DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed 11/26/2025.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 are pending an have been examined.
Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 are either amended directly or via a claim they depend from.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 § USC 102 and 35 § USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has respectfully argued that the cited references Onuma (JP 4848855 B2) in view of Niki et al., (US 2009/0271050 A1) further in view of Kobayashi et al., (US 2020/029882 A1) failed to serve as applicable prior art towards previously claimed dependent Claims 6, 13, and 19, the contents of which have now been amended into independent claim 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
The Applicant has specifically argued that Kobayashi fails to disclose, “the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where an object to be transported is not on the vehicle is larger than the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where the object is be transported on the vehicle,” because the cited portions of Kobayashi, (Applicant Arguments/Remarks Page 8, Lines 9-10) “only indicates that even if a vehicle possesses a heavy weight, it can join the platoon as long as that weight falls within the specified range.” Therefore, the Applicant has specifically challenged Kobayashi’s applicability as prior art, not the obviousness type rationale behind combining Kobayashi with the Onuma and Niki references.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation of the Kobayashi reference and in light of the Applicant’s remarks, wishes to provide additional clarity towards the application of its subject matter towards the claimed limitations.
Before discussing the Kobayashi reference, the application of the Niki reference in the previous obviousness-type rejection will be clarified to provide clarity of the Examiner’s interpretation of the “predetermined allowable range for a travel section.”
Niki teaches an apparatus wherein, (Paragraph [0012]) “the vehicle group forming means sets a permissible range for the action plan of the first vehicle to the predetermined point and forms a vehicle group constituted by the first vehicle and the second vehicle or the first vehicle and vehicle group, wherein the second vehicle and vehicle group have an action plan to the predetermined point falling within the permissible range of the first vehicle,” and that, (Paragraph [0054]) “The time required for running a given section of L meters is calculated from the target speed pattern. For thus calculated time required, T.sub.m, T.sub.n, and K.sub.x seconds are assumed to be the time necessary for the own vehicle, the time necessary for the other vehicle or vehicle group, and the permissible delay time, respectively. When T.sub.n<T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference from the other vehicle or vehicle group does not fall within the permissible range, whereby a vehicle group is formed with the corresponding other vehicle or vehicle group. When T.sub.n.gtoreq.T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference falls within the permissible range, whereby the vehicle runs solo (S22 in FIG. 2). In this case, by reflecting the running mode required by the driver into the target speed pattern in at least the own vehicle, the own vehicle can run such as to satisfy the running mode required by the driver.” T Therefore, based upon a desired speed of a vehicle required for a particular segment, a vehicle may or may not lie within a permissible action plan range in order to join a platoon. Within the disclosure of Niki however, this range is not explicitly greater or less based upon whether the vehicle is carrying an object. Kobayashi is used to cure this deficiency.
Kobayashi discloses, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 2-10) “a vehicle group or vehicle platoon [which] is organized by only a plurality of vehicles in which the parameter values inherent with the vehicles (for example, gross weight and overtaking acceleration and deceleration/braking performance, the frictional force of the tires and the like at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, and the like), and the cooperative travel in the vehicle group (vehicle platoon) is controlled to render the transport service of baggage, persons, animals, or the like.” The purpose of reciting the preceding paragraph is to establish the calculation of vehicle gross weight to explicitly include that of loaded baggage, the loaded bagged of which is applied towards the claim as an example of the transported object of the claim limitation.
Kobayashi additionally discloses, (Paragraph [0158], Lines 1-14) “When starting communication with the following vehicle A 12 which is regarded as (the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 in) the command vehicle A 2, the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 collects the history information of the drive unit control drive 444 stored in the memory unit 450 in the following vehicle A 12 (S09). Then, the overtaking acceleration (at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, or the like) under the current conditions of the following vehicle A 12 is calculated (S10) and it is determined whether the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 or not (S11), in the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320. Then, when the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 (Yes in S11), the platoon organization in S16 is performed.” Therefore, the vehicle may or may not be added to a platoon based upon its gross weight, which may be made greater with the addition of carried baggage.
Kobayashi additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0100]) “That is, based on the above explanations, the “overtaking acceleration” and the “deceleration/braking force” (in consideration of the frictional force of the tires) also have a close relationship with the gross mass (weight) of the vehicle. For this reason, It is considered that the “gross mass (weight) of the vehicle (at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, and the like)” of the parameters inherent to the vehicle gives the largest influence to the most suitable inter-vehicle distance control in the vehicle group (vehicle platoon),” and that, (Paragraph [0103]) “Since the vehicle speed almost matches in the platoon vehicles, the kinetic energy at the platooning is the synonym of the gross mass of the vehicle.” Therefore, the gross weight of the directly correlates to the speed pattern the vehicles exhibit.
Kobayashi goes on to provide a particular example wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “FIG. 8 is a view illustrating an example of a platoon inadaptable to organization in the present system,” and that, (Paragraph [0092], Lines 1-9) “a case where a four-vehicle drive jeep 212 and a truck 214 loaded with a maximum permissible amount of baggage constitute a vehicle platoon will be reviewed. As illustrated in FIG.8 (a), a problem rarely occurs during traveling on a level road surface 210. When traveling changes to platooning toward an upper point of a slope road surface 220 as illustrated in FIG.8 (b), however, maintaining the inter-vehicle distance between the vehicles appropriately becomes difficult.”
Kobayashi additionally recites that the ability to join to a platoon on a sloped surface is more stringent, teaching (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time.”
Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Niki in light of Kobayashi, to arrive at the claimed limitation wherein the permissible allowable range for a vehicle to join a platoon is limited by gaining weight from the addition of an object (and vice-versa) due to the fact that the vehicle cannot safety platoon at particular speed patterns on sloped surfaces as it would introduce collision concerns.
Applicant is invited to contact ALEXANDER V. GENTILE whose telephone number is (703)756-1501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9-5 for any additional clarification/discussion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma (JP 4848855 B2) in view of Niki et al., (US 2009/0271050 A1) further in view of Kobayashi et al., (US 2020/029882 A1)
Claim 1 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“An information processing apparatus comprising:”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present invention relates to a technology for forming a convoy of multiple vehicles and traveling in it. More specifically, the present invention relates to an in-vehicle platooning device and a platooning method for forming a platoon with other vehicles or other platoons traveling in the same direction as the vehicle itself.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0038]) “ [Figures] 5 and 6 are flowcharts summarizing the processing when the controller 6 of the vehicle mounted platooning device 1 mounted on the host vehicle SC selects other vehicles to be used in the platoon.”
“… acquire request information being transmitted from a user terminal”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0014]) “The vehicle-mounted platoon formation device may further include a display means for displaying information regarding the first driving plan and the second driving plan, and a selection input means for selecting and instructing the content displayed by the display means, wherein the selection means presents on the display means other vehicles or other platoons whose similarity is equal to or greater than a predetermined standard, and the selection input means allows the other vehicles or other platoons to be selected. In this case, the vehicle-mounted convoy formation device can reflect the driver's (user's) intentions. It is more preferable that the apparatus further comprises a setting means for manually setting the predetermined standard of similarity.”
“and including a use start point of a vehicle, a use end point of the vehicle,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 5-7) “The controller 6 determines that the driving plans are similar not only when the driving routes (route plans) from the current position to the destination are completely identical, but also when, for example, the driving routes are identical to each other to a certain degree or more.”
“and a time point when the vehicle is to be used;”
Onuma (Paragraph [0035], Lines 3-5) “The diagram is a time chart showing the travel plans of each vehicle group A to C based on the time when the host vehicle SC desires to travel in a convoy (hereinafter referred to as the current time in this embodiment).”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 4-6) “FIG. 7B shows a diagram when a change in the travel plan of platooning vehicle group B is confirmed at the current time and the controller 6 changes the partner vehicle in the platoon to platooning vehicle group B.”
“generate a travel plan for each of a plurality of vehicles including vehicles assigned to each piece of the request information in such a way that, when a degree of similarity of a plurality of pieces of the request information satisfies a predetermined criterion, the plurality of vehicles travel in a connected state in a partial travel section; and output the travel plan,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “According to the present invention, the degree of similarity between the travel plan of the subject vehicle and the travel plans of other vehicles is evaluated, and the vehicles to be formed into the platoon and the platoon are selected based on the degree of similarity. Therefore, it is possible to provide an in-vehicle platooning device that can perform optimal platooning in accordance with the actual road environment on which the vehicles are traveling.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0011]) “In addition, the receiving means may also receive at least one of vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information of the other vehicle or the other convoy, the storage means may also store at least one of vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information of the vehicle itself or the convoy, and the selection means may make the selection based on the similarity of at least one of the vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information.”
“wherein the degree of similarity is a degree of similarity between pieces of the request information regarding a travel route of the vehicle”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “According to the present invention, the degree of similarity between the travel plan of the subject vehicle and the travel plans of other vehicles is evaluated, and the vehicles to be formed into the platoon and the platoon are selected based on the degree of similarity. Therefore, it is possible to provide an in-vehicle platooning device that can perform optimal platooning in accordance with the actual road environment on which the vehicles are traveling.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0031], Lines 7-10) “In Example 1, the vehicle-mounted convoy formation device 1 of the vehicle SC that wishes to travel in a convoy evaluates not only the current position and destination but also the similarity of the driving plan to select other vehicles with which to form the convoy. It is desirable to include not only a route plan but also a rest plan in the driving plan.”
“and a travel time range of the vehicle for achieving transportation requested in the request information,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 7-8) “Here, the similarity is determined for the planned travel route, resting locations, resting times, number of resting times, and other resting plans.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the resting times of each vehicle would directly contribute to the total travel time range.
“… and calculate the degree of similarity between pieces of the request information by using the corrected travel route or travel time range,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “Within each of the platooning vehicle groups 1 and 2, vehicle-to-vehicle data is transmitted and received between them via inter-vehicle communication B. The data exchanged here may include, for example, a vehicle identification ID, platoon formation information, route information, speed information, steering information, position information, vehicle type information, and vehicle characteristic information.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 14-18, Paragraph [0053], & paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3)) “However, it was confirmed that platooning vehicle group B was planning to take a break at the first service area (SA1). Therefore, the in-vehicle platooning device 1 of the host vehicle SC temporarily selects platooning vehicle group C, which has the next closest conditions to platooning vehicle group B. However, later, before the host vehicle SC merges with the platooning vehicle group C, the platooning vehicle group B decides to cancel the rest plan at the first service area (SA1). The controller 6 of the host vehicle SC confirms that the travel plan of the platooning vehicle group B has been changed through vehicle-to-vehicle communication or a diagram supplied from the traffic information management device 11. In this case, the controller 6 of the vehicle-mounted platooning device 1 according to Example 2 decides to cancel the plan to merge with platooning vehicle group C and switch to merging with platooning vehicle group B, which has the closest driving plan.”
“at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:”
Onuma does not explicitly teach the processor and memory components. However, Onuma does teach the following.
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 1-2) “The vehicle-mounted platooning device 1 includes a … controller 6,” and that, (Paragraph [0024], Lines 15-17) “the controller 6 stores necessary data obtained via the communication device 4 in the storage device 5 as appropriate, and thereafter calls it up and uses it whenever necessary.”
Niki does explicitly teach the processor and memory components.
Niki discloses, (Abstract, Lines 4-11) “A process for determining whether to form a vehicle group or not calculates the difference between the target vehicle pattern of the own vehicle and a target speed pattern of another vehicle or vehicle group obtained through inter-vehicle communication, so as to determine whether to form the vehicle group or not (S22, S28, S32). This can determine whether to run solo or form a vehicle group according to a driver's demand.” This places the reference in a substantially related field of endeavor.
Niki teaches, “FIG. 1 is a schematic view showing a hardware structure of the running control apparatus in accordance with the first embodiment of the present invention. The running control apparatus in accordance with this embodiment comprises various sensors 1, a communication unit 2, a running mode input switch 3, and an ECU 4. Here, the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) is a computer for automobile devices to be electronically controlled, which comprises a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), I/O interfaces, and the like.”
Niki additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0034]) “The ECU 4 comprises a target value computing part 41, a target speed pattern generating part (action plan generating means) 42, a target speed pattern comparing part 43, and a vehicle group formation determining part (vehicle group forming means) 44 … The vehicle group formation determining part 44 has a function of determining whether to run solo or form a group in response to an input of the result of comparison computed by the target speed pattern comparing part 43. The functions realized within the ECU 4 are not necessarily embodied by hardware, but can be fulfilled by software as well.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute instructions in a system which determines whether or not vehicles should platoon, at least explicitly, into the controller structure of Onuma in view of the evidential running control apparatus comprising an ECU and memory to execute similar vehicle computer control functions taught by Niki, in order to yield predictable results.
“the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to correct the travel route or the travel time range in a case where the vehicle travels without being connected to another vehicle, within a predetermined allowable range,”
Onuma does teach correcting a travel route of a vehicle by comparing its route similarity to that of another vehicle, and then changing its route to that of a shared platoon route between both vehicles.
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0050]) “In the second embodiment, an in-vehicle platooning device that allows changes to the driving plan will be described from the viewpoint of enabling platooning that is more suited to the actual situation.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0002], Lines 4-5) “if a vehicle traveling alone could join a platoon when it wanted, it could help ensure stable driving and contribute to road safety.”
Onuma does not explicitly teach identifying a vehicle which travels while not being connected to another, or a predetermined allowable range being responsible for determining whether or not a vehicle joins a platoon.
Niki does explicitly teach identifying a solo vehicle and whether or not it should join a platoon based upon a permissible range.
Niki teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “Preferably, in the running control apparatus, the vehicle group forming means sets a permissible range for the action plan of the first vehicle to the predetermined point and forms a vehicle group constituted by the first vehicle and the second vehicle or the first vehicle and vehicle group, wherein the second vehicle and vehicle group have an action plan to the predetermined point falling within the permissible range of the first vehicle.”
Niki additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054]) “The time required for running a given section of L meters is calculated from the target speed pattern. For thus calculated time required, T.sub.m, T.sub.n, and K.sub.x seconds are assumed to be the time necessary for the own vehicle, the time necessary for the other vehicle or vehicle group, and the permissible delay time, respectively. When T.sub.n<T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference from the other vehicle or vehicle group does not fall within the permissible range, whereby a vehicle group is formed with the corresponding other vehicle or vehicle group. When T.sub.n.gtoreq.T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference falls within the permissible range, whereby the vehicle runs solo (S22 in FIG. 2). In this case, by reflecting the running mode required by the driver into the target speed pattern in at least the own vehicle, the own vehicle can run such as to satisfy the running mode required by the driver.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle platooning system of Onuma, with the platoon system of Niki, which explicitly identifies a solo vehicle and whether or not it joins a platoon and alters its route based upon a predetermined allowable range, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefit of choosing whether or not to perform platooning in order to achieve a more efficient traffic flow while still meeting the needs of the driver. As Niki describes, (Paragraph [0075] & [0089]) “the running control apparatus in accordance with the second embodiment can determine whether to form a vehicle group or not by comparing action plans of vehicles to a predetermined point, so as to allow a vehicle to run in consideration of the running mode required by the driver, thereby making it possible to determine whether to run solo or form a vehicle group as required by the driver … The running control apparatus in accordance with the second embodiment makes it possible to form a vehicle group by using an action plan to a predetermined point, e.g., target speed pattern or target route, so that the vehicle group can be formed such as to reduce the average required time in a plurality of vehicle groups, which can make the traffic flow more efficient and improve the average mileage and average speed in the plurality of vehicle groups.”
“and the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where an object to be transported is not on the vehicle is larger than the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where the object to be transported is on the vehicle.”
Onuma and Niki do not teach the preceding limitations.
Kobayashi does teach the preceding limitations.
Kobayashi discloses, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 2-10) “a vehicle group or vehicle platoon [which] is organized by only a plurality of vehicles in which the parameter values inherent with the vehicles (for example, gross weight and overtaking acceleration and deceleration/braking performance, the frictional force of the tires and the like at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, and the like), and the cooperative travel in the vehicle group (vehicle platoon) is controlled to render the transport service of baggage, persons, animals, or the like.” The purpose of reciting the preceding paragraph is to establish the calculation of vehicle gross weight to explicitly include that of loaded baggage, the loaded bagged of which is applied as an example of the transported object of the claim limitation.
Kobayashi additionally discloses, (Paragraph [0158], Lines 1-14) “When starting communication with the following vehicle A 12 which is regarded as (the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 in) the command vehicle A 2, the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 collects the history information of the drive unit control drive 444 stored in the memory unit 450 in the following vehicle A 12 (S09). Then, the overtaking acceleration (at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, or the like) under the current conditions of the following vehicle A 12 is calculated (S10) and it is determined whether the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 or not (S11), in the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320. Then, when the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 (Yes in S11), the platoon organization in S16 is performed.” Therefore, the vehicle may or may not be added to a platoon based upon its gross weight, which may be made greater with the addition of carried baggage.
Kobayashi goes on to provide a particular example wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “FIG. 8 is a view illustrating an example of a platoon inadaptable to organization in the present system,” and that, (Paragraph [0092], Lines 1-9) “a case where a four-vehicle drive jeep 212 and a truck 214 loaded with a maximum permissible amount of baggage constitute a vehicle platoon will be reviewed. As illustrated in FIG.8 (a), a problem rarely occurs during traveling on a level road surface 210. When traveling changes to platooning toward an upper point of a slope road surface 220 as illustrated in FIG.8 (b), however, maintaining the inter-vehicle distance between the vehicles appropriately becomes difficult.”
Kobayashi additionally recites that the ability to join to a platoon on a sloped surface is more stringent, teaching (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time.”
Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Niki in light of Kobayashi, to arrive at the claimed limitation wherein the permissible allowable range for a vehicle to join a platoon is limited by gaining weight from the addition of an object (and vice-versa) due to the fact that the vehicle cannot safety platoon at particular speed patterns on sloped surfaces as it would introduce collision concerns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle platooning system of Onuma, with the vehicle platooning system of Niki which is capable of identifying a solo vehicle and adding said vehicle to a platoon when a predetermined allowable range is met, with the platooning system of Kobayashi which explicitly formulates a vehicle platoon based upon an acceptable allowable weight, which grows with the addition of passengers and objects (The higher the weight, the less platoon route segments the vehicle can join), in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of mitigating intra-vehicle crashes by limiting which vehicles can join due to their weight and/or object occupancy. As Kobayashi describes, (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time,” and that (Paragraph [0113], Lines 9-12) “the order of traveling vehicles may be set such that the gross mass (gross weight) of the following vehicles 12, 14, and 16 closer to the lead vehicle is larger. Thus, when the traveling order is set in accordance with the order of the larger gross mass (gross weight) of the vehicles, a vehicle traveling on the rear side of the following vehicles 12, 14, and 16 tends to have higher braking performance. Therefore, when the order of the traveling vehicles is set in the above manner, the effect of reducing a crush risk when traveling on a wet road surface or snow-covered (ice) surface can also be obtained.”
Claim 7 Discloses: (Original)
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to output, to an apparatus being used by an operator of the vehicle, information related to a vehicle being a connection partner of the vehicle.”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0072]) “Figure 11 (B) shows a state in which the controller 6 presents on the display unit 21 a convoy in which the vehicle SC may be able to travel in formation, based on information obtained from the traffic information management device 11 via road-to-vehicle communication. As shown in this figure, the controller 6 displays on the display unit 21 an ID for identifying the train group, vehicle speed, route, running position, merging position, merging time, etc. The driver operates the input unit 22 to input the ID of the desired convoy, thereby determining the desired convoy. The controller 6 receives an instruction input from the driver and selects a convoy to be formed.”
Claim 8 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“An information processing method comprising,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present invention relates to a technology for forming a convoy of multiple vehicles and traveling in it. More specifically, the present invention relates to an in-vehicle platooning device and a platooning method for forming a platoon with other vehicles or other platoons traveling in the same direction as the vehicle itself.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0038]) “[Figure] 5 and 6 are flowcharts summarizing the processing when the controller 6 of the vehicle mounted platooning device 1 mounted on the host vehicle SC selects other vehicles to be used in the platoon.”
“by an information processing apparatus: acquiring request information being transmitted from a user terminal”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0014]) “The vehicle-mounted platoon formation device may further include a display means for displaying information regarding the first driving plan and the second driving plan, and a selection input means for selecting and instructing the content displayed by the display means, wherein the selection means presents on the display means other vehicles or other platoons whose similarity is equal to or greater than a predetermined standard, and the selection input means allows the other vehicles or other platoons to be selected. In this case, the vehicle-mounted convoy formation device can reflect the driver's (user's) intentions. It is more preferable that the apparatus further comprises a setting means for manually setting the predetermined standard of similarity.”
“and including a use start point of a vehicle, a use end point of the vehicle,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 5-7) “The controller 6 determines that the driving plans are similar not only when the driving routes (route plans) from the current position to the destination are completely identical, but also when, for example, the driving routes are identical to each other to a certain degree or more.”
“and a time point when the vehicle is to be used;”
Onuma (Paragraph [0035], Lines 3-5) “The diagram is a time chart showing the travel plans of each vehicle group A to C based on the time when the host vehicle SC desires to travel in a convoy (hereinafter referred to as the current time in this embodiment).”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 4-6) “FIG. 7B shows a diagram when a change in the travel plan of platooning vehicle group B is confirmed at the current time and the controller 6 changes the partner vehicle in the platoon to platooning vehicle group B.”
“generating a travel plan for each of a plurality of vehicles including vehicles assigned to each piece of the request information in such a way that, when a degree of similarity of a plurality of pieces of the request information satisfies a predetermined criterion, the plurality of vehicles travel in a connected state in a partial travel section; and outputting the travel plan.”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “According to the present invention, the degree of similarity between the travel plan of the subject vehicle and the travel plans of other vehicles is evaluated, and the vehicles to be formed into the platoon and the platoon are selected based on the degree of similarity. Therefore, it is possible to provide an in-vehicle platooning device that can perform optimal platooning in accordance with the actual road environment on which the vehicles are traveling.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0011]) “In addition, the receiving means may also receive at least one of vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information of the other vehicle or the other convoy, the storage means may also store at least one of vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information of the vehicle itself or the convoy, and the selection means may make the selection based on the similarity of at least one of the vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information.”
“wherein the degree of similarity is a degree of similarity between pieces of the request information regarding a travel route of the vehicle”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “According to the present invention, the degree of similarity between the travel plan of the subject vehicle and the travel plans of other vehicles is evaluated, and the vehicles to be formed into the platoon and the platoon are selected based on the degree of similarity. Therefore, it is possible to provide an in-vehicle platooning device that can perform optimal platooning in accordance with the actual road environment on which the vehicles are traveling.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0031], Lines 7-10) “In Example 1, the vehicle-mounted convoy formation device 1 of the vehicle SC that wishes to travel in a convoy evaluates not only the current position and destination but also the similarity of the driving plan to select other vehicles with which to form the convoy. It is desirable to include not only a route plan but also a rest plan in the driving plan.”
“and a travel time range of the vehicle for achieving transportation requested in the request information,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 7-8) “Here, the similarity is determined for the planned travel route, resting locations, resting times, number of resting times, and other resting plans.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the resting times of each vehicle would directly contribute to the total travel time range.
“… and calculating the degree of similarity between pieces of the request information by using the corrected travel route or travel time range,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “Within each of the platooning vehicle groups 1 and 2, vehicle-to-vehicle data is transmitted and received between them via inter-vehicle communication B. The data exchanged here may include, for example, a vehicle identification ID, platoon formation information, route information, speed information, steering information, position information, vehicle type information, and vehicle characteristic information.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 14-18, Paragraph [0053], & paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3)) “However, it was confirmed that platooning vehicle group B was planning to take a break at the first service area (SA1). Therefore, the in-vehicle platooning device 1 of the host vehicle SC temporarily selects platooning vehicle group C, which has the next closest conditions to platooning vehicle group B. However, later, before the host vehicle SC merges with the platooning vehicle group C, the platooning vehicle group B decides to cancel the rest plan at the first service area (SA1). The controller 6 of the host vehicle SC confirms that the travel plan of the platooning vehicle group B has been changed through vehicle-to-vehicle communication or a diagram supplied from the traffic information management device 11. In this case, the controller 6 of the vehicle-mounted platooning device 1 according to Example 2 decides to cancel the plan to merge with platooning vehicle group C and switch to merging with platooning vehicle group B, which has the closest driving plan.”
“the generating the travel plan further includes correcting the travel route or the travel time range in a case where the vehicle travels without being connected to another vehicle, within a predetermined allowable range,”
Onuma does teach correcting a travel route of a vehicle by comparing its route similarity to that of another vehicle, and then changing its route to that of a shared platoon route between both vehicles.
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0050]) “In the second embodiment, an in-vehicle platooning device that allows changes to the driving plan will be described from the viewpoint of enabling platooning that is more suited to the actual situation.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0002], Lines 4-5) “if a vehicle traveling alone could join a platoon when it wanted, it could help ensure stable driving and contribute to road safety.”
Onuma does not explicitly teach identifying a vehicle which travels while not being connected to another, or a predetermined allowable range being responsible for determining whether or not a vehicle joins a platoon.
Niki does explicitly teach identifying a solo vehicle and whether or not it should join a platoon based upon a permissible range.
Niki teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “Preferably, in the running control apparatus, the vehicle group forming means sets a permissible range for the action plan of the first vehicle to the predetermined point and forms a vehicle group constituted by the first vehicle and the second vehicle or the first vehicle and vehicle group, wherein the second vehicle and vehicle group have an action plan to the predetermined point falling within the permissible range of the first vehicle.”
Niki additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054]) “The time required for running a given section of L meters is calculated from the target speed pattern. For thus calculated time required, T.sub.m, T.sub.n, and K.sub.x seconds are assumed to be the time necessary for the own vehicle, the time necessary for the other vehicle or vehicle group, and the permissible delay time, respectively. When T.sub.n<T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference from the other vehicle or vehicle group does not fall within the permissible range, whereby a vehicle group is formed with the corresponding other vehicle or vehicle group. When T.sub.n.gtoreq.T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference falls within the permissible range, whereby the vehicle runs solo (S22 in FIG. 2). In this case, by reflecting the running mode required by the driver into the target speed pattern in at least the own vehicle, the own vehicle can run such as to satisfy the running mode required by the driver.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle platooning system of Onuma, with the platoon system of Niki which explicitly identifies a solo vehicle and whether or not it joins a platoon and alters its route based upon a predetermined allowable range, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefit of choosing whether or not to perform platooning in order to achieve a more efficient traffic flow while still meeting the needs of the driver. As Niki describes, (Paragraph [0075] & [0089]) “the running control apparatus in accordance with the second embodiment can determine whether to form a vehicle group or not by comparing action plans of vehicles to a predetermined point, so as to allow a vehicle to run in consideration of the running mode required by the driver, thereby making it possible to determine whether to run solo or form a vehicle group as required by the driver … The running control apparatus in accordance with the second embodiment makes it possible to form a vehicle group by using an action plan to a predetermined point, e.g., target speed pattern or target route, so that the vehicle group can be formed such as to reduce the average required time in a plurality of vehicle groups, which can make the traffic flow more efficient and improve the average mileage and average speed in the plurality of vehicle groups.”
“and the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where an object to be transported is not on the vehicle is larger than the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where the object to be transported in on the vehicle.”
Onuma and Niki do not teach the preceding limitations.
Kobayashi does teach the preceding limitations.
Kobayashi discloses, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 2-10) “a vehicle group or vehicle platoon [which] is organized by only a plurality of vehicles in which the parameter values inherent with the vehicles (for example, gross weight and overtaking acceleration and deceleration/braking performance, the frictional force of the tires and the like at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, and the like), and the cooperative travel in the vehicle group (vehicle platoon) is controlled to render the transport service of baggage, persons, animals, or the like.” The purpose of reciting the preceding paragraph is to establish the calculation of vehicle gross weight to explicitly include that of loaded baggage, the loaded bagged of which is applied as an example of the transported object of the claim limitation.
Kobayashi additionally discloses, (Paragraph [0158], Lines 1-14) “When starting communication with the following vehicle A 12 which is regarded as (the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 in) the command vehicle A 2, the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 collects the history information of the drive unit control drive 444 stored in the memory unit 450 in the following vehicle A 12 (S09). Then, the overtaking acceleration (at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, or the like) under the current conditions of the following vehicle A 12 is calculated (S10) and it is determined whether the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 or not (S11), in the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320. Then, when the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 (Yes in S11), the platoon organization in S16 is performed.” Therefore, the vehicle may or may not be added to a platoon based upon its gross weight, which may be made greater with the addition of carried baggage.
Kobayashi goes on to provide a particular example wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “FIG. 8 is a view illustrating an example of a platoon inadaptable to organization in the present system,” and that, (Paragraph [0092], Lines 1-9) “a case where a four-vehicle drive jeep 212 and a truck 214 loaded with a maximum permissible amount of baggage constitute a vehicle platoon will be reviewed. As illustrated in FIG.8 (a), a problem rarely occurs during traveling on a level road surface 210. When traveling changes to platooning toward an upper point of a slope road surface 220 as illustrated in FIG.8 (b), however, maintaining the inter-vehicle distance between the vehicles appropriately becomes difficult.”
Kobayashi additionally recites that the ability to join to a platoon on a sloped surface is more stringent, teaching (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time.”
An allowable range for a lighter vehicle having carried no object over the entirety of a route to join a platoon is larger than a heavier vehicle with carrying at least one object, as the vehicle with no object may reasonably join more platoon segments of varying gradient, while the heavier vehicle can be limited by terrain such as a sloped surface.
Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Niki in light of Kobayashi, to arrive at the claimed limitation wherein the permissible allowable range for a vehicle to join a platoon is limited by gaining weight from the addition of an object (and vice-versa) due to the fact that the vehicle cannot safety platoon on sloped surfaces which would introduce collision concerns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle platooning system of Onuma, with the vehicle platooning system of Niki which is capable of identifying a solo vehicle and adding said vehicle to a platoon when a predetermined allowable range is met, with the platooning system of Kobayashi which explicitly formulates a vehicle platoon based upon an acceptable allowable weight, which grows with the addition of passengers and objects (The higher the weight, the less platoon route segments the vehicle can join), in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of mitigating intra-vehicle crashes by limiting which vehicles can join due to their weight and/or object occupancy. As Kobayashi describes, (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time,” and that, (Paragraph [0113], Lines 9-12) “the order of traveling vehicles may be set such that the gross mass (gross weight) of the following vehicles 12, 14, and 16 closer to the lead vehicle is larger. Thus, when the traveling order is set in accordance with the order of the larger gross mass (gross weight) of the vehicles, a vehicle traveling on the rear side of the following vehicles 12, 14, and 16 tends to have higher braking performance. Therefore, when the order of the traveling vehicles is set in the above manner, the effect of reducing a crush risk when traveling on a wet road surface or snow-covered (ice) surface can also be obtained.”
Claim 14 Discloses: (Original)
“The information processing method according to claim 8, further comprising outputting, to an apparatus being used by an operator of the vehicle, information related to a vehicle being a connection partner of the vehicle.”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0072]) “Figure 11 (B) shows a state in which the controller 6 presents on the display unit 21 a convoy in which the vehicle SC may be able to travel in formation, based on information obtained from the traffic information management device 11 via road-to-vehicle communication. As shown in this figure, the controller 6 displays on the display unit 21 an ID for identifying the train group, vehicle speed, route, running position, merging position, merging time, etc. The driver operates the input unit 22 to input the ID of the desired convoy, thereby determining the desired convoy. The controller 6 receives an instruction input from the driver and selects a convoy to be formed.”
Claim 15 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“… a request acquiring step of acquiring request information being transmitted from a user terminal”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0014]) “The vehicle-mounted platoon formation device may further include a display means for displaying information regarding the first driving plan and the second driving plan, and a selection input means for selecting and instructing the content displayed by the display means, wherein the selection means presents on the display means other vehicles or other platoons whose similarity is equal to or greater than a predetermined standard, and the selection input means allows the other vehicles or other platoons to be selected. In this case, the vehicle-mounted convoy formation device can reflect the driver's (user's) intentions. It is more preferable that the apparatus further comprises a setting means for manually setting the predetermined standard of similarity.”
“and including a use start point of a vehicle, a use end point of the vehicle,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 5-7) “The controller 6 determines that the driving plans are similar not only when the driving routes (route plans) from the current position to the destination are completely identical, but also when, for example, the driving routes are identical to each other to a certain degree or more.”
“and a time point when the vehicle is to be used;”
Onuma (Paragraph [0035], Lines 3-5) “The diagram is a time chart showing the travel plans of each vehicle group A to C based on the time when the host vehicle SC desires to travel in a convoy (hereinafter referred to as the current time in this embodiment).”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 4-6) “FIG. 7B shows a diagram when a change in the travel plan of platooning vehicle group B is confirmed at the current time and the controller 6 changes the partner vehicle in the platoon to platooning vehicle group B.”
“a connected-travel plan generating step of generating a travel plan for each of a plurality of vehicles including vehicles assigned to each piece of the request information in such a way that, when a degree of similarity of a plurality of pieces of the request information satisfies a predetermined criterion, the plurality of vehicles travel in a connected state in a partial travel section; and an output step of outputting the travel plan.”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “According to the present invention, the degree of similarity between the travel plan of the subject vehicle and the travel plans of other vehicles is evaluated, and the vehicles to be formed into the platoon and the platoon are selected based on the degree of similarity. Therefore, it is possible to provide an in-vehicle platooning device that can perform optimal platooning in accordance with the actual road environment on which the vehicles are traveling.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0011]) “In addition, the receiving means may also receive at least one of vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information of the other vehicle or the other convoy, the storage means may also store at least one of vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information of the vehicle itself or the convoy, and the selection means may make the selection based on the similarity of at least one of the vehicle type information and vehicle characteristic information.”
“wherein the degree of similarity is a degree of similarity between pieces of the request information regarding a travel route of the vehicle”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “According to the present invention, the degree of similarity between the travel plan of the subject vehicle and the travel plans of other vehicles is evaluated, and the vehicles to be formed into the platoon and the platoon are selected based on the degree of similarity. Therefore, it is possible to provide an in-vehicle platooning device that can perform optimal platooning in accordance with the actual road environment on which the vehicles are traveling.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0031], Lines 7-10) “In Example 1, the vehicle-mounted convoy formation device 1 of the vehicle SC that wishes to travel in a convoy evaluates not only the current position and destination but also the similarity of the driving plan to select other vehicles with which to form the convoy. It is desirable to include not only a route plan but also a rest plan in the driving plan.”
“and a travel time range of the vehicle for achieving transportation requested in the request information,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0045], Lines 7-8) “Here, the similarity is determined for the planned travel route, resting locations, resting times, number of resting times, and other resting plans.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the resting times of each vehicle would directly contribute to the total travel time range.
“… and calculating the degree of similarity between pieces of the request information by using the corrected travel route or travel time range,”
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “Within each of the platooning vehicle groups 1 and 2, vehicle-to-vehicle data is transmitted and received between them via inter-vehicle communication B. The data exchanged here may include, for example, a vehicle identification ID, platoon formation information, route information, speed information, steering information, position information, vehicle type information, and vehicle characteristic information.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 14-18, Paragraph [0053], & paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3)) “However, it was confirmed that platooning vehicle group B was planning to take a break at the first service area (SA1). Therefore, the in-vehicle platooning device 1 of the host vehicle SC temporarily selects platooning vehicle group C, which has the next closest conditions to platooning vehicle group B. However, later, before the host vehicle SC merges with the platooning vehicle group C, the platooning vehicle group B decides to cancel the rest plan at the first service area (SA1). The controller 6 of the host vehicle SC confirms that the travel plan of the platooning vehicle group B has been changed through vehicle-to-vehicle communication or a diagram supplied from the traffic information management device 11. In this case, the controller 6 of the vehicle-mounted platooning device 1 according to Example 2 decides to cancel the plan to merge with platooning vehicle group C and switch to merging with platooning vehicle group B, which has the closest driving plan.”
“A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute:”
Onuma does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer readable medium component. However, Onuma does teach the following.
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 1-2) “The vehicle-mounted platooning device 1 includes a … controller 6,” and that, (Paragraph [0024], Lines 15-17) “the controller 6 stores necessary data obtained via the communication device 4 in the storage device 5 as appropriate, and thereafter calls it up and uses it whenever necessary.”
Niki does explicitly teach the non-transitory computer readable medium component in the form of RAM.
Niki discloses, (Abstract, Lines 4-11) “A process for determining whether to form a vehicle group or not calculates the difference between the target vehicle pattern of the own vehicle and a target speed pattern of another vehicle or vehicle group obtained through inter-vehicle communication, so as to determine whether to form the vehicle group or not (S22, S28, S32). This can determine whether to run solo or form a vehicle group according to a driver's demand.” This places the reference in a substantially related field of endeavor.
Niki teaches, (Paragraph [0030]) “FIG. 1 is a schematic view showing a hardware structure of the running control apparatus in accordance with the first embodiment of the present invention. The running control apparatus in accordance with this embodiment comprises various sensors 1, a communication unit 2, a running mode input switch 3, and an ECU 4. Here, the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) is a computer for automobile devices to be electronically controlled, which comprises a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), I/O interfaces, and the like.”
Niki additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0034]) “The ECU 4 comprises a target value computing part 41, a target speed pattern generating part (action plan generating means) 42, a target speed pattern comparing part 43, and a vehicle group formation determining part (vehicle group forming means) 44 … The vehicle group formation determining part 44 has a function of determining whether to run solo or form a group in response to an input of the result of comparison computed by the target speed pattern comparing part 43. The functions realized within the ECU 4 are not necessarily embodied by hardware, but can be fulfilled by software as well.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a non-transitory computer readable medium in a system which determines whether or not vehicles should platoon, at least explicitly, into the controller structure of Onuma in view of the evidential running control apparatus comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium to execute similar vehicle computer control functions taught by Niki, in order to yield predictable results.
“the connected-travel plan generating step further includes correcting the travel route or the travel time range in a case where the vehicle travels without being connected to another vehicle, within a predetermined allowable range,”
Onuma does teach correcting a travel route of a vehicle by comparing its route similarity to that of another vehicle, and then changing its route to that of a shared platoon route between both vehicles.
Onuma teaches, (Paragraph [0050]) “In the second embodiment, an in-vehicle platooning device that allows changes to the driving plan will be described from the viewpoint of enabling platooning that is more suited to the actual situation.”
Onuma additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0002], Lines 4-5) “if a vehicle traveling alone could join a platoon when it wanted, it could help ensure stable driving and contribute to road safety.”
Onuma does not explicitly teach identifying a vehicle which travels while not being connected to another, or a predetermined allowable range being responsible for determining whether or not a vehicle joins a platoon.
Niki does explicitly teach identifying a solo vehicle and whether or not it should join a platoon based upon a permissible range.
Niki teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “Preferably, in the running control apparatus, the vehicle group forming means sets a permissible range for the action plan of the first vehicle to the predetermined point and forms a vehicle group constituted by the first vehicle and the second vehicle or the first vehicle and vehicle group, wherein the second vehicle and vehicle group have an action plan to the predetermined point falling within the permissible range of the first vehicle.”
Niki additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054]) “The time required for running a given section of L meters is calculated from the target speed pattern. For thus calculated time required, T.sub.m, T.sub.n, and K.sub.x seconds are assumed to be the time necessary for the own vehicle, the time necessary for the other vehicle or vehicle group, and the permissible delay time, respectively. When T.sub.n<T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference from the other vehicle or vehicle group does not fall within the permissible range, whereby a vehicle group is formed with the corresponding other vehicle or vehicle group. When T.sub.n.gtoreq.T.sub.m-K.sub.x, the difference falls within the permissible range, whereby the vehicle runs solo (S22 in FIG. 2). In this case, by reflecting the running mode required by the driver into the target speed pattern in at least the own vehicle, the own vehicle can run such as to satisfy the running mode required by the driver.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle platooning system of Onuma, with the platoon system of Niki, which explicitly identifies a solo vehicle and whether or not it joins a platoon and alters its route based upon a predetermined allowable range, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefit of choosing whether or not to perform platooning in order to achieve a more efficient traffic flow while still meeting the needs of the driver. As Niki describes, (Paragraph [0075] & [0089]) “the running control apparatus in accordance with the second embodiment can determine whether to form a vehicle group or not by comparing action plans of vehicles to a predetermined point, so as to allow a vehicle to run in consideration of the running mode required by the driver, thereby making it possible to determine whether to run solo or form a vehicle group as required by the driver … The running control apparatus in accordance with the second embodiment makes it possible to form a vehicle group by using an action plan to a predetermined point, e.g., target speed pattern or target route, so that the vehicle group can be formed such as to reduce the average required time in a plurality of vehicle groups, which can make the traffic flow more efficient and improve the average mileage and average speed in the plurality of vehicle groups.”
“and the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where an object to be transported is not on the vehicle is larger than the predetermined allowable range for a travel section where the vehicle travels in a state where the object to be transported is on the vehicle.”
Onuma and Niki do not teach the preceding limitations.
Kobayashi does teach the preceding limitations.
Kobayashi discloses, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 2-10) “a vehicle group or vehicle platoon [which] is organized by only a plurality of vehicles in which the parameter values inherent with the vehicles (for example, gross weight and overtaking acceleration and deceleration/braking performance, the frictional force of the tires and the like at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, and the like), and the cooperative travel in the vehicle group (vehicle platoon) is controlled to render the transport service of baggage, persons, animals, or the like.” The purpose of reciting the preceding paragraph is to establish the calculation of vehicle gross weight to explicitly include that of loaded baggage, the loaded bagged of which is applied as an example of the transported object of the claim limitation.
Kobayashi additionally discloses, (Paragraph [0158], Lines 1-14) “When starting communication with the following vehicle A 12 which is regarded as (the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 in) the command vehicle A 2, the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320 collects the history information of the drive unit control drive 444 stored in the memory unit 450 in the following vehicle A 12 (S09). Then, the overtaking acceleration (at the time of loading baggage, persons, animals, or the like) under the current conditions of the following vehicle A 12 is calculated (S10) and it is determined whether the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 or not (S11), in the mobile grouped vehicle guidance device 320. Then, when the following vehicle adapts to the current vehicle platoon 200 (Yes in S11), the platoon organization in S16 is performed.”
Therefore, the vehicle may or may not be added to a platoon based upon its gross weight, which may be made greater with the addition of carried baggage.
Kobayashi goes on to provide a particular example wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “FIG. 8 is a view illustrating an example of a platoon inadaptable to organization in the present system,” and that, (Paragraph [0092], Lines 1-9) “a case where a four-vehicle drive jeep 212 and a truck 214 loaded with a maximum permissible amount of baggage constitute a vehicle platoon will be reviewed. As illustrated in FIG.8 (a), a problem rarely occurs during traveling on a level road surface 210. When traveling changes to platooning toward an upper point of a slope road surface 220 as illustrated in FIG.8 (b), however, maintaining the inter-vehicle distance between the vehicles appropriately becomes difficult.”
Kobayashi additionally recites that the ability to join to a platoon on a sloped surface is more stringent, teaching (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time.”
Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Niki in light of Kobayashi, to arrive at the claimed limitation wherein the permissible allowable range for a vehicle to join a platoon is limited by gaining weight from the addition of an object (and vice-versa) due to the fact that the vehicle cannot safety platoon on sloped surfaces which would introduce collision concerns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle platooning system of Onuma, with the vehicle platooning system of Niki which is capable of identifying a solo vehicle and adding said vehicle to a platoon when a predetermined allowable range is met, with the platooning system of Kobayashi which explicitly formulates a vehicle platoon based upon an acceptable allowable weight, which grows with the addition of passengers and objects (The higher the weight, the less platoon route segments the vehicle can join), in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of mitigating intra-vehicle crashes by limiting which vehicles can join due to their weight and/or object occupancy. As Kobayashi describes, (Paragraph [0110]) “The ratio of the larger value to the smaller value of the inherent parameters (gross mass, gross weight, overtaking acceleration, deceleration/braking performance, frictional force of the tires, and the like) values between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 in the vehicle platoon 200, and the characteristics of prevention of crush between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 have been reviewed in detail. As a result, the above ratio needs to be 100 or less on the general level ground road surface 210. In addition, the above ratio needs to be 10 or less on the slope road surface 220. Furthermore, it is clarified that the ratio is desirably 10 or less to control the inter-vehicle distance between the adjacent vehicles 212 and 214 with high accuracy in a short time,” and that (Paragraph [0113], Lines 9-12) “the order of traveling vehicles may be set such that the gross mass (gross weight) of the following vehicles 12, 14, and 16 closer to the lead vehicle is larger. Thus, when the traveling order is set in accordance with the order of the larger gross mass (gross weight) of the vehicles, a vehicle traveling on the rear side of the following vehicles 12, 14, and 16 tends to have higher braking performance. Therefore, when the order of the traveling vehicles is set in the above manner, the effect of reducing a crush risk when traveling on a wet road surface or snow-covered (ice) surface can also be obtained.”
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma in view of Niki, further in view of Kobayashi, further in view of Brooks, (US 2023/0554373 A1, hereinafter Brooks).
Claim 2 Discloses: (Original)
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle being remotely operated by an operator.”
Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi do not teach the preceding limitation.
However, Brooks does teach the preceding limitation.
Brooks teaches, (Paragraph [0035]) “Embodiments of the subject matter described herein relate to remote operator assignment systems and methods.”
Brooks additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0039]) “While one or more embodiments are described in connection with a rail vehicle system, not all embodiments are limited to rail vehicle systems … For example, vehicles may be logically but not mechanically coupled when the separate vehicles communicate with each other to coordinate movements of the vehicles with each other so that the vehicles travel together (e.g., as a convoy, platoon, swarm, fleet, and the like).”
Brooks additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 12-17) “With respect to logically coupled vehicle systems, two or more vehicles can be logically connected but not mechanically connected when the vehicles communicate with each other during movement to coordinate the movements of the vehicles with each other and cause the vehicles to move together along one or more routes.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the platooning systems of Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi, with the remote operation capability of Brooks, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety and convenience benefits of a remote operator stepping in when an unexpected condition such as an accident occurs. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0072], Lines 7-13) “These operators may remotely monitor the vehicle system to determine if an emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur (or that other unsafe or unexpected conditions arise), and then takeover or assist with controlling movement of the vehicle system responsive to determining that the emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur.”
Claim 3 Discloses: (Original)
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to assign a single operator for collectively operating the plurality of vehicles to the partial travel section where the plurality of vehicles travel in a connected state.”
Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi do not teach the preceding limitation.
However, Brooks does teach the preceding limitation.
Brooks teaches, (Paragraph [0094], Lines 1-4) “The operator can be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems based on common characteristics between the vehicle systems and/or planned travels of the vehicle systems. For example, an operator may be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems that all travel or are scheduled to travel in a common geographic region,” and that,” (Paragraph [0097], Lines 1-3) “As another example, an operator may be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems that all travel in the same direction.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the platooning systems of Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi, with the remote operation assignment capability of Brooks, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety and convenience benefits of a remote operator stepping in when an unexpected condition such as an accident occurs. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0072], Lines 7-13) “These operators may remotely monitor the vehicle system to determine if an emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur (or that other unsafe or unexpected conditions arise), and then takeover or assist with controlling movement of the vehicle system responsive to determining that the emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur.” Combining the references would additionally yield of the benefits of limiting the number of vehicles a remote operator is responsible for, by limiting to for example, a singular platoon. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0085], Lines 4-8) “the assignment system can avoid having an operator be assigned to too many vehicle systems by using one or more limits on how many vehicle systems can be remotely monitored and/or controlled by the operator.”
Claim 9 Discloses: (Original)
“The information processing method according to claim 8, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle being remotely operated by an operator.”
Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi do not teach the preceding limitations.
However, Brooks does teach the preceding limitation.
Brooks teaches, (Paragraph [0035]) “Embodiments of the subject matter described herein relate to remote operator assignment systems and methods.”
Brooks additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0039]) “While one or more embodiments are described in connection with a rail vehicle system, not all embodiments are limited to rail vehicle systems … For example, vehicles may be logically but not mechanically coupled when the separate vehicles communicate with each other to coordinate movements of the vehicles with each other so that the vehicles travel together (e.g., as a convoy, platoon, swarm, fleet, and the like).”
Brooks additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 12-17) “With respect to logically coupled vehicle systems, two or more vehicles can be logically connected but not mechanically connected when the vehicles communicate with each other during movement to coordinate the movements of the vehicles with each other and cause the vehicles to move together along one or more routes.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the platooning systems of Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi, with the remote operation capability of Brooks, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety and convenience benefits of a remote operator stepping in when an unexpected condition such as an accident occurs. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0072], Lines 7-13) “These operators may remotely monitor the vehicle system to determine if an emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur (or that other unsafe or unexpected conditions arise), and then takeover or assist with controlling movement of the vehicle system responsive to determining that the emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur.”
Claim 10 Discloses: (Original)
“The information processing method according to claim 8, further comprising assigning a single operator for collectively operating the plurality of vehicles to the partial travel section where the plurality of vehicles travel in a connected state.”
Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi do not teach the preceding limitations.
However, Brooks does teach the preceding limitation.
Brooks teaches, (Paragraph [0094], Lines 1-4) “The operator can be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems based on common characteristics between the vehicle systems and/or planned travels of the vehicle systems. For example, an operator may be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems that all travel or are scheduled to travel in a common geographic region,” and that,” (Paragraph [0097], Lines 1-3) “As another example, an operator may be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems that all travel in the same direction.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the platooning systems of Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi, with the remote operation assignment capability of Brooks, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety and convenience benefits of a remote operator stepping in when an unexpected condition such as an accident occurs. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0072], Lines 7-13) “These operators may remotely monitor the vehicle system to determine if an emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur (or that other unsafe or unexpected conditions arise), and then takeover or assist with controlling movement of the vehicle system responsive to determining that the emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur.” Combining the references would additionally yield of the benefits of limiting the number of vehicles a remote operator is responsible for, by limiting to, for example, a singular platoon. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0085], Lines 4-8) “the assignment system can avoid having an operator be assigned to too many vehicle systems by using one or more limits on how many vehicle systems can be remotely monitored and/or controlled by the operator.”
Claim 16 Discloses: (Original)
“The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle being remotely operated by an operator.”
Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi do not teach the preceding limitation.
However, Brooks does teach the preceding limitation.
Brooks teaches, (Paragraph [0035]) “Embodiments of the subject matter described herein relate to remote operator assignment systems and methods.”
Brooks additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0039]) “While one or more embodiments are described in connection with a rail vehicle system, not all embodiments are limited to rail vehicle systems … For example, vehicles may be logically but not mechanically coupled when the separate vehicles communicate with each other to coordinate movements of the vehicles with each other so that the vehicles travel together (e.g., as a convoy, platoon, swarm, fleet, and the like).”
Brooks additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 12-17) “With respect to logically coupled vehicle systems, two or more vehicles can be logically connected but not mechanically connected when the vehicles communicate with each other during movement to coordinate the movements of the vehicles with each other and cause the vehicles to move together along one or more routes.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the platooning systems of Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi with the remote operation capability of Brooks, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety and convenience benefits of a remote operator stepping in when an unexpected condition such as an accident occurs. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0072], Lines 7-13) “These operators may remotely monitor the vehicle system to determine if an emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur (or that other unsafe or unexpected conditions arise), and then takeover or assist with controlling movement of the vehicle system responsive to determining that the emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur.”
Claim 17 Discloses: (Original)
“The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the program further causes the computer to execute an operator assignment step of assigning a single operator for collectively operating the plurality of vehicles to the partial travel section where the plurality of vehicles travel in a connected state.”
Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi do not teach the preceding limitation.
However, Brooks does teach the preceding limitation.
Brooks teaches, (Paragraph [0094], Lines 1-4) “The operator can be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems based on common characteristics between the vehicle systems and/or planned travels of the vehicle systems. For example, an operator may be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems that all travel or are scheduled to travel in a common geographic region,” and that,” (Paragraph [0097], Lines 1-3) “As another example, an operator may be re-assigned to a group of vehicle systems that all travel in the same direction.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the platooning systems of Onuma, Niki, and Kobayashi, with the remote operation assignment capability of Brooks, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety and convenience benefits of a remote operator stepping in when an unexpected condition such as an accident occurs. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0072], Lines 7-13) “These operators may remotely monitor the vehicle system to determine if an emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur (or that other unsafe or unexpected conditions arise), and then takeover or assist with controlling movement of the vehicle system responsive to determining that the emergency, accident, or failure is occurring or about to occur.” Combining the references would additionally yield of the benefits of limiting the number of vehicles a remote operator is responsible for, by limiting to, for example, a singular platoon. As Brooks describes, (Paragraph [0085], Lines 4-8) “the assignment system can avoid having an operator be assigned to too many vehicle systems by using one or more limits on how many vehicle systems can be remotely monitored and/or controlled by the operator.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant'sdisclosure.
Ma et al. (CN 115689134 A) teaches, (Abstract) “The application claims a capacity scheduling method, server, electronic device and readable storage medium, the capacity scheduling method comprises: obtaining the travel request of a plurality of users in the first area, the travel request is carried with a travel departure place and a travel destination, the travel departure place is located in the first area and the travel destination is located in the second area, the first area is the area of the service vehicle supply less than travel service demand, the second area is the area where the travel service demand is less than the service vehicle supply amount; based on the plurality of travel requests, determining a plurality of target users satisfying the requirement of travel demand similarity from the plurality of users; respectively generating a first transfer order for each target user and generating a first transfer order for the plurality of target users. Through the capacity scheduling method and server, it can improve the problem of insufficient heat area transportation force in the condition of imbalance of supply and demand, and the cold area transportation force is idle, effectively improving the utilization rate of the transportation force.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664