DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elects species III without traverse, claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, it is suggested that the limitation recites “wherein the flexible printed circuit board is coupled to the glass surface with an adhesive. And wherein the flexible printed circuit board is etched on a surface of the flexible printed circuit board that is affixed to the glass surface with the adhesive” should be changed to --wherein the flexible printed circuit board is coupled to the glass surface with an adhesive; and wherein the flexible printed circuit board is etched on a surface of the flexible printed circuit board that is affixed to the glass surface with the adhesive-- to make it clearer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramesh et al. (U.S publication No. 20220231405 A1) in view of Arendt et al. (U.S Publication No. 20230231304 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ramesh discloses an antenna system (which is a vehicle pane includes a first substrate GS1 and a second substrate GS2, at least one antenna structure and a connection region, see fig. 1 and 2) comprising:
a rigid printed circuit board (via a carrier T can be made from a material corresponding to the film F or can comprise a different material, such as a rigid board, for example, made of FR4), (see fig. 1, paragraph [0064]-[0065] and [0069]); and
a flexible printed circuit board (via a flexible dielectric film F) coupled to the rigid printed circuit board and a glass surface (which is the substrate GS1, GS2 preferably contains glass, particularly preferably flat glass, float glass, quartz glass, borosilicate glass, soda lime glass, or clear plastics, preferably rigid clear plastics, in particular polyethylene, polypropylene, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polyamide, polyesters, polyvinyl chloride, and/or mixtures thereof. The antenna or the antennas can be arranged between substrates GS1, GS2 of a composite glass pane 1, see fig. 1, paragraph [0063], [0067], [0076] and [0093]), wherein the flexible printed circuit board has an antenna trace (see fig. 1 and 2, paragraph [0062] and [0077]).
Ramesh does not explicitly disclose a rigid printed circuit board coupled to a metal surface.
Arendt, on the other hand, discloses a telematics device 10 also comprises a first circuit board 11, with a control unit 11a of the telematics device 10 being arranged on the first circuit board 11. The telematics device 10 also comprises a second circuit board 12, with at least one antenna 14 of the telematics device 10 being arranged on the second circuit board 12. It is also provided that the first circuit board 11 and second circuit board 12 are arranged together in the housing 10a and are coupled by means of at least one electrical connecting element 15 (e.g. circuit-board connector), (see fig. 1, paragraph [0025]). Arendt further discloses the antenna of the second circuit board may have a greater height than the first circuit board, and the first circuit board may be centered relative to an antenna vertical extension. In this way, the installation space in the housing 10a can be better used, for example. By installing the first circuit board offset in height, the total size of the housing 10a and thus the telematics device 10 can be reduced, for example. For example, the two-sided component mounting can also allow better heat dissipation from the first circuit board (e.g. by means of a metallic base plate of the telematics device 10), (see paragraph [0028]). The telematics control unit 40 can have a metallic base plate 48. Depending on the design, a metallic base plate 49 can also be arranged below the antennas 43 (e.g. mobile radio antennas). For example, a single metallic base plate can be provided as the base of the telematics control unit 40 (see paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna system as taught by Ramesh having a rigid printed circuit board coupled to a metal surface as taught by Arendt by installing the first circuit board offset in height, the total size of the housing and thus the telematics device can be reduced, and the two-sided component mounting can also allow better heat dissipation from the first circuit board (see paragraph [0028] by Arendt).
Regarding claim 2, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the metal surface abuts the glass surface at an interface; wherein the rigid printed circuit board is positioned on the metal surface adjacent to the interface; and wherein the flexible printed circuit board is positioned on the glass surface adjacent to the interface (see fig. 1 and 2 by Ramesh or see paragraph [0023] by Arendt), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 3, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the rigid printed circuit board is part of a telematics control unit in a vehicle (see fig. 1, paragraph [0002], [0009] and [0025] by Arendt).
Regarding claim 4, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the rigid printed circuit board is part of an antenna matching circuit in a vehicle (see paragraph [0068] by Ramesh).
Regarding claim 5, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the antenna system is adapted to be positioned within or underneath a roof of a vehicle without extending vertically from a top of the roof (see paragraph [0022] and [0023] by Arendt).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the metal surface provides grounding to the rigid printed circuit board; and wherein the rigid printed circuit board is grounded to the metal surface via one or more metal fasteners, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied in order to provide a safe path to dissipate this electricity.
Regarding claim 9, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the metal surface and glass surface are part of a roof of a vehicle (see paragraph [0023] by Arendt).
Regarding claim 11, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the antenna trace is configured for one or more of cellular, Wi-Fi, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS) signals (see paragraph [0045] and [0092] by Ramesh).
Regarding claim 12, Ramesh discloses an antenna system for a vehicle (which is a vehicle pane includes a first substrate GS1 and a second substrate GS2, at least one antenna structure and a connection region, see fig. 1 and 2), comprising:
a rigid printed circuit board (via a carrier T can be made from a material corresponding to the film F or can comprise a different material, such as a rigid board, for example, made of FR4), (see fig. 1, paragraph [0064]-[0065] and [0069]);
a flexible printed circuit board having an antenna trace etched thereon (see fig. 1 and 2, paragraph [0062] and [0077]);
wherein a flexible printed circuit board (via a flexible dielectric film F) coupled to the rigid printed circuit board and the flexible printed circuit board is affixed to a glass surface of the vehicle (which is the substrate GS1, GS2 preferably contains glass, particularly preferably flat glass, float glass, quartz glass, borosilicate glass, soda lime glass, or clear plastics, preferably rigid clear plastics, in particular polyethylene, polypropylene, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polyamide, polyesters, polyvinyl chloride, and/or mixtures thereof. The antenna or the antennas can be arranged between substrates GS1, GS2 of a composite glass pane 1, see fig. 1, paragraph [0063], [0067], [0076] and [0093]), wherein the flexible printed circuit board has an antenna trace (see fig. 1 and 2, paragraph [0062] and [0077]).
Ramesh does not explicitly a telematics control unit affixed to a metal surface on a roof of the vehicle; wherein the telematics control unit comprises a rigid printed circuit board; a flexible printed circuit board having an antenna trace etched thereon.
Arendt, on the other hand, discloses a telematics device 10 also comprises a first circuit board 11, with a control unit 11a of the telematics device 10 being arranged on the first circuit board 11. The telematics device 10 also comprises a second circuit board 12, with at least one antenna 14 of the telematics device 10 being arranged on the second circuit board 12. It is also provided that the first circuit board 11 and second circuit board 12 are arranged together in the housing 10a and are coupled by means of at least one electrical connecting element 15 (e.g. circuit-board connector), (see fig. 1, paragraph [0025]). Arendt further discloses the antenna of the second circuit board may have a greater height than the first circuit board, and the first circuit board may be centered relative to an antenna vertical extension. In this way, the installation space in the housing 10a can be better used, for example. By installing the first circuit board offset in height, the total size of the housing 10a and thus the telematics device 10 can be reduced, for example. For example, the two-sided component mounting can also allow better heat dissipation from the first circuit board (e.g. by means of a metallic base plate of the telematics device 10), (see paragraph [0028]). The telematics control unit 40 can have a metallic base plate 48. Depending on the design, a metallic base plate 49 can also be arranged below the antennas 43 (e.g. mobile radio antennas). For example, a single metallic base plate can be provided as the base of the telematics control unit 40 (see paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna system as taught by Ramesh having a telematics control unit affixed to a metal surface on a roof of the vehicle; and the telematics control unit comprises a rigid printed circuit board; a flexible printed circuit board having an antenna trace etched thereon as taught by Arendt by installing the first circuit board offset in height, the total size of the housing and thus the telematics device can be reduced, and the two-sided component mounting can also allow better heat dissipation from the first circuit board (see paragraph [0028] by Arendt).
Regarding claim 13, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system of claim 1, wherein the metal surface abuts the glass surface at an interface; wherein the telematics control unit is positioned on the metal surface adjacent to the interface; and wherein the flexible printed circuit board is positioned on the glass surface adjacent to the interface (see fig. 1 and 2 by Ramesh or see paragraph [0023] by Arendt), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses The antenna system of claim 1 and the antenna system for a vehicle of claim 12, wherein the flexible printed circuit board is coupled to the glass surface with an adhesive; and wherein the flexible printed circuit board is etched on a surface of the flexible printed circuit board that is affixed to the glass surface with the adhesive, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied in which the flexible printed circuit board may be affixed to glass surface with an adhesive, e.g., temperature stable adhesives such as cyanoacrylates, epoxies, acrylics, silicone, urethane, or other suitable temperature resistance adhesives.
Regarding claim 15, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system for a vehicle of claim 12, wherein the telematics control unit is grounded to the metal surface via one or more metal fasteners, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied in order to provide a safe path to dissipate this electricity.
Regarding claim 16, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system for a vehicle of claim 12, wherein the antenna trace is configured for one or more of cellular, Wi-Fi, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS) signals (see paragraph [0045] and [0092] by Ramesh).
Regarding claim 17, Ramesh discloses an antenna system for a vehicle with a glass roof (which is a vehicle pane includes a first substrate GS1 and a second substrate GS2, at least one antenna structure and a connection region, see fig. 1 and 2), comprising:
a rigid printed circuit board (via a carrier T can be made from a material corresponding to the film F or can comprise a different material, such as a rigid board, for example, made of FR4), (see fig. 1, paragraph [0064]-[0065] and [0069]);
a flexible printed circuit board having an antenna trace etched thereon (see fig. 1 and 2, paragraph [0062] and [0077]);
wherein a flexible printed circuit board (via a flexible dielectric film F) coupled to the rigid printed circuit board and the flexible printed circuit board is affixed to a glass surface of the vehicle (which is the substrate GS1, GS2 preferably contains glass, particularly preferably flat glass, float glass, quartz glass, borosilicate glass, soda lime glass, or clear plastics, preferably rigid clear plastics, in particular polyethylene, polypropylene, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polyamide, polyesters, polyvinyl chloride, and/or mixtures thereof. The antenna or the antennas can be arranged between substrates GS1, GS2 of a composite glass pane 1, see fig. 1, paragraph [0063], [0067], [0076] and [0093]), wherein the flexible printed circuit board has an antenna trace (see fig. 1 and 2, paragraph [0062] and [0077]); and
the flexible printed circuit board is affixed to an inner surface of the glass roof with an adhesive, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied in which the flexible printed circuit board may be affixed to glass surface with an adhesive, e.g., temperature stable adhesives such as cyanoacrylates, epoxies, acrylics, silicone, urethane, or other suitable temperature resistance adhesives.
Ramesh does not explicitly a telematics control unit affixed to a metal surface on a roof of the vehicle; wherein the telematics control unit comprises a rigid printed circuit board; a flexible printed circuit board having an antenna trace etched thereon.
Arendt, on the other hand, discloses a telematics device 10 also comprises a first circuit board 11, with a control unit 11a of the telematics device 10 being arranged on the first circuit board 11. The telematics device 10 also comprises a second circuit board 12, with at least one antenna 14 of the telematics device 10 being arranged on the second circuit board 12. It is also provided that the first circuit board 11 and second circuit board 12 are arranged together in the housing 10a and are coupled by means of at least one electrical connecting element 15 (e.g. circuit-board connector), (see fig. 1, paragraph [0025]). Arendt further discloses the antenna of the second circuit board may have a greater height than the first circuit board, and the first circuit board may be centered relative to an antenna vertical extension. In this way, the installation space in the housing 10a can be better used, for example. By installing the first circuit board offset in height, the total size of the housing 10a and thus the telematics device 10 can be reduced, for example. For example, the two-sided component mounting can also allow better heat dissipation from the first circuit board (e.g. by means of a metallic base plate of the telematics device 10), (see paragraph [0028]). The telematics control unit 40 can have a metallic base plate 48. Depending on the design, a metallic base plate 49 can also be arranged below the antennas 43 (e.g. mobile radio antennas). For example, a single metallic base plate can be provided as the base of the telematics control unit 40 (see paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna system as taught by Ramesh having a telematics control unit affixed to a metal surface on a roof of the vehicle; and the telematics control unit comprises a rigid printed circuit board; a flexible printed circuit board having an antenna trace etched thereon as taught by Arendt by installing the first circuit board offset in height, the total size of the housing and thus the telematics device can be reduced, and the two-sided component mounting can also allow better heat dissipation from the first circuit board (see paragraph [0028] by Arendt).
Regarding claim 18, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system for a vehicle with a glass roof of claim 17, wherein the metal surface abuts the glass roof at an interface; wherein telematics control unit is positioned on the metal surface adjacent to the interface; and wherein the flexible printed circuit board is positioned on the glass roof adjacent to the interface (see fig. 1 and 2 by Ramesh or see paragraph [0023] by Arendt), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 19, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system for a vehicle with a glass roof of claim 17, wherein the telematics control unit is grounded to the metal surface via one or more metal fasteners, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied in order to provide a safe path to dissipate this electricity.
Regarding claim 20, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses the antenna system for a vehicle with a glass roof of claim 17, wherein the antenna trace is configured for one or more of cellular, Wi-Fi, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS) signals (see paragraph [0045] and [0092] by Ramesh).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramesh et al. (U.S publication No. 20220231405 A1) in view of Arendt et al. (U.S Publication No. 20230231304 A1), and further in view of Lee (U.S Patent No. 9548787 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Ramesh in view of Arendt discloses all the limitations of the antenna system of claim 1, except for specifying that wherein the flexible printed circuit board is coupled to the rigid printed circuit board with one or more zero insertion force (ZIF) connectors.
Lee, on the other hand, discloses an integrated button-antenna structure 601 is disposed on a first side of the user device 600 (e.g., a tablet device). Within the tablet device is a printed circuit board (PCB) 616 upon which a connector 620 is disposed. The integrated button-antenna structure 601 is printed on a single layer flex substrate (also referred to as “flex” or “flex circuit”) that connects to the PCB 616 through the connector 620. The connector 620 may be a zero insertion force (ZIF) connector (see fig. 6, col. 7, lines 27-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna system as taught by Ramesh in view of Arendt with the antenna structure as taught by Lee having printed on a single layer flex substrate that connects to the PCB through the connector, and the connector may be a zero insertion force (ZIF) connector. Alternatively, other types of connectors can be used. Also, in other embodiments, the integrated button-antenna structure 601 can be implemented on other circuit boards, antenna carriers, dielectric materials, or the like (see col. 6, lines 27-39 by Lee), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844 03/05/2026