The amended claims filed 3/11/26 are acknowledged; claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horsting, Sr. (US 2915089).
CLAIM 1: Horsting discloses a device for supporting a bolt or pipe in a borehole. The device comprises: a mounting portion (12) adapted for being placed at a predetermined location between a first end and a second end of the bolt or pipe (7) (see Fig. 1). The mounting portion forming at least a coil of a helical spring adapted for surrounding a respective section of the bolt or pipe and for directly interacting with at least a structural element of the bolt or pipe such that the mounting portion remains at the predetermined location when the bolt or pipe is inserted into the borehole (see Fig. 1). A first interacting portion (11) directly extending from a first end of the helical spring, the first interacting portion being adapted for interacting with a wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole (see Fig. 1). Wherein the helical spring and the first interacting portion form a continuous unitary structure (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 2: A second interacting portion (11, other end of coil) directly extending from a second end of the helical spring (Fig. 1), the second interacting portion being adapted for interacting with the wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole (Fig. 1), wherein the helical spring, the first interacting portion, and the second interacting portion form a continuous unitary structure (Fig. 1).
CLAIM 3: The first interacting portion and the second interacting portion each extend outwardly in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the mounting portion (see Fig. 1 showing extension away from body).
CLAIM 6: The first interacting portion and the second interacting portion each first extend outwardly in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the mounting portion and then inwardly in the direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the mounting portion and wherein an apex of each of the first interacting portion and the second interacting portion is adapted to interact with the wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole (see Fig. 1, coils contact point with the bore being the apex).
CLAIM 8: An end of each of the first interacting portion and the second interacting portion is disposed at approximately a same distance to the longitudinal axis as the mounting portion (see Fig. 1, ends being same distance).
CLAIM 10: The apex of the first interacting portion and apex of the second interacting portion are disposed on opposite sides of the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 1, contact points on opposite sides).
CLAIM 11: The mounting portion helical spring is adapted for being threaded onto a screw thread disposed on the bolt or pipe (see Fig. 1, the spring forming an helical shape that would fit on a thread. The claim language does not require the bolt or pipe have a thread, this is functional language describing a part that is not positively claimed).
CLAIM 12: The mounting portion helical spring comprises a plurality of coils and wherein adjacent coils are spaced having a predetermined distance therebetween (see Fig. 1 showing 7 coils spaced constantly).
CLAIM 13: The predetermined distance between adjacent coils corresponds to a distance between successive screw threads of the bolt or pipe (see Fig 1 and discussion of claims 11 and 12).
CLAIM 14: The first interacting portion forms a spiral with a diameter increasing from a diameter being approximately equal to a diameter of the mounting portion to a diameter being approximately equal to a diameter of the borehole (see Fig. 2, spiraling out to the desired distance).
CLAIM 15: An end portion of the first interacting portion is adapted to interact with the wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 16: An end portion of the first interacting portion is adapted to interact with the wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole and for retaining the bolt or pipe within the borehole (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 17: Horsting discloses using a plurality of support devices (col. 3, lines 27-35). The rest of the claim is inherent to the above structure.
CLAIM 18: Horsting discloses placing a second support device at a predetermined location between a first end and a second end of a second section of the bolt or pipe; connecting the second section of the bolt or pipe to the first section of the bolt or pipe; and, disposing the second section of the bolt or pipe in the borehole (see col. 3, lines 27-35).
CLAIM 20: The interacting means are adapted for interacting with a wall of the borehole for retaining the bolt within the borehole and wherein the first section of the bolt is disposed in the borehole in an upward or upwardly inclined direction (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horsting.
Horsting discloses the elements of claim 17 as discussed above.
Horsting fails to disclose placing a second support device at a predetermined location between the first end and the second end of the first section of the bolt or pipe.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Horsting to include more support devices on a pipe section as the duplication of parts as each additional support would serve the same function of centering the tubular and longer sections would suggest additional supports.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horsting in view of Bellows (US 4440154).
CLAIM 4: Horsting discloses the elements of claim 3 as discussed above.
Horsting fails to disclose wherein the first interacting portion and the second interacting portion each extend along a substantially straight line and wherein an end of each of the first interacting portion and the second interacting portion is adapted to interact with the wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole.
Bellows discloses a tube (16) secured within another tube (10) by a clip (42) which has a spring and a first and second interacting portion (37) that extend along a substantially straight line. An end of each of the first and second interacting portion is adapted to interact with the wall of the out tube (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interacting portions of Horsting to be straight as in Bellows with a reasonable expectation of success as Bellows teaches the symmetry allows for a secure hold (see col. 3, lines 32-53).
CLAIM 5: Bellows discloses the first interacting portion and the second interacting portion each extend along a substantially straight line (see Fig. 2) and wherein an end of each of the first interacting portion and the second interacting portion is adapted to interact with the wall of the borehole for centralizing the bolt or pipe within the borehole and for retaining the bolt within the borehole (ends 47 adapted).
CLAIM 7: The first interacting portion and the second interacting portion each first extend along a substantially straight line followed by a curved portion (see Bellows, Fig. 2, 47 curved).
CLAIM 9: The end of the first interacting portion and end of the second interacting portion are disposed on opposite sides of the longitudinal axis (see Horsting, Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 3/11/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
After further search and consideration, the above art is considered the best art to show a unitary structure of the helical coils and interacting portions.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676