DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07 April 2026 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 14, and added new claims 15-21. Accordingly, claims 1-21 remain pending.
Applicant’s amendment to the abstract overcomes the abstract objection of 26 November 2025. Therefore, the abstract objection of 26 November 2025 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of 26 November 2025. Therefore, the of 26 November 2025 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection and abstract objection:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07 April 2026, with respect to the abstract objection and 35 USC 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The abstract objection and 35 USC 112(b) rejection of 26 November 2025 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection over Wang US 20180324177 (hereinafter Wang). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 20180324177 (hereinafter Wang), in view of Matthews US 10412434 (hereinafter Matthews), in further view of Torikai US 20170353655 (hereinafter Torikai), and in further view of Blom et al US 20070162971 (hereinafter Blom).
As to claim 1, Wang teaches a system (abstract discloses apparatus for registering a user and authenticating the identities of interacting parties in real time), comprising:
a memory (paragraphs 74-75 reveal the wearable device comprises processor and memory coupled to the processor); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (paragraphs 74-75 reveal the wearable device comprises processor and memory coupled to the processor. The memory stores software, such as the real-time authentication software, that can be executed by the processor):
cause an electronically-enabled wearable device worn by a subject to detect a camera-capable device within range from the electronically-enabled wearable device (paragraph 74 reveals the wearable comprises cameras. Paragraph 135 discloses the system may determine that two or more wearable devices are in close proximity to one another by wearable devices directly detecting signals from other wearable devices);
send, to the camera-capable device, a request for identification information of a user associated with the camera-capable device (paragraph 125 discloses the wearable devices may be configured to exchange information about their respective authorized users (e. g. to confirm the identity of one user in near proximity to another user). This exchange may occur automatically when the wearable devices are in close proximity to one another or when a user of one wearable device causes that wearable device to send a request for identity of the user of another wearable device. The wearable device may be configured to require authorization from the authorized user before information about the authorized user is provided to the user of another wearable device);
receive, from the camera-capable device, a response comprising identification information for the user (paragraph 136 discloses when wearable device 12a and wearable device 12b are determined to be in close proximity to each other and both have their verified status set, wearable devices 12a and 12b may exchange information about their authorized users);
determine, based on the identification information, an authorization [role] of the user (paragraphs 146-149 reveal the information the wearable device receives from the server about another wearable device ensures the authorized user data is accurate. The system is configured to provide a different set of information in the first authorized wearer's “restricted” section, depending on whether the second authorized wearer is a police officer; a customs or immigration officer; a fellow employee of the first authorized wearer; a member of the opposite sex; an emergency responder; a neighbor; and/or a fellow citizen of the same country. Paragraph 126 reveals the identification information is verified according to biometric information);
send, to the camera capable device, authorization metadata generated for the camera capable device based on the authorization level of the user (paragraph 236 reveal cameras from the wearable device captures images of user’s face and such image files are transmitted to the server. The server uses facial recognition component to compare the captured images with the images (or image recognition parameters) of all registered users stored in the database. After the process for authentication is complete, server sends the identity information(thus the authorization metadata) of user Pb wearable device to person Pa wearable device via network. Paragraph 246 discloses when database receives media from the wearable device, database may perform a number of functions (e. g. authentication of the received media). Authentication may, for example, verify a digital signature on videos or images corresponds to an authorized wearable device and/or that the digital signature corresponds to the specific wearable device from which the media was received as genuine. In some embodiments, database may index the received media for sorting and searching using the metadata associated with the media. The metadata may include one or more or any combination of location, date and time, place with altitude, latitude, longitude and viewing direction at which the media was acquired, including but not limited to associated audio data like music melody, making the search more efficient. Paragraphs 136-146 also disclose wearable device may also exchange additional information, and the type of information exchanged may be set by the authorized users of wearable devices and/or by an administrator of the wearable devices based on the role/authorization level of the user); wherein:
the camera capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device …(Figure 12 and paragraph 214 disclose user identity metadata is embedded in the image or video. User identity is part of the authorization data. Paragraph 211 discloses information may be stored as metadata in each image, video and/or audio file. Metadata may also, or in the alternative, be stored in each media file (image and/or video and/or audio) in the form of a digital watermark (that may be visible or invisible to the human eyes). All photos, videos, or audio uploaded onto database may thus carry metadata identifying the specific person acquiring the images, videos, or audio as well as the date, time and geographical location for creating the images/videos/audio. This information may be assigned with a digital certificate of the authorized user of the device so that the media's authenticity (video and/or still image and/or audio) can be established. Wearable device may be configured such that the digital signing function is available only when the user wearing the wearable device has been verified biometrically because he or she is the authorized user of the wearable device); and
wherein the authorization [data] is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more viewing, saving, or sharing of the [data] (paragraphs 84-85, 122, 137-149 reveal that once the identity of the other wearable device is verified, authorized users (role of the user) such as relevant authorities, and any user-preset relatives, friends, colleagues can have access to restricted still/moving images, location information on the wearable device).
Wang does not teach determine that a camera of the nearby camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or a video capturing mode; determine, based on the identification information, an authorization level for the user; wherein: the camera-capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device while the camera-capable device is within range of and remains detectable by the wearable device worn by the subject; and the authorization metadata is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more of viewing, saving, or sharing of the captured media.
Matthews teaches determine, based on the identification information, an authorization level for the user (Figure 8, reference number 814 and column 47, lines 40-45 disclose the control circuitry of the system determines, based on the identified second device, that the second user is authorized to grant access rights for the second device); and send, to the camera-capable device, authorization metadata generated for the camera-capable device based on the authorization level for the user (Figure 8, reference number 818 and column 47, lines 46-64 disclose the control circuitry of the system obtains interaction data between the individual and the second user and determines a degree of interaction between the individual and the second user, and sends access rights/authorization metadata for the second device to the first device (user computer equipment, or wireless user communication devices which are camera capable devices)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system with the camera capable device teachings in Matthews’ system to address the security and privacy concerns of the user's device by establishing automatic connections only when the user is familiar and comfortable with the individual that is trying to connect to the user's device (column 1, lines 15-22 and 31-40 of Matthews)
The combination of Wang in view of Matthews does not teach determine that a camera of the nearby camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or video capturing mode; the camera-capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device while the camera-capable device is within range of and remains detectable by the wearable device worn by the subject; and the authorization metadata is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more of viewing, saving, or sharing of the captured media.
Torikai teaches cause an electronically-enabled wearable device worn by a subject to detect a nearby camera-capable device (paragraph 73 discloses a wearable device can determine that a user has a digital camera/camera-capable device); and determine that a camera of the nearby camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or a video capturing mode (paragraphs 73 and 190-191 disclose a wearable device can determine that a camera is active state where the user can shoot pictures with the camera).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device teachings in Matthew’s system and incorporate the wearable device as taught by Torikai to provide a technique capable of reducing or preventing the missing of shooting chances for a user carrying an imaging apparatus (paragraph 12 of Torikai).
The combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, does not teach, but Blom teaches the camera-capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device while the camera-capable device is within range of and remains detectable by the wearable device worn by the subject (paragraphs 8-9 disclose a content capturing device may detect one or more devices having one or more predetermined characteristics at the time a particular content/image was captured. The capturing device and other mobile devices in proximity to the capturing device may have BLUETOOTH wireless capabilities. Thus, the capturing device may detect and communicate with the other BLUETOOTH wireless devices within a wireless range. Alternatively, the capturing device may communicate with a wireless or cellular server that may determine a list of matching devices based on stored information that matches a set of received parameters. The captured content/image may contain metadata that includes a variety of information related to the captured content); and the authorization metadata is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more of viewing, saving, or sharing of the captured media (paragraphs 8-9 disclose the captured content/image may contain metadata that includes a variety of information related to the captured content. Such metadata may include the time the content was captured, the duration of the content (i.e., video content), the size of the content and/or authorization information. For example, if a subject of captured content authorizes the use and storage of the captured content, such authorization may be embedded within the metadata of a content file storing the content. Such authorization information may be used to determine whether the content may be published or printed by a third party photograph printer).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device teachings in Matthew’s system and the wearable device as taught by Torikai with Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device such that an individual of any form of multimedia content has the ability to exercise control over their images (paragraph 4 of Blom).
As to claim 2, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the wearable device comprises eyewear (Wang: paragraph 55 discloses the wearable device can be in the form of eyeglasses).
As to claim 3, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the eyewear comprises a goggles, face shield, eyeglasses, or sunglasses (Wang: paragraph 55 discloses the wearable device can be in the form of eyeglasses; Torikai: paragraph 51 discloses the wearable device may be eyeglasses or helmet with a wireless communication function). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the wearable device is in communication with a mobile device associated with the subject (Torikai: paragraph 115 reveals that the smartphone and the wearable device are configured to be able to wirelessly communicate with each other). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 5, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the at least one image captured by the camera-capable device includes the subject (Wang: paragraph 233 discloses content from the wearable device includes obtaining facial image of the user who identity is to be verified).
As to claim 12, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the media captured by the camera-capable device is an image (Wang: paragraph 233 discloses content from the wearable device includes obtaining facial image of the user who identity is to be verified).
As to claim 13, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the media captured by the camera-capable device is an video (Wang: paragraphs 210-211 reveal the media captured by the wearable device is a video).
As to claim 14, Wang teaches a computer-implemented method (abstract discloses method and apparatus for registering a user and authenticating the identities of interacting parties in real time)comprising:
detecting, by an electronically-enabled wearable device worn by a subject, a camera-capable device within range from the electronically-enabled wearable device (paragraph 74 reveals the wearable comprises cameras. Paragraph 135 discloses the system may determine that two or more wearable devices are in close proximity to one another by wearable devices directly detecting signals from other wearable devices. Paragraphs 30 and 160 reveal the wearable device worn by the associated user);
sending, to the camera-capable device, a request for identification information of a user associated with the camera-capable device (paragraph 125 discloses the wearable devices may be configured to exchange information about their respective authorized users (e. g. to confirm the identity of one user in near proximity to another user). This exchange may occur automatically when the wearable devices are in close proximity to one another or when a user of one wearable device causes that wearable device to send a request for identity of the user of another wearable device. The wearable device may be configured to require authorization from the authorized user before information about the authorized user is provided to the user of another wearable device);
receiving, from the camera-capable device, a response comprising identification information for the user (paragraph 136 discloses when wearable device 12a and wearable device 12b are determined to be in close proximity to each other and both have their verified status set, wearable devices 12a and 12b may exchange information about their authorized users);
determining, based on the identification information, an authorization [role] for the user (paragraphs 146-149 reveal the information the wearable device receives from the server about another wearable device ensures the authorized user data is accurate. The system is configured to provide a different set of information in the first authorized wearer's “restricted” section, depending on whether the second authorized wearer is a police officer; a customs or immigration officer; a fellow employee of the first authorized wearer; a member of the opposite sex; an emergency responder; a neighbor; and/or a fellow citizen of the same country. Paragraph 126 reveals the identification information is verified according to biometric information); and
sending, to the camera-capable device, [data] generated for the camera-capable device based on the authorization level for the user (paragraph 236 reveal cameras from the wearable device captures images of user’s face and such image files are transmitted to the server. The server uses facial recognition component to compare the captured images with the images (or image recognition parameters) of all registered users stored in the database. After the process for authentication is complete, server sends the identity information(thus the authorization metadata) of user Pb wearable device to person Pa wearable device via network. Paragraph 246 discloses when database receives media from the wearable device, database may perform a number of functions (e. g. authentication of the received media). Authentication may, for example, verify a digital signature on videos or images corresponds to an authorized wearable device and/or that the digital signature corresponds to the specific wearable device from which the media was received as genuine. In some embodiments, database may index the received media for sorting and searching using the metadata associated with the media. The metadata may include one or more or any combination of location, date and time, place with altitude, latitude, longitude and viewing direction at which the media was acquired, including but not limited to associated audio data like music melody, making the search more efficient. Paragraphs 136-146 also disclose wearable device may also exchange additional information the type of information exchanged may be set by the authorized users of wearable devices and/or by an administrator of the wearable devices based on the role/authorization level of the user).
Wang does not teach determining that a camera of the camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or a video capturing mode; determining, based on the identification information, an authorization level for the user; sending, to the camera-capable device, a camera control signal generated for the camera capable device based on the authorization level for the user and wherein the camera- capable device is configured to disable the media capturing function of the camera-capable device upon receiving the camera control signal.
Matthew teaches receiving, from the camera-capable device, a response comprising identification information for the user (Figure 8, reference number 810 and column 47, lines 14-45 disclose the control circuitry of the system receives a response that involves identifying the second device of another user ); determining, based on the identification information, an authorization level for the user (Figure 8, reference number 814 and column 47, lines 40-45 disclose the control circuitry of the system determines, based on the identified second device, that the second user is authorized to grant access rights for the second device); and sending, to the camera-capable device, a camera control signal generated for the camera capable device based on the authorization level for the user (Figure 8, reference number 818 and column 47, lines 46-64 disclose the control circuitry of the system obtains interaction data between the individual and the second user and determines a degree of interaction between the individual and the second user , and sends access rights/authorization metadata for the second device to the first device (user computer equipment, or wireless user communication devices which are camera capable devices)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system with the camera capable device teachings in Matthews’ system to address the security and privacy concerns of the user's device by establishing automatic connections only when the user is familiar and comfortable with the individual that is trying to connect to the user's device (column 1, lines 15-22 and 31-40 of Matthews).
The combination of Wang in view of Matthews does not teach determining that a camera of the camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or a video capturing mode; wherein the camera capable device is configured to disable the media capturing function of the camera-capable device upon receiving the camera control signal.
Torikai teaches detecting, by an electronically-enabled wearable device worn by a subject, a nearby camera-capable device (paragraph 73 discloses a wearable device can determine that a user has a digital camera/camera-capable device); determining that a camera of the camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or a video capturing mode (paragraphs 73 and 190-191 disclose a wearable device can determine that a camera is active/state where the user can shoot pictures with the digital camera).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device teachings in Matthew’s system and incorporate the wearable device as taught by Torikai to provide a technique capable of reducing or preventing the missing of shooting chances for a user carrying an imaging apparatus (paragraph 12 of Torikai).
The combination of Matthew in view of Torikai does not teach, but Blom teaches wherein the camera capable device is configured to disable the media capturing function of the camera-capable device upon receiving the camera control signal (paragraphs 8-9 disclose the captured content/image may contain metadata that includes a variety of information related to the captured content. Such metadata may include authorization information. For example, if a subject of captured content authorizes the use and storage of the captured content, such authorization may be embedded within the metadata of a content file storing the content. Such authorization information may be used to determine whether the content may be blocked, or published or printed by a third party photograph printer. Paragraph 34 also disclose if a target device responds in the negative/sends a negative signal, the capturing device may ignore the device or eliminate it from the authorization list and does not transmit the captured content file to the target device. Thus, the target device is disabled/blocked from receiving the captured content file).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device teachings in Matthew’s system, the wearable device as taught by Torikai with Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device such that an individual of any form of multimedia content has the ability to exercise control over their images (paragraph 4 of Blom).
As to claim 15, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the wearable device comprises eyewear (Wang: paragraph 55 discloses the wearable device can be in the form of eyeglasses).
As to claim 16, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the eyewear comprises a goggles, face shield, eyeglasses, or sunglasses ((Wang: paragraph 55 discloses the wearable device can be in the form of eyeglasses; Torikai: paragraph 51 discloses the wearable device may be eyeglasses or helmet with a wireless communication function). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 14.
As to claim 17, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the wearable device is in communication with a mobile device associated with the subject (Torikai: paragraph 115 reveals that the smartphone and the wearable device are configured to be able to wirelessly communicate with each other). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 14.
As to claim 18, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the at least one image captured by the camera-capable device includes the subject (Wang: paragraph 233 discloses content from the wearable device includes obtaining facial image of the user who identity is to be verified).
As to claim 20, the combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, and Blom teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (Wang: paragraphs 74-75 reveal the wearable device comprises processor and memory coupled to the processor. The memory stores software, such as the real-time authentication software, that can be executed by the processor): send a camera control signal configured to block a media capturing function of the camera of the camera-capable device in response to determining that the authorization level for the user indicates that the user does not have authorization to capture an image (Wang: paragraph 82 discloses the wearable device enters stealth mode, when it is detected an unauthorized user is using the wearable device. Paragraph 127 further details when the device is stolen, the lens of the wearable device may be configured to be opaque and/or to display an outwardly visual indicator (such as a message saying “THIS HARDWARE IS STOLEN”) unless the verified status is set. Thus, the wearable device is prevented from capturing images).
As to claim 21, Wang teaches a system (abstract discloses apparatus for registering a user and authenticating the identities of interacting parties in real time), comprising:
a memory (paragraphs 74-75 reveal the wearable device comprises processor and memory coupled to the processor); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (paragraphs 74-75 reveal the wearable device comprises processor and memory coupled to the processor. The memory stores software, such as the real-time authentication software, that can be executed by the processor):
cause an electronically-enabled wearable device worn by a subject to detect a camera-capable device within range from the electronically-enabled wearable device (paragraph 74 reveals the wearable comprises cameras. Paragraph 135 discloses the system may determine that two or more wearable devices are in close proximity to one another by wearable devices directly detecting signals from other wearable devices. Paragraphs 30 and 160 reveal the wearable device worn by the associated user);
send, to the camera-capable device, a request for identification information of a user associated with the camera-capable device (paragraph 125 discloses the wearable devices may be configured to exchange information about their respective authorized users (e. g. to confirm the identity of one user in near proximity to another user). This exchange may occur automatically when the wearable devices are in close proximity to one another or when a user of one wearable device causes that wearable device to send a request for identity of the user of another wearable device. The wearable device may be configured to require authorization from the authorized user before information about the authorized user is provided to the user of another wearable device);
receive, from the camera-capable device, a response comprising identification information for the user (paragraph 136 discloses when wearable device 12a and wearable device 12b are determined to be in close proximity to each other and both have their verified status set, wearable devices 12a and 12b may exchange information about their authorized users);
determine, based on the identification information, an authorization [role] of the user (paragraphs 146-149 reveal the information the wearable device receives from the server about another wearable device ensures the authorized user data is accurate. The system is configured to provide a different set of information in the first authorized wearer's “restricted” section, depending on whether the second authorized wearer is a police officer; a customs or immigration officer; a fellow employee of the first authorized wearer; a member of the opposite sex; an emergency responder; a neighbor; and/or a fellow citizen of the same country. Paragraph 126 reveals the identification information is verified according to biometric information);
send, to the camera capable device, authorization metadata generated for the camera capable device based on the authorization level of the user (paragraph 236 reveal cameras from the wearable device captures images of user’s face and such image files are transmitted to the server. The server uses facial recognition component to compare the captured images with the images (or image recognition parameters) of all registered users stored in the database. After the process for authentication is complete, server sends the identity information(thus the authorization metadata) of user Pb wearable device to person Pa wearable device via network. Paragraph 246 discloses when database receives media from the wearable device, database may perform a number of functions (e. g. authentication of the received media). Authentication may, for example, verify a digital signature on videos or images corresponds to an authorized wearable device and/or that the digital signature corresponds to the specific wearable device from which the media was received as genuine. In some embodiments, database may index the received media for sorting and searching using the metadata associated with the media. The metadata may include one or more or any combination of location, date and time, place with altitude, latitude, longitude and viewing direction at which the media was acquired, including but not limited to associated audio data like music melody, making the search more efficient Paragraphs 136-146 also disclose wearable device may also exchange additional information the type of information exchanged may be set by the authorized users of wearable devices and/or by an administrator of the wearable devices based on the role/authorization level of the user); wherein:
the camera capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device …(paragraph 211 discloses information may be stored as metadata in each image, video and/or audio file. Metadata may also, or in the alternative, be stored in each media file (image and/or video and/or audio) in the form of a digital watermark (that may be visible or invisible to the human eyes). All photos, videos, or audio uploaded onto database may thus carry metadata identifying the specific person acquiring the images, videos, or audio as well as the date, time and geographical location for creating the images/videos/audio. This information may be assigned with a digital certificate of the authorized user of the device so that the media's authenticity (video and/or still image and/or audio) can be established. Wearable device may be configured such that the digital signing function is available only when the user wearing the wearable device has been verified biometrically because he or she is the authorized user of the wearable device); and
wherein the authorization [data] is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more viewing, saving, or sharing of the [data] (paragraphs 84-85, 122, 137-149 reveal that once the identity of the other wearable device is verified, authorized users (role of the user) such as relevant authorities, and any user-preset relatives, friends, colleagues can have access to restricted still/moving images, location information on the wearable device).
Wang does not teach determine that a camera of the nearby camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or a video capturing mode; responsive to determining that the camera is in at least image capturing mode or video capturing mode, send a [message]; determine, based on the identification information, an authorization level for the user; wherein: the camera-capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device while the camera-capable device is within range of and remains detectable by the wearable device worn by the subject; and the authorization metadata is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more of viewing, saving, or sharing of the captured media.
Matthews teaches determine, based on the identification information, an authorization level for the user (Figure 8, reference number 814 and column 47, lines 40-45 disclose the control circuitry of the system determines, based on the identified second device, that the second user is authorized to grant access rights for the second device); and send, to the camera-capable device, authorization metadata generated for the camera-capable device based on the authorization level for the user (Figure 8, reference number 818 and column 47, lines 46-64 disclose the control circuitry of the system obtains interaction data between the individual and the second user and determines a degree of interaction between the individual and the second user, and sends access rights/authorization metadata for the second device to the first device (user computer equipment, or wireless user communication devices which are camera capable devices)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system with the camera capable device teachings in Matthews’ system to address the security and privacy concerns of the user's device by establishing automatic connections only when the user is familiar and comfortable with the individual that is trying to connect to the user's device (column 1, lines 15-22 and 31-40 of Matthews)
The combination of Wang in view of Matthews does not teach determine that a camera of the nearby camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or video capturing mode; responsive to determining that the camera is in at least image capturing mode or video capturing mode, send a [message]; the camera-capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device while the camera-capable device is within range of and remains detectable by the wearable device worn by the subject; and the authorization metadata is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more of viewing, saving, or sharing of the captured media.
Torikai teaches cause an electronically-enabled wearable device worn by a subject to detect a nearby camera-capable device (paragraph 73 discloses a wearable device can determine that a user has a digital camera/camera-capable device); and determine that a camera of the nearby camera-capable device is in at least an image capturing mode or video capturing mode (paragraphs 73 and 190-191 disclose a wearable device can determine that a camera is active state where the user can shoot pictures with the camera); responsive to determining that the camera is in at least image capturing mode or video capturing mode, send a request (paragraphs 74-75 discloses when the wearable device determines that a shooting chance arrives and that the user has the digital camera in or near his/her hand, the arrival of the shooting chance is notified via a message sent to the wearable device).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device teachings in Matthew’s system and incorporate the wearable device as taught by Torikai to provide a technique capable of reducing or preventing the missing of shooting chances for a user carrying an imaging apparatus (paragraph 12 of Torikai).
The combination of Wang in view of Matthew, Torikai, does not teach, but Blom teaches the camera-capable device is configured to embed the authorization metadata in media captured by the camera-capable device while the camera-capable device is within range of and remains detectable by the wearable device worn by the subject (paragraphs 8-9 disclose a content capturing device may detect one or more devices having one or more predetermined characteristics at the time a particular content/image was captured. The capturing device and other mobile devices in proximity to the capturing device may have BLUETOOTH wireless capabilities. Thus, the capturing device may detect and communicate with the other BLUETOOTH wireless devices within a wireless range. Alternatively, the capturing device may communicate with a wireless or cellular server that may determine a list of matching devices based on stored information that matches a set of received parameters. The captured content/image may contain metadata that includes a variety of information related to the captured content); and the authorization metadata is configured to allow or disallow, based on the authorization level of the user, one or more of viewing, saving, or sharing of the captured media (paragraphs 8-9 disclose the captured content/image may contain metadata that includes a variety of information related to the captured content. Such metadata may include the time the content was captured, the duration of the content (i.e., video content), the size of the content and/or authorization information. For example, if a subject of captured content authorizes the use and storage of the captured content, such authorization may be embedded within the metadata of a content file storing the content. Such authorization information may be used to determine whether the content may be published or printed by a third party photograph printer).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device teachings in Matthew’s system, the wearable device as taught by Torikai with Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device such that an individual of any form of multimedia content has the ability to exercise control over their images (paragraph 4 of Blom).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 20180324177 (hereinafter Wang), in view of Matthews US 10412434 (hereinafter Matthews), in further view of Torikai US 20170353655 (hereinafter Torikai), in further view of Blom et al US 20070162971 (hereinafter Blom), and in further view of Jin et al US 20100251109 (hereinafter Jin).
As to claim 6, the combination of Wang, in view of Matthews, Torikai, and Blom teaches all the limitations recited in claim 5 above, but does not teach wherein the authorization level for the user is one of: a first authorization level indicating that the user is authorized to view, save and share the captured media; a second authorization level indicating that the user is authorized to view and save the captured media; a third authorization level indicating that the user is authorized to view the captured image; and a fourth authorization level indicating that the user is not authorized to view, save, or share the captured media.
Jin teaches wherein the authorization level for the user is one of: a first authorization level indicating that the user is authorized to view, save and share the captured media; a second authorization level indicating that the user is authorized to view and save the captured media; a third authorization level indicating that the user is authorized to view the captured image (paragraph 82 and Figure 7, sharing level 1 reveal the apparatus provide the corresponding picture in the form of a thumbnail for the user to view the thumbnail of the picture); and a fourth authorization level indicating that the user is not authorized to view, save, or share the captured media (paragraph 82 and Figure 7, sharing level 0 reveal the apparatus may not share the corresponding picture at sharing level 0. As shown in Figure 7, for sharing level 0, a user is not able to view, save, nor share the photo).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device in Matthew’s system in further view of incorporating a wearable device as taught by Torikai and the Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device with Jin’s teachings of authorized sharing levels to provide pictures differentiated according to sharing level and thus allow the user to control access to pictures according to the requesting user(s) (paragraphs 3 and 5 of Jin).
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 20180324177 (hereinafter Wang), in view of Matthews US 10412434 (hereinafter Matthews), in further view of Torikai US 20170353655 (hereinafter Torikai), in further view of Blom et al US 20070162971 (hereinafter Blom), in further view of Jin et al US 20100251109 (hereinafter Jin), and in further view of Chen et al US 8744143 (hereinafter Chen).
As to claim 7, the combination of Wang in view of Matthews, Torikai, Blom, and Jin teaches all the limitations recited in claim 6 above, but does not teach, yet Chen teaches wherein determining an authorization level for the user comprises: determining, based on the identification information for the user, a social connection status indicating a degree of connection between the subject and the user within a social network of the subject (column 3, lines 4-8 disclose within a social network, the photo can have permissions allowing various levels of access depending on the user identification such as social connections of friends, friends of friends, or all members); and
assigning, to the user, an authorization level indicating access rights of the user to the captured media, wherein the authorization level is based on a privacy preference set by the subject and indicating an authorization level for each social connection status value of a set of possible social connection status values (column 2, lines 60+ to column 3, lines 1-8 disclose within a social network, the photograph is assigned/can have permissions allowing various levels of access depending on social connections of friends, friends of friends, all members, etc.). If permissions have yet to be obtained, or if permission has been denied, the photograph is published with one or more individuals blurred. If all permissions have been obtained, the photograph appears without blurring).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device in Matthew’s system in further view of incorporating a wearable device as taught by Torikai, Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device, and Jin’s teachings of authorized sharing levels with Chen’s teachings of authorization level granted based on social connection to provide improved consent-based technique for ensuring privacy for online photos (column 1, lines 28-30 of Chen).
As to claim 8, the combination of Wang in view of Matthews, Torikai, Blom, and Jin teaches all the limitations recited in claim 6 above and further teach providing, to the subject, a prompt comprising identification information for the user, a first option, and a second option, wherein: selection of the first option causes a request to connect to be sent to the user (Jin: paragraphs 49 and 51 disclose a user sends a picture request to the picture sharing apparatus, where another user wants to share his or her pictures. The pictures are set based on the sharing levels of the other users. The sharing level may be based upon user information, user terminal information, or a combination thereof ) ; and selection of the second option causes the prompt to be dismissed (Figure 1 shows a prompt settings where the selection of non-visible, the photo is visible to self, thus dismissing the other selections). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 6.
The combination of Matthews in view of Torikai, Blom, and Jin does not teach, yet Chen teaches wherein determining an authorization level for the user comprises: determining, based on the identification information for the user, a social connection status indicating a degree of connection between the subject and the user within a social network of the subject (column 3, lines 4-8 disclose within a social network, the photo can have permissions allowing various levels of access depending on the user identification such as friends, friends of friends, or all members. Thus, the system identifies the social connection status of friends, friends of friends, or all members based on the permission level for the photo).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera-capable device in Matthew’s system in further view of incorporating a wearable device as taught by Torikai, Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device, and Jin’s teachings of authorized sharing levels with Chen’s teachings of authorization level granted based on social connection to provide improved consent-based technique for ensuring privacy for online photos (column 1, lines 28-30 of Chen).
As to claim 9, the combination of Wang in view of Matthews, Torikai, Blom, Jin, and Chen teaches wherein the prompt further comprises a third option and wherein: selection of the third option causes a selectable list of possible authorization levels to be displayed to the subject (Jin: Figure 1 shows the prompt setting of possible authorization levels that are displayed to the subject for friends, family, and “all”); and selection of an authorization level from the list of possible authorization levels causes the selected authorization level to be assigned to the user (Jin: paragraph 10 discloses the differentiation unit may select at least one setting corresponding to the user's sharing level from among a plurality of setting items subjected to different differentiation methods, and differentiates the picture according to the selected setting). Motivation similar to the motivation of claim 8.
As to claim 10, the combination of Wang in view of Matthews, Torikai, Blom, Jin, and Chen teaches wherein selection of the first option or the second option causes an authorization level to be assigned to the user based on a user configuration set by the subject indicating an authorization level based on the selected prompt option (Jin: paragraph 10 discloses the differentiation unit may select at least one setting corresponding to the user's sharing level from among a plurality of setting items subjected to different differentiation methods, and differentiates the picture according to the selected setting. Chen: column 2, lines 60+ to column 3, lines 1-8 disclose within a social network, the photograph can have permissions allowing various levels of access depending on friends, friends of friends, all members, etc.). If permissions have yet to be obtained, or if permission has been denied, the photograph is published with one or more individuals blurred. If all permissions have been obtained, the photograph appears without blurring ). Motivation similar to the motivation of claim 8.
As to claim 11, the combination of Wang, in view of Matthews, Torikai, Blom, Jin, and Chen teaches wherein the prompt is presented to the subject as a heads-up display on the electronically-enabled wearable device (Torikai: paragraph 75 discloses the wearable device can display a message/prompt to the user. The name of the subject can also be displayed with the prompt/message). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 20180324177 (hereinafter Wang), in view of Matthews US 10412434 (hereinafter Matthews), in further view of Torikai US 20170353655 (hereinafter Torikai), in further view of Blom et al US 20070162971 (hereinafter Blom), and in further view of Chen et al US 8744143 (hereinafter Chen).
As to claim 19, the combination of Wang in view of Matthews, Torikai, and Blom, teaches all the limitations recited in claim 14 above, but does not teach, yet Chen teaches wherein determining an authorization level for the user comprises: determining, based on the identification information for the user, a social connection status indicating a degree of connection between the subject and the user within a social network of the subject (column 3, lines 4-8 disclose within a social network, the photo can have permissions allowing various levels of access depending on the user identification such as social connections of friends, friends of friends, or all members); and
assigning, to the user, an authorization level indicating access rights of the user to the captured media, wherein the authorization level is based on a privacy preference set by the subject and indicating an authorization level for each social connection status value of a set of possible social connection status values (column 2, lines 60+ to column 3, lines 1-8 disclose within a social network, the photograph is assigned/can have permissions allowing various levels of access depending on social connections of friends, friends of friends, all members, etc.). If permissions have yet to be obtained, or if permission has been denied, the photograph is published with one or more individuals blurred. If all permissions have been obtained, the photograph appears without blurring).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system in view of the camera capable device in Matthew’s system in further view of incorporating a wearable device as taught by Torikai, Blom’s teachings of the authorization metadata embedded in the camera-capable device, and Jin’s teachings of authorized sharing levels with Chen’s teachings of authorization level granted based on social connection to provide improved consent-based technique for ensuring privacy for online photos (column 1, lines 28-30 of Chen).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437