DETAILED ACTION
The application of Balaka for a “System and method for database system anomaly detection and incident management” filed on May 9, 2024 has been examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 9, 2024 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 USC § 102.
Claims 2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mental processes-concepts performed in human mind in addition to mathematical relationships/calculations.
As per claim 1, with the exception of the recitation of the limitations “a processor”, the limitations “receiving a plurality of input metric values via a communication interface, the plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system; determining via a processor a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values, the output metric values predicting the input metric values; comparing the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values; based on the corresponding discrepancy values, determining that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred” can be performed by a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)) in addition to mathematical relationships/calculations (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. A. and C.).
Step 2A. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) “a processor” is/are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations of “receiving a plurality of input metric values via a communication interface, the plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system” and “transmitting an instruction to the database system via the communication interface to implement a policy to address the database incident” is/are mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. These limitations amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)).
The limitation of “comparing the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values; based on the corresponding discrepancy values, determining that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred” is directed to mathematical relationships/calculations (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. A. and C.).
Step 2B. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional element(s) “a processor” does/do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception because the additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and in this case generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitation(s) “determining via a processor a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values, the output metric values predicting the input metric values”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, recite(s) steps that merely apply a machine learning model to obtain a prediction, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As for the limitations recited in claims 2-10, when considering each of the claims as a whole these additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations laid out by the Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit. The additional elements do not reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field. The additional elements do not implement a judicial exception with, or use a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim. The additional element do not apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
As per claim 11, with the exception of the recitation of the limitations “A system comprising: a communication interface” and “a processor”, the limitations “a communication interface configured to receive a plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system; a processor configured to: determine a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values, the output metric values predicting the input metric values, and compare the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values; and a policy engine configured to determine that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred based on the corresponding discrepancy values” can be performed by a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)) in addition to mathematical relationships/calculations (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. A. and C.).
Step 2A. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) “A system comprising: a communication interface” and “a processor” is/are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations of “receive a plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system” and “transmit an instruction to the database system via the communication interface to implement a policy to address the database incident” is/are mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. These limitations amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)).
The limitation of “compare the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values; and a policy engine configured to determine that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred based on the corresponding discrepancy values” is directed to mathematical relationships/calculations (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. A. and C.).
Step 2B. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional element(s) “A system comprising: a communication interface” and “a processor” does/do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception because the additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and in this case generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitation(s) “determine a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values, the output metric values predicting the input metric values”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, recite(s) steps that merely apply a machine learning model to obtain a prediction, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As per claims 12-16, please refer to analysis section for claims 2-10.
As per claim 18, with the exception of the recitation of the limitations “One or more non-transitory computer readable media having instructions stored thereon for performing a method” and “a processor”, the limitations “receiving a plurality of input metric values via a communication interface, the plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system; determining via a processor a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values, the output metric values predicting the input metric values; comparing the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values; based on the corresponding discrepancy values, determining that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred” can be performed by a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)) in addition to mathematical relationships/calculations (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. A. and C.).
Step 2A. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) “One or more non-transitory computer readable media having instructions stored thereon for performing a method” and “a processor” is/are directed to generic computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations of “receiving a plurality of input metric values via a communication interface, the plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system” and “transmitting an instruction to the database system via the communication interface to implement a policy to address the database incident” is/are mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. These limitations amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)).
The limitation of “comparing the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values; based on the corresponding discrepancy values, determining that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred” is directed to mathematical relationships/calculations (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. A. and C.).
Step 2B. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional element(s) “One or more non-transitory computer readable media having instructions stored thereon for performing a method” and “a processor” does/do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception because the additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and in this case generic computer components (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitation(s) “determining via a processor a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values, the output metric values predicting the input metric values”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, recite(s) steps that merely apply a machine learning model to obtain a prediction, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As per claims 19-20, please refer to analysis section for claims 2-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200160211).
As per claims 1, 11, and 18, Kumar discloses a method/a system/One or more non-transitory computer readable media having instructions stored thereon for performing a method ([0013])/ comprising:
receiving a plurality of input metric values ([0028], “the series of one or more performance metrics may include, for example, at least one performance metric received and/or collected from the database system at successive time intervals”) via a communication interface ([0029]), the plurality of input metric values characterizing one or more operating conditions of a database system ([0028], “The series of one or more performance metrics may include any performance metric that may be indicative of an operational state of the database system”);
determining via a processor a plurality of output metric values corresponding to the input metric values by applying a machine learning model to the plurality of input metric values ([0045], “In some example embodiments, the long short-term memory neural network 300 may receive, at an input 302, series of performance metrics and provide, at an output 304, a corresponding classification of the series of performance metrics, for example, as being indicative of normal and/or anomalous.”), the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the input metric values into a latent space having a level of dimensionality lower than that of the input metric values, the machine learning model being pre-trained to project the latent space into the output metric values ([0042], “a dimensionality reduction model”), the output metric values predicting the input metric values ([0070], “the anomaly prediction engine 110 may process, with the trained machine-learning model 115, the series of performance metrics in order to predict the occurrence of an anomaly at the database system 140”);
comparing the output metric values to the corresponding input metric values to identify a plurality of corresponding discrepancy values indicating one or more discrepancies between the output metric values and the corresponding input metric values ([0045], “In some example embodiments, the long short-term memory neural network 300 may receive, at an input 302, series of performance metrics and provide, at an output 304, a corresponding classification of the series of performance metrics, for example, as being indicative of normal and/or anomalous.”);
based on the corresponding discrepancy values, determining that a database incident implicating operating conditions corresponding with a portion of the database system has occurred ([0003], “processing, with the trained machine learning model, the series of performance metrics to predict the occurrence of the anomaly at the database system”); and
transmitting an instruction to the database system via the communication interface to implement a policy to address the database incident (Abstract, “In response to detecting the presence of the anomaly at the database system, one or more remedial actions may be determined for correcting and/or preventing the anomaly at the database system. The one or more remedial actions may further be sent to a database management system associated with the database system.”).
As per claims 3 and 13, Kumar discloses the database system is a multitenant database system storing information for a plurality of tenants that access the database system ([0031], “It should be appreciated that the database system 140 may be deployed across multiple hosts. As such, the system monitor system 170 may be further configured to separate raw performance metrics collected from different hosts”) via the Internet (Fig. 1) and ([0029]).
As per claims 4 and 14, Kumar discloses a subset of the plurality of input metric values are specific to a designated tenant of the plurality of tenants ([0031], “It should be appreciated that the database system 140 may be deployed across multiple hosts. As such, the system monitor system 170 may be further configured to separate raw performance metrics collected from different hosts”).
As per claims 6 and 16, Kumar discloses the database incident is specific to the designated tenant ([0031], “It should be appreciated that the database system 140 may be deployed across multiple hosts. As such, the system monitor system 170 may be further configured to separate raw performance metrics collected from different hosts”), and wherein the policy is specific to the designated tenant (Abstract, “In response to detecting the presence of the anomaly at the database system, one or more remedial actions may be determined for correcting and/or preventing the anomaly at the database system. The one or more remedial actions may further be sent to a database management system associated with the database system.”).
As pe claims 7 and 17, Kumar discloses the database system is an element of a computing services environment that provides computing services to a plurality of entities via the Internet (Fig. 1) and ([0029]).
As per claim 10, Kumar discloses one or more of the input metric values are specific to a designated time period ([0028], “at least one performance metric received and/or collected from the database system at successive time intervals including, for example, a first time interval, a second time interval, a third time interval, and/or the like”), and wherein the input metric values include a value selected from the group consisting of: a CPU usage value, a memory usage value, a network bandwidth value, and a number of requests ([0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 12, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200160211) in view of Baldassarre et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20210303381).
As per claims 2, 12, and 19, Kumar discloses determining that the database incident has occurred comprises identifying a subset of the plurality of corresponding discrepancy values ([0045]). Kumar fails to explicitly disclose corresponding discrepancy values exceed a respective designated threshold.
Baldassarre of analogous art teaches identifying a subset of the plurality of corresponding discrepancy values that each exceed a respective designated threshold ([0046], “The predicted metrics may be compared to predefined thresholds”).
All of the claimed elements were known in Kumar and Baldassarre and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing language to combine their methods. One would be motivated to make this combination since Baldassarre’s threshold comparison is a mere example of Kumar’s data comparison.
As per claims 5 and 15, Kumar discloses determining that the database incident has occurred comprises identifying a designated discrepancy value corresponding with a designated input metric value of the subset of the plurality of input metric values ([0045]). Baldassarre discloses identifying a designated discrepancy value corresponding with a designated input metric value of the subset of the plurality of input metric values that exceeds a designated threshold ([0046]).
As per claim 20, Kumar discloses the database system is a multitenant database system storing information for a plurality of tenants that access the database system ([0031], “It should be appreciated that the database system 140 may be deployed across multiple hosts. As such, the system monitor system 170 may be further configured to separate raw performance metrics collected from different hosts”) via the Internet (Fig. 1) and ([0029]), wherein a subset of the plurality of input metric values are specific to a designated tenant of the plurality of tenants ([0031]),
wherein determining that the database incident has occurred comprises identifying a designated discrepancy value corresponding with a designated input metric value of the subset of the plurality of input metric values ([0045], “In some example embodiments, the long short-term memory neural network 300 may receive, at an input 302, series of performance metrics and provide, at an output 304, a corresponding classification of the series of performance metrics, for example, as being indicative of normal and/or anomalous.”), and wherein the database incident is specific to the designated tenant, and wherein the policy is specific to the designated tenant (Abstract, “In response to detecting the presence of the anomaly at the database system, one or more remedial actions may be determined for correcting and/or preventing the anomaly at the database system. The one or more remedial actions may further be sent to a database management system associated with the database system.”).
Baldassarre discloses identifying a designated discrepancy value corresponding with a designated input metric value of the subset of the plurality of input metric values that exceeds a designated threshold ([0046]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200160211) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200234143).
As per claim 8, Kumar discloses a neural network model ([0042]). However, Kumar fails to explicitly disclose a variational autoencoder.
Yoon of analogous art teaches the machine learning model is a variational autoencoder ([0026]).
All of the claimed elements were known in Kumar and Yoon and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing language to combine their methods. One would be motivated to make this combination since Yoon’s machine learning model is a mere example of Kumar’s neural network model.
As per claim 9, Yoon discloses the machine learning model is a generative adversarial network ([0112]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See included PTO-892.
/Elmira Mehrmanesh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113