DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a)(1) as being anticipated by Carter et al. (US 2020/0350720) hereafter Carter.
Regarding claim 1, Carter, discloses a terminal comprising: one or more conductive elements 100 encircling, at least in part, an area with a center, each of the one or more conductive elements 100 comprising: at least two first portions 102c each offset from the center by more than a first radius (radius of inner bore 50b; and a plurality of second portions 102s connecting adjacent first portions of the at least two first portions and offset from the center by less than the first radius.
Regarding claim 2, Carter, discloses each of the one or more conductive elements 100 is configured to expand and contract in a radial direction with respect to the center of the area.
Regarding claim 3, Carter, discloses the one or more conductive elements comprises two conductive elements 100 stacked in an axial direction extending perpendicular to a radial direction with respect to the center of the area (see fig. 15).
Regarding claim 4, Carter, discloses each of the one or more conductive elements comprises a first end 124f and second end 124s separated from each other (see figs. 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 6, Carter, discloses each of the one or more conductive elements comprises three to six first portions (see figs. 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 7, Carter, discloses the one or more conductive elements is stamped from a sheet of metal; a thickness of the sheet defines a radial extent of each of the one or more conductive elements; and a surface of the sheet defines surfaces of the one or more conductive elements facing the area (see figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 8, Carter, discloses An electrical connector 40 comprising: a sleeve 42 comprising an inner wall bounding a cavity 44; and a terminal 100 disposed in the cavity 44 and comprising a conductive element 100, the conductive element 100 comprising: first portions 102c abutting the inner wall 44 (in bore 44) of the sleeve 42; and second portions 102s disposed within the cavity 44 and connecting adjacent first portions 102c.
Regarding claim 9, Carter, discloses each of the first portions comprises an inflection point 122c abutting the inner wall of the sleeve 42; and the electrical connector 40 comprises a plurality of gaps G between portions of the terminal and the inner wall of the sleeve and separated from each other by the inflection points of respective first portions of the terminal abutting the inner wall of the sleeve.
Regarding claim 10, Carter, discloses each of the plurality of gaps decreases toward the inflection points of the respective first portions.
Regarding claim 11, Carter, discloses the terminal comprises a plurality of conductive elements (see fig. 2) comprising the conductive element 100; and the plurality of conductive elements 100 are stacked in an axial direction extending through the cavity of the sleeve (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Carter, discloses a terminal mated to a pin 20, the terminal comprising: one or more conductive elements100 encircling, at least in part, the pin 20, each of the one or more conductive elements 100 comprising: at least two first portions 102c and a plurality of second portions102s, wherein: the plurality of second portions 102s each contacts a surface of the pin at a first radius from a center of the pin 20; and the at least two first portions 102c connect adjacent second portions 102s of the plurality of second portions 102s and offset from the center of the pin 20 by more than the first radius (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Carter, discloses each of the plurality of second portions 102s comprises an elongated band; and the elongated bands of the one or more conductive elements 102 are disposed in parallel (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Carter, discloses each of at least two first portions 102c comprises a bend.
Regarding claim 17, Carter, discloses a wave spring, comprising: a plurality of spring leaves 100, wherein: the plurality of spring leaves 100 are annularly arranged (within bore 44 of receptacle 40), the plurality of spring leaves 100 are sequentially connected and stacked in an axial direction (see fig. 2); each of the plurality of spring leaves 100 is provided with at least three abutting portions 102c; the at least three abutting portions 102c are distributed around an outer side of a respective spring leaf 100; and the at least three abutting portions102c are configured to expand and contract in a radial direction of the respective spring leaf (see figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 18, Carter, discloses each of the plurality of spring leaves 100is provided with a first end 104f and a second end 104s; the first end and the second end 104f and 104s are configured to abut against each other and to define an opening cooperatively (cavity within leaf 100); and the opening is disposed in one of the at least three abutting portions (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 21, Carter, discloses one side of each of the plurality of spring leaves is further provided with a guide portion (shape of the spring leave between adjacent abutting portion, itself can be considered as guide portion, because there is no particular structure of the guide portion is defined, therefor as it can guide the pin for proper and ease of insertion into the connector); and the guide portion is located between adjacent abutting portions of the at least three abutting portions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches a terminal comprising at least one conductive element of the one or more conductive elements comprises one or more projections extending from an edge of the at least one conductive element and disposed between respective adjacent first portions of the at least one conductive element; and the one or more projections is angled away from the center as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches an electrical connector comprising: a plurality of members joining first portions of adjacent conductive elements of the plurality of conductive elements as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches a wave spring comprising adjacent spring leaves of the plurality of spring leaves are connected through a connecting sheet as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
lied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831