DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. [US 20250332933 A1] in view of Fuehrer et al. [US 20220234455 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses an electrical connection assembly (Fig 1-2), comprising: a first metal bar (2, Fig 4) that is flat and has a first main body portion (see annotated Figure 5) that is straight, a first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) that is straight, and a first bending portion (21) connected between the first main body portion and the first connection end portion; and a second metal bar (2, Fig 4) that is flat and has a second main body portion (see annotated Figure 5) that is straight, a second connection end portion that is straight (see annotated Figure 5), and a second bending portion (21) connected between the second main body portion and the second connection end portion, the first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) electrically connects to a first charging terminal (11) of a charging seat and the second connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) electrically connects to a second charging terminal (11) of the charging seat, the first metal bar (2) and the second metal bar (2) are separated in a thickness direction and parallel to each other when the first metal bar (2) and the second metal bar (2) are electrically connected to the charging seat, the first connection end portion and the second connection end portion are staggered in a width direction (see Fig 4).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the first main body portion and the second main body portion overlap with each other in the thickness direction, but rather in the width direction.
However, Fuehrer discloses a first metal bar (11A, Fig 8) and a second metal bar (11b) with first and second main body portions (111, 111) overlap with each other in the thickness direction.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang as suggested by Fuehrer to provide the first main body portion and the second main body portion overlap with each other in the thickness direction. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to change the arrangement of the metal bars due to space constraints or to achieve a more compact design.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Wang further discloses the first main body portion of the first metal bar (2) and the second main body portion of the second metal bar (2) have a same width.
Regarding Claim 3, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 2, Wang further discloses the first main body portion and the second main body portion (see annotated Figure 5) each have a left side and a right side opposite the left side in the width direction, the left side of the first main body portion is flush with the left side of the second main body portion and the right side of the first main body portion is flush with the right side of the second main body portion (see Figures 4-5) when the first metal bar (2) and the second metal bar (2) are electrically connected to the charging seat.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 3, Wang further discloses a first connection member (screws, not shown; see [0032]) connecting an end of the first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) to an end of the first charging terminal (11); and a second connection member (screws, not shown; see [0032]) connecting an end of the second connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) of the second metal bar (2) to an end of the second charging terminal (11).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 4, Wang further discloses a first connection hole (see [0032]) is formed in the end of the first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5), the first connection member (screw, not shown) passes through the first connection hole and forms a threaded connection with a first nut (not shown, see [0032]) on the first charging terminal (11) to tighten the end of the first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) to the end of the first charging terminal (11).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 5, Wang further discloses a second connection hole (see [0032]) is formed in the end of the second connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5), the second connection member (screw, not shown) passes through the second connection hole and forms a threaded connection with a second nut (not shown, see [0032]) on the second charging terminal (11) to fasten the end of the second connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) to the end of the second charging terminal (11).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 6, Wang further discloses a central axis of the first connection hole and a central axis of the second connection hole are parallel to each other (see Figure 4). Wang does not explicitly disclose the central axes are located in a same plane perpendicular to a length direction of the first connection end portion and the second connection end portion.
However, Fuehrer discloses a central axis of a first connection hole (threaded hole provided at mounting sections 112, see Fig 7-8; [0047]) a central axis of the second connection hole (threaded hole provided at mounting sections 112, see Fig 7-8; [0047]) are parallel to each other and located in a same plane perpendicular to a length direction of the first connection end portion (111) and the second connection end portion (111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang as suggested by Fuehrer to provide the central axes are located in a same plane perpendicular to a length direction of the first connection end portion and the second connection end portion. Aligning the axes of these holes in a single plane perpendicular to the length of the bars is a standard geometric configuration for parallel stacked connectors such as one disclosed by Fuehrer.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 6, Wang does not explicitly disclose the first metal bar includes a first metal conductor that is flat and a first insulation layer wrapped on the first metal conductor, an end of the first metal conductor is exposed from the first insulation layer for electrical connection to the first charging terminal.
However, Wang discloses the need to control contact resistance and prevent heat damage as excessive temperature might be transferred to the insulating layers of the transition bars 2. Furthermore the ends of the bars (2) are electrically connected to the charging terminals (11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in view of Fuehrer to provide the first metal bar includes a first metal conductor that is flat and a first insulation layer wrapped on the first metal conductor, an end of the first metal conductor is exposed from the first insulation layer for electrical connection to the first charging terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a metal conductor is inside the insulating layer of bar (2) disclosed by Fuehrer (see [0044) which electrically connects to the charging terminal (11) which can be seen in Figure 3-4).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 10, Wang does not explicitly disclose the second metal bar includes a second metal conductor that is flat and a second insulation layer wrapped on the second metal conductor, an end of the second metal conductor is exposed from the second insulation layer for electrical connection to the second charging terminal.
However, Wang further discloses the need to control contact resistance and prevent heat damage as excessive temperature might be transferred to the insulating layers of the transition bars 2. Furthermore the ends of the bars (2) are electrically connected to the charging terminals (11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in view of Fuehrer to provide the second metal bar includes a second metal conductor that is flat and a second insulation layer wrapped on the second metal conductor, an end of the second metal conductor is exposed from the second insulation layer for electrical connection to the second charging terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a metal conductor is inside the insulating layer of bar (2) disclosed by Fuehrer (see [0044) which electrically connects to the charging terminal (11) which can be seen in Figure 3-4).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Wang further discloses aluminum or copper can be used for the busbar, Wang emphasizes that aluminum is cheaper than copper due to increasing material costs.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang discloses a charging seat assembly (Fig 1-2), comprising: an electrical connection assembly (Fig 1-2), comprising: a first metal bar (2, Fig 4) that is flat and has a first main body portion (see annotated Figure 5) that is straight, a first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) that is straight, and a first bending portion (21) connected between the first main body portion and the first connection end portion; and a second metal bar (2, Fig 4) that is flat and has a second main body portion (see annotated Figure 5) that is straight, a second connection end portion that is straight (see annotated Figure 5), and a second bending portion (21) connected between the second main body portion and the second connection end portion, the first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) electrically connects to a first charging terminal (11) of a charging seat and the second connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) electrically connects to a second charging terminal (11) of the charging seat, the first metal bar (2) and the second metal bar (2) are separated in a thickness direction and parallel to each other when the first metal bar (2) and the second metal bar (2) are electrically connected to the charging seat, the first connection end portion and the second connection end portion are staggered in a width direction (see Fig 4); and a charging seat including a housing (1), a first charging terminal (11) disposed in the housing (1), and a second charging terminal (11) disposed in the housing (1), an end of the first charging terminal (11) extends out of the housing (1) and electrically connects to an end of the first metal bar (2), an end of the second charging terminal (11) extends out of the housing and electrically connects to an end of the second metal bar (2). Wang does not explicitly disclose the first main body portion and the second main body portion overlap with each other in the thickness direction, but rather in the width direction.
However, Fuehrer discloses a first metal bar (11A, Fig 8) and a second metal bar (11b) with first and second main body portions (111, 111) overlap with each other in the thickness direction.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang as suggested by Fuehrer to provide the first main body portion and the second main body portion overlap with each other in the thickness direction. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to change the arrangement of the metal bars due to space constraints or to achieve a more compact design.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 13, Wang further discloses the first charging terminal (11) includes a first cylindrical body (see Fig 3) mating with a first mating terminal of a charging gun [0003], a first flat end (the end connected to the bar 2 via a screw, see annotated Figure 5) electrically connected to the first connection end portion of the first metal bar (2), and a first nut (not shown, see [0032]) riveted into a first riveting hole formed in the first flat end.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Wang further discloses the first nut (see [0032]) is threaded to a first connection member (screw, not shown; see [0032]) to secure the first connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) to the first flat end (see annotated Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Wang further discloses the second charging terminal (11) includes a second cylindrical body (see Fig 3) mating with a second mating terminal of the charging gun (see [0003]), a second flat end (the end connected to the bar 2 via a screw, see annotated Figure 5) electrically connected to the second connection end portion of the second metal bar (2), and a second nut (not shown, see [0032]) riveted into a second riveting hole formed in the second flat end.
Regarding Claim 17, Wang and Fuehrer disclose all the limitations of claim 16, Wang further discloses the second nut (see [0032]) is threaded to a second connection member (screw, not shown; see [0032]) to secure the second connection end portion (see annotated Figure 5) to the second flat end (see annotated Figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose a size of the first connection hole in a length direction of the first connection end portion is greater than a size of the first connection hole in the width direction of the first connection end portion, along with all other limitations of claims 7, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose a size of the second connection hole in a length direction of the second connection end portion is greater than a size of the second connection hole in the width direction of the second connection end portion, along with all other limitations of claims 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose the first flat end and the second flat end are spaced from each other in the thickness direction and parallel to the first connection end portion and the second connection end portion, along with all other limitations of claims 18, 17, 16, 14 and 13.
Claims 19-20 are objected to as they are dependent on claim 18.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834