DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 05/08/2024, said application claims a priority date of 05/09/2023.
Claims 1-21 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 20 and 21 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “…updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with the second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance in accordance with the second application user interface element such that the first application user interface element does not include the entry field, and forgoing displaying the soft keyboard in the messaging application user interface…” (emphasis added). The limitation is regarding the condition in which the respective application user interface element is the second application user interface element. It seems as though the limitation comprises a typo since it is written as the first application user interface element, when it should be referring to the second application user interface element. For the sake of prior art analysis, Examiner assumes the claim limitation should recite “…updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with the second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance in accordance with the second application user interface element such that the second application user interface element does not include the entry field, and forgoing displaying the soft keyboard in the messaging application user interface” was apparently intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnedin et al. (US 2017/0344257 A1, published 11/30/2017, hereinafter “Gnedin”) in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0121205 A1, effectively filed on 12/22/2022, hereinafter “Wang”) and further in view of Altwasser (US 2013/00198675 A1, published 08/01/2013, hereinafter “Altwasser”).
Independent Claims 1, 20 and 21:
Gnedin discloses a system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Gnedin: ¶ [0043]-[0044].), the computer system comprising:
one or more processors (Gnedin: ¶ [0006], [0088]);
memory (Gnedin: ¶ [0006], [0086]); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in memory [non-transitory computer readable storage medium] and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors including instructions for performing a method comprising (Gnedin: ¶ [0006], [0086], [0088]):
displaying, via the display generation component, a messaging application user interface that includes an input field (Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0096]);
while displaying the messaging application user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to an option for selecting a respective application user interface element in the messaging application user interface (The messaging app includes a dependent application menu that provides options that the user can select in order to adapt the input interface of the messaging app to display the selected dependent application (application user interface element), Gnedin: Figs. 3 and 4, ¶ [0096]-[0098]); and
in response to receiving the first user input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is a first application user interface element, updating an input interface of the messaging application user interface with a first visual appearance in accordance with the first application user interface element (Gnedin: Figs. 3 and 4, ¶ [0096], [0098].); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is a second application user interface element different from the first application user interface element, updating the input interface of the messaging application user interface with a second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance in accordance with the second application user interface element (Gnedin: Figs. 3, 4 and 7A, ¶ [0096]-[0097], [0104].).
Gnedin does not appear to expressly teach a system, medium and method wherein visually updating the input interface corresponds to the input field.
However, Wang teaches a system, medium and method wherein the visual appearance of the input field is updated when a menu option is selected (The messaging app comprises an input field that includes a menu that provides a plurality of selectable options within the input field, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]. When a particular menu option is selected (e.g. schedule message) within the message input box, the message input box is changed based on the selected option (updated send button and additional send time option), Wang: Fig. 1b1, ¶ [0060]. Although, Wang only shows examples of how the message input box changes when a particular menu option is selected, Fig. 1a1 shows that the particular menu option is highlighted when selected. Wang does not mention this highlighting feature in the written description, however, highlighting a selected menu option within a toolbar was known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. This is evidenced by ¶ [0004] of Altwasser. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide a clearer indication to the user of which menu option has been selected. As such, the message input box of Wang would have a different icon highlighted if a different application was selected (visual appearance of input field updated).).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system, medium and method of Gnedin wherein the visual appearance of the input field is updated when a menu option is selected, as taught by Wang in view of Altwasser.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to maximize the available display real estate by consolidating the menu options into the message input box display area (Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059].) and to provide to the user a better indication of the selected menu option (Altwasser: ¶ [0004]).
In combination, Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser teaches a system, medium and method comprising:
in response to receiving the first user input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is a first application user interface element, updating an input field of the messaging application user interface with a first visual appearance in accordance with the first application user interface element (The user can select a menu option to adapt the input interface of the message application, Gnedin: Figs. 3 and 4, ¶ [0096], [0098]. The menu options are displayed within the message input box, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]. The appearance of the message input box is changed based on the selected menu option, Wang: Fig. 1a1 and 1b1, ¶ [0004]; Altwasser: ¶ [0004].); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is a second application user interface element different from the first application user interface element, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with a second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance in accordance with the second application user interface element (The user can select a menu option to adapt the input interface of the message application, Gnedin: Figs. 3 and 4, ¶ [0096], [0098]. The menu options are displayed within the message input box, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]. The appearance of the message input box is changed based on the selected menu option, Wang: Fig. 1a1; Altwasser: ¶ [0004].).
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
while displaying the input field of the messaging application user interface without the respective application user interface element, receiving, via the one or more inputs devices, a second user input directed to the messaging application user interface (The user can provide an input to select the “+” icon in the messaging application, Wang: Figs. 1a1 and 1a2, ¶ [0059].); and
in response to receiving the second user input, displaying, via the display generation component, an application selection user interface that includes a plurality of application user interfaces including the respective application user interface element, wherein at least one application user interface is configurable to be added to, removed from, or rearranged in the application selection user interface (In response to selecting the “+” icon, a panel is displayed that enables to user to select a menu option, Wang: Figs. 1a2, ¶ [0059]. The menu options correspond to dependent applications, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0096]. The user can determine which dependent applications are added to the menu, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0097]).
Claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the first user input, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with a respective visual appearance in accordance with the respective application user interface element and the first user input (The user can select a menu option to adapt the input interface of the message application, Gnedin: Figs. 3 and 4, ¶ [0096], [0098]. The menu options are displayed within the message input box, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]. The appearance of the message input box is changed based on the selected menu option, Wang: Fig. 1a1 and 1b1, ¶ [0004]; Altwasser: ¶ [0004].);
while displaying the messaging application user interface with the input field having the respective visual appearance, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a request to update the respective application user interface element (The user can provide input to update the selected option with user inputted data while the message input box has the respective visual appearance, Wang: Fig. 1b1 and 1c1, ¶ [0060]-[0061]. The selected option corresponds to a dependent application, Gnedin: Fig. 4, ¶ [0098]-[0099].);
in response to receiving the second user input, updating the input field of the messaging user interface with a respective visual appearance in accordance with the second user input (The user inputted data is populated into the message input box, Wang: Fig. 1c1, 1d1, ¶ [0061], Gnedin: Figs. 5A-5B, ¶ [0100]-[0101]);
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third user input directed towards a send user interface element in the input field of the messaging application user interface (The user can select the send button in the message input box, Wang: Fig. 1d1 and 1e1, ¶ [0061]; Gnedin: Fig. 5B, ¶ [0100]-[0101].); and
in response to receiving the third user input, performing an operation corresponding to the respective application user interface element (The user input data from the dependent application is sent (operation corresponding to the respective application user interface element) in response to selecting the send button, Wang: Fig. 1d1, ¶ [0061]; Gnedin: Fig. 5B, ¶ [0100]-[0101].).
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising in response to receiving the first user input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is the first application user interface element:
updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with the first visual appearance in accordance with the first application user interface element such that the first application user interface element includes an entry field, and displaying a soft keyboard in the messaging application user interface (The dependent application can utilize a virtual keyboard, Gnedin: ¶ [0059], [0062]. The dependent application can include a search field (entry field), Gnedin: Fig. 7A, ¶ [0104]); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is the second application user interface element:
updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with the second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance in accordance with the second application user interface element such that the second application user interface element does not include the entry field, and forgoing displaying the soft keyboard in the messaging application user interface (Dependent applications can replace the soft keyboard and not include a search entry field, Gnedin: Fig. 4, ¶ [0048], [0098].).
Claim 11:
The rejection of claim 10 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method wherein the second application user interface element includes an audio messaging application user interface element or a location sharing application user interface element (The output of the dependent application can include audio, Gnedin: ¶ [0048]. The menu option can correspond to location information, Wang: Fig. 1a2.).
Claim 12:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising in response to receiving the first user input:
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is the first application user interface element, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with the first visual appearance such that the first application user interface element includes a first set of user interface elements in accordance with the first application user interface element (When the user selects the scheduling option, the message input box is displayed with scheduling options, Wang: Fig. 1b1, ¶ [0060]-[0061].); and
in accordance with a determination that the respective application user interface element is the second application user interface element different from the first application user interface element, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with the second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance such that the second application user interface element includes a second set of user interface elements different from the first set of user interface elements in accordance with the second application user interface element (It is clear that if the user selects one of the other menu options (e.g. Document, Cloud document, Calendar, Location, Personal business card, Task, Translate while writing) the scheduling options would not be displayed, Wang: Figs. 1a2 and 1b1, ¶ [0060]-[0061]. As such, there would be a different set of user interface elements because the scheduling options would be absent.).
Claim 13:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method wherein receiving, via the one or more input devices, the first user input directed to the option for selecting the respective application user interface element includes receiving the first user input directed to the option for selecting a camera application user interface element, a photos application user interface element, a stickers application user interface element, a payment application user interface element, an audio messaging application user interface element, a location sharing application user interface element, or an application store application user interface element (Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0097]).
Claim 14:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method wherein:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, the first user input directed to the option for selecting the respective application user interface element includes receiving the first user input directed to a user interface element representing an image stored on the electronic device (Gnedin: ¶ [0060]); and
the method further includes:
in response to detecting selection of the user interface element representing the image stored on the electronic device, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface to include a photos application user interface element (Gnedin: ¶ [0060]).
Claim 15:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
while displaying the messaging user interface with the input field including a text entry field and not including the respective application user interface element, and while displaying a soft keyboard in the messaging user interface (The messaging application can display a soft keyboard before the dependent application is selected, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0045], [0096].):
receiving, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs directed to the soft keyboard (Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0045]); and
in response to receiving the one or more inputs directed to the soft keyboard, updating the text entry field to include text corresponding to the one or more inputs directed to the soft keyboard (It is clear that the keystrokes from the virtual keyboard populates the text entry field, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0045]).
Claim 16:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
while displaying the messaging application user interface without displaying the respective application user interface element in the input field, displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option in the input field (The input field is displayed with a normal send button before the menu option is selected, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]); and
in response to receiving the first user input, ceasing to display the selectable option in the input field (In response to selecting the menu option, the normal send button is removed and a schedule send button is added to the input field, Wang: Fig. 1b1, ¶ [0060].).
Claim 17:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option in the input field, wherein the selectable option was not displayed while displaying the messaging application user interface without displaying the respective application user interface element in the input field (In response to selecting the menu option, multiple selectable options are presented in the input field that was not displayed before the menu option was selected, Wang: Fig. 1b1, ¶ [0060].).
Claim 18:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method wherein:
the input field is displayed, via the display generation component, with a first characteristic while displaying the messaging application user interface without displaying the respective application user interface element in the input field (The message input box is displayed with a first height (first characteristic) before the menu option is selected, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]); and
the method further comprising:
in response to receiving the first user input, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface from being displayed with the first characteristic to being displayed with a second characteristic different from the first characteristic (After the menu option is selected, the message input box is displayed with a different height (second characteristic), Wang: Figs. 1a1 and 1b1, ¶ [0060]).
Claim 19:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
while displaying the messaging application user interface without displaying the respective application user interface element in the input field, displaying, using the display generation component, a soft keyboard (Before the user selects a dependent application icon, a soft keyboard is displayed, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0096]); and
in response to receiving the first user input, ceasing display of the soft keyboard (Gnedin: Fig. 4, ¶ [0098].).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser and further in view of Suk et al. (US 2012/0023524 A1, published 01/26/2012, hereinafter “Suk”).
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein the application selection user interface includes a first portion including a fixed set of application user interface elements.
However, Suk teaches a method wherein the application selection user interface includes a first portion including a fixed set of application user interface elements (Suk: Fig. 20a, ¶ [0307]-[0308].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser wherein the application selection user interface includes a first portion including a fixed set of application user interface elements, as taught by Suk.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to ensure that the menu provides at least a minimum amount of selectable options that enable proper menu functionality (Suk: Fig. 20a, ¶ [0307]-[0308].).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnedin in view of Wang, further in view of Altwasser, further in view of Suk and further in view of Estes et al. (US 2014/0082495 A1, published 03/20/2014, hereinafter “Estes”).
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang, further in view of Altwasser and further in view of Suk does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein the first portion of the application selection user interface includes a user interface element, the method further comprising:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input directed towards the user interface element; and
in response to receiving the second user input:
ceasing display of the first portion of the application selection user interface; and
displaying, via the display generation component a second portion different from the first portion of the application selection user interface, wherein the second portion of the application user interface includes a variable set of application user interface elements.
However, Estes teaches a method wherein the first portion of the selection user interface includes a user interface element (A scroll bar is displayed with a first portion of menu items, Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]), the method further comprising:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input directed towards the user interface element (Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
ceasing display of a first portion of the selection user interface (When the user scrolls a first portion of the menu items will be leave the display and a second portion of the menu items will be displayed, Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]); and
displaying, via the display generation component a second portion different from the first portion of the selection user interface, (Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gnedin in view of Wang, further in view of Altwasser and further in view of Suk wherein the first portion of the selection user interface includes a user interface element, the method further comprising:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input directed towards the user interface element; and
in response to receiving the second user input:
ceasing display of a first portion of the selection user interface; and
displaying, via the display generation component a second portion different from the first portion of the selection user interface, as taught by Estes.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to overcome the limitations of the size of the display by enabling the user to access a larger set of menu items than can be provided for on the screen at one time via the scrolling functionality (Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]).
In combination, Gnedin in view of Wang, further in view of Altwasser and further in view of Suk and further in view of Estes teaches a method wherein the first portion of the application selection user interface includes a user interface element, the method further comprising (A scroll bar is displayed in the menu interface with a first portion of menu items, Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]. The menu items correspond to dependent applications, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0096]. The menu items include a fixed set of menu items and a set of user added menu items, Suk: Fig. 20a, ¶ [0307]-[0308]; Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0097].):
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input directed towards the user interface element (Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
ceasing display of the first portion of the application selection user interface (The user would be able to scroll from a first portion of the menu items to a second portion of the menu item, Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]); and
displaying, via the display generation component a second portion different from the first portion of the application selection user interface, wherein the second portion of the application user interface includes a variable set of application user interface elements (The user would be able to scroll from a first portion of the menu items to a second portion of the menu item, Estes: Fig. 5, ¶ [0078]. The menu items includes a first portion corresponding to a fixed set of menu items and second portion corresponding to user added menu items, Suk: Fig. 20a, ¶ [0307]-[0308]; Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0097]. Accordingly, the user would be able to scroll from the first portion to the second portion.).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnedin in view of Wang in view of Altwasser and further in view of Chaudhri et al. (US 2017/0336960 A1, published 11/23/2017, hereinafter “Chaudhri”).
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser further teaches a method further comprising:
while displaying the input field of the messaging application user interface without the respective application user interface element, receiving, via the one or more inputs devices, a second user input directed to the messaging application user interface (The user can access the menu options by pressing the “+” button, Wang: fig. 1a2, ¶ [0059]. The menu options correspond to dependent applications, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0096].); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
displaying, via the display generation component, an application selection user interface (In response to pressing the “+” button the menu option selection user interface is displayed, Wang: fig. 1a2, ¶ [0059]. The menu options correspond to dependent applications, Gnedin: Fig. 3, ¶ [0096].).
Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser does not appear to expressly teach a method comprising:
in response to receiving the second user input:
reducing a visual prominence of the messaging application user interface; and
wherein the selection user interface is displayed over the messaging application user interface with the reduced visual prominence.
However, Chaudhri teaches a method comprising:
in response to receiving the second user input:
reducing a visual prominence of the messaging application user interface (In response to triggering the menu option selection interface, the transcript of the messaging application is blurred (reducing visual prominence of messaging application), Chaudhri: Fig. 40H, ¶ [1010]); and
wherein the selection user interface is displayed over the messaging application user interface with the reduced visual prominence (The menu is displayed over the blurred messaging application, Chaudhri: Fig. 40H, ¶ [1010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gnedin in view of Wang and further in view of Altwasser to comprise:
in response to receiving the second user input:
reducing a visual prominence of the messaging application user interface; and
wherein the selection user interface is displayed over the messaging application user interface with the reduced visual prominence, as taught by Chaudhri.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by presenting a more focused presentation of the menu options by reducing visual clutter (Chaudhri: Fig. 40H, ¶ [1010]).
Claim 8:
The rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang, further in view of Altwasser and further in view of Chaudhri further teaches a method further comprising:
in response to receiving the first user input, updating the input field of the messaging application user interface with a respective visual appearance in accordance with the respective application user interface element and the first user input (The user can select a menu option to adapt the input interface of the message application, Gnedin: Figs. 3 and 4, ¶ [0096], [0098]. The menu options are displayed within the message input box, Wang: Fig. 1a1, ¶ [0059]. The appearance of the message input box is changed based on the selected menu option, Wang: Fig. 1a1 and 1b1, ¶ [0004]; Altwasser: ¶ [0004].);
while displaying the messaging application user interface with the input field having the respective visual appearance, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input directed to a selectable element included in the respective application user interface element (The user can provide input to select an element associated with the selected menu option while the message input box has the respective visual appearance, Wang: Fig. 1b1 and 1c1, ¶ [0060]-[0061]. The selected element is included in the respective application user interface element, Gnedin: Figs. 4-5B, ¶ [0098]-[0100]..); and
in response to receiving the second user input, performing an action associated with the respective application user interface element (Wang: Fig. 1b1 and 1c1, ¶ [0060]-[0061]; Gnedin: Figs. 4-5B, ¶ [0098]-[0100].).
Claim 9:
The rejection of claim of claim 8 is incorporated. Gnedin in view of Wang, further in view of Altwasser and further in view of Chaudhri further teaches a method wherein the action associated with the respective application user interface element includes revising content to be added to a messaging conversation displayed in the messaging application user interface, and the method further comprises (The user can select the paste option to paste the content from the dependent application into the message input box in order to add the pasted content to the message conversation, Gnedin: Figs. 5A-5B, ¶ [0100]):
in response to receiving the second user input, displaying, in the input field, a selectable option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to add the content to the messaging conversation, wherein the selectable option is not displayed prior to receiving the second user input (The send button is not added to the message input box until the content from the dependent application is pasted into the message input box, Gnedin: Figs. 5A-5B, ¶ [0100].).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Kim et al., US 2023/0370403 A1 (The message input box is change when the user selects an element in the application to switch to an assistant mode, ¶ [0064], [0072])
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178