DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation “a means for retaining the use movable member” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “retaining” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The claim states the limitations "a means for retaining the user moveable member in a fixed position" but does not disclose how these limitations are met..
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 3 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f): A flexible arm having a latch as mentioned in Para. 00026 and Claim 4..
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takata (US 6,612,854).
Regarding claim 1: Takata teaches a connector system (Fig. 1), comprising: a connector 10, 20, 30 having a connector housing 10; a cam member 20 rotatably attached to the connector housing (see Figs. 10B-12B) and having an engaging lug 22 offset from an axis of rotation of the cam member (see Figs. 1-2); and a user moveable member 30 slidably attached to the connector housing 10 and having a first cam slot 33 inboard having a strap (at 32A; Fig. 1) across an entrance portion of the first cam slot in which the engaging lug is received (see Figs. 4-6), the engaging lug 22 having a chamfered leading edge (e.g. below 22; Fig. 4) configured to lift the strap as the engaging lug is inserted into the first cam slot (see Fig. 5), the user moveable member 30 configured to rotate the cam member via movement of the engaging lug through the first cam slot (see Figs. 10B-12B).
Regarding claim 2: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the entrance portion of the first cam slot 33 is substantially straight (see Fig. 1) and configured to receive the engaging lug 22 (see Figs. 4-6), the first cam slot 33 further including a substantially straight end portion arranged substantially perpendicularly to the entrance portion and a curved camming portion having one or more radii located between the entrance portion and the end portion (see Figs. 1 and 4 for cam slot having straight and perpendicular portions and at least two curved portions).
Regarding claim 3: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising a means for retaining the user moveable member in a fixed position (see at 14, 24; Fig. 1 and Col. 9, lines 15-24) relative to the connector housing (see Fig. 1 and 9).
Regarding claim 4: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the means for retaining the user moveable member comprises a flexible arm 14 having a latch 14a defined by the connector housing which is configured to engage a first edge of a first opening defined by the user moveable member (see Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 5: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the latch 14a has a rounded tip configured to push the flexible arm 14 inwardly due to contact with an interior surface of the connector housing (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connector 10, 20, 30 is a first connector C1 (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector system further comprises a second connector C2 configured to mate with the first connector (see Figs. 10A-12B), and wherein the cam member 20 has a second cam slot 21 configured to contact a camming post 44 of the second connector and draw the first and second connectors together due to rotation of the cam member (see Figs. 10A-12B).
Regarding claim 11: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the first connector C1 further comprises electrical terminals (at 11; Fig. 1) disposed within cavities 11 defined by the connector housing and wherein the second connector C2 further comprises mating electrical terminals 40 (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12: Takata teaches a method of assembling a connector system (see Fig. 1), comprising: forming a first connector C1 by rotatably attaching a cam member 20 defining an engaging lug 22 to a connector housing 10, the engaging lug being offset from an axis of rotation of the cam member 20 and the engaging lug 22 having a ramped lead in surface (see Figs. 4-6); slidably attaching a user moveable member 30 defining a first cam slot 33 and having a strap (at 32A; Fig. 1) across and an entrance of the first cam slot to the connector housing (see Fig. 1), the strap being arranged between the first cam slot and an outer edge of the connector housing (see Fig. 6); and inserting the engaging lug 22 within the first cam slot 33 by flexing and lifting the strap over the engaging lug using the ramped lead in surface of the engaging lug (see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 13: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the method further comprises retaining the engaging lug 22 within the first cam slot by returning the strap to its original unflexed condition (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the connector housing defines a flexible arm 14 having a latch 14a and the user moveable member 30 defines a first opening having a first edge and wherein the method further comprises engaging the latch with the first edge, wherein engagement of the latch with the first edge configures the first connector to be in condition to receive a second connector C2 (see Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 16: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the latch 14a has a rounded tip configured to push the flexible arm inwardly due to contact with an interior surface of the connector housing (see Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 17: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein a rearward surface of the latch 14a engages the edge of an opening in the connector housing when the first connector C1 is fully mated with the second connector C2 (see Figs. 12A-12B).
Regarding claim 18: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the method further comprises engaging rails 32B defined by the user moveable member 30 within slots in the connector housing which are configured to cooperate to cause the user moveable member 30 and the connector housing 10 to slide relative to each other in a substantially straight path (see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 19: Takata teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the first connector C1 further comprises electrical terminals (at 11; Fig. 1) disposed within cavities 11 defined by the connector housing (see Fog/ 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for pertinent prior art, the following references being of closest relevance:
Mochizuki (US 6,572,391) teaches a connector system comprising two connectors and a connector housing, cam plates and outer housing;
Hayashi (US 6,120,308) teaches a connector system comprising two connectors and a connector housing, a cam plate and outer housing;
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831