DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,490,840 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597).
The claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except does not expressly disclose the neck support and associated fasteners as claimed.
However, Krogh discloses a similar baby carrier with an adjustable neck support (40); a first set of neck support fasteners located on an exterior of the main body (5bs); a second set of neck support fasteners located on the exterior of the main body (5bs), wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners adjusts a position of the adjustable neck support (para 0139)
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the neck support and first and second attachments taught by Krogh to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531, in order to provide neck support to the child being carried as taught by Krogh (para 0139).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,470 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597).
The claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except does not expressly disclose the neck support and associated fasteners as claimed.
However, Krogh discloses a similar baby carrier with an adjustable neck support (40); a first set of neck support fasteners located on an exterior of the main body (5bs); a second set of neck support fasteners located on the exterior of the main body (5bs), wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners adjusts a position of the adjustable neck support (para 0139)
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the neck support and first and second attachments taught by Krogh to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531, in order to provide neck support to the child being carried as taught by Krogh (para 0139).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,786,055. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,232,633. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,583,104 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597).
The claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except does not expressly disclose the neck support and associated fasteners as claimed.
However, Krogh discloses a similar baby carrier with an adjustable neck support (40); a first set of neck support fasteners located on an exterior of the main body (5bs); a second set of neck support fasteners located on the exterior of the main body (5bs), wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners adjusts a position of the adjustable neck support (para 0139)
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the neck support and first and second attachments taught by Krogh to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531, in order to provide neck support to the child being carried as taught by Krogh (para 0139).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,051,634 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597).
The claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except does not expressly disclose the neck support and associated fasteners as claimed.
However, Krogh discloses a similar baby carrier with an adjustable neck support (40); a first set of neck support fasteners located on an exterior of the main body (5bs); a second set of neck support fasteners located on the exterior of the main body (5bs), wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners adjusts a position of the adjustable neck support (para 0139)
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the neck support and first and second attachments taught by Krogh to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531, in order to provide neck support to the child being carried as taught by Krogh (para 0139).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,426,275 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597).
The claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except does not expressly disclose the neck support and associated fasteners as claimed.
However, Krogh discloses a similar baby carrier with an adjustable neck support (40); a first set of neck support fasteners located on an exterior of the main body (5bs); a second set of neck support fasteners located on the exterior of the main body (5bs), wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners adjusts a position of the adjustable neck support (para 0139)
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the neck support and first and second attachments taught by Krogh to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531, in order to provide neck support to the child being carried as taught by Krogh (para 0139).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PV2010-531 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597).
PV2010-531 discloses an adjustable child carrier, the adjustable child carrier comprising: a main body (3+5) configured to support a child, the main body forming first and second thigh supports and a seat portion, wherein the seat portion cooperates with the first and second thigh supports to form a bucket seat; a first adjustable shoulder strap coupled to the main body and configured to extend over a first shoulder of a wearer (1); a second adjustable shoulder strap coupled to the main body and configured to extend over a second shoulder of the wearer (other 1);; an adjustable waist belt (8) adapted for securing about hips of the wearer; first and second base width adjusters (7+15) coupled to the first and second thigh supports, wherein the first and second base width adjusters are configured to selectively couple to multiple locations on the adjustable waist belt to thereby adjust a width of the bucket seat (10s); except does not expressly disclose the neck support and fasteners as claimed.
However, Krogh discloses a similar baby carrier with an adjustable neck support (40); a first set of neck support fasteners located on an exterior of the main body (5bs); a second set of neck support fasteners located on the exterior of the main body (5bs), wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners adjusts a position of the adjustable neck support (para 0139)
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the neck support and first and second attachments taught by Krogh to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531, in order to provide neck support to the child being carried as taught by Krogh (para 0139).
PV2010-531 as modified above further results in a device wherein securing the adjustable neck support to the first set of neck support fasteners configures the adjustable neck support in an outward folded down position (functional/intended use recitation); the second set of neck support fasteners are located above the first set of neck support fasteners on the exterior of the main body (see Krogh Fig. 3); the adjustable neck support comprises a set of neck support attachments, wherein the set of neck support attachments fasten to the first set of neck support fasteners or the second set of neck support fasteners to thereby secure the adjustable neck support (para 0139); in the outward folded down position, the adjustable neck support is configured to support a neck of the child when the child is positioned to face away from the wearer (functional/intended use recitation); the adjustable neck support is configured to be adjusted to an extended upward position to thereby support a neck of the child when the child is positioned to face the wearer (functional/intended use recitation, see Krogh Fig. 3).
PV2010-531 as modified above further results in a device wherein the first base width adjuster is coupled to the first thigh support; and the second base width adjuster is coupled to the second thigh support, wherein coupling the first base width adjuster to one of a first position or a second position on the waist belt and coupling the second base width adjuster to one of a third position or a fourth position on the waist belt thereby adjusts a width of the bucket seat to accommodate various sizes of the child as the child ages (PV2010-531 Figs. 1-3; page 3); the waist belt comprises a lumbar support portion (middle portion of belt); the first base width adjuster comprises a first fastening mechanism and the second base width adjuster comprises a second fastening mechanism, wherein the first fastening mechanism and the second fastening mechanism selectively fasten to a corresponding fastening mechanism located on the waist belt to thereby couple the first thigh support and the second thigh support to the first position or the second position (PV2010-531 element 10s); coupling the first base width adjuster at the first position on the waist belt and coupling the second base width adjuster at the third position on the waist belt adjusts the width of the bucket seat to a first width, wherein coupling the first base width adjuster at the second position on the waist belt and coupling the second base width adjuster at the fourth position on the waist belt adjusts the width of the bucket seat to a second width less than the first width (PV2010-531 Figs. 1-3; page 3); moving the first base width adjuster and the second base width adjuster laterally inboard adjusts the width of the bucket seat from the first width to the second width, wherein moving the first base width adjuster and the second base width adjuster laterally outboard adjusts the width of the bucket seat from the second width to the first width (PV2010-531 Figs. 1-3; page 3).
Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PV2010-531 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2011/0290831).
PV2010-531 as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the fastening mechanisms comprising zippers as claimed.
However, Wang teaches a similar baby carrier wherein components can be attached with various fastening mechanisms including snaps or zippers (para 0035) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use zippers as taught by Wang to fasten the adjustors taught by PV2010-531 as modified above instead of snaps, in light of Wang teaching the equivalence thereof (para 0035).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PV2010-531 in view of Krogh (US 2004/0238597) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parness et al. (US 2008/0283561, hereinafter ‘Parness’).
PV2010-531 as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the breathable outer layer as claimed.
However, Parness teaches constructing a similar device such that the main body forms a torso support portion, wherein the torso support portion comprises a breathable outer layer (para 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use breathable material as taught by Parness, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PV2010-531 as applied to claims 11 and 21 above, and further in view of Lehan et al. (US 8172116, hereinafter ‘Lehan’).
PV2010-531 as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the chest strap as claimed.
However, Lehan teaches a similar child carrier with a chest strap (135), wherein the chest strap secures the first adjustable shoulder strap to the second adjustable shoulder strap (Fig. 1) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the chest strap taught by Lehan to the shoulder straps of the carrier taught by PV2010-531 as modified above, in order to secure the shoulder straps together as taught by Lehan (para 0139).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
December 15, 2025