DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 28 Jul. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rege US 2008/0148938 (hereafter Rege).
Regarding claim 1, Rege teaches a system for water harvesting and carbon dioxide removal from air (Fig 1), the system comprising:
a sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (molecule comprising 12, 14) that includes a first water capture unit (14) and a second water capture unit (12) coupled in series to an atmospheric air intake (10a), wherein the first water capture unit utilizes a first sorbent material that is different than a second sorbent material utilized by the second water capture unit (¶39); and
a direct air capture module that includes a carbon dioxide capture unit (16), wherein the direct capture module is in fluid communication with, and downstream from, the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (as shown in Fig 1), wherein the carbon dioxide capture unit is configured to remove carbon dioxide from air dried by the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (¶68).
Regarding claim 5, Rege teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Rege further teaches wherein the first water capture unit is configured to adsorb water vapor from air supplied by the atmospheric air intake, wherein the air has a relative humidity within a first defined range, wherein the second water capture unit is configured to adsorb water vapor from an output air stream supplied by the first water capture unit, wherein the output air has a relative humidity within a second defined range that is outside and below the first defined range (¶37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rege as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crooks et al. US 2014/0053729 (hereafter Crooks).
Regarding claim 2, Rege teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Does not teach teaches wherein the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module further includes: a first heater configured to heat the first water capture unit based on the first sorbent material achieving a first defined water saturation threshold; and a second heater configured to heat the second water capture unit based on the second sorbent material achieving a second defined water saturation threshold.
Crooks teaches a system for water harvesting and carbon dioxide removal from air (Fig 1), the system comprising:
a sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (molecule comprising 18 and 16) that includes a first water capture unit (16) and a second water capture unit (18) coupled in series to an atmospheric air intake (14), wherein the second water capture unit utilizes a second sorbent material (¶33); and
a direct air capture module that includes a carbon dioxide capture unit (20), wherein the direct capture module is in fluid communication with, and downstream from, the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (as shown in Fig 1), wherein the carbon dioxide capture unit is configured to remove carbon dioxide from air dried by the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (¶40).
Crooks further teaches wherein the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module further includes a second heater (36 in Fig 2) configured to heat the second water capture unit (34) based on the second sorbent material achieving a second defined water saturation threshold (¶37, ¶53, where the threshold is releasing the adsorbed water).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (12, 14) of Rege by incorporating a first heater (heater equivalent to heater 36 in Fig 2 of Crooks) configured to heat the first water capture unit (12 of Rege) based on the first sorbent material achieving a first defined water saturation threshold (Crooks ¶53, threshold of releasing adsorbed water); and a second heater (36 of Crooks) configured to heat the second water capture unit based (12 of Rege; 34 of Crooks) on the second sorbent material achieving a second defined water saturation threshold (Crooks ¶53, threshold of releasing adsorbed water) in order to release adsorbed water with minimal energy used and minimal costs (Crooks ¶53).
The modification would have resulted in wherein the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module further includes: a first heater configured to heat the first water capture unit based on the first sorbent material achieving a first defined water saturation threshold; and a second heater configured to heat the second water capture unit based on the second sorbent material achieving a second defined water saturation threshold.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rege in view of Crooks as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sharma US 2022/0286020 (hereafter Sharma).
Regarding claims 3-4, Rege in view of Crooks teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
Rege does not teach wherein the first heater, the second heater, or a combination thereof is powered by a waste heat energy source; wherein the waste heat energy source is derived from operation of a hydrocarbon well.
Sharma teaches where wherein the waste heat energy source is derived from operation of a hydrocarbon well (abstract) in order to generate carbon neutral electricity (¶23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric heater (¶52) of Crooks such that wherein the first heater, the second heater, or a combination thereof is powered by a waste heat energy source; wherein the waste heat energy source is derived from operation of a hydrocarbon well (¶23) of Sharma in order to generate carbon neutral electricity (¶23).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rege as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Francis et al. US 2023/0024571 (hereafter Francis).
Regarding claim 6, Rege teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Rege does not teach a mobile extraction platform that includes the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module and the direct air capture module, wherein the mobile extraction platform is a vehicle.
Francis teaches a carbon dioxide and water capture system (¶1) where the system comprising a mobile extraction platform that includes the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module and the direct air capture module, wherein the mobile extraction platform is a vehicle in order to move relative to ambient air (¶22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating the vehicle as a mobile extraction platform (¶22) of Francis in order to move relative to ambient air (¶22).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rege in view of Francis as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Crooks et al. US 2014/0053729 (hereafter Crooks).
Regarding claim 7, Rege in view of Francis teaches all the limitations of claim 6.
Rege does not teach wherein the mobile extraction platform further includes: a water storage vessel that collects water harvested by at least one of the first water capture unit and the second water capture unit; and a carbon dioxide storage vessel that collects carbon dioxide extracted by the carbon dioxide capture unit.
Crooks teaches a system for water harvesting and carbon dioxide removal from air (Fig 1), the system comprising:
a sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (molecule comprising 18 and 16) that includes a first water capture unit (16) and a second water capture unit (18) coupled in series to an atmospheric air intake (14), wherein the second water capture unit utilizes a second sorbent material (¶33); and
a direct air capture module that includes a carbon dioxide capture unit (20), wherein the direct capture module is in fluid communication with, and downstream from, the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (as shown in Fig 1), wherein the carbon dioxide capture unit is configured to remove carbon dioxide from air dried by the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (¶40).
Crooks further teaches a water storage vessel (30) that collects water harvested by at least one of the first water capture unit (16) and the second water capture unit (18); and a carbon dioxide storage vessel (58) that collects carbon dioxide extracted by the carbon dioxide capture unit (20) in order to use the water for any suitable purpose (¶32) and store the carbon dioxide before being sent for storage or to a job site (¶47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating the water storage vessel (30) and carbon dioxide capture unit (20) of Crooks in order to use the water for any suitable purpose (¶32) and store the carbon dioxide before being sent for storage or to a job site (¶47).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rege as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Besarati et al US 2021/0146299 (hereafter Besarati) and Kapustin et al. US 2024/0115990 published 11 Apr. 2024 and filed 11 Oct. 2022 (hereafter Kapustin).
Regarding claim 8, Rege in view of Francis teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Rege does not teach a control unit that includes a processor configured to implement computer executable instructions, where the control unit is operably coupled to a plurality of valves that regulate: a first fluid communication between the first water capture unit and the atmospheric air intake, and a second fluid communication between the second water capture unit and the carbon dioxide capture unit.
Besarati teaches a system (Fig 2) comprising a sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (31) and a direct air capture module (30) comprising a plurality of valves (shown in Fig 2) that regulate: a first fluid communication (via valve between air pump 12 and water removal unit 31) between the first water capture unit (31) and the atmospheric air intake (10), and a second fluid communication (via valve in Dry Air) between the water capture unit and the carbon dioxide capture unit. Besarati teaches where the valve control adsorption-desorption cycles (¶17) and where water (via storage 15) and CO2 (via storage 17) are stored separately (Fig 2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Valves)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating the plurality of valves (shown above and in Fig 2) of Besarati in order to control adsorption-desorption cycles (¶17) and store the water (via storage 15) and CO2 (via storage 17) are separately (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating a control unit including a processor configured to implement computer executable instructions to control the valve (of Besarati Fig 2) in order to automate the valve and system operation.
The modification would have resulted in a control unit that includes a processor configured to implement computer executable instructions, where the control unit is operably coupled to a plurality of valves that regulate: a first fluid communication between the first water capture unit and the atmospheric air intake, and a second fluid communication between the second water capture unit and the carbon dioxide capture unit.
Kapustin teaches a sorption system (Fig 1) comprising a controller (67) comprising a processor and computer memory (¶53) and implements air dehumidification algorithm (¶54) and executes instructions (¶8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating a control unit including a processor configured to implement computer executable instructions (¶8, ¶53-54) to control the valve (of Besarati Fig 2) in order to implement the sorption algorithm/process (Kapustin ¶8, ¶53-54).
The modification would have resulted in a control unit that includes a processor configured to implement computer executable instructions, where the control unit is operably coupled to a plurality of valves that regulate: a first fluid communication between the first water capture unit and the atmospheric air intake, and a second fluid communication between the second water capture unit and the carbon dioxide capture unit.
Regarding claim 9, Rege in view of Basarati teaches all the limitations of claim 8.
Rege does not teach wherein the control unit is operably coupled to a heater of the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module and a water sensor of the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module, and wherein the control unit is configured to close the first fluid communication and the second communication based on a water concentration value measured by the water sensor being greater than or equal to a water saturation threshold that characterizes an amount of water adsorbed by the first water capture unit.
Basarati teaches a heater (heater receiving hot fluid in Fig 2) of the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module in order to desorb water (¶18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (12, 14) of Rege by incorporating the heater (heater in 31 receiving hot fluid in Fig 2) of Basarati in order to desorb water (¶18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the heater (heater in 31 receiving hot fluid in Fig 2) of Basarati with the a control unit in order to automate the valve and system operation.
Basarati teaches closing the first fluid communication and the second communication during desorption (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by closing the first fluid communication and the second communication during desorption (Fig 2) of Basarati in order to desorb water and CO2 separately (Basarati ¶17; via storage 15; via storage 17)
Kapustin wherein the control unit is operably coupled to a heater of the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module and a water sensor of the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module, and wherein the control unit is configured to close the first fluid communication and the second communication based on a water concentration value measured by the water sensor being greater than or equal to a water saturation threshold that characterizes an amount of water adsorbed by the first water capture unit (¶27-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating the water sensor and controlling the adsorption/desorption based on the measured value (¶27-28) of Kapustin in order to desorb when the modules reach a target saturation (¶27-28).
Kapustin teaches a sorption system (Fig 1) comprising a controller (67) comprising a processor and computer memory (¶53) and implements air dehumidification algorithm (¶54) and executes instructions (¶8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating a control unit including a processor configured to implement computer executable instructions (¶8, ¶53-54) to control the valve (of Besarati Fig 2) and heater (Baearati Fig 2) in order to implement the sorption algorithm/process (Kapustin ¶8, ¶53-54).
Regarding claim 10, Rege in view of Basarati and Kapustin teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
Rege does not teach wherein the control unit is further configured to heat the first water capture unit, via the heater, based on the water concentration value being greater than or equal to the water saturation threshold.
Basarati teaches a heater (heater receiving hot fluid in Fig 2) of the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module in order to desorb water (¶18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sorption-based atmospheric water harvesting module (12, 14) of Rege by incorporating the heater (heater in 31 receiving hot fluid in Fig 2) of Basarati and controlling the heater based on the water concentration value (¶53-54) of Kapustin in order to desorb water (Basarati ¶18).
Kapustin teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to heat the first water capture unit, via the heater, based on the water concentration value being greater than or equal to the water saturation threshold (¶27-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Fig 1) of Rege by incorporating the control unit configured to heat the first water capture unit, via the heater, based on the water concentration value being greater than or equal to the water saturation threshold (¶27-28) of Kapustin in order to desorb when the modules reach a target saturation (¶27-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art is Rege US 2008/0148938, Ritter US 2020/0009494, Crooks US 2014/0053729, and Knox US 9,802,149. Rege teaches a first water capture module (14), a second water capture module (12) , and a carbon capture module (16). Rege teaches a first water capture module (32), a second water capture module (30), and a carbon capture module (PSA). Crooks teaches a first water capture module (16), a second water capture module (18), and a carbon capture module (20). Knox teaches a first water capture module (12), a second water capture module (13), and a carbon capture module (14). The prior art does not teach the control unit and the supply of processing flue gas as claimed.
Claims 17-20 depend upon claim 16.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776