DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 20170025881A1).
Re claim 1, the reference discloses a power supply extension device 100 of notebook computer 60 having, inter alia, a notebook computer 60, which comprises a detection device 40; a wireless charging device 100, which is arranged on the notebook computer; and a solid-state battery 10, which is electrically connected with the wireless charging device (fig 1). Note: bolded limitation is not found in the reference. The reference does not disclose a solid-state battery. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have employed a solid-state battery because a solid-state battery has a higher energy density, is capable of fast charging and is safer due to its non-flammable solid electrolytes and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 2, the reference further discloses the detection device comprises a second coil induction module 40.
Re claim 3, the reference further discloses the wireless charging device 100 comprises a power module 21, a first coil induction module 30, and a controller 20, and the power module is electrically connected with the first coil induction module and the controller (fig 1).
Re claim 4, the reference does not disclose the solid-state battery is an oxide-series, a sulfide-series or a polymer-series. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the appropriate chemical series since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087
**All communications after 10/31/26 should be directed to SPE Drew Dunn at his phone number.