") . Regarding claim 1, WAGNER teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: WAGNER writes, “The signal processing functionality of the embodiments of the invention especially the gNB and the UE may be achieved using computing systems or architectures known to those who are skilled in the relevant art. Computing systems such as, a desktop, laptop or notebook computer, hand-held computing device (PDA, cell phone, palmtop, etc.), mainframe, server, client, or any other type of special or general purpose computing device as may be desirable or appropriate for a given application or environment can be used” (paragraph 0078). at least one memory; WAGNER writes, “The computing system can also include a main memory, such as random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic memory, for storing information and instructions to be executed by a processor. Such a main memory also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by the processor. The computing system may likewise include a read only memory (ROM) or other static storage device for storing static information and instructions for a processor” (paragraph 0079). and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: WAGNER writes, “The computing system can include one or more processors which can be implemented using a general or special-purpose processing engine such as, for example, a microprocessor, microcontroller or other control module” (paragraph 0078). receive one or more first stage downlink control information (DCI); WAGNER writes, “In a first step a first PI (PI 0) is transmitted which indicates UE group(s) that are to be paged and which should decode the next PI(s) (PI 1). PI 1 is then transmitted in step 2 which refines the UE groups to those which need to decode the P-DCI” (paragraph 0045). WAGNER continues, “In the example of FIG. 3, two stages of PI are utilized, but this may be extended to any number of PI(s) as required by the relevant number of UE groups and system characteristics. Each PI may be RS- or DCI-based” (paragraph 0046; figure 3). receive a second stage DCI; WAGNER writes, “In a first step a first PI (PI 0) is transmitted which indicates UE group(s) that are to be paged and which should decode the next PI(s) (PI 1). PI 1 is then transmitted in step 2 which refines the UE groups to those which need to decode the P-DCI” (paragraph 0045). WAGNER continues, “In the example of FIG. 3, two stages of PI are utilised, but this may be extended to any number of PI(s) as required by the relevant number of UE groups and system characteristics. Each PI may be RS- or DCI-based” (paragraph 0046; figure 3). determine whether a UE bit is set to true in the second stage DCI; WAGNER writes, “PI 1 is then transmitted in step 2 which refines the UE groups to those which need to decode the P-DCI. At step 3 the P-DCI indicates the UEs which should proceed to decode the P-PDSCH(s). This sequential arrangement allows the UEs which incur the full power consumption of decoding the P-PDSCH to be reduced, while also managing signalling overhead” (paragraph 0045). WAGNER continues, “In an example the first PI (PI 0) may be RS-based for detection by low-power UEs (e.g. REDCAP UEs), while the second PI (PI 1) may be DCI-based to convey further details refining which UEs or groups should proceed to decode P-DCI. PI 0 and the intervening SSB can be used by UEs to synchronise and improve detection of PI 1. As set out below, different combinations of RS & DCI signals, and the included data, may be utilised in paging processes” (paragraph 0046). WAGNER adds, “The PI-DCI carries the UE grouping information as described above, for example utilising a bitmap in which each bit corresponds to one or more group. Groups indicated by the PI-DCI (for example those indicated by a 1 in the bitmap) will proceed to decode the P-DCI, with other UEs not expecting a paging message and hence can return to sleep” (paragraph 0067). determine physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) resources from the one or more first stage DCI; WAGNER writes, “The higher capacity of the DCI-based system may be utilised for UE grouping, and may also include a short paging message in the DCI. However, detection complexity and power consumption are higher. UE-grouping information can also be included in the P-DCI to indicate which groups of UEs should proceed to decode P-DCI and P-PD SCH” (paragraph 0043). receive a radio resource control (RRC) paging message based on the PDSCH resources included in the one or more first stage DCI; WAGNER writes, “To reduce power consumption such devices may spend significant portions of time in RRC IDLE/INACTIVE mode utilising discontinuous reception (DRX) to turn off their radio systems, only waking to listen for paging messages” (paragraph 0040). WAGNER continues, “FIG. 2 shows timeline of signals for paging a UE. A Paging Indication (PI) may be transmitted prior to the Paging Occasion (PO) (P-DCI/P-PDSCH) to indicate that a group of UEs, or all UEs associated with the PO, are to be paged. If a UE does not detect a relevant PI it can return to sleep without proceeding further. After the PI one or more SSBs may be detected for the UE to confirm the cell and for time/frequency synchronisation to assist with PDCCH detection and decoding. P-DCI and P-PDSCH scrambled with P-RNTI may then be received by UEs being paged” (paragraph 0041). WAGNER adds, “The paging method utilises a series of steps to refine the UEs addressed at each stage. In a first step a first PI (PI 0) is transmitted which indicates UE group(s) that are to be paged and which should decode the next PI(s) (PI 1). PI 1 is then transmitted in step 2 which refines the UE groups to those which need to decode the P-DCI. At step 3 the P-DCI indicates the UEs which should proceed to decode the P-PDSCH(s). This sequential arrangement allows the UEs which incur the full power consumption of decoding the P-PDSCH to be reduced, while also managing signalling overhead” (paragraph 0045). determine whether a paging record of the UE is included in the RRC paging message; WAGNER writes, “In the following discussion it is assumed that N bits are available for grouping information in the P-DCI(s) and M PIs are configured in the system. Both N & M are known to the relevant UEs. If more than one PI is mapped to a subsequent common DCI (either a P-DCI or a subsequent DCI-based PI (PI-DCI)) UEs associated with one PI will have no knowledge about indications transmitted to UEs associated with the other PIs associated with the common DCI. Therefore, a fixed mapping may be used between PIs the DCI payload bits. For example, B=[N/M] bits may be associated to each PI in the DCI payload. If M=2 and N=8, 4 bits are used for each of PI 0 and PI 1, with each bit representing two groups. The bits may have different meanings whether they relate to a group-specific PI or a common PI (refining the UEs or groups respectively)” (paragraph 0059-0060). and forward the paging record to an upper layer of the UE in response to determining that paging record of the UE is included in the RRC paging message. WAGNER writes, “To reduce power consumption such devices may spend significant portions of time in RRC IDLE/INACTIVE mode utilising discontinuous reception (DRX) to turn off their radio systems, only waking to listen for paging messages...In order to reduce this complexity a Wake-Up Signal (WUS) may be transmitted for detection by UEs prior to a paging occasion in which a paging message is to be transmitted to a UE. The WUS is typically sequence-based to enable easy detection without requiring decoding and baseband processing” (paragraph 0040). Regarding claim 2, WAGNER teaches the UE of claim 1, Additionally, WAGNER teaches wherein the one or more first stage DCI is received using a first stage paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) and the second stage DCI is received using a second stage P-RNTI. WAGNER writes, “The paging message may comprise a plurality of paging DCI messages, each associated with a different CORESET and/or scrambled by a different P-RNTI” (paragraph 0027). WAGNER adds, “As discussed above each PI resource may be associated with a specific P-DCI by a specific CORESET and/or P-RNTI. FIG. 5 shows an example in which four PIs are each associated to a unique combination of CORESET and P-RNTI. PI 0 and PI 1 correspond to CORESET 0 which carries two P-DCIs scrambled with P-RNTI 0 and P-RNTI 1. Similarly, PI 2 and PI 3 correspond to CORESET 1 which carries two P-DCIs scrambled with P-RNTI 2 and P-RN TI 3. Although distinct P-RNTIs have been utilised in this example for each P-DCI, the same P-RNTI can be re-used in each CORESET (since the transmission resources do not overlap)” (paragraph 0064). Regarding claim 3, WAGNER teaches the UE of claim 1, Additionally, WAGNER teaches wherein the one or more first stage DCI includes the PDSCH resources for carrying the RRC paging message. WAGNER writes, “The higher capacity of the DCI-based system may be utilised for UE grouping, and may also include a short paging message in the DCI. However, detection complexity and power consumption are higher. UE-grouping information can also be included in the P-DCI to indicate which groups of UEs should proceed to decode P-DCI and P-PD SCH” (paragraph 0043). Regarding claim 4, WAGNER teaches the UE of claim 1, Additionally, WAGNER teaches wherein the second stage DCI is determined using a UE identifier (UE_ID). WAGNER writes, “The paging method utilises a series of steps to refine the UEs addressed at each stage. In a first step a first PI (PI 0) is transmitted which indicates UE group(s) that are to be paged and which should decode the next PI(s) (PI 1). PI 1 is then transmitted in step 2 which refines the UE groups to those which need to decode the P-DCI. At step 3 the P-DCI indicates the UEs which should proceed to decode the P-PDSCH(s). This sequential arrangement allows the UEs which incur the full power consumption of decoding the P-PDSCH to be reduced, while also managing signalling overhead” (paragraph 0045). WAGNER adds, “The 4 bits of the P-DCI can then indicate the pairs of groups (since each bit represents two group) which should decode PDSCH and would be set to 01 01 (in which the “ones” indicate groups 2 & 3, and 6 & 7 respectively). The PDSCH then indicates the exact UE-IDs of the paged UEs” (paragraph 0061). Regarding claim 5, WAGNER teaches the UE of claim 1, Additionally, WAGNER teaches wherein a bit indicates whether a DCI is the one or more first stage DCI or the second stage DCI. WAGNER writes, “The PI-DCI carries the UE grouping information as described above, for example utilising a bitmap in which each bit corresponds to one or more group. Groups indicated by the PI-DCI (for example those indicated by a 1 in the bitmap) will proceed to decode the P-DCI, with other UEs not expecting a paging message and hence can return to sleep” (paragraph 0067). Regarding claim 6, WAGNER teaches the UE of claim 1, Additionally, WAGNER teaches wherein a bitmap index indicates an identity of the second stage DCI. WAGNER writes, “The PI-DCI carries the UE grouping information as described above, for example utilising a bitmap in which each bit corresponds to one or more group. Groups indicated by the PI-DCI (for example those indicated by a 1 in the bitmap) will proceed to decode the P-DCI, with other UEs not expecting a paging message and hence can return to sleep” (paragraph 0067). Claims 9 and 14 are processor and method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under the same rational as claim 1. Claim 10 is a processor claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 2 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2. Claim 11 is a processor claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 3 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3. Claim 12 is a processor claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 4 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4. Claim 13 is a processor claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 5 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s) 7-8, 1 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WAGNER in view of BABAEI (US 20220330205 A1, hereinafter, "BABAEI"). Regard ing claim 7, WAGNER teaches the UE of claim 1, WAGNER fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “ wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive system information comprising one or more of: a paging frame offset, a default paging cycle length of a default paging cycle, and a number of total paging frames in the default paging cycle. ” However, in analogous art, BABAEI teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive system information comprising one or more of: a paging frame offset, a default paging cycle length of a default paging cycle, and a number of total paging frames in the default paging cycle. BABAEI writes, “In an example, the UE may receive a PCCH-Message. The PCCH-Message class may be the set of RRC messages that may be sent from the Network to the UE on the PCCH logical channel” (paragraph 0146). BABAEI continues, “The pcch-Config field may indicate the paging related configuration. The defaultPagingCycle IE may indicate a default Paging Cycle. A firstPDCCH-MonitoringOccasionOfPO may point out the first PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging of each paging occasion (PO) of a paging frame (PF). A nAndPagingFrameOffset IE may be used to derive the number of total paging frames in a paging cycle and paging frame offset. An ns IE may indicate a number of paging occasions per paging frame” (paragraph 0148). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WAGNER to include aspects described by BABAEI that “relate to power saving using enhanced paging processes in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state.” BABAEI provides the motivation for modification stating, “Grouping of wireless devices for paging purposes and indicating the paged groups/subgroups that are paged in a paging occasion may improve the power saving for wireless devices in RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE states” (paragraph 0180). Regarding claim 8, WAGNER and BABAEI teach the UE of claim 7, Additionally, BABAEI teaches wherein the system information is transmitted using a DCI format with a cyclic redundancy cycle scrambled by P-RNTI. BABAEI writes, “In an example, a DCI format 1_0 may be used for the scheduling of PDSCH in one DL cell. In an example, the following information may be transmitted by means of the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI: Short Messages Indicator—2 bits; Short Messages—8 bits; Time domain resource assignment—4 bits; VRB-to-PRB mapping—1 bit; Modulation and coding scheme—5 bits; and TB scaling—2 bits” (paragraph 0163). Regarding claim 15, WAGNER teaches a base station, comprising: WAGNER writes, “The signal processing functionality of the embodiments of the invention especially the gNB and the UE may be achieved using computing systems or architectures known to those who are skilled in the relevant art. Computing systems such as, a desktop, laptop or notebook computer, hand-held computing device (PDA, cell phone, palmtop, etc.), mainframe, server, client, or any other type of special or general purpose computing device as may be desirable or appropriate for a given application or environment can be used” (paragraph 0078). at least one memory; WAGNER writes, “The computing system can also include a main memory, such as random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic memory, for storing information and instructions to be executed by a processor. Such a main memory also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by the processor. The computing system may likewise include a read only memory (ROM) or other static storage device for storing static information and instructions for a processor” (paragraph 0079). and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: WAGNER writes, “The computing system can include one or more processors which can be implemented using a general or special-purpose processing engine such as, for example, a microprocessor, microcontroller or other control module” (paragraph 0078). transmit one or more first stage downlink control information (DCI); WAGNER writes, “There is provided a method of paging UEs in a cellular communications system, the method performed at a base station and comprising the steps of transmitting a first paging indication, wherein the first paging indication includes an indication of UEs which should decode a second paging indication; transmitting the second paging indication, wherein the second paging indication includes an indication of which of the UEs can expect a paging message in a subsequent paging occasion; and transmitting a paging message in the subsequent paging occasion for reception by the UEs indicated in the second paging indication” (paragraph 0010). WAGNER continues, “The first paging indication may be a DCI message” (paragraph 0015). WAGNER adds, “The second paging indication may be a DCI message” (paragraph 0017). transmit a second stage DCI; WAGNER writes, “There is provided a method of paging UEs in a cellular communications system, the method performed at a base station and comprising the steps of transmitting a first paging indication, wherein the first paging indication includes an indication of UEs which should decode a second paging indication; transmitting the second paging indication, wherein the second paging indication includes an indication of which of the UEs can expect a paging message in a subsequent paging occasion; and transmitting a paging message in the subsequent paging occasion for reception by the UEs indicated in the second paging indication” (paragraph 0010). WAGNER continues, “The first paging indication may be a DCI message” (paragraph 0015). WAGNER adds, “The second paging indication may be a DCI message” (paragraph 0017). and transmit a radio resource control (RRC) paging message based on physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) resources included in the one or more first stage DCI. WAGNER writes, “To reduce power consumption such devices may spend significant portions of time in RRC IDLE/INACTIVE mode utilising discontinuous reception (DRX) to turn off their radio systems, only waking to listen for paging messages” (paragraph 0040). WAGNER continues, “FIG. 2 shows timeline of signals for paging a UE. A Paging Indication (PI) may be transmitted prior to the Paging Occasion (PO) (P-DCI/P-PDSCH) to indicate that a group of UEs, or all UEs associated with the PO, are to be paged. If a UE does not detect a relevant PI it can return to sleep without proceeding further. After the PI one or more SSBs may be detected for the UE to confirm the cell and for time/frequency synchronisation to assist with PDCCH detection and decoding. P-DCI and P-PDSCH scrambled with P-RNTI may then be received by UEs being paged” (paragraph 0041). WAGNER adds, “The paging method utilises a series of steps to refine the UEs addressed at each stage. In a first step a first PI (PI 0) is transmitted which indicates UE group(s) that are to be paged and which should decode the next PI(s) (PI 1). PI 1 is then transmitted in step 2 which refines the UE groups to those which need to decode the P-DCI. At step 3 the P-DCI indicates the UEs which should proceed to decode the P-PDSCH(s). This sequential arrangement allows the UEs which incur the full power consumption of decoding the P-PDSCH to be reduced, while also managing signalling overhead” (paragraph 0045). Regarding claim 16, WAGNER teaches the base station of claim 15, Additionally, WAGNER teaches wherein the one or more first stage DCI is transmitted using a first stage paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) and the second stage DCI is transmitted using a second stage P-RNTI. WAGNER writes, “The paging message may comprise a plurality of paging DCI messages, each associated with a different CORESET and/or scrambled by a different P-RNTI” (paragraph 0027). WAGNER adds, “As discussed above each PI resource may be associated with a specific P-DCI by a specific CORESET and/or P-RNTI. FIG. 5 shows an example in which four PIs are each associated to a unique combination of CORESET and P-RNTI. PI 0 and PI 1 correspond to CORESET 0 which carries two P-DCIs scrambled with P-RNTI 0 and P-RNTI 1. Similarly, PI 2 and PI 3 correspond to CORESET 1 which carries two P-DCIs scrambled with P-RNTI 2 and P-RN TI 3. Although distinct P-RNTIs have been utilised in this example for each P-DCI, the same P-RNTI can be re-used in each CORESET (since the transmission resources do not overlap)” (paragraph 0064). Claim 17 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 3 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3. Claim 18 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 4 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4. Claim 19 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 5 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5. Claim 20 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 6 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER A REYES whose telephone number is (703)756-4558. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30 - 5:00 EDT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KHALED KASSIM can be reached at (571) 270-3770. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 5/7/2026 /KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 2 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 3 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 4 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 5 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 6 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 7 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 8 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 9 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 10 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 11 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 12 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 13 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 14 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/658,730 Page 15 Art Unit: 2475