DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by structural modifiers. Such claim limitations are: accepting unit and management unit in claims 10 and 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification, at ¶ [37] indicates the accepting unit is a physical input unit which accepts a user’s operation instruction. The management unit, as described in ¶ [49], is described as a physical database (paper DB) for registering paper information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yohei Kiuchi et al (US 20140285846 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kiuchi et al discloses an information processing apparatus (¶ [50]) comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (¶ [127]); and
one or more processors executing the instructions (¶ [127]) to:
accept an editing operation to edit registered paper information (¶ [74]); and
not display a screen to accept change of a name of paper in a case where a type of the paper in the paper information on which the editing operation is performed is base paper, and the name of the paper in the paper information has been changed by the editing operation (¶ [93-94] wherein attribute values which have not yet been designated may be edited, indicating in the case where a paper name has been designated, an edit or change screen is not displayed for registering the new name; see also Fig. 26 wherein “edit” is shown over registered paper that have been previously edited to thereby skip selection of that paper again for editing; ¶ [73-74] provisionally registered paper reading on base paper editable by the user, having default attributes initially set by manufacturer), and display the screen in a case where the type of the paper on which the editing operation is performed is the base paper, and the name of the paper has not been changed by the editing operation (¶ [118] and Fig. 24 wherein the name of the paper may be edited).
Regarding claim 2, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the screen is displayed based on receiving of an instruction to change the name of the paper from a user (¶ [118] operator presses edit button to change name).
Regarding claim 3, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein in a case where the type of the paper on which the editing operation is performed is the base paper, the paper information in which the type of the paper, on which the editing operation is completed, is set to user setting paper is registered as new paper information (¶ [11] attribute changes accepted provides newly registered paper information; ¶ [123] newly registered paper information may be transmitted to a plurality of image forming apparatuses).
Regarding claim 4, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3), wherein in a case where the name of the paper is not changed on the displayed screen, the registered new paper information is deleted (¶ [91] wherein attributes match previously registered name, the system does not overwrite the previously stored information with new registration).
Regarding claim 5, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3), wherein in a case where the name of the paper is changed on the displayed screen, the name of the new paper information is overwritten by a name after the change (¶ [88] updating of the paper information reads on “overwriting” the previous information).
Regarding claim 6, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the paper information includes a setting value including the name of the paper, the type of the paper, and characteristics of the paper, and the editing operation includes an operation to change the setting value (¶ [52]; see also Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the setting value of the paper information in which the type of the paper is the base paper is managed as a value that cannot be changed (¶ [52] wherein paper attributes may be changed while the paper type is represented by a paper ID unique to each paper type; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the paper information can be set in a case where printing is performed (¶ [73]).
Regarding claim 9, Kiuchi et al discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the information processing apparatus is a printing apparatus (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kiuchi et al discloses a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
accepting an editing operation to edit paper information registered with a management unit (see rejection of claim 1); and
not displaying a screen to accept change of a name of paper in a case where a type of the paper in the paper information on which the editing operation is performed is base paper, and the name of the paper in the paper information has been changed by the editing operation, and displaying the screen in a case where the type of the paper on which the editing operation is performed is the base paper, and the name of the paper has not been changed by the editing operation (see rejection of claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMARES Q WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
March 19, 2026