A61M 15/002 A61M 15/002
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hess et al. (US 20190209044 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hess et al. discloses an inhaler monitoring system (figure 1) comprising:
a medicament device (respiration device, para. 0010) configured to provide medication to a user wherein the medicament device comprises:
a mouthpiece (a proximal end 76 configured to be sealably worn over a nose and/or mouth of the patient 12, para. 0097), wherein the mouthpiece comprise a sensor configured to measure an airflow through the mouthpiece and generate a signal associated with the airflow, wherein the sensor is oriented parallel to the airflow through the mouthpiece (pressure sensor 56, para. 0118),
a processor (processor 70) and memory (memory 30) for storing instructions (para. 0009) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
transmit the signal from the sensor (via a transceiver 52 in electrical communication with the processor 28, and is in wireless communication with the patient interface 18 to define a wireless communication link 54, para. 0094), and
facilitate an artificial reality environment (augmented reality may provide informational interactions for the patient. For example, a camera, a tablet (e.g., iPad) or smartphone can bring the patient's chosen object (e.g., animal) to life with virtually displayed information, para. 0142); and
an artificial reality headset configured to permit the user to interact in the artificial reality environment (para. 0142).
Regarding claim 2, Hess et al. discloses the inhaler monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the medicament device is a nebulizer (paras. 0090, 0145).
Regarding claim 3, Hess et al. discloses the inhaler monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the sensor measures barometric pressure (Examiner articulates that continuous PAP (CPAP) devices, spirometry devices, and other types of respiratory devices, para. 0010 measure barometric pressure).
Regarding claim 4, Hess et al. discloses the inhaler monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a microphone (a small reusable wireless sensor, such as a contact microphone, may be secured to the mask 74 to sense audio vibrations through contact with the mask 74, para. 0102).
Regarding claim 5, Hess et al. discloses the inhaler monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the artificial reality environment is configured to be shared with at least other users and/or a health care provider (a nurse could have a smartphone connected via Bluetooth or Wi-Fi and be able to manually configure a breath-sensitivity level and/or one or more other parameters via that other device, para. 0176).
Regarding claim 6, Hess et al. discloses the inhaler monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the instructions to facilitate the artificial reality environment are based on a plurality of breathing measurements (para. 0142).
Regarding claim 7, Hess et al. discloses the inhaler monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the instructions to facilitate the artificial reality environment comprise an adherence protocol (the taking of deep breaths and the keeping on of the mask for certain durations is rewarded in at least one embodiment with positive feedback via one or more user interfaces, para. 0185).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sezan et al. (US 20160106935 A1) in view of Rothschild et al. (US 20200126593 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sezan et al. discloses a method for using an inhaler monitoring system (figure 1A), the system comprising a medicament device (inhaler apparatus 154), wherein the method comprises:
receiving breathing data (using breathprint sensor system 152, para. 0051)for a user recorded by a medicament device sensor, where in the breathing data is converted to a transmission signal (receive a set of test data provided by the one or more first sensors based on an exposure of the one or more first sensors to gases during a test phase, para. 0007, 0025);
determining a plurality of breathing parameters associated with the breathing data (processors is configured to: analyze information derived from a breath sample produced by the person and determine the person has a breathing problem, para. 0017);
and
responsive to receiving the breathing data, generating an interactive protocol in the artificial reality environment (a computer system to notify that an unverified person attempted to use the smart inhaler; deactivating the inhaler apparatus; prompting the person to provide an additional breath sample to the breathprint sensor system; or prompting the person to provide alternative information to verify the person's identity (e.g., by entering a secured password), para. 0074).
Sezan et al. does not expressly disclose a system comprising an artificial reality headset and generating an artificial reality environment associated with the plurality of breathing parameters, wherein the artificial reality environment is configured to display a user representation and provide accessibility to a shared artificial reality environment.
Rothschild et al. teaches the context of augmented or virtual reality, where the individual is wearing suitably equipped augmented reality (“AR”) or virtual reality (“VR”) glasses, goggles, headset or is equipped with another type of viewing display capable of rendering AR, VR, or other synthesized or real 3D imagery, the biometric data such as heart rate from the sensor, together with other data such as, for example, work-out run or speed, from a suitably equipped sensor, such as an accelerometer capable of measuring motion and velocity, could be viewable by the individual, superimposed on their viewing field, para. 0073 and that the invention is described herein in terms of certain biometric data (e.g., heart rate, breathing patterns, blood-alcohol level, etc.), para. 0051 and para. 0079.
Sezan et al. in view of Rothschild et al. are analogous art because they are from the similar problem-solving area of health monitoring. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the augmented reality monitoring environment of Rothschild et al. to the monitoring environment of Sezan et al. in order to obtain AR monitoring using a headset. The motivation for doing so would be to visualize data for patient health.
Regarding claim 9, Sezan et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein generating an interactive protocol comprises at least an adherence protocol involving use of the medicament device (the input/output device is capable of outputting information about the identity of a person determined by the breathprint sensor system 152. In some implementations, the input/output device is capable of outputting information about delivery of a drug (e.g., recommended dosage or time for administering the drug) based on information provided by the breathprint sensor system 152. For instance, the control system 156 can receive information from biological sensors of the breathprint sensor system indicative of a biological condition of the user. In response, the control system 156 may control the input/output device to output a recommendation about a dose of a drug based on the biological condition, para. 0055).
Regarding claim 10, Sezan et al. discloses the method of claim 8 further comprising, comparing the breathing parameters to a threshold for each of the plurality of breathing parameters (compare the test feature vector to a training feature vector derived from training data; and based on the comparison, determine whether the test data verifies the identity of the person, para. 0013).
Regarding claim 11, Sezan et al. discloses the method of claim 8 further comprising generating a real-time notification of the breathing data and transmitting the notification to a client device (sending a notice to another person notifying that an unverified person attempted to use the inhaler; deactivating the inhaler apparatus; prompting the person to provide a breath sample to the breathprint sensor system, para. 0016).
Regarding claim 12, Sezan et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the artificial reality environment is configured to be shared with at least other users or a health care provider (helpful for a doctor to remotely monitor an out-patient's inhalable drug administration using an automated system that can verify and keep track of the identities of patient, para. 0042).
Regarding claim 14, Sezan et al. discloses the method of claim 8 further comprising transmitting the breathing data to a remote computing device (a doctor to remotely monitor an out-patient's inhalable drug administration using an automated system that can verify and keep track of the identities of patient, para. 0042).
Regarding claim 15, Rothschild et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein artificial reality comprises at least one of: virtual reality, augmented reality, or mixed reality (see para. 0073).
Claim 16, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 8.
Claim 17, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 12.
Claim 19, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 10.
Claim 20, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 11.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sezan et al. (US 20160106935 A1) in view of Rothschild et al. (US 20200126593 A1) and further in view of Calvo Fernandez et al. (US 20220296827 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sezan et al. in view of Rothschild et al. does not expressly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein determining a plurality of breathing parameters associated with the breathing data comprises a barometric pressure.
Calvo Fernandez et al. teaches a dose measuring device 1 comprises a control unit 6 (a circuit or hardware element with electronic control functions, implemented for example by means of a microcontroller), configured for detecting an inhalation produced in the inhaler 10 by means of analyzing the pressure of the air inside the inhalation mouthpiece 3, using the reading of the barometric pressure sensor 5, para. 0078.
Claim 18, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 13.
Sezan et al. in view of Rothschild et al. in view of Calvo Fernandez et al. are analogous art because they are from the similar problem-solving area of health monitoring. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the barometric pressure sensor 5 of Calvo Fernandez et al. to the monitoring environment of Sezan et al. in view of Rothschild et al. in order to obtain useful data for patient diagnostics. The motivation for doing so would be to monitor data for patient health.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611