DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al., US2025/0203516 A1, and further in view of Van et al., US2018/0020387 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches A sensing signal transmission processing method (Fig. 7, par. 0129; method 700 of wireless environment sensing), comprising: receiving, by a first device, first signaling from a second device, wherein the first signaling is used to indicate a target sensing signal (par. 0130; the device-equipped target object receives an RF sensing signal (e.g., RF sensing signal 434) from a transmitter device (e.g., transmitter device 602), as at 620 of FIG. 6. In an aspect, the RF sensing signal may be configured to enable a sensing device (e.g., sensing device 606) to sense target objects, including the device-equipped target object, in an environment of the sensing device.); and performing, by the first device, sensing measurement on the target sensing signal or sending, by the first device, the target sensing signal (par. 0131; the device-equipped target object transmits an RF sensing response signal (i.e., interpreted as the sensing measurement) to the sensing device in response to reception of the RF sensing signal.).
Nam fails to teach the following recited limitations. However, Van teaches wherein the target sensing signal comprises N types of sensing signals, N is a positive integer, and in a case that N is 1, the target sensing signal comprises at least two resources (par. 0163; Hence, at an earlier TTI N-a, the device 1 switches from the first transmission resource pool RP1 to the second transmission resource pool RP2. For a time period from TTI N-a to TTI N-b, the device 1 senses the second transmission resource pool RP2. At TTI N+c, the device 1 transmits a scheduling assignment (SA), indicating associated data which are transmitted at TTI N+d. a-d are integer times, in milliseconds (ms).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Nam’s teachings with Van’s teachings in order to improve the QoS by reducing the latency and/or interruption of transmission (Van, par. 0009).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 1 and 10. Nam further teaches wherein before the receiving, by a first device, first signaling from a second device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, second signaling from the second device, wherein the second signaling carries configuration information of at least one type of sensing signal or configuration information of at least one resource of one type of sensing signal (par. 0123).
Regarding claim 3, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 2. Nam further teaches wherein the target sensing signal is at least some of sensing signals associated with the second signaling (par. 0123).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 2 and 11. Nam further teaches wherein the first signaling or the second signaling is further used to indicate at least one of the following: a power difference between the sensing signals of different types; a power difference between the sensing signals with different resources; or a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship between the sensing signals (par. 0050).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 1 and 10. Nam further teaches wherein after the performing, by the first device, sensing measurement on the target sensing signal, the method further comprises: reporting, by the first device, measurement information of a target sensing measurement quantity, wherein the target sensing measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following sensing measurement quantities: a channel matrix, channel state information, reference signal received power, a received signal strength indication, a channel power delay profile, a Doppler power spectrum, Doppler spread, a coherence bandwidth, a coherence time, power of at least one path of a multipath channel, a delay of the at least one path of the multipath channel, an angle of the at least one path of the multipath channel, a Doppler frequency shift, a quotient of frequency domain channel responses of a first antenna and a second antenna, a conjugate product of the frequency domain channel responses of the first antenna and the second antenna, an amplitude ratio between received signals of the first antenna and the second antenna, an amplitude difference between the received signals of the first antenna and the second antenna, a phase difference between the first antenna and the second antenna, or angle-related information of the first antenna and the second antenna, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are receive antennas of the first device (par. 0106).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 5 and 13. Nam further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, feedback configuration information corresponding to the target sensing measurement quantity from the second device, wherein the feedback configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a time domain resource for feeding back the target sensing measurement quantity; a frequency domain resource for feeding back the target sensing measurement quantity; or a granularity or a step for feeding back the target sensing measurement quantity (par. 0091).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 5 and 13. Nam further teaches wherein the reporting, by the first device, measurement information of a target sensing measurement quantity comprises: reporting, by the first device, the measurement information of the target sensing measurement quantity to a target device, wherein the target device is the second device or a third device associated with the second device (par. 0037).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 5 and 13. Nam further teaches wherein the measurement information of the target sensing measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: first measurement information corresponding to at least one first sensing measurement quantity, wherein the first sensing measurement quantity is one of the target sensing measurement quantity, and first measurement information corresponding to each first sensing measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: index values of M sensing signals, wherein the M sensing signals are all sensing signals corresponding to the first sensing measurement quantity, and M is an integer greater than 1; or a measurement value of the sensing signal corresponding to each index value; or second measurement information corresponding to at least one second sensing measurement quantity, wherein the second sensing measurement quantity is one of the target sensing measurement quantity, and second measurement information corresponding to each second sensing measurement quantity is associated with all sensing signals corresponding to the second sensing measurement quantity (par. 0151).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 1 and 10. Nam further teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, assistance information to a target device, wherein the target device is the second device or a third device associated with the second device, and in a case that the first device performs sensing measurement on the target sensing signal, the assistance information is used to indicate at least one of a type, a resource, or configuration information of a sensing signal that is expected to be sent by the second device; and in a case that the first device sends the target sensing signal, the assistance information is used to indicate at least one of a type, a resource, or configuration information of a sensing signal that the first device expects to send; or, wherein the method further comprises: reporting, by the first device, capability information to a target device, wherein the capability information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a type of a sensing signal on which the first device is able to simultaneously perform sensing measurement; a number of the sensing signal on which the first device is able to simultaneously perform sensing measurement; a number of resources that the first device is able to simultaneously perform sensing measurement; or parameter information that the first device is able to simultaneously perform sensing measurement (par. 0037); wherein the target device is the second device or a third device associated with the second device (par. 0128).
Regarding claim 10, Nam teaches A sensing signal transmission processing method (Fig. 7, par. 0129; method 700 of wireless environment sensing), comprising: sending, by a second device, first signaling to a first device, wherein the first signaling is used to indicate a target sensing signal (par. 0130; the device-equipped target object receives an RF sensing signal (e.g., RF sensing signal 434) from a transmitter device (e.g., transmitter device 602), as at 620 of FIG. 6. In an aspect, the RF sensing signal may be configured to enable a sensing device (e.g., sensing device 606) to sense target objects, including the device-equipped target object, in an environment of the sensing device.) on which the first device performs sensing measurement, or to indicate the first device to send the target sensing signal (par. 0131; the device-equipped target object transmits an RF sensing response signal (i.e., interpreted as the sensing measurement) to the sensing device in response to reception of the RF sensing signal.).
Nam fails to teach the following recited limitations. However, Van teaches wherein the target sensing signal comprises N types of sensing signals, N is a positive integer, and in a case that N is 1, the target sensing signal comprises at least two resources (par. 0163; Hence, at an earlier TTI N-a, the device 1 switches from the first transmission resource pool RP1 to the second transmission resource pool RP2. For a time period from TTI N-a to TTI N-b, the device 1 senses the second transmission resource pool RP2. At TTI N+c, the device 1 transmits a scheduling assignment (SA), indicating associated data which are transmitted at TTI N+d. a-d are integer times, in milliseconds (ms).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Nam’s teachings with Van’s teachings in order to improve the QoS by reducing the latency and/or interruption of transmission (Van, par. 0009).
Regarding claim 16, Nam teaches A terminal (Fig. 3A item 302; UE 302), comprising a memory (Fig. 3A item 340; memory 340), a processor (Fig. 3A item 332; processor 332), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor (par. 0034; program instructions being executed by one or more processors.), causes the terminal to perform: receiving first signaling from a second device, wherein the first signaling is used to indicate a target sensing signal (par. 0130; the device-equipped target object receives an RF sensing signal (e.g., RF sensing signal 434) from a transmitter device (e.g., transmitter device 602), as at 620 of FIG. 6. In an aspect, the RF sensing signal may be configured to enable a sensing device (e.g., sensing device 606) to sense target objects, including the device-equipped target object, in an environment of the sensing device.); and performing sensing measurement on the target sensing signal or sending the target sensing signal (par. 0131; the device-equipped target object transmits an RF sensing response signal (i.e., interpreted as the sensing measurement) to the sensing device in response to reception of the RF sensing signal.).
Nam fails to teach the following recited limitations. However, Van teaches wherein the target sensing signal comprises N types of sensing signals, N is a positive integer, and in a case that N is 1, the target sensing signal comprises at least two resources (par. 0163; Hence, at an earlier TTI N-a, the device 1 switches from the first transmission resource pool RP1 to the second transmission resource pool RP2. For a time period from TTI N-a to TTI N-b, the device 1 senses the second transmission resource pool RP2. At TTI N+c, the device 1 transmits a scheduling assignment (SA), indicating associated data which are transmitted at TTI N+d. a-d are integer times, in milliseconds (ms).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Nam’s teachings with Van’s teachings in order to improve the QoS by reducing the latency and/or interruption of transmission (Van, par. 0009).
Regarding claim 17, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claim 10. Nam further teaches A terminal (Fig. 3A item 302; UE 302), comprising a memory (Fig. 3A item 340; memory 340), a processor (Fig. 3A item 332; processor 332), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (par. 0034; program instructions being executed by one or more processors.), the steps of the sensing signal transmission processing method according to claim 10 are implemented.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claims 1 and 10. Nam further teaches A network-side device (Fig. 3B item 304; base station 304), comprising a memory (Fig. 3B item 386; memory 386), a processor (Fig. 3B item 384; processor 384), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (par. 0034; program instructions being executed by one or more processors.), the steps of the sensing signal transmission processing method according to claims 1 and 10 are implemented.
Regarding claim 20, Nam and Van teach all the limitations recited in claim 1. Nam further teaches A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein a program or an instruction is stored in the non-transitory readable storage medium, and when the program or the instruction is executed by a processor, the steps of the sensing signal transmission processing method according to claim 1 are implemented (par. 0017).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649