Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0176495 to Vlasov and US 2022/0155938 to Hirai.
As to claim 1, Vlasov discloses a detection method of a pen signal that is an alternating current signal sent from a pen, the method comprising: transmitting to the pen a transmission request signal (e.g. 301) requesting transmission of the pen signal (e.g. 321, 322) in synchronization with a first detection period (303) (Fig. 3B, Pars. 68, 70, 73) and transmission of a pen signal (321, 322) (Figs. 3A, 3B, Pars. 70, 73-74) whose phase is inverted with respect to the pen signal transmitted in synchronization with the first detection period (303)(See Figs. 3A, 3B; Par. 81), in synchronization with a second detection period (304) that is a period after the first detection period (303) ends (Fig. 3B, Pars. 73-74); and acquiring the pen signal (321, 322) based on a first received signal (307 or 313 and 314) received from the pen in the first detection period (303) and a second received signal (308 or 313 and 314) received from the pen in the second detection period (304) (Fig. 3B, Pars. 73-74).
Vlasov does not expressly disclose the acquiring includes combining the first received signal received from the pen in the first detection period and the second received signal received from the pen in the second detection period with each other.
Hirai discloses the acquiring includes combining the first touch received signal in the first detection period (e.g. T1a) and the second touch received signal received in the second detection period (T2a) with each other (Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vlasov with the teaching of Hirai to suppress noise thereby provide an improved touch detection as suggested by Hirai (Par. 80).
As to claims 12 and 13, Vlasov in view of Hirai teaches the detection method of claim 1 above. The limitation of claims 12 and 13 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claims 12 and 13 are rejected based on same analysis as claim 1.
As to claim 2, Vlasov discloses deriving a position of the pen based on the pen signal acquired by the acquiring for each of a plurality of sensor electrodes (116) (Fig. 3A, Pars. 8, 62, 64).
As to claim 8, Vlasov as modified further discloses the acquiring includes subtracting the second received signal from the first received signal using an analog circuit or a digital circuit (Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80). See claim 1 motivation above.
As to claim 9, Vlasov as modified discloses acquiring the first received signal by performing a detection process of a signal arriving at a reception electrode in the first detection period (Vlasov’s Par. 81, Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80); and acquiring the second received signal by performing a detection process of a signal arriving at the reception electrode in the second detection period such that a polarity of the second received signal is inverted as compared with the first received signal. (Vlasov’s Par. 81, Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80). See claim 6 motivation above.
As to claim 10, Vlasov as modified discloses: the detection process of the signal arriving at the reception electrode in the second detection period is a process of performing frequency analysis of the signal arriving at the reception electrode (Vlasov’s Pars. 8, 62, 64, 81, Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80) in a state where a phase of a base vector is inverted as compared with the detection process of the signal arriving at the reception electrode in the first detection period (Vlasov’s Pars. 8, 62, 64, 81, Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80). See claim 6 motivation above.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0176495 to Vlasov and US 2022/0155938 to Hirai; US 2015/0022476 to Fujioka et al. (Fujioka).
As to claim 3, Vlasov does not expressly disclose display noise is periodically generated by a display, and the first detection period and the second detection period are synchronized with a generation cycle of the display noise.
Fujioka discloses display noise is periodically generated by a display (Figs. 3-4, 6, Pars. 80, 99-101), and the first detection period and the second detection period are synchronized with a generation cycle of the display noise (Figs. 3-4, 6, Pars. 80, 99-101).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vlasov with the teaching of Fujioka to achieve high detection accuracy as suggested by Fujioka (Par. 102).
As to claim 4, Vlasov as modified discloses the display noise is horizontal synchronization (HSYNC) noise (Fujioka’s Figs. 3-4, 6, Pars. 80, 99-101), and the first detection period and the second detection period are each a period having a time length that is a natural number multiple of a cycle of a horizontal synchronization pulse generated in the display (Fujioka’s Figs. 3-4, 6, Pars. 80, 99-101). See claim 3 motivation above.
As to claim 5, Vlasov as modified discloses the first detection period and the second detection period are set such that phases of the display noise in the respective first and second detection periods substantially match each other (Fujioka’s Figs. 3-4, 6, Pars. 80, 99-101). See claim 3 motivation above.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0176495 to Vlasov and US 2022/0155938 to Hirai; in view of US 2013/0106798 to Sundara-Rajan et al. (Sundara).
As to claim 7, Vlasov as modified does not expressly disclose the pen signal is represented as is S(t), noise is represented as N(t), the first received signal is represented as N(t) + S(t), and the second received signal is represented as N(t) - S(t), and the combining includes acquiring the pen signal by a method equivalent to (N(t) + S(t)) - (N(t) - S(t)).
However, Vlasov discloses the pen signal is represented as is S(t), noise is represented as N(t), the first received signal is represented as N(t) + S(t), and the second received signal is represented as N(t) - S(t), (see claim 10, e.g. comparing first signal-to-noise ratio value with a second signal-to-noise ratio value, which are received by the stylus at two different times). Hirai discloses combining the first received signal and the second received signal with each other (Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80).
Sundara discloses the pen signal is represented as is S(t), noise is represented as N(t), the first received signal is represented as N(t) + S(t), and the second received signal is represented as N(t) - S(t), and the combining includes acquiring the pen signal by a method equivalent to (N(t) + S(t)) - (N(t) - S(t)) (Figs. 5-6, Pars. 41-43, e.g. differential sensing may be employed by comparing at least two signals received and subtracting the signal received. Since Vlasov teaches the second received signal is an inverse of the first signal (see Vlasov’s Figs. 3A, 3B; Par. 81) thereby second signal is (-N(t)+S(t)) = (S(t)-N(t)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vlasov as modified with the teaching of Sundara to acquire the pen signal by a method equivalent to (N(t) + S(t)) - (N(t) - S(t)). The motivation is to remove the unwanted effects of noise as suggested by Sundara (Par. 43).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0176495 to Vlasov and US 2022/0155938 to Hirai; in view of US 2014/0028577 A1 to Krah et al. (Krah).
As to claim 11, Vlasov as modified discloses the transmission request signal requests the pen to start transmitting the pen signal at a timing delayed by half a cycle (516) of a signal of the pen signal from a start timing of the second detection period (Fig. 5B, Par. 92, e.g. 516 shows a lag by half a cycle of 511 in period 515), the detection process of the signal arriving at the reception electrode in the second detection period is a process of performing frequency analysis of the signal arriving at the reception electrode (Vlasov’s Pars. 8, 62, 64, 81, Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80) in a state where a phase of a base vector is inverted as compared with the detection process of the signal arriving at the reception electrode in the first detection period (Vlasov’s Pars. 8, 62, 64, 81, Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80). See claim 6 motivation above.
Vlasov as modified does not expressly disclose a signal of the pen signal is a carrier signal, and a phase of a base vector is delayed by half a cycle of the carrier signal of the pen signal as compared with the detection process of the signal arriving at the reception electrode in the first detection period.
Krah discloses a signal of the pen signal is a carrier a pen signal (Fig. 9B, Par. 112), a phase of a base vector (digital 1) is delayed by half a cycle of the carrier signal (digital 0) of the pen signal as compared with the detection process of the signal arriving at the reception electrode in the first detection period (Fig. 9B, Par. 112, e.g. the carrier wave such as sine wave (330) may, during a predetermined time period, have a first portion with a first phase (digital 0), and a second portion with a second phase (digital 1) that is shifted (e.g., either 90.degree. or 180.degree.) from the first phase).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vlasov with the teaching of Krah to accommodate different amount of data transmission as suggested by Krah (Par. 113).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that Hirai does not teach “the acquiring includes combining the first received signal received from the pen in the first detection period and the second received signal received from the pen in the second detection period with each other” since “the "detection value" taught by Hirai is not based on a signal received from a pen.“ The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On pages 6-7 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that Hirai and Vlasov are not analogous arts since “the "detection value" taught by Hirai is not based on a signal received from a pen.“ In response to applicant's argument that Hirai is a nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Hirai’s teaching of the acquired touch signals based on the sum of detection values obtained in the two touch detection periods T1a, T2a (Hirai’s Fig. 7, Pars. 79-80) and Vlasov’s teaching of the acquired touch signals received at the first and second periods (e.g. 303 and 304) (Fig. 3B, Pars. 73-74) are both acquired to determine the touch point from either finger or stylus pen. Therefore, Vlasov and Hirai area analogous arts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0210045 A1 to Mohamed et al. teaches a touch sensing device configured to divide one driving cycle into two parts and to summate or subtract touch sensing data regarding respective parts, thereby removing periodic noise.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARURAT SUTEERAWONGSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623