DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2022/0188016) in view of BRANDL (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0019006).
1. DAI discloses An apparatus comprising: a plurality of memory channels to a memory (see [0046]: first through eighth memory channels), the plurality of memory channels including a first slice and at least a second slice that is distinct from the first slice (see [0053]-[0054]: address hashing policy creates separate groups of memory channels); and power control circuitry coupled to the plurality of memory channels (see [0058]: power control circuitry to define power states for the memory channels) and configured to adjust, in accordance with a power collapse trigger condition associated with the first slice, operation of the first slice from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation independently of the second slice (see [0060]: in response to the address hashing policy, some of the memory channels will operate in a low power state, while others will operate in a high power state), wherein the first mode of operation is associated with a first power consumption level that is greater than a second power consumption level associated with the second mode of operation (see [0058]: multiple power states including a high power state and a low power state); and circuitry coupled to the plurality of memory channels and configured to perform interleaving of memory access operations to the second slice on a per-slice basis that excludes the first slice (see BRANDL below).
BRANDL discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: circuitry coupled to the plurality of memory channels (see [0066]-[0067]: memory controller that contains an address decoder to implement chip select interleaving) and configured to perform interleaving of memory access operations to the second slice on a per-slice basis that excludes the first slice (see [0068]: chip select interleaving that interleaves the address space over multiple DIMM ranks on a channel). Interleaving access over multiple ranks on a channel is done using chip select interleaving. This type of interleaving reduces page conflicts and makes more DRAM banks available (see [0068]). Since the interleaving is done within a channel, interleaving on one channel would exclude the other channel. The interleaving disclosed by BRANDL would be compatible with the system disclosed by DAI as both systems are accessing DRAM memory (see DAI [0040]; BRANDL [0068]). When one channel in the system of DAI is in a low power state, another channel that is being accessed could perform the chip select interleaving disclosed by DAI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to perform interleaving on one slice and exclude the other, as disclosed by BRANDL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to reduce page conflicts in a memory channel, as taught by BRANDL. DAI and BRANDL are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to accessing DRAM memory systems.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power control circuitry is further configured to: detect a power resume trigger condition associated with the first slice (see [0061]: exceeding a frequency threshold); and based on detecting the power resume trigger condition, adjust operation of the first slice from the second mode to the first mode independently of the second slice (see [0061]: after a threshold number of times exceeding a frequency threshold, the power state of the channel will be adjusted from the low power state to the high power state).
5. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a power collapse manager that is coupled to the power control circuitry and that is configured to detect the power collapse trigger condition (see [0062]: power control circuitry detecting an idle period threshold and transitioning the channel from the high power state to the low power state; [0056]: a change in the address hashing policy will also cause certain memory channels to transition to a low power state).
6. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the power collapse manager is further configured to detect the power collapse trigger condition based on one or more of a software workload of a processor that is associated with the first slice, a hardware usage level associated with the first slice, or a vote metric associated with one or more processors including the processor (see [0049]: telemetry data includes bandwidth consumption {hardware or software load}, memory capacity usage data {software workload or hardware usage level}, etc.).
10. DAI discloses A method comprising: accessing a memory using a plurality of memory channels (see [0046]: first through eighth memory channels), the plurality of memory channels including a first slice and at least a second slice that is distinct from the first slice (see [0053]-[0054]: address hashing policy creates separate groups of memory channels), wherein accessing the memory includes performing interleaving of memory access operations to the second slice on a per-slice basis that excludes the first slice (see BRANDL below); and in accordance with a power collapse trigger condition associated with the first slice, adjusting operation of the first slice from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation independently of the second slice (see [0060]: in response to the address hashing policy, some of the memory channels will operate in a low power state, while others will operate in a high power state), wherein the first mode of operation is associated with a first power consumption level that is greater than a second power consumption level associated with the second mode of operation (see [0058]: multiple power states including a high power state and a low power state).
BRANDL discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: performing interleaving of memory access operations to the first slice and the second slice on a per-slice basis (see [0068]: chip select interleaving that interleaves the address space over multiple DIMM ranks on a channel). Interleaving access over multiple ranks on a channel is done using chip select interleaving. This type of interleaving reduces page conflicts and makes more DRAM banks available (see [0068]). Since the interleaving is done within a channel, interleaving on one channel would exclude the other channel. The interleaving disclosed by BRANDL would be compatible with the system disclosed by DAI as both systems are accessing DRAM memory (see DAI [0040]; BRANDL [0068]). When one channel in the system of DAI is in a low power state, another channel that is being accessed could perform the chip select interleaving disclosed by DAI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to perform interleaving on one slice and exclude the other, as disclosed by BRANDL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to reduce page conflicts in a memory channel, as taught by BRANDL. DAI and BRANDL are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to accessing DRAM memory systems.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: detecting a power resume trigger condition associated with the first slice (see [0061]: exceeding a frequency threshold); and based on detecting the power resume trigger condition, adjusting operation of the first slice from the second mode to the first mode independently of the second slice (see [0061]: after a threshold number of times exceeding a frequency threshold, the power state of the channel will be adjusted from the low power state to the high power state).
14. The method of claim 10, further comprising detecting the power collapse trigger condition using a power collapse manager (see [0062]: power control circuitry detecting an idle period threshold and transitioning the channel from the high power state to the low power state; [0056]: a change in the address hashing policy will also cause certain memory channels to transition to a low power state).
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the power collapse trigger condition is detected based on one or more of a software workload of a processor that is associated with the first slice, a hardware usage level associated with the first slice, or a vote metric associated with one or more processors including the processor (see [0049]: telemetry data includes bandwidth consumption {hardware or software load}, memory capacity usage data {software workload or hardware usage level}, etc.).
19. DAI discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors to initiate (see [0106]: programs embodied in software stored on one or more computer readable media), perform, or control operations, the operations comprising: accessing a memory using a plurality of memory channels (see [0046]: first through eighth memory channels), the plurality of memory channels including a first slice and at least a second slice that is distinct from the first slice (see [0053]-[0054]: address hashing policy creates separate groups of memory channels), wherein accessing the memory includes performing interleaving of memory access operations to the second slice on a per-slice basis that excludes the first slice (see BRANDL below); and in accordance with a power collapse trigger condition associated with the first slice, adjusting operation of the first slice from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation independently of the second slice (see [0060]: in response to the address hashing policy, some of the memory channels will operate in a low power state, while others will operate in a high power state), wherein the first mode of operation is associated with a first power consumption level that is greater than a second power consumption level associated with the second mode of operation (see [0058]: multiple power states including a high power state and a low power state).
BRANDL discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: performing interleaving of memory access operations to the first slice and the second slice on a per-slice basis (see [0068]: chip select interleaving that interleaves the address space over multiple DIMM ranks on a channel). Interleaving access over multiple ranks on a channel is done using chip select interleaving. This type of interleaving reduces page conflicts and makes more DRAM banks available (see [0068]). Since the interleaving is done within a channel, interleaving on one channel would exclude the other channel. The interleaving disclosed by BRANDL would be compatible with the system disclosed by DAI as both systems are accessing DRAM memory (see DAI [0040]; BRANDL [0068]). When one channel in the system of DAI is in a low power state, another channel that is being accessed could perform the chip select interleaving disclosed by DAI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to perform interleaving on one slice and exclude the other, as disclosed by BRANDL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to reduce page conflicts in a memory channel, as taught by BRANDL. DAI and BRANDL are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to accessing DRAM memory systems.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a power resume trigger condition associated with the first slice (see [0061]: exceeding a frequency threshold); and based on detecting the power resume trigger condition, adjusting operation of the first slice from the second mode to the first mode independently of the second slice (see [0061]: after a threshold number of times exceeding a frequency threshold, the power state of the channel will be adjusted from the low power state to the high power state).
21. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to perform the interleaving of the memory access operations to the second slice on the per-slice basis to enable selective deactivation of the first slice independently of the second slice (see DAI [0053]: the address hashing policy determines which channels will be used for data storage and retrieval, the channels are selectively disabled based on the hashing policy; BRANDL [0068]: the interleaving is performed on a single channel, and therefore would not be affected by having another channel deactivated – this enables the system to deactivate a channel while still being able to perform the interleaving).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2022/0188016) and BRANDL (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0019006) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of NACHIMUTHU (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2014/0143577).
3. The apparatus of claim 1 (see DAI above), wherein the first slice and the second slice each include a system level cache (SLC) controller, a memory controller coupled to the SLC controller (see NACHIMUTHU below), and a physical interface between the memory controller and the memory (see DAI [0046]: memory channels are a physical interface between a controller and the memory).
NACHIMUTHU discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: wherein the first slice and the second slice each include a system level cache (SLC) controller (see [0048]-[0051]: various levels of memory including a memory side cache {system level cache}; [0053]: high speed memory that is part of the system memory address range to be used as a write buffer or scratchpad memory), a memory controller coupled to the SLC controller (see DAI [0105]: circuitry is already present for controlling access to the memory, a combination of DAI and NACHIMUTHU would result in this circuitry being coupled to the SLC controller disclosed by NACHIMUTHU). Having a system level cache helps solve the challenges regarding memory power and cost (see [0021]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to include and SLC controller, as disclosed by NACHIMUTHU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to incorporate high speed memory while limiting the increase in memory power and cost, as taught by NACHIMUTHU. DAI and NACHIMUTHU are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to accessing multiple memories.
12. The method of claim 10 (see DAI above), wherein the first slice and the second slice each include a system level cache (SLC) controller, a memory controller coupled to the SLC controller, and a physical interface between the memory controller and the memory (see NACHIMUTHU below).
NACHIMUTHU discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: wherein the first slice and the second slice each include a system level cache (SLC) controller (see [0048]-[0051]: various levels of memory including a memory side cache {system level cache}; [0053]: high speed memory that is part of the system memory address range to be used as a write buffer or scratchpad memory), a memory controller coupled to the SLC controller (see DAI [0105]: circuitry is already present for controlling access to the memory, a combination of DAI and NACHIMUTHU would result in this circuitry being coupled to the SLC controller disclosed by NACHIMUTHU). Having a system level cache helps solve the challenges regarding memory power and cost (see [0021]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to include and SLC controller, as disclosed by NACHIMUTHU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to incorporate high speed memory while limiting the increase in memory power and cost, as taught by NACHIMUTHU. DAI and NACHIMUTHU are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to accessing multiple memories.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2022/0188016) and BRANDL (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0019006) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of BEKERMAN (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2025/0104742).
4. The apparatus of claim 1 (see DAI above), wherein the plurality of memory channels are coupled to one or more power supply nodes, and wherein the power control circuitry includes, for each slice of the plurality of memory channels, a power gating circuit that is coupled to the one or more power supply nodes and that is configured to selectively disconnect the slice from the one or more power supply nodes (see BEKERMAN below).
BEKERMAN discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: wherein the plurality of memory channels are coupled to one or more power supply nodes, and wherein the power control circuitry includes, for each slice of the plurality of memory channels, a power gating circuit that is coupled to the one or more power supply nodes and that is configured to selectively disconnect the slice from the one or more power supply nodes (see [0025]: power management circuitry to allow for power gating; [0033]: maintain power state for a memory resource using power gating operations). BEKERMAN discloses a power gating operation to regulate power supplied to a memory resource. It is implicit that there is a power supply node since the memory is receiving power. DAI already discloses the ability to increase or decrease the power supplied to a memory channel, but DAI does not disclose the specifics of how that is accomplished. BEKERMAN discloses a well-known solution to managing power for a memory resource, which is power gating.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to include a power gating circuit, as disclosed by BEKERMAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification since a power gating circuit is a well-known solution for managing power to a memory resource, as taught by BEKERMAN. DAI and BEKERMAN are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to management of power for a memory resource.
13. The method of claim 10 (see DAI above), further comprising, for each slice of the plurality of memory channels, selectively disconnecting the slice from one or more power supply nodes using power control circuitry (see BEKERMAN below).
BEKERMAN discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: for each slice of the plurality of memory channels, selectively disconnecting the slice from one or more power supply nodes using power control circuitry (see [0025]: power management circuitry to allow for power gating; [0033]: maintain power state for a memory resource using power gating operations). BEKERMAN discloses a power gating operation to regulate power supplied to a memory resource. It is implicit that there is a power supply node since the memory is receiving power. DAI already discloses the ability to increase or decrease the power supplied to a memory channel, but DAI does not disclose the specifics of how that is accomplished. BEKERMAN discloses a well-known solution to managing power for a memory resource, which is power gating.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to include a power gating circuit, as disclosed by BEKERMAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification since a power gating circuit is a well-known solution for managing power to a memory resource, as taught by BEKERMAN. DAI and BEKERMAN are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to management of power for a memory resource.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2022/0188016) and BRANDL (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0019006) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of YANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2023/0041476).
7. The apparatus of claim 1 (see DAI above), wherein the circuitry includes a memory network-on-chip (NoC) coupled to the plurality of memory channels and to the memory, wherein the memory NoC is configured to operate in accordance with a slice-based interleaving scheme (see YANG below).
YANG discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: a memory network-on-chip (NoC) coupled to the plurality of memory channels and to the memory (see [0045]: network-on-chip subsystem coupled to a host processor), wherein the memory NoC is configured to operate in accordance with a slice-based interleaving scheme (see DAI [0053]: address hashing policy will determine the number of memory channels that are used, when multiple channels are used the access to the memory is interleaved over the multiple channels to provide the necessary capacity and bandwidth needed). An NOC brings notable improvements over conventional bus and crossbar architectures (see [0045]). DAI already discloses the use of processing circuitry for data access (see [0105]). The NOC disclosed by YANG would improve the scalability and communication of the host processor disclosed by DAI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to include an NOC, as disclosed by YANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve scalability and communication, as taught by YANG. DAI and YANG are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to communication with memory systems.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the slice-based interleaving scheme enables an intra-slice interleaving of the memory access operations within the first slice (see DAI [0081]-[0083: the address hashing policy will determine how many channels are used, data access would be interleaved among the channels that are selected to be used) and disables an inter-slice interleaving of the memory access operations between the first slice and the second slice (see DAI [0095]: data movement between channels can be enabled or disabled based on the address hashing policy).
16. The method of claim 10 (see DAI above), wherein the memory is accessed via a memory network-on-chip (NoC) and in accordance with a slice-based interleaving scheme (see YANG below).
YANG discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: wherein the memory is accessed via a memory network-on-chip (NoC) (see [0045]: network-on-chip subsystem coupled to a host processor) and in accordance with a slice-based interleaving scheme (see DAI [0053]: address hashing policy will determine the number of memory channels that are used, when multiple channels are used the access to the memory is interleaved over the multiple channels to provide the necessary capacity and bandwidth needed). An NOC brings notable improvements over conventional bus and crossbar architectures (see [0045]). DAI already discloses the use of processing circuitry for data access (see [0105]). The NOC disclosed by YANG would improve the scalability and communication of the host processor disclosed by DAI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to include an NOC, as disclosed by YANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve scalability and communication, as taught by YANG. DAI and YANG are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to communication with memory systems.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the slice-based interleaving scheme enables an intra-slice interleaving of the memory access operations within the first slice (see DAI [0081]-[0083: the address hashing policy will determine how many channels are used, data access would be interleaved among the channels that are selected to be used) and disables an inter-slice interleaving of the memory access operations between the first slice and the second slice (see DAI [0095]: data movement between channels can be enabled or disabled based on the address hashing policy).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2022/0188016) and BRANDL (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0019006) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of CHEN (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2020/0133903).
9. The apparatus of claim 1 (see DAI above), wherein the memory corresponds to a hybrid memory including a first memory of a first memory type and a second memory of a second memory type different than the first memory type, wherein the first slice is associated with the first memory, and wherein the second slice is associated with the second memory (see CHEN below).
CHEN discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by DAI: wherein the memory corresponds to a hybrid memory including a first memory of a first memory type and a second memory of a second memory type different than the first memory type (see [0015]: multi-channel interface where each channel can be coupled to a different type of memory; [0020]-[0021]: each channel controller can be configured with a different protocol for interfacing with a particular type of memory), wherein the first slice is associated with the first memory, and wherein the second slice is associated with the second memory (see [0018]-[0019]: each channel is associated with memory). The use of a multi-channel memory configuration that allows for different protocols to be used creates a more flexible memory system through the ability to utilize advanced new media features (see [0003], [0016]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify DAI to incorporate a hybrid memory, as disclosed by CHEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to create a flexible memory system that is able to make use of advanced new media features, as taught by CHEN. DAI and CHEN are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to multi-channel memory systems.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG [Heterogeneous Multi-Channel…] discloses DRAM power control by dividing the DRAM into multiple types of channels. Section 3.
/EDWARD J DUDEK JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132