DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a first Office Action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 14, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 3, please amend “QR codes” to recite “Quick Response (QR) codes”;
In claim 4, line 4, please amend “the identification” to recite “the identifying”;
In claim 14, line 3, please amend “QR codes” to recite “Quick Response (QR) codes”;
In claim 17, line 4, please amend “QR codes” to recite “Quick Response (QR) codes”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the scanning process" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the scanning process” has been interpreted as “the scanning”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the occurrence of certain events" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the occurrence of certain events” has been interpreted as “occurrence of certain events”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “processing each item entering the system” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “processing each item entering the system” has been interpreted as “processing the media file”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the results" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the results” has been interpreted as “results”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the scanned results" in 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the scanned results” has been interpreted as “scanned results”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the quality" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the quality” has been interpreted as “quality”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "item uploaded to the system" in 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “item uploaded to the system” has been interpreted as “detected element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TUSSY et al, US 2015/0227780.
Re claim 1:
TUSSY teaches a method for scanning, comprising:
Scanning, using a computerized device: i) an article of manufacture including a media file (i.e., scanning screen 104 having one or more faces 108 in an image [0016]);
and ii) wherein the media file includes at least one of: an image, a picture, a video file, a live stream video, an audio file, a post, a face, a body, a body part, and a text document (i.e., faces, QR codes, text [0052] [0054] [0016]).
Re claim 2:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the article of manufacture is a device screen [Figure 1].
Re claim 3:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Scanning at least one of: hashtags, shapes, symbols, faces, facial expressions, body parts, drawings, QR codes, barcodes, color, images, letters, numbers, mathematical equations, and signatures [0052] [0054] [0016]).
Re claim 4:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Identifying at least one of: presence, attributes, location, type, position, and size of a scannable element (i.e., identifying the presence and location of a face in an image [0031]-[0033]); and
Triggering a process based on the identification (i.e., matching the face in the image to an identity [0032]).
Re claim 5:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Providing a scanning process that interacts with one or more devices to detect generated recognizable elements for connects items (i.e., screen 104, mobile device 112, server 120, and database 124 interact with each other to detect generated biometric data for connected images [0016] [0031]).
Re claim 6:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Initiating a full scanning process (i.e., user initiates scanning of an image or video [0027]);
Capturing a screenshot from at least one of: a first device screen and a second device screen [0030] [0056];
Performing an initial scan before or after cropping the captured screenshot or image [0033] [0039]; and
Subjecting the cropped screenshot to additional scanning processes [0033] [0039] [0040].
Re claim 8:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Scanning, automatically, at least one of: periodic intervals, specific times, and upon occurrence of certain events [0027]-[0029] [0030] [0058].
Re claim 9:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Processing each media file to provide user-friendly methods for subsequent scanning [0030] [0058].
Re claim 10:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Scanning multiple scannable objects using a detecting device, wherein the detecting devices includes at least one of: screens, cameras, scanners [0016]; and
Executing processes based on the results of the scanning [0058].
Re claim 11:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Automating interactions between a user and a system [0058];
Providing notifications post-scanning [0063] [0064] [claim 14]; and
Arranging scanning results based on user preferences [0061] [0063] [0064] [claim 14].
Re claim 12:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Scanning elements from at least one of: continuously, streaming, movable, and static objects (i.e., scanning faces from images and video [0028] [0030] [0056]);
Detecting elements from at least one of: continuous, streaming, movable and static objects (i.e., detecting faces from the images and video [0030] [0060] [Figure 3]);
Counting the detected elements (i.e., wherein a number of detected faces is determined [0060] [Figure 3]);
Performing a sorting process based on the counted element (i.e., the faces are sorted on display 302 [Figure 3]); and
Enhancing scanning, via an automatic process or via user input (i.e., cropping of faces [0033] [0060] [Figure 3])
Re claim 13:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Capturing an image using at least one of: a camera, screen, and a sensor [0022] [0027] [0028] [0050];
Cropping the captured image for targeted scanning and focusing on specific regions of the captured image before scanning [0033] [0039] [0040].
Re claim 14:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Recognizing an element, wherein the element includes at least one of: faces, facial expressions, bodies, body parts, writings, shapes, symbols, QR codes, barcodes, drawings, signatures, and mathematical equations [0031]-[0033] [0039] [0060] [Figure 3];
Processing the element [0031]-[0033] [0039]-[0041] [0060] [0072];
Comparing scanned results [0060] [0072] [Figures 3 and 5];
Organizing the scanned results [0060] [0072] [Figures 3 and 5];
Differentiating the scanned results [0060] [0072] [Figures 3 and 5]; and
Sorting the scanned results [0060] [0072] [Figures 3 and 5].
Re claim 15:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Scanning uploaded items, wherein the uploaded items include at least one of: intellectual property marks, numbers, names, symbols, shapes, detectors, codes, letters, and faces [0058];
Checking the scanned uploaded items [0058];
Alerting at least one of: a user and a rights holder [0058].
Re claim 16:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Offering full scanning (i.e., through the ActorID application, a user is given the opportunity to capture a photo of a screen to initiate scanning for one or more faces [0027] [0029] [0039]); and
Automatically enhancing a quality of scannable objects (i.e., the mobile device scanning screen may use image stabilization to improve quality of captured images, automatically resize an area of a video feed containing a screen in which an image or video is run, and/or crop faces from images [0028] [0029] [0040]).
Re claim 17:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising”
Initiating one or more full scanning triggers [0060];
Detecting multiple elements including at least one of: phone numbers, shapes, faces, products, signs, text, and QR codes [0060];
Offering user-specific actions based on the detected elements [0060]; and
Generating identifiable marks for each detected element for a purpose of including at least one or: intellectual property protection, tracing, and tracking [0058] [0060] [Figure 3].
Re claim 18:
TUSSY teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Ingesting new scannable elements (i.e., facial features of faces in subsequent captured images [0031]);
Storing the scannable elements into memory for future reference, wherein the scannable elements include at least one of: signatures, face landmarks, symbols, shapes, drawings, pictures, photos, and colors (i.e., facial features are stored as biometric data for future reference [0031]).
Re claim 20:
TUSSY teaches a method for scanning, comprising:
Scanning, using a computerized device: an article of manufacture including at least one small scannable element [0016] [Figure 1].
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CARTAGENA et al, US 11,062,100.
Re claim 1:
CARTAGENA teaches a method for scanning, comprising:
Scanning, using a computerized device: i) an article of manufacture including a media file (i.e., content displayed on screen 302 of device 300 (column 1, lines 53-62; figure 3)); and ii) wherein the media file includes at least one of: an image, a picture, a video file, a live stream video, an audio file, a post, a face, a body, a body part, and a text document (i.e., content includes images, pictures, video (column 1, lines 53-62)).
Re claim 7:
CATAGENA teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Initiating the scanning using at least one of: voice commands, physical buttons, floating buttons, clicks, touch, movement sensation, and present movements of a device (user interface element 306 is dragged by a user from point 308a to 308b to initiate scanning (column 5, lines 50-66; Figure 2).
Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by THURIES, US 2008/0267537.
Re claim 1:
THURIES teaches a method for scanning, comprising:
Scanning, using a computerized device (10) [Figure 1]:
An article of manufacture (22) including a media file (i.e., images displayed on display screen (22) [0037]-[0040] [Figure 1]; and
Wherein the media file includes at least one of: an image, a picture, a video file, a live stream video, an audio file, a post, a face, a body, a body part, and a text document (i.e., images displayed on display screen (22) [0037]-[0040] [Figure 1].
Re claim 19:
THURIES teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Automating or manually triggering a scanning process;
Capturing current screen data for at least one of: a first device and a second device [0077] [Figure 7];
Requesting a scanning application programming interface for processing [0078] [Figure 7];
Dividing results into detectors of smaller identifiable elements and fully identified elements [0079] [0082]-[0084]; and
Repetitively enhancing the scanning process until all elements are identified [0073] [0082]-[0084] [Figure 7].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LEFEVRE et al, US 2013/0291024, teaches a method for capturing a video frame and scraping the captured frame for data contained therein (abstract).
LI et al, US 2021/0142023, teaches a method of scanning an article of manufacture including a media file using a computerized device.
/LAURA A GUDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876