DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11 – 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear if a coupling mechanism is positively recited and said coupling mechanism is capable of being placed in a state in which it is not attached to the fixed flatbed, or if the vehicle does not comprise a coupling mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6, 7, and 17 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barmby (WO 2021/044137 A1) in view of McCormack (WO 2010/150025 A1).
As for claim 1, Barmby discloses a vehicle comprising: one or more rear wheels (116) and one or more front wheels (114); a motor (“electric motor”) for rotating the one or more rear wheels; an energy source (122) powering the motor; a pedal (168) in combination with the motor for assisting in rotating the one or more rear wheels; a rear chassis (174b) configured to carry a plurality of cargo boxes.
Barmby does not disclose an extendable chassis. McCormack discloses a rear chassis (22) configured to carry a plurality of cargo boxes; and a chassis motor (44) coupled to the rear chassis for extending and retracting the rear chassis, wherein electrical wiring (70) runs from the energy source and through the rear chassis to power the chassis motor (Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rear chassis of Barmby to be extendable and retractable, as taught by McCormack in order to accommodate more cargo as needed.
As for claim 2, McCormack discloses: a fixed flatbed (30); and a motorized flatbed (22) configured to extend, from and parallel to, the fixed flatbed by the chassis motor.
As for claim 3, Barmby discloses the energy source capable of being electrically recharged by a rotation of the pedal (while not explicitly disclosed, such a feature is old and well known in the electric vehicle art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the structure of Barmby is capable of the claimed feature).
As for claim 6, Barmby discloses the energy source mounted in a vertical orientation or a horizontal orientation near or between the one or more front wheels (see Fig. 7).
As for claim 6, Barmby discloses the energy source being removeable and replaceable by a second energy source (page 4, lines 14 – 16).
As for claim 17, Barmby discloses a cargo transportation system of an electrically powered vehicle, the system comprising: one or more rear wheels (116) and one or more front wheels (114); an energy source (122) mounted near or between the one or more front wheels and configured to power a motor that rotates the one or more rear wheels; a pedal (168) in combination with the motor for assisting in rotating the one or more rear wheels; and a rear chassis (174b). McCormack discloses a rear chassis (22) configured to carry a plurality of cargo boxes that is extendable past the one or more rear wheels; and a chassis motor (44) coupled to the rear chassis for extending and retracting the rear chassis, wherein electrical wiring (70) runs from the energy source and through the rear chassis to power the chassis motor. As above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rear chassis of Barmby to be extendable and retractable, as taught by McCormack in order to accommodate more cargo as needed.
As for claim 18, McCormack discloses: a fixed flatbed (30); and a motorized flatbed (22) configured to extend, from and parallel to, the fixed flatbed by the chassis motor.
As for claim 19, Barmby discloses the energy source capable of being electrically recharged by a rotation of the pedal (while not explicitly disclosed, such a feature is old and well known in the electric vehicle art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the structure of Barmby is capable of the claimed feature).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barmby (WO 2021/044137 A1) in view of McCormack (WO 2010/150025 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Crawford (US 2019/0308674 A1).
Barmby and McCormack meet all the limitations of the claimed invention, but do not disclose locking mechanisms. Crawford discloses locking mechanisms for coupling to cargo boxes on all portions of an extendable flat bed (see 56, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Barmby and McCormack to include locking mechanisms to further secure the load on the vehicle.
Claim(s) 8 – 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barmby (WO 2021/044137 A1) in view of McCormack (WO 2010/150025 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Weaver (US 11,059,423 B1).
As for claims 8 and 20, Barmby and McCormack meet all the limitations of the claimed invention, but do not disclose an internal compartment. Weaver discloses a fixed flatbed (22) including a compartment (54) internal to the fixed flatbed for receiving the flatbed extension in the stored configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of Barmby and McCormack to include the internal compartment of Weaver to avoid disturbing cargo loaded on the fixed flatbed.
As for claims 9 and 10, the hydraulic system of Weaver functions as a coupling to fix the flatbed in a stored configuration.
Conclusion
/Katy M Ebner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613