DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 3, claiming “The ink jet ink according to claim 2, wherein a proportion of the content of the organic solvent A in a total content of the organic solvent A and the organic solvent B is in a range of 5% by mass to 50% by mass.”
Applicant claiming same limitation in claim 1 also. Appropriate correction needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutaki et al. (# US 2018/0265724) in view of Yamamoto et al. (# US 2016/0215152) and Shiraki (# WO 2020/179313) for English translation Examiner used Shiraki (# US 2021/0363365).
Mizutaki et al. discloses:
1. An ink jet ink (see Abstract) comprising:
Water ([0062]);
an organic solvent A having a surface tension of 20.0 mN/m to 29.0 mN/m (20 to 30 mN/m; [0061]) and a boiling point of 80° C. to 140° C. (Solvent B; boiling point less than 225 °C; [0057]), and
an organic solvent B having a boiling point of 150° C. to 250° C. (solvent A, boiling point 225 °C or more; [0051]),
wherein a content of the organic solvent A is in a range of 1% by mass to 20% by mass with respect to a total amount of the inkjet ink (Solvent B, 1% by mass or less; [0057]),
the content of the organic solvent A relative to the total content of the organic solvent A and the organic solvent B is in a range of 5% by mass to 50% by mass (i.e. Solvent B is 1% and solvent A is 10%, so % is 9% [0057]; [0052]).
the proportion of the total content of the organic solvent A and the organic solvent B in the total content of all the organic solvents comprised in the ink jet ink is 80% by mass or greater (see Examples; see Table 2).
Given that the Mizutaki et al. reference discloses a range of surface tension, boiling point, and amount of solvent that overlap with the presently claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught ranges, including those presently claimed, to obtain a suitable composition. It is also noted that according to MPEP 2131.03 and MPEP 2144.05, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the portion of the prior art's range which is within the range of applicant's claims because it has been held to be obvious to select a value in a known range by optimization for the best results. As to optimization results, a patent will not be granted based upon the optimization of result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276,205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclose by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
2. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein a content of the organic solvent B is in a range of 10% by mass to 35% by mass with respect to the total amount of the ink jet ink (Solvent A; 7 to 20%; [0052]).
3. The ink jet ink according to claim 2, wherein a proportion of the content of the organic solvent A in a total content of the organic solvent A and the organic solvent B is in a range of 5% by mass to 50% by mass (i.e. Solvent B is 1% and solvent A is 10%, so % is 9% [0057]; [0052]).
4. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein a proportion of the content of the organic solvent A in a total content of the organic solvent A and the organic solvent B is in a range of 15% by mass to 30% by mass (see Table: 2).
7. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, further comprising: a silicone-based surfactant ([0007]; [0064]-[0065]).
8. An image recording method comprising: applying the ink jet ink according to claim 1 onto a base material using an ink jet recording method, to record an image ([0070]-[0076]).
9. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein the proportion of the total content of the organic solvent A and the organic solvent B in the total content of all the organic solvents comprised in the ink jet ink is 90% by mass or greater (see Examples; see Table 2).
Mizutaki et al. explicitly did not discloses:
1. Solvent A has a Clog P value of 0.10 to 1.60; and a dynamic surface tension of the ink jet ink at 10 ms is in a range of 28.0 mN/m to 38.0 mN/m.
5. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein the organic solvent A is a monoalcohol having 4 or 5 carbon atoms.
6. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein the organic solvent A is a linear monoalcohol.
Yamamoto et al. teaches that to have the high quality uniform glossy printed image ([0019]-[0021]; [0079]),
a dynamic surface tension of the ink jet ink at 10 ms is in a range of 28.0 mN/m to 38.0 mN/m (40 mN/m or less; [0019]; [0056]; [0078]-[0079]).
5. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein the organic solvent A is a monoalcohol having 4 or 5 carbon atoms ([0069]).
6. The ink jet ink according to claim 1, wherein the organic solvent A is a linear monoalcohol ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Mizutaki et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Yamamoto et al. in order to have the high quality uniform glossy printed image.
Shiraki teaches to have the ink composition with excellent storage stability, the ink composition comprises Solvent A has a Clog P value of 0.10 to 1.60 (0.5 to 3.5; [0167]-[0169]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Mizutaki et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Shiraki in order to have the ink composition with excellent storage stability.
Conclusion
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853