DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “cooled compartment 302” as discussed in at least para [0036]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
delivery system in at least claim 1.
Delivery system is interpreted to cover a pump as per [0038] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta (US 20040055324 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Gupta discloses a galley cooler (Fig. 2) [Note: The system of Gupta is an air conditioner, and is capable of providing cooling to a galley; thus, qualifies as a galley cooler], comprising:
a cooling system, the cooling system comprising:
a hot side #118, wherein the hot side comprises a hot-side inlet (see “AIR IN”; Fig. 2); and
a cold side #112 configured to, in response to cooling ambient air entering the cooling system on the hot side via the hot-side inlet, condense moist air into liquid water on the cold side (see at least [0029] & [0047]); and
a delivery system #114, wherein the delivery system delivers the condensed liquid water to the hot side of the cooling system to pre-cool the ambient air via evaporative cooling.
Note: the limitation “to pre-cool the ambient air via evaporative cooling” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il. By virtue of all the structural limitations required by the claim being present in the prior art, the prior art device can achieve this limitation.
Regarding claim 17:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 1. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 1 above for the rejection of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 20040055324 A1) in view of Zywiak (US 20050061012 A1).
Regarding claim 9:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 1. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 1 above for the rejection of claim 9. Only the difference will be addressed.
Gupta does not specifically disclose wherein the cooling system is that of an aircraft comprising a galley, wherein the cooling system is configured within the galley.
Nontheless, using similar cooling systems in aircraft is known in the art. Zywiak teaches an analogous
a cooling system (Fig. 3) is that of an aircraft comprising a galley, wherein the cooling system is configured within the galley (see at least claims 1-2).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Gupta adapted in an aircraft comprising a galley, wherein the cooling system is configured within the galley; in a similar manner as taught by Zywiak.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided an efficient system with saving in energy consumption as suggested by Gupta ([0009-0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In grosso modo, in the field of aircraft galley cooling; Will (US 20220332427 A1) discloses a galley cooler (Fig. 1-2) comprising a cooling system #5, the cooling system comprising a hot side #9, wherein the hot side comprises a hot-side inlet #12; and a cold side #8. Will does not disclose wherein the cold side #8 is configured to, in response to cooling ambient air entering the cooling system on the hot side via the hot-side inlet, condense moist air into liquid water on the cold side; and a delivery system, wherein the delivery system delivers the condensed liquid water to the hot side of the cooling system to pre-cool the ambient air via evaporative cooling. Furthermore, Bhatti (US 20100058778 A1) discloses a cooler (Fig. 1) comprising a cooling system #120; the cooling system comprising a hot side #124, wherein the hot side comprises a hot-side inlet; and a cold side #122 configured to, in response to cooling ambient air entering the cooling system on the hot side via the hot-side inlet, condense moist air into liquid water on the cold side (see condense water at #160); wherein a delivery system (#160 & #142) that delivers the condensed liquid water to the cold side of the cooling system. The delivery system of Bhatti is not tailored to aircraft galley cooling, and is not configured so as to deliver the condensed liquid water to the hot side of the cooling system to pre-cool the ambient air via evaporative cooling. There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of prior art of record to incorporate the features of claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burd (US 11502021 B2), Bhavsar (US 8516832 B2), Schmidt (US 3938352 A), Omer (US 20130061615 A1), and Dinh (US 4938035 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763