DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitation set forth in claim 15 is already recited in claim 13. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 16 and 17 are also rejected as being dependent upon a non-limiting claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shear (US 2007/0049417) in view of Myers et al. (US 2010/0151963).
Regarding claim 13, Shear discloses a club head having a striking face, crown, and sole. The sole forms the lower portion of the club head and includes a rear sole forming the aft portion of the sole and a frontal sole forming the frontal portion of the sole. The striking face is located at a frontal portion of the club head. The crown forms an upper portion of the club head hand extends rearward from the striking face. As shown in Figure 4C, the frontal sole portion includes a lower frontal sole portion extending substantially vertical and an upper frontal sole portion extending diagonally upward and forward from a top of the lower frontal sole portion. Figure 4C also appears to show a first frontal sole portion between the lower frontal sole portion and the lower striking face portion having a distance greater than a distance of the second frontal sole portion between the upper frontal sole portion and the lower striking face portion and an opening between the frontal sole portion and the lower striking face portion. Shear also
discloses an insert fitted into the opening. Shear also discloses that the insert can partially or wholly fill the slot (See Paragraph 0053). Filling the slot wholly implies that the insert forms part of the sole portion. Shear does not disclose the striking face having an upper striking face portion and a lower striking face portion wherein the lower
striking face portion has a thickness greater than the upper striking face portion. Meyer
et al. discloses a club head having a striking face with a variable thickness. The striking
face includes an upper striking face and lower striking face wherein the upper striking
face has a thickness that is smaller than the lower striking face (See Figure 13a). One
having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the lower striking
face having a thickness greater than the upper striking face, as taught by Meyer et al.,
in order to lower the center of gravity and shift the COR upward.
Regarding claim 15, Shear discloses that the opening may completely fill the opening (See Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 18, Shear shows the frontal sole portion angle being greater than 90 degrees.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, and 20 are allowed.
Claims 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/04/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Previously indicated allowable claim 3 contains the same language as claim 15. Claim 15 was rejected based on the Shear reference. Therefore, incorporating claim 3 into claim 13 would cover limitations that were previously rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711