DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 08/26/2026. Claims 1-25 are pending with claims 12-19 withdrawn and claims 20-25 newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US Pat. 11,079,123) in view of Akerman et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0260324) and Yoon (US PG Pub. 2012/0138025).
Regarding claim 1, Nelson discloses a device (101) for cooling air between a garment and wearer of the garment (Fig. 8), wherein the device comprises a cooling unit (200) comprising a plurality of heat transfer modules (100, 200, 300, 400; or separate sub-chambers 107 forming a plurality of heat transfer modules; column 7, lines 32-63) for cooling the air (column 8, lines 15-26), and one or more fan(s) (122, Fig. 5) for advancing the air through the heat transfer modules (column 8, lines 34-43), wherein each heat transfer module comprises: a) a sealable volume for the placement of phase change material (104) for cooling the air, and b) a channel (120) through the sealable volume that forms an air passageway (121) that is in fluid communication with at least one of the one or more fan(s) (column 4, line 59 to column 5, line 11), wherein the channel further comprises: i) a plurality of interior fins extending from an inner channel wall into the air passageway (fins can protrude into the internal space or air passageway of the tubes; column 4, lines 59-63), and ii) a plurality of exterior fins extending from an outer channel wall into the sealable volume (fins on external side of tubes 120; Fig. 6); wherein heat can transfer from air in the air passageway to any phase change material in the sealable volume (Abstract).
If Applicant is not convinced Nelson explicitly teaches a plurality of interior fins extending from an inner channel wall into the air passageway, Akerman teaches it is known for a cooling device for cooling air having a sealable volume for the placement of phase change material (34, Fig. 2) to be provided with a plurality of interior fins (14) and exterior fins (16) extending from an inner channel wall (24, 26) into the air passageway that provides added surface area and improves the rate at which heat is absorbed from the surrounding environment by the phase change material (paragraph 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nelson to include a plurality of interior fins extending from an inner channel wall into the air passageway taught by Akerman in order to increase the surface area of the heat transfer module and improve the rate at which heat is absorbed from the surrounding environment by the phase change material.
Nelson further teaches a channel (420a, Fig. 14) that has a curved shape to increase residence time of air in the module (column 10, line 59 to column 11, line 19) but Nelson does not explicitly teach the channel is in the form of a general "U" or sinusoidal shape that transits back and forth across a major plane in the heat transfer module.
Yoon teaches it is known for an air-cooling device to have a channel that has a curved shape in the form of a general “U” that doubles the cooling path and increases the efficiency of the heat exchanger (paragraph 40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel in the form of a general “U” shape taught by Yoon in order to increase the cooling path distance and an increase in cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 wherein one or more heat transfer module is interchangeable with any other heat transfer module (cooling modules 200, 300 can be attached and also removable allowing the cooling device to be interchangeable; column 7, line 64 to column 8, line 14).
Regarding claim 3, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the plurality of heat transfer modules (sub-chambers 107) is arranged in parallel in the cooling unit (parallel via partition 152) with the channels (120) of the heat transfer modules forming separate air passageways (121), with each air passageway in fluid communication with at least one of the one or more fan(s) (122).
Regarding claim 4, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the plurality of heat transfer modules (420) is arranged in a series in the cooling unit (air passes into first module 420a and then in series into second module 420b; Fig. 14) with the channels of the heat transfer modules forming an air passageway that is in fluid communication with at least one of the one or more fan(s) (422).
Regarding claim 5, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 3 wherein the cooling unit has two or more series of heat transfer modules (400 modules including series heat transfer modules 420a, 420b), with the series arranged parallel to each other (400 shown parallel, Fig. 15), with the channels of each of the two or more series of heat transfer modules forming separate air passageways (Fig. 15), with each air passageway in fluid communication with at least one of the one or more fan(s) (518).
Regarding claim 6, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising equipment for wearing the device by the wearer of the garment (shirt 202 with straps 204).
Regarding claim 7, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 6 wherein the equipment for wearing the device is designed to be worn between the garment and 204 the wearer of the garment (202 including straps 204 able to be worn under an outer garment and would be between the garment and the wearer of the garment).
Regarding claim 8, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 6 wherein the equipment for wearing the device positions the device on the back of the wearer (Fig. 8 shows 202 that would be capable of positioning the device on the back of the wearer).
Regarding claim 9, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising a condensate reservoir (124) for collecting moisture that condenses in the channel (column 5, line 59 to column 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 10, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising conduits (conduits shown in Figs. 8-10) for conveying air either to or from the device.
Regarding claim 11, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising a phase change material in the sealable volume (column 5, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 24¸ Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the exterior fins have a surface area greater than the surface area of the interior fins (extended fins on tubes 120, Fig. 6 shown with a larger surface area than what would be available for the surface area of interior fins within tubes 120).
Regarding claim 25, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 wherein each heat transfer module further comprises a sealing top (136 or 112, Fig. 2) for sealing the sealable volume, and wherein the plurality of exterior fins extend from an exterior wall of the channel (fins extending from tubes 120, Fig. 2) into the sealable volume such that a gap of no greater than 10% exists between the exterior wall of the channel and an interior surface of the sealing top (fins shown within sealable volume such that a gap no greater than 10% exists between the exterior wall of the channel and an interior surface of the sealing top, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US Pat. 11,079,123) in view of Akerman et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0260324) and Yoon (US PG Pub. 2012/0138025), further in view of Pohr (US PG Pub. 2005/0034476).
Regarding claim 20, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising a variable speed fan that can vary the speed of each of the one or more fan(s) to control the amount of air being advanced through the device to address any heat stress issue associated with wearing the garment.
Nelson does not explicitly teach a controller that automatically controls the speed of each of the one or more fan(s) to control the amount of air being advanced through the device.
Pohr teaches it is known for an air-cooling device to have a controller (thermostat) that automatically controls the speed of each of the one or more fan(s) to control the amount of air being advanced through the device (paragraph 21) that allows for temperature adjustment and would allow the device to address any heat stress issue associated with wearing the garment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nelson to include a controller that automatically controls the speed of each of the one or more fan(s) to control the amount of air being advanced through the device in order to allow for temperature control of the device and improved comfort for the user.
Regarding claim 21, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 20 and Pohr further teaches the controller automatically increases each fan speed at some preselected time interval (thermostat would automatically increase each fan speed at some preselected time interval when the user controls the setpoint of the thermostat).
Regarding claim 22, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 20 and Pohr further teaches the controller further comprises a temperature sensor and the controller automatically increases each fan speed in response to a temperature increase measured by the sensor (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 23, Nelson as modified discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the device can cool the air between the garment and the wearer of the garment by at least 10 degrees Celsius and can continuously provide cooled air for at least 2 hours to address any heat stress issue associated with wearing the garment. It is noted that the phrases “the device can cool the air between the garment and the wearer of the garment by at least 10 degrees Celsius and can continuously provide cooled air for at least 2 hours to address any heat stress issue associated with wearing the garment” are statements of intended use and the structure as disclosed by the combined teachings are capable of performing the function. Further, the teachings disclose all of the structural features of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues claim 1 has been amended to specify that the air channel is curved and not disclosed by Nelson or Akerman and claim 1 is allowable. This is not found persuasive in view of Yoon as discussed in the rejection above. Therefore, the combination of Nelson, Akerman and Yoon meets the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763