DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a compressor” in line 15 which should be recited to “the compressor” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a compressor” in line 20 which should be recited to “the compressor” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a solenoid valve” in line 3 and the limitation “the valve” in line 5 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a valve”. However, claim 2 recites both “a solenoid valve” and “the valve”. It is unclear whether the limitation “a solenoid valve” refers to “a valve” in claim 1 or a different valve. Also, it is unclear whether the limitation “the valve” in claim 6 refers to “a solenoid valve” in claim 6 or “a valve” in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation “a solenoid valve” has been interpreted as “the valve”. Otherwise, Further clarification is required.
Claim 3-4 is rejected by its virtual dependency of claim 2.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a modulating valve” in lines 1-2 and the limitation “the valve” in line 5 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a valve”. However, claim 6 recites both “a modulating valve” and “the valve”. It is unclear whether the limitation “a modulating valve” refers to “a valve” in claim 1 or a different valve. Also, it is unclear whether the limitation “the valve” in claim 6 refers to “a modulating valve” in claim 6 or “a valve” in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation “a modulating valve” has been interpreted as “the valve”. Otherwise, Further clarification is required.
Claim 7 is rejected by its virtual dependency of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN116907112A) in view of Sugiyama et al. (JP-H07294052A).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method of controlling a wet-injection bypass line (15) in a climate control system, the method comprising:
circulating refrigerant fluid through a main refrigeration circuit to satisfy a conditioning load (see figure 2);
selectively routing a portion of the refrigerant fluid through the wet-injection bypass line (15), the wet-injection bypass line (15) routing the portion of the refrigerant from an upstream location on the main refrigerant circuit between an evaporator heat exchanger (14) and a condensing heat exchanger (12) to a downstream location on the main refrigerant circuit proximate a compressor inlet (the inlet of compressor 11; see figure 2);
controlling a flow rate of the portion of the refrigerant fluid through the wet-injection bypass line (15), wherein controlling the flow rate includes:
determining a first parameter (the evaporator temperature detected by sensor 117) of the refrigerant fluid proximate the evaporator heat exchanger (14) and a second parameter (the condensing temperature detected by sensor 112) of the refrigerant fluid proximate the condensing heat exchanger (12; see figure 2),
determining a compressor (11) of the climate control system is operating outside (a higher power in large power mode) an operating zone (compression ratio of the compressor are ensured in a reasonable range so as to ensure the refrigeration efficiency; paragraph 3 of page 15) of the compressor for a period of time (paragraphs 5-7 of page 7), and
adjusting a position of a valve (151) coupled to the wet-injection bypass line (15) in response to determining the period of time is over a threshold period of time (paragraph 3 of page 15).
However, Chen fails to disclose determining an outdoor ambient temperature is below a temperature threshold and adjusting the position of the valve in response to determining the outdoor ambient temperature is below the temperature threshold.
Sugiyama teaches an air conditioner comprising determining an outdoor ambient temperature is below a temperature threshold (paragraph 3 of page 3) and adjusting a position of a valve (9) in response to determining the outdoor ambient temperature is below the temperature threshold (a predetermined temperature; paragraphs 3 and 6 of page 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the climate control system of Chen to incorporate the claimed control of the valve in response to outdoor air temperature comparison as taught by Sugiyama in order to improve refrigerant bypass accuracy based on more parameters input for controlling the bypass valve.
Regarding claim 10, Chen as modified discloses the method further comprising operating the climate control system in a heating mode (paragraph 6 of page 3, Sugiyama).
Though Chen as modified fails to disclose the threshold temperature is 25°F (approximately -3.9 oC), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the claimed temperature is just a matter of routine optimization. In the instant case, the modified Chen discloses the threshold temperature (the predetermined temperature) is 7 oC (lines 8-9 of page 5, Sugiyama). It is obvious to one having skill in the art to optimized operation of the system of Chen through routine experimentation to modify the threshold temperature to the claimed 25°F (approximately -3.9 oC) such that the operation of the system satisfies the different outdoor temperature conditions (see MPEP 2144.05 Section II-A).
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified discloses adjusting the position of the valve (151) further includes adjusting the position of the valve (151) to increase the flow rate of the portion of refrigerant fluid in response to determining the outdoor ambient temperature is below 7°C by a certain amount (paragraphs 3 and 6 of page 3 and lines 8-9 of page 5, Sugiyama; the routine optimization analysis above provide the claimed the outdoor ambient temperature is below 7°C by a certain amount, see MPEP 2144.05 Section II-A).
Regarding claim 12, Chen as modified discloses the portion of refrigerant fluid routed through the bypass line (15) is in a predominately liquid state at the upstream location on the main refrigerant circuit between the evaporator heat exchanger (14) and the condensing heat exchanger (12; see figure 2).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kicuchi et al. (JP-H0821665A).
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified fails to disclose the wet-injection bypass line of the climate control system includes a plurality of capillary tube circuits routed in parallel, each of the plurality of capillary tube circuits including a solenoid valve and a capillary tube, wherein adjusting the position of the valve further includes: selecting at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits; and opening the solenoid valve coupled to the selected at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits.
Kicuchi teaches a climate control system comprising wet-injection bypass line (15) includes a plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8) routed in parallel, each of the plurality of capillary tube circuits including a solenoid valve (5 or 6) and a capillary tube (7 or 8; see figure 1); a processor (the control flow chart in figure 2 implies an existence of a processor) configured to execute the computer-readable program code (the program flow chart as shown in figure 2) to cause the processor to select at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see step S4, S6 and S8 of figure 2), and open a solenoid valve (5 and/or 6) coupled to the selected at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to substitute the single wet-injection bypass line with the claimed wet-injection bypass line which includes a plurality of capillary tube circuits routed in parallel configuration as taught by Kicuchi in order to improve the refrigerant bypass through multiple bypass circuits. Also, upon the modification, the modified system of Chen would provide the claimed selective bypass control of the refrigerant through the parallel bypass circuits based on different detected parameters.
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified discloses the at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits is two or more of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see figure 1 of Kicuchi).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama and Kicuchi as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Ito et al. (JP2011179783A).
Regarding claim 3, Chen as modified discloses selecting the at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits includes selecting the at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see figures 1-2 of Kicuchi) based on the outdoor ambient temperature (paragraphs 3 and 6 of page 3, Sugiyama) and an indoor temperature setpoint (a preset target temperature Ta; paragraph 3 of page 18 to paragraph 1 of page 19; see figure 4 of Chen).
Chen as modified fails to disclose each of the plurality of capillary tubes has a different capillary size.
Ito teaches a climate control system comprising each of a plurality of capillary tubes (18 and 20) has a different capillary size (paragraph 3 of page 6; see figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to incorporate the claimed different capillary size as taught by Ito in order to provide different flow path resistances.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim et al. (KR20220050573A).
Regarding claim 8, Chen as modified fails to disclose the operating zone corresponds to a compressor operating map, the compressor operating map indicating a range of acceptable operating levels.
Kim teaches a chiller system comprising a compressor which operates in an operating zone. Wherein the operating zone corresponds to a compressor operating map, the compressor operating map indicating a range of acceptable operating levels (paragraph 6 of page 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to incorporate the claimed compressor operating map as taught by Kim in order to improve the operation control of the compressor based on the operating map.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Saitou et al. (CN100554820C).
Regarding claim 9, Chen as modified fails to disclose the first parameter (the temperature detected by sensor 117) of the refrigerant fluid at the evaporator (14) heat exchanger is a temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger (14), and the second parameter (the temperature detected by sensor 112) of the refrigerant fluid at the condensing heat exchanger (12) is a temperature for the condensing heat exchanger (12; see figure 2 of Chen).
However, Chen fails to explicitly disclose the detected temperature is a saturation temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger and for the condensing heat exchanger.
Saitou teaches a climate control system comprising a sensor (16h) which detects a saturation temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger (6) and a sensor (16c) which detects a saturation temperature for the condensing heat exchanger (12; paragraph 2 of page 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to substitute the sensors (117 and 112) of Chen with the claimed sensors which detects a saturation temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger and for the condensing heat exchanger as taught by Saitou in order to obtain similar or predictable result which to control the refrigerant bypass based on saturated temperature of the heat exchangers (see MPEP 2143 section B).
Claim(s) 13, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama and Kicuchi.
Regarding claim 13, Chen as modified in view of Sugiyama as in claim 1 above discloses a climate control system comprising:
a main refrigeration circuit configured to circulate refrigerant fluid to satisfy a conditioning load (see figures 2-4);
a wet-injection bypass line (15) coupled to an upstream location on the main refrigerant circuit between an evaporator heat exchanger (14) and a condensing heat exchanger (12) and a downstream location on the main refrigerant circuit proximate a compressor inlet (the inlet of the compressor 11; see figure 2), the wet-injection bypass line (15) configured to selectively route a portion of the refrigerant fluid from the main refrigeration circuit through the wet-injection bypass line (15; see figure 2),
wherein the wet-injection bypass line (15) including a solenoid valve (151; see figure 2); and
a controller (6) including a processor (60) and a memory (61) configured to store computer-readable program code including a control-related software application (see figures 5-6); and the processor (60) configured to access the memory (61), and execute the computer-readable program code (see figures 5-6) to cause the processor (60) to at least:
determine a first parameter (the evaporating temperature detected by the sensor 117) of the refrigerant fluid proximate the evaporator heat exchanger (14) and a second parameter (the condensing temperature detected by the sensor 112) of the refrigerant fluid proximate the condensing heat exchanger (12; see figure 2),
determine a compressor (11) of the climate control system is operating outside (a high power in the large power mode) an operating zone (compression ratio of the compressor are ensured in a reasonable range so as to ensure the refrigeration efficiency; paragraph 3 of page 15) of the compressor (11) for a period of time (paragraphs 5-7 of page 7),
determine an outdoor ambient temperature is below a temperature threshold (a predetermined temperature; paragraph 3 of page 3, Sugiyama), and
in response to determining the period of time is over a threshold period of time (paragraph 3 of page 15, Chen) and the outdoor ambient temperature is below a temperature threshold (a predetermined temperature; paragraph 3 of page 3, Sugiyama), control the flow rate of refrigerant passes through the wet-injection bypass line (15), and open the solenoid valve (151) coupled to the wet-injection bypass line (15; paragraph 3 of page 15).
However, Chen fails to disclose the wet-injection bypass line (15) includes a plurality of capillary tube circuits routed in parallel, each of the plurality of capillary tube circuits including a solenoid valve and a capillary tube; the processor configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the processor to select at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits, and open the solenoid valve coupled to the selected at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits.
Kicuchi teaches a climate control system comprising wet-injection bypass line (15) includes a plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8) routed in parallel, each of the plurality of capillary tube circuits including a solenoid valve (5 or 6) and a capillary tube (7 or 8; see figure 1); a processor (the control flow chart in figure 2 implies an existence of a processor) configured to execute the computer-readable program code (the program flow chart as shown in figure 2) to cause the processor to select at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see step S4, S6 and S8 of figure 2), and open a solenoid valve (5 and/or 6) coupled to the selected at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to substitute the single wet-injection bypass line with the claimed wet-injection bypass line which includes a plurality of capillary tube circuits routed in parallel as taught by Kicuchi in order to improve the refrigerant bypass through multiple bypass circuits. Also, upon the modification, the modified system of Chen would provide the claimed selective bypass control of the refrigerant through the parallel bypass circuits.
Regarding claim 16, Chen as modified discloses the at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits is two or more of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see figures 1-2, Kicuchi).
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified discloses the processor (60) configured to access the memory (61), and execute the computer-readable program code (see figures 3-4) further includes causing the processor to:
operate the climate control system in a heating mode (paragraph 6 of page 3, Sugiyama).
Though Chen as modified fails to disclose the threshold temperature is 25°F (approximately -3.9 oC), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the claimed temperature is just a matter of routine optimization. In the instant case, the modified Chen discloses the threshold temperature (the predetermined temperature) is 7 oC (lines 8-9 of page 5, Sugiyama). It is obvious to one having skill in the art to optimized operation of the system of Chen through routine experimentation to modify the threshold temperature to the claimed 25°F (approximately -3.9 oC) such that the operation of the system satisfies the different outdoor temperature conditions (see MPEP 2144.05 Section II-A).
Regarding claim 20, Chen as modified discloses the portion of refrigerant fluid routed through the bypass line (15) is in a predominately liquid state at the upstream location on the main refrigerant circuit between the evaporator heat exchanger (14) and the condensing heat exchanger (12; see figure 2).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama and Kicuchi as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Ito.
Regarding claim 14, Chen as modified discloses selecting the at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits includes selecting the at least one of the plurality of capillary tube circuits (the circuit 5 and 7 and the circuit 6 and 8; see figures 1-2 of Kicuchi) based on the outdoor ambient temperature (paragraphs 3 and 6 of page 3, Sugiyama) and an indoor temperature setpoint (a preset target temperature Ta; paragraph 3 of page 18 to paragraph 1 of page 19; see figure 4 of Chen).
Chen as modified fails to disclose each of the plurality of capillary tubes has a different capillary size.
Ito teaches a climate control system comprising each of a plurality of capillary tubes (18 and 20) has a different capillary size (paragraph 3 of page 6; see figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to incorporate the claimed different capillary size as taught by Ito in order to provide different flow path resistances.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama and Kicuchi as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Chen as modified fails to disclose the operating zone corresponds to a compressor operating map, the compressor operating map indicating a range of acceptable operating levels.
Kim teaches a chiller system comprising a compressor which operates in an operating zone. Wherein the operating zone corresponds to a compressor operating map, the compressor operating map indicating a range of acceptable operating levels (paragraph 6 of page 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to incorporate the claimed compressor operating map as taught by Kim in order to improve the operation control of the compressor based on the operating map.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama and Kicuchi as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Saitou.
Regarding claim 19, Chen as modified fails to disclose the first parameter (the temperature detected by sensor 117) of the refrigerant fluid at the evaporator (14) heat exchanger is a temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger (14), and the second parameter (the temperature detected by sensor 112) of the refrigerant fluid at the condensing heat exchanger (12) is a temperature for the condensing heat exchanger (12; see figure 2 of Chen).
However, Chen fails to explicitly disclose the detected temperature is a saturation temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger and for the condensing heat exchanger.
Saitou teaches a climate control system comprising a sensor (16h) which detects a saturation temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger (6) and a sensor (16c) which detects a saturation temperature for the condensing heat exchanger (12; paragraph 2 of page 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to substitute the sensors (117 and 112) of Chen with the claimed sensors (16c and 16h) which detect a saturation temperature for the evaporator heat exchanger and for the condensing heat exchanger as taught by Saitou in order to obtain similar or predictable result which to control the refrigerant bypass based on saturated temperature of the heat exchangers (see MPEP 2143 section B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference Chen taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed control feature of the climate control system as required in claims 4, 6-7 and 15. Also, the prior art of record fails to provide further teachings or motivation to modify the climate control system of Chen in order to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claims 4, 6-7 and 15 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763