DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filling of the Amendment on 04/27/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, second line recites “an input voltage to an output voltage”, which should be -- the input voltage to the output voltage -- because these terms were previously presented in the claim
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16, first line recites “an inductor-less power converter”, which should be – the inductor-less power converter-- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Makowski (EP 3145069).
Regarding claim 1, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) an inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) for converting an input voltage (figure 3, part input voltage at to) to an output voltage (figure 3, part output voltage at tn+1) at a conversion ratio (figure 3, part conversion ratio M at UK), comprising: a plurality of stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn), each stage (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) comprising a capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn), switching means (figure 3, parts KL) and a node (figure 3, parts node at lower terminal of C1-Cn), the capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn) being configured as a switched capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn), wherein the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) is configured for switching (figure 3, parts KL; at a/a’) the stage (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) and connecting the capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn), and the node (figure 3, parts node at lower terminal of C1-Cn) is configured to connect (figure 3, parts KL; at c) one of an input voltage, output voltage or ground to the node (figure 3, parts connect input voltage, output voltage or ground from t1-tn to the node at lower terminal of C1-Cn) (paragraph [0026]; the canonical circuit UK there are extracted equivalent terminals tt={t0 - t4 } having the ability to connect to the output, input and ground, wherein each of these 5 equivalent terminals tt={t0 - t4 } is connected to a respective switch of the 5 switches contained in the Single-Pole Triple-Throw switch SPTT, accompanied by the capacitor constituting the output of the circuit Cout); wherein the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) is a reconfigurable power converter (figure 3, part UK) comprising at least four stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; n = at least four); wherein each of the stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) comprises an input voltage node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; input voltage node), an output voltage node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; output voltage node) and a ground node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; ground node); wherein the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) is configured to connect a respective stage (figure 3, part respective stage of MT1-MTn) to one of the input voltage node (figure 3, part one of stages MT1-MTn; input voltage node at t0-tn), output voltage node (figure 3, part one of stages MT1-MTn; output voltage node at to-tn) and ground node (figure 3, part one of stages MT1-MTn; ground node at to-tn) for obtaining a plurality of different configurations (figure 3, part UK) (paragraph [0026]; the canonical circuit UK there are extracted equivalent terminals tt={t0 - t4 } having the ability to connect to the output, input and ground, wherein each of these 5 equivalent terminals tt={t0 - t4 } is connected to a respective switch of the 5 switches contained in the Single-Pole Triple-Throw switch SPTT, accompanied by the capacitor constituting the output of the circuit Cout), and providing a plurality of different conversion ratios (figure 3, part conversion ratio M at UK) for converting (figure 3, part UK) the input voltage (figure 3, part input voltage at to) to the output voltage (figure 3, part output voltage at tn+1); and a pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a’) and a post-stage (figure 3, part post-stage generated by MK), each of the pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a’) and post-stage (figure 3, part post-stage generated by MK) comprising switching means (figure 3, parts KL) configured to connect one of the input voltage node (figure 3, part input voltage node at t0-tn+1), output voltage node (figure 3, part output voltage node at t0-tn+1) and ground node (figure 3, part ground node at t0-tn+1), wherein the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of the pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a’) replaces the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) for a first stage of the plurality of stages (figure 3, part MT1) (paragraphs [0026]-[0027]; As shown in Figs. 2 and 4 , the circuit for canonical and adiabatic conversion of DC voltage comprises a canonical circuit UK with n transfer modules MT1, MT2, MT3 connected to each other in a cascaded way Fib, each of which is constructed of a single electric capacitor C1, C2, C3, and three electronic switches KL… All terminals of the set tt={t0 - t4 } are assigned with numerical weights constituting the setww = {w (t 0 )- w (t 4 ), ...} and the switching of terminals tt={t0 - t4 } contained in between the input Vin and the output Vout and ground in the terminal switch… Each realizable voltage conversion ratio M).
Regarding claim 2, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of each of the stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) comprise a single-pole-single-throw switch (figure 3, parts KL) to connect the respective stage to one of the input voltage node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; input voltage node), output voltage node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; output voltage node) and ground node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; ground node) (paragraph [0024]; a Single-Pole Single-Throw (SPST) switch to select the operating mode of the converter).
Regarding claim 3, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) a controller (figure 3, parts controller that control KL) configured to control the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of each of the stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn), wherein the controller (figure 3, parts controller that control KL) is arranged for at least (k-1) phases (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn).
Regarding claim 5, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) is arranged for a Direct Current (DC) input voltage (figures 3 and 4, part input voltage Vin at to).
Regarding claim 6, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) is arranged for a plurality of different configurations (figure 3, part plurality of different configurations of UK based on operation of the switches KL), providing 3k conversion ratios (figure 3, part conversion ratio M at UK), wherein k is a number of sets of switching means (figure 3, parts KL) comprising the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of each of the stage (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) and the input voltage (figure 3, part input voltage at t0-tn+1), the output voltage (figure 3, part output voltage at t0-tn+1), and the ground (figure 3, part ground at t0-tn+1), for converting the input voltage (figure 3, part input voltage at to) to the output voltage (figure 3, part output voltage at tn+1) (paragraphs [0026]-[0027]; As shown in Figs. 2 and 4 , the circuit for canonical and adiabatic conversion of DC voltage comprises a canonical circuit UK with n transfer modules MT1, MT2, MT3 connected to each other in a cascaded way Fib, each of which is constructed of a single electric capacitor C1, C2, C3, and three electronic switches KL… All terminals of the set tt={t0 - t4 } are assigned with numerical weights constituting the setww = {w (t 0 )- w (t 4 ), ...} and the switching of terminals tt={t0 - t4 } contained in between the input Vin and the output Vout and ground in the terminal switch… Each realizable voltage conversion ratio M).
Regarding claim 7, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the post-stage (figure 3, part post-stage generated by MK) comprise an output capacitor (figure 4, part Cout) connected in parallel with a node (figure 4, part node at t4) of the post-stage (figure 3, part post-stage generated by MK).
Regarding claim 11, claim 3 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, claim 5 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, claim 6 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, claim 7 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) is arranged for a plurality of different configurations (figure 3, part plurality of different configurations of UK based on operation of the switches KL) providing a step-up conversion ratio of a maximum of 1:2^(k-2) (figure 3, part step-up conversion ratio at UK) and a step-down conversion ratio of a minimum of 2^(k-2):1 (figure 3, part step-down conversion ratio at UK) (paragraph [0022]; the circuit can be easily programmed to achieve any gain (discrete/step programming of the output voltage at the maximum theoretically achievable precision)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makowski (EP 3145069), in view of Xiao et al. (Z. Xiao et al., "On-chip reconfigurable switched-capacitor DC-DC converter for indoor PV energy harvesting", ELECTRONICS LETTERS, THE INSTITUTION OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY, 19 January 2017 (2017-01-19), page 108-110.), hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding claim 9, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) is configured to convert (figure 3, part UK) an input voltage (figure 3, part input voltage at to) to an output voltage (figure 3, part output voltage at tn+1). However, Makowski does not expressly disclose a power range between 10 μWatt and 100 mWatt.
Xiao teaches (see figures 1-5) the inductor-less power converter (figure 2[a], part converter) is configured to convert an input voltage (figure 2[a], part input voltage from VPV at left input of S2) to an output voltage (figure 2[a], part output voltage to Vload at right output of S33) in a power range between 10 μWatt and 100 mWatt (figure 5, part output power) (page 109; right column first paragraph; the 2/3-topology delivers 26 μW of power to the load with peak efficiency of 87% at 100 kHz switching frequency. The 4/3-topology is designed to operate at the same switching frequency as the 2/3-topology, 88% peak efficiency is achieved while delivering 50 μW of power from the PV cell to the energy buffer. The 3/5-converter-topology is designed with switching frequency of 300 kHz, at which the converter achieves a peak efficiency of 78% while delivering 32 μW of power from the energy buffer to the load).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the converter of Makowski with the conversion features as taught Xiao and obtain the converter is configured to convert an input voltage to an output voltage in a power range between 10 μWatt and 100 mWatt, because it improves the overall energy efficiency of the converter (page 108; left column; Introduction; fourth sentence).
Regarding claim 10, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK). However, Makowski does not expressly disclose arranged for powering at least one device or module selected from the group consisting of: a sensor module, a loT device, a USB device, and a Bluetooth module.
Xiao teaches (see figures 1-5) the inductor-less power converter (figure 2[a], part converter) is arranged for powering at least one device or module (figure 1[a] and 2[a], part load at Vload) selected from the group consisting of: a sensor module, a loT device, a USB device, and a Bluetooth module (page 108; left column; Introduction; first sentence; Energy harvesting is a promising solution for powering miniaturised wireless sensor nodes that consume ultra-low power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the converter of Makowski to the load features as taught Xiao and obtain the converter is arranged for powering at least one device or module selected from the group consisting of: a sensor module, a loT device, a USB device, and a Bluetooth module, because the combination result in more efficient power converter for this type of load (page 108; left column; Introduction; fourth sentence).
Regarding claim 17, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) an inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK). However, Makowski does no expressly disclose an energy harvester arrangement comprising: an energy harvesting module for harvesting incident energy, and providing the harvested energy as an input voltage to the energy harvester arrangement.
Xiao teaches (see figures 1-5) an energy harvester arrangement (figure 1[a]) (page 108; left column; System architecture and converter implementation; The architecture of the energy harvesting system is shown in Fig. 1a) comprising: an energy harvesting module (figure 1[a], part PV energy harvesting cell) for harvesting incident energy (figure 1[a], part PV energy harvesting cell), and providing the harvested energy as an input voltage (figure 1[a], part Vpv from PV energy harvesting cell) to the energy harvester arrangement (figure 1[a]); an inductor-less power converter (figures 1[a] and 2[a], part reconfigurable SC converter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the converter of Makowski to the energy harvester arrangement features as taught Xiao and obtain an energy harvester arrangement comprising: an energy harvesting module for harvesting incident energy, and providing the harvested energy as an input voltage to the energy harvester arrangement; an inductor-less power converter, because the combination result in more efficient power converter for this type of energy harvester arrangement (page 108; left column; Introduction; fourth sentence).
Regarding claim 18, Makowski and Xiao teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). However, Makowski does no expressly disclose the energy harvester arrangement, wherein the arrangement further comprises: a maximum power point tracking module.
Xiao teaches (see figures 1-5) the energy harvester arrangement (figure 1[a]), wherein the arrangement further (figure 1[a]) comprises: a maximum power point tracking module (figure 1[a], part maximum power point tracking module generated by at hysteresis controller) (page 108; left and right columns; System architecture and converter implementation; a hysteresis controller regulates both the PV cell voltage VPV and the load voltage VLoad to ensure maximum power extraction and supply the desired voltage to the load. Fig. 1b illustrates the operating waveforms. The PV voltage regulation is implemented by adaptively comparing VPV with VMPP (the voltage corresponding to maximum power extraction) and VMPP − DVMPP, where DVMPP defines the size of the hysteresis band).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the converter of Makowski to the energy harvester arrangement features as taught Xiao and obtain the energy harvester arrangement, wherein the arrangement further comprises: a maximum power point tracking module, because the combination result in more efficient power converter for this type of energy harvester arrangement (page 108; left column; Introduction; fourth sentence).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makowski (EP 3145069), in view of Shao et al. (US 2022/0337078), hereinafter Shao.
Regarding claim 4, Makowski discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Makowski discloses (see figures 1-9) the inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK). However, Makowski does no expressly disclose arranged for bi-directional power conversion.
Shao teaches (see figures 1-10) the inductor-less power converter (figure 6, part 330) is arranged for bi-directional power conversion (figure 6, part 330) (paragraph [0056]; The inventors of the present disclosure have appreciated that a switched capacitor conversion circuit may be used bidirectionally to step up voltage by a certain factor in charge mode and step down a voltage from the battery by the same factor in discharge mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the converter of Makowski with the bi-directional power conversion features as taught by Shao and obtain the power converter is arranged for bi-directional power conversion, because provides more versatile and efficient power converter (paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, claim 4 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues on pages 1-5 of the Applicant's Response (“An inductor-less power converter for converting an input voltage to an output voltage at a conversion ratio, comprising: a plurality of stages, each stage comprising a capacitor, switching means and a node, the capacitor being configured as a switched capacitor, wherein the switching means is configured for switching the stage and connecting the capacitor, and the node is configured to connect one of an input voltage, output voltage or ground to the node… a pre-stage and a post-stage, each of the pre-stage and post-stage comprising switching means configured to connect one of an the input voltage node, output voltage node and ground node, wherein the switching means of the pre-stage replaces the switching means for a first stage of the plurality of stages. (Emphasis added)… For the reasons given above, Makowski fails to disclose (or suggest) independent claim 1”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Makowski discloses an inductor-less power converter (figure 3, part UK) for converting an input voltage (figure 3, part input voltage at to) to an output voltage (figure 3, part output voltage at tn+1) at a conversion ratio (figure 3, part conversion ratio M at UK), comprising: a plurality of stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn), each stage (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) comprising a capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn), switching means (figure 3, parts KL) and a node (figure 3, parts node at lower terminal of C1-Cn), the capacitor (figure 3, parts C1- Cn) being configured as a switched capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn), wherein the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) is configured for switching (figure 3, parts KL; at a/a') the stage (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) and connecting the capacitor (figure 3, parts C1-Cn), and the node (figure 3, parts node at lower terminal of C1-Cn) is configured to connect (figure 3, parts KL; at c) one of an input voltage, output voltage or ground to the node (figure 3, parts connect input voltage, output voltage or ground from t1-tn to the node at lower terminal of C1-Cn)… and a pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a') and a post-stage (figure 3, part post-stage generated by MK), each of the pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a') and post-stage (figure 3, part post-stage generated by MK) comprising switching means (figure 3, parts KL) configured to connect one of an input voltage node (figure 3, part input voltage node at t0-tn+1), output voltage node (figure 3, part output voltage node at t0-tn+1) and ground node (figure 3, part ground node at t0-tn+1), wherein the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of the pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a') replaces the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) for a first stage of the plurality of stages (figure 3, part MT1). In patent applications, every applicant is their own lexicographer of each application. In this case, Makowski discloses all the structural stages claimed (see rejection above). Additional, Makowski’s reference discloses the pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a') comprising switching means (figure 3, parts KL) configured to connect one of an input voltage node (figure 3, part input voltage node at t0-tn+1), output voltage node (figure 3, part output voltage node at t0-tn+1) and ground node (figure 3, part ground node at t0-tn+1), wherein the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of the pre-stage (figure 3, part pre-stage generated by first KL connected to the node to at first a/a') replaces the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) for a first stage of the plurality of stages (figure 3, part MT1), in the same way presented in the application in Figure 1, part S11/S12. Therefore, Makowski meets with the claimed limitation.
Applicant’s argues on page 5 of the Applicant's Response (“Thus, Makowski’s Single-Pole Triple-Throw switch does not show a “single-pole-single-throw switch” as recited in claim 2”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Makowski discloses the switching means (figure 3, parts KL) of each of the stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn) comprise a single-pole-single-throw switch (figure 3, parts KL) to connect the respective stage to one of the input voltage node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1- MTn; input voltage node), output voltage node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; output voltage node) and ground node (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn; ground node) (paragraph [0024]; a Single-Pole Single-Throw (SPST) switch to select the operating mode of the converter). As discussed above, Makowski’s reference suggests in paragraph [0024] the use of Single-Pole Single-Throw (SPST) switch in each of the stages (figure 3, part plurality of stages MT1-MTn). Therefore, Makowski meets with the claimed limitation. Additional, the application of Single-Pole Single-Throw (SPST) switch is very common in this type of power converters (see references: Junmin et al. (US 2017/0264192; paragraph [0046]) and Perreault (US 2015/0171768; paragraph [0123])).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838