DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 2, claims 2-15 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1, 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites in part “,the lighting mechanism cures the embolic material.” In lines 8-9 should be “,the lighting mechanism is configured to cure the embolic material.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kassab et al U.S 2016/0192912.
Claim 2: Kassab et al disclose a delivery system as best seen in figure 5d, comprising: a catheter 16; a lighting mechanism (it is noted that a light source for producing light having a desired wavelength range (not shown). Furthermore, the optical fiber 60 may additionally comprise a control mechanism (not shown) that permits the measured application of the desired light wavelengths. Each optical fiber 60 may be any standard optical fiber or fiber light known in the art and is configured to transmit the light produced by the light source through its distal end 62 in a therapeutically effective pattern or as otherwise may be desired, see paragraph 71); a delivery lumen 44/46 extending through a length of the catheter; and a light source (it is noted that a light source for producing light having a desired wavelength range (not shown). Furthermore, the optical fiber 60 may additionally comprise a control mechanism (not shown) that permits the measured application of the desired light wavelengths. Each optical fiber 60 may be any standard optical fiber or fiber light known in the art and is configured to transmit the light produced by the light source through its distal end 62 in a therapeutically effective pattern or as otherwise may be desired, see paragraph 71) in communication with the lighting mechanism; wherein, in a delivery configuration, an embolic material (see paragraph 78) is delivered through the delivery lumen; and, wherein, in a curing configuration, the lighting mechanism is configured to cure the embolic material (see paragraphs 83,89).
Claims 3-4: Kassab et al disclose wherein the lighting mechanism is comprised of an optical fiber 60., wherein the lighting mechanism is comprised of a fiber optic cable (see paragraph 71).
Claims 5, 7: Kassab et al disclose wherein the lighting mechanism is fixed to an outer surface of the catheter (it is noted that “light” as indicated in fig. 5d does locate outside the catheter 16); wherein the lighting mechanism is in communication with a lens at a distal end of the catheter (it is noted that the catheter 16 can also be configured to emit light having a desired lens range through the opening(s) 36. Such function can be exceedingly useful, especially where a light-cured adhesive 47 is being used to seal the LAA cavity, see paragraph 73).
Claims 8-11: Kassab et al disclose wherein the catheter 16 includes a light delivery lumen, and wherein the lighting mechanism (it is noted that a light source for producing light having a desired wavelength range (not shown). Furthermore, the optical fiber 60 may additionally comprise a control mechanism (not shown) that permits the measured application of the desired light wavelengths. Each optical fiber 60 may be any standard optical fiber or fiber light known in the art and is configured to transmit the light produced by the light source through its distal end 62 in a therapeutically effective pattern or as otherwise may be desired, see paragraph 71); extends through the light delivery lumen., wherein the lighting mechanism is shielded and the embolic material is comprised of a light curable adhesive (it is noted that light cure adhesive 47 is being used to seal the LAA cavity, see fig. 5c, paragraph 73).
Claim 13: Kassab et al disclose wherein the catheter is comprised of a balloon catheter, and wherein the lighting mechanism (it is noted that a light source for producing light having a desired wavelength range (not shown). Furthermore, the optical fiber 60 may additionally comprise a control mechanism (not shown) that permits the measured application of the desired light wavelengths. Each optical fiber 60 may be any standard optical fiber or fiber light known in the art and is configured to transmit the light produced by the light source through its distal end 62 in a therapeutically effective pattern or as otherwise may be desired, see paragraph 71) is attached to a distal tip of the balloon catheter (it is noted that a ballon catheter tip is known in the art at 14a,b, in fig. 3a, see paragraph 74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassab et al.
Claim 6: Kassab et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding the lighting mechanism is wound around an outer surface of a catheter. It would have been to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device with the lighting mechanism is wound around an outer surface of a catheter, since the applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem (It is noted in applicant’s disclosure in paragraph 71, a cable 112, in one example a fiber optic cable and in another example an optical fiber, is wound and fixed to an outside surface of the catheter 110) or is anything more than selecting one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find available to substitute with the device with the lighting mechanism is wound around an outer surface of a catheter that is known in the medical art.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassab et al in view of Wilson et al U.S Pat 9,078,738.
Claim 6: Kassab et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding the lighting mechanism is comprised of a pusher having a distal light. However, Wilson et al teach the lighting mechanism is comprised of a pusher having a distal light (it is noted that in fig, 4, a fiber pusher 405 with the SMP actuator 406 at the distal tip of the central tube and inner catheter 410. Separate fibers are used to actuate the central tube tip and the inner catheter tip for independent control. A small amount of laser light is reflected from the fiber-coil interface back through the coupler 403 into the photodetector 407. Source fluctuations may be monitored by the source photodetector 408. As the laser light heats the SMP 406 in the distal tip of the catheter, the umbrella deploys. As an optional design feature, detection of the actuation can be fed back to the operator (or computer) 409. The SMP 406 movement causes the reflected signal to decrease. The changes in the reflected signal can be used to control the driving current of the laser 401 or to alert an operator of the status of the actuator 406 (e.g., open or closed). The light can be absorbed by a suitable dye, which is incorporated into the SMP actuator uniformly, or in a gradient engineered to provide for even heating throughout the actuator geometry (see col 11, lines 52-65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kassab with the lighting mechanism is comprised of a pusher having a distal light as taught by Wilson et al in order to transport light to the smp actuator 406 at the distal tip of the tube and an inner catheter 410(see col. 11, lines 52-65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14: the prior arts fail to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed including the lighting mechanism that has an optical fiber that forms a structural reinforcement layer of a balloon catheter. Claim 15 is also allowed by virtue of it dependency from claim 14.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771