DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) under 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued in the remark that prior art do not disclose wherein the message container IE includes the unavailability information and at least one cleartext IE, and wherein a value part of the message container IE is ciphered by the UE”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lu discloses
wherein the message container IE includes the unavailability information and at least one cleartext IE, and wherein a value part of the message container IE is ciphered by the UE, ( FIG. 3, the sleep node can use methods such as POST/PUT to inform the proxy about its sleep, i.e. the unavailability information in the POST request, that is equal to the in the deregistration request message and the POST request in encoded , that is also equal to the non-cleartext information element(IE) fig.2, col 2, lines 45-47, a UE method may include supporting, i.e. determining, sleep attributes to being added in a request URI field within a CoAP header options, i.e. a deregistration request message and FIG. 3, the sleep node can use methods such as POST/PUT to inform the proxy about its sleep, i.e. the unavailability information and col 17, lines 20-23 The encoding of the sleep information should follow the Content-type encoding defined by the CoAP protocol col 17, lines 20-30 CoAP specifies TLV format for the Header Options which may be used to encode some sleep pattern information such as the following: TYPE: Sleep Interval LEN: 2-bit unsigned integer allowing values of -4 octets, or 10-bit unsigned integer allowing values of 5-1024 octets; and/or VALUE: Sleep interval in seconds. CoAP POST request message, i.e. message container ( IE), wherein in generally the IE is the part of URL, with sleep information. Referring to FIG. 10, the figure shows how to compose the CoAP POST Request message, i.e. message container ( IE), adding sleep information in the payload or Header Options respectively. The "Type" of sleep information may be assumed to be 10 and 12 for elective options "Sleep Type" and "Sleep duration". CoAP may define such options for sleep information. TID is Transaction ID and (col 21, lines 20-30 Sleep attributes can be treated as a CoAP resource and represented by a URI: Sleep attributes can be exchanged at discovery phase using link format; Sleep attributes can be exchanged using well-known URI; and/or Sleep attributes URI can be exchanged dynamically Piggy-back sleep attributes in request URI in any CoAP messages, i.e. the message container IE), and
and col 21, lines 20-30 The encoded sleep attributes can be embedded in the CoAP header options or payload, i.e. the message container IE, generally IE is the part of the URI,. Sleep attributes can be treated as a CoAP resource and represented by a URI: Sleep attributes can be exchanged at discovery phase using link format; Sleep attributes can be exchanged using well-known URI; and/or Sleep attributes URI can be exchanged dynamically Piggy-back sleep attributes in request URI in any CoAP messages.
Lu does not disclose UE does not sending a NAS message with the unavailability information.
However, Sharma discloses UE does not sending a NAS message with the unavailability information(col 11, lines 28-32 the session manager 102 can be configured to generate the Carry Your Own Context (CYOC) container associated with the at least one ongoing session on the source electronic device 110, UE, The cellular parameter can include, for e.g., stack of all the session information of the at least one session associated with the source electronic device 110, one or more session specific information, or the like. The one or more session specific information comprises at least one NAS information and col 3, lines 35-40 The cellular parameter can include, for e.g., stack of all the session information of the at least one session associated with the source electronic device 110, one or more session specific information, or the like. The one or more session specific information comprises at least one of PDCP information, Cell information, security keys information, NAS information and Non-access stratum (NAS) information ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al US 8,626,893 in view of Sharma et al US 10,750,355.
As per claim 1, Lu discloses a method performed by a user equipment(UE)in a wireless communication network( Fig.1A , the communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102a, 102b, 102c, and/or 102d (which generally or collectively may be referred to as WTRU 102), a radio access network (RAN) 103/104/105, a core network 106/107/109, ), the method comprising:
Determining to include unavailability information in a deregistration request message (fig.2, col 2, lines 45-47, a UE method may include supporting, i.e. determining, sleep attributes to being added in a request URI field within a CoAP header options, i.e. a deregistration request message); and
Transmitting, to a network entity (fig.3, proxy ), the deregistration request message, wherein the unavailability information is included in the deregistration request message as a non-cleartext information element(IE) (FIG. 3, the sleep node can use methods such as POST/PUT to inform the proxy about its sleep, i.e. the unavailability information),
Wherein the deregistration request message container ( IE) ( col 17, lines 20-23 The encoding of the sleep information should follow the Content-type encoding defined by the CoAP protocol col 17, lines 20-30 CoAP specifies TLV format for the Header Options which may be used to encode some sleep pattern information such as the following: TYPE: Sleep Interval LEN: 2-bit unsigned integer allowing values of -4 octets, or 10-bit unsigned integer allowing values of 5-1024 octets; and/or VALUE: Sleep interval in seconds. CoAP POST request message, i.e. message container ( IE), wherein in generally the IE is the part of URL, with sleep information. Referring to FIG. 10, the figure shows how to compose the CoAP POST Request message, i.e. message container ( IE), adding sleep information in the payload or Header Options respectively. The "Type" of sleep information may be assumed to be 10 and 12 for elective options "Sleep Type" and "Sleep duration". CoAP may define such options for sleep information. TID is Transaction ID),
Wherein the message container IE includes the unavailability information and at least one cleartext IE (col 21, lines 20-30 Sleep attributes can be treated as a CoAP resource and represented by a URI: Sleep attributes can be exchanged at discovery phase using link format; Sleep attributes can be exchanged using well-known URI; and/or Sleep attributes URI can be exchanged dynamically Piggy-back sleep attributes in request URI in any CoAP messages, i.e. the message container IE), and
Wherein a value part of the message container IE is ciphered by the UE ( col 21, lines 20-30 The encoded sleep attributes can be embedded in the CoAP header options or payload, i.e. the message container IE, generally IE is the part of the URI,. Sleep attributes can be treated as a CoAP resource and represented by a URI: Sleep attributes can be exchanged at discovery phase using link format; Sleep attributes can be exchanged using well-known URI; and/or Sleep attributes URI can be exchanged dynamically Piggy-back sleep attributes in request URI in any CoAP messages).
Lu does not disclose UE does not sending a NAS message with the unavailability information.
However, Sharma discloses UE does not sending a NAS message with the unavailability information(col 11, lines 28-32 the session manager 102 can be configured to generate the Carry Your Own Context (CYOC) container associated with the at least one ongoing session on the source electronic device 110, UE, The cellular parameter can include, for e.g., stack of all the session information of the at least one session associated with the source electronic device 110, one or more session specific information, or the like. The one or more session specific information comprises at least one NAS information and col 3, lines 35-40 The cellular parameter can include, for e.g., stack of all the session information of the at least one session associated with the source electronic device 110, one or more session specific information, or the like. The one or more session specific information comprises at least one of PDCP information, Cell information, security keys information, NAS information and Non-access stratum (NAS) information ).
Lu and Sharma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Sharma and provide to configured to share the CYOC container even when the target electronic device 120 is in the offline state (col 11, lines 50-55). Doing so would provide the CYOC container consists of cellular parameter information required for seamless session transfer from the source device to the target device.
As per claim 2, Lu and Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the unavailability information includes an unavailability period duration IE (col 15, lines 65-67 the URI (URL) representation of sleep information. CoAP [I-D.draft-ietf-core-coap] splits the URI into Uri-Scheme, Uri-Authority and Uri-Path Options. Coap://sensor1.example.com:COAP_TBD_PORT/SleepInfo; Coap://sensor1.example.com:COAP_TBD_PORT/SleepInfo/SleepType; and/or Coap://sensor1.example.com:COAP_TBD_PORT/SleepInfo/SleepDuration.).
As per claim 3. Lu and Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the unavailability information indicates unavailability period duration of the UE( Lu col 15, lines 65-67 the URI (URL) representation of sleep information. CoAP [I-D.draft-ietf-core-coap] splits the URI into Uri-Scheme, Uri-Authority and Uri-Path Options. Coap://sensor1.example.com:COAP_TBD_PORT/SleepInfo; Coap://sensor1.example.com:COAP_TBD_PORT/SleepInfo/SleepType; and/or Coap://sensor1.example.com:COAP_TBD_PORT/SleepInfo/SleepDuration).
As per claim 6. Lu and Sharma discloses The method of claim 1, wherein de-registration type information in the deregistration request message is set to normal de-registration( Lu FIG. 3, the sleep node can use methods such as POST/PUT to inform the proxy about its sleep, i.e. the unavailability information in the POST request, that is equal to the in the deregistration request message and the POST request in encoded , that is also equal to the non-cleartext information element(IE)).
As per claim 7. Lu discloses A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, (Fig.1A , the communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102a, 102b, 102c, and/or 102d (which generally or collectively may be referred to as WTRU 102), a radio access network (RAN) 103/104/105, a core network 106/107/109, cause the UE to
Determining to include unavailability information in a deregistration request message (fig.2, col 2, lines 45-47, a UE method may include supporting, i.e. determining, sleep attributes to being added in a request URI field within a CoAP header options, i.e. a deregistration request message); and
Transmitting, to a network entity (fig.3, proxy ), the deregistration request message, wherein the unavailability information is included in the deregistration request message as a non-cleartext information element(IE) (FIG. 3, the sleep node can use methods such as POST/PUT to inform the proxy about its sleep, i.e. the unavailability information in the POST request, that is equal to the in the deregistration request message and the POST request in encoded , that is also equal to the non-cleartext information element(IE) ),
Wherein the deregistration request message container ( IE) ( col 17, lines 20-23 The encoding of the sleep information should follow the Content-type encoding defined by the CoAP protocol col 17, lines 20-30 CoAP specifies TLV format for the Header Options which may be used to encode some sleep pattern information such as the following: TYPE: Sleep Interval LEN: 2-bit unsigned integer allowing values of -4 octets, or 10-bit unsigned integer allowing values of 5-1024 octets; and/or VALUE: Sleep interval in seconds. CoAP POST request message, i.e. message container ( IE), wherein in generally the IE is the part of URL, with sleep information. Referring to FIG. 10, the figure shows how to compose the CoAP POST Request message, i.e. message container ( IE), adding sleep information in the payload or Header Options respectively. The "Type" of sleep information may be assumed to be 10 and 12 for elective options "Sleep Type" and "Sleep duration". CoAP may define such options for sleep information. TID is Transaction ID),
Wherein the message container IE includes the unavailability information and at least one cleartext IE (col 21, lines 20-30 Sleep attributes can be treated as a CoAP resource and represented by a URI: Sleep attributes can be exchanged at discovery phase using link format; Sleep attributes can be exchanged using well-known URI; and/or Sleep attributes URI can be exchanged dynamically Piggy-back sleep attributes in request URI in any CoAP messages, i.e. the message container IE), and
Wherein a value part of the message container IE is ciphered by the UE ( col 21, lines 20-30 The encoded sleep attributes can be embedded in the CoAP header options or payload, i.e. the message container IE, generally IE is the part of the URI,. Sleep attributes can be treated as a CoAP resource and represented by a URI: Sleep attributes can be exchanged at discovery phase using link format; Sleep attributes can be exchanged using well-known URI; and/or Sleep attributes URI can be exchanged dynamically Piggy-back sleep attributes in request URI in any CoAP messages).
Lu does not disclose UE does not sending a NAS message with the unavailability information.
However, Sharma discloses UE does not sending a NAS message with the unavailability information(col 11, lines 28-32 the session manager 102 can be configured to generate the Carry Your Own Context (CYOC) container associated with the at least one ongoing session on the source electronic device 110, UE, The cellular parameter can include, for e.g., stack of all the session information of the at least one session associated with the source electronic device 110, one or more session specific information, or the like. The one or more session specific information comprises at least one NAS information and col 3, lines 35-40 The cellular parameter can include, for e.g., stack of all the session information of the at least one session associated with the source electronic device 110, one or more session specific information, or the like. The one or more session specific information comprises at least one of PDCP information, Cell information, security keys information, NAS information and Non-access stratum (NAS) information ).
Lu and Sharma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Sharma and provide to configured to share the CYOC container even when the target electronic device 120 is in the offline state (col 11, lines 50-55). Doing so would provide the CYOC container consists of cellular parameter information required for seamless session transfer from the source device to the target device.
As per claims 8-9 and 12, those claims are rejected based on the same rationale set forth in the claims 2-3 and 6 respectfully.
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Sharma discloses in view of Shan et al US 2019/0174449.
As per claim 4. Lu and Sharma discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the UE is in a 5G mobility management (5GMM)-IDLE mode(Lu col 6, lines 50-55 the base station 114b and the WTRUs 102c, 102d may utilize a cellular-based RAT (e.g., WCDMA, CDMA2000, GSM, LTE, LTE-A, etc.) to establish a picocell or).
The combination does explicitly not disclose a 5G mobility management (5GMM)-IDLE mode.
However, Shan discloses a 5G mobility management (5GMM)-IDLE mode(0226] When the UE 101, 301 is in 5GMM-IDLE mode over 3GPP access and needs to transmit an initial NAS message, the UE 101, 301 requests the lower layer (e.g., RRC 955) to establish an RRC connection. Upon indication from the lower layers that the RRC connection has been established, the UE 101, 301 considers that the N1 NAS signaling connection over 3GPP access is established and enters the 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over 3GPP access. In various embodiments, the UE 301 may generate a NAS message to be included in an RRC message to establish the RRC connection and the AMF 321 may generate another NAS message to be included in an RRC message. Such NAS messages may have a format).
Lu and Sharma and Shan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Sharma, including the teaching of Shan and provide to configured to share the CYOC container even when the target electronic device 120 is in the offline state (col 11, lines 50-55). Doing so would provide the CYOC container consists of cellular parameter information required for seamless session transfer from the source device to the target device.
As per claim 10, this claim is rejected based on the same rationale set forth in the claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Sharma discloses in view of NIEMI et al US 2022/0312171.
As per claim 5. Lu in view Sharma discloses disclose the method of claim 1, the combination fails to disclose further comprising: starting a timer T3521 after transmitting the deregistration request message.
However, NIEMI discloses starting a timer T3521 after transmitting the deregistration request message (0058 the UE may start a timer (e.g., T3521) upon the initiation of the 5GMM de-registration procedure, and abort the 5GMM de-registration procedure at the expiry of the timer (i.e., not resend DEREGISTRATION REQUEST when the timer expires). Alternatively, the UE may set the counter of de-registration attempts to a value denoting that the next expiry of the timer is the fifth expiry, so that the 5GMM de-registration procedure may be aborted when the timer expires. ).
Lu and Sharma and NIEMI are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Sharma and, and including the teaching of NIEMI and provide encryption by the UE, Doing so would provide the CYOC container consists of cellular parameter information required for seamless session transfer from the source device to the target device.
As per claim 11, this claim is rejected based on the same rationale set forth in the claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496